$236 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
139 reviews
Couples Vacation

It was wonderful, Food was great ,The Beach was beautiful . Resort was very clean We had a great... See full review

  • Jerseygirlie
  • Mar 7, 2014
First experience with Adults Only

The hotel was awesome It was so quiet and peaceful, if you wanted it that way. Having the option to... See full review

  • have case will travel
  • Jan 16, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Shanclark85
San Antonio Texas
Sep 15, 2012

Amazing

We just arrived back from our stay at Catalonia royal bavaro and it was amazing! The staff are so attentive and nice. The resort is beautiful. All the staff work so hard all day keeping the resort in amazing shape. From raking and cleaning the beach to keeping the rooms spotless. The speciality restaurants are where it's at, the buffetts are hit or miss. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Deana M
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 15, 2013

absolutely amazing! best honeymoon ever!

We were here on my honeymoon and we had the absolute best time!! The staff there was so friendly!! And the food was very good (but we did spend some not so comfortable nights on the toilet). The excursions were fun but we had so much people coming up and trying to sell us the same exact thing so it got frustrating after awhile, but you just have to learn how to say no and keep walking. Other than that the bars were great and entertainment was very fun and funny! We would definately come here again if we have the chance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Low ball the price, odds are the stuff is over priced and you can get it to go lower!! Even the excursions can be negotiated

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
chimyers
Knoxville, Tn
Jun 14, 2013

Excellent Honeymoon

We went for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. This was my first all-inclusive experience, first adults only experience, and first Caribbean experience. After reading the reviews I didn't expect the food to be all that great, but I was impressed with the dinners on the adults only side, and for breakfast and lunch there was a huge selection and everything I had was good, not great. You definitely will not go hungry. The adults only side is awesome. It is so quiet and relaxing. I have never been to a beach where there aren't kids squealing. Many people we spoke to were return guests, which says a lot to me. During some excursions we went to some huge resorts but I liked the size of this one because you can walk to everything. Overall it was a fantastic trip. My only complaints are that when we went to dinner on the other side of the resort the food and service wasn't as good. Also, the Discotheque opens a little later than I would have liked, but maybe that is just a sign I am getting old :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We went on the Pirate Cruise excursion sold by the guys in yellow shirts on the beach, which included snorkeling. The excursion was the special of the month and we had an AWESOME time.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
L.Atkins
Virginia
Jun 12, 2013

Summer Trip

This resort was great from the moment we checked in up until the day we left. We had an amazing younger lady check us in, go over maps and amenities, gave us a ride to the room on a cart with our luggage, and gave us a once over of the room. We opted for the suite room with the private pool, which I would highly recommend as it is worth every penny. If you do go that route, make sure you bring a float as we had to buy one for our pool. What really made the pool worth the cost for us was when my wife or I was having some stomach problems, we were still able to be in the sun all day and the water in our pool but still be close to the room. The entire staff, on both sides of the resort, was great and fun to speak to. Everyone spoke some english and would converse with me in Spanish until I had to tell them to slow down because I'm not quite fluent. Room service, house keeping, bar tenders, hostesses, and beach staff were all amazing. I was never completely sure on tips as some people seemed offended an some didn't. If you decide to tip only one person the whole time, I would recommend to tip the person who restocks your fridge. After a tip we found that instead of putting more things in we didn't drink we got only what we were drinking (sprite, water, and beer) and he left extras out for us to put in the fridge when we made more room. I would recommend eating on both sides of the resort. There are far more choices on the "family" side and the restaurants seem to be bigger on that side also. The entire seven nights we were there we only had to wait for a table once. I would also recommend going to the Japanese restaurant early to get seating without having to wait. As stated in other reviews, the beach was great, get there early for a thatch covering (before 8 AM), men clean it all day long and it looked great. There is good snorkeling that you can do right there without having to pay for an actual excursion. Just be sure to have $20 for a security deposit that you get back when you return the snorkel gear. The only small complaints that I had at all was our door to our room did not shut completely flush to the floor. It was a space of less than 1/2 an inch, but during our trip we found three crabs and two lizards in the room. It was not a big deal as we took pictures and it made for good stories. We were a little disappointed with some of the food though. We've traveled to all inclusive before in Mexico and expected something the same. I think the biggest place for improvement is the buffet that they offer. A lot of the fresh fruit and vegetables lacked flavor, and a lot of the times the selection could have been bigger. It's not enough for me to not recommend this resort and honestly it's the only real complaint we had, a small complaint at that. Overall we loved it. The room was amazing and it overlooked the main pool closest to the beach, the people were great and the restaurants (not the buffet) were all very good. It's also great to not hear small children screaming, crying, and jumping in pools nonstop!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you land in the airport be ready to pay a $10 tourist tax for each person in your party. I didn't see this mentioned anywhere else and thought it needed to be mentioned. Tip your fridge stocker as they'll reward you with more of what you're actually drinking. Make sure you at least wander around the pool area of the "family" side. They have a lot of good food options that are just beside the pools that we didn't know about until we started wandering.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
jmarie613
Maryland
Jun 5, 2013

Great vacation

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Catalonia Royal. We had a wonderful vacation - property was gorgeous, wonderful staff for the most part , room was large and clean. The only couple o complaints: --Food was hit or miss. It was always presented beautifully, but some dishes were just not good at all (I ordered grouper one day and snapper another; both had an inedible, slimy texture and not good flavor); but other dishes were great, such as most chicken dishes and vegetarian options. Just stay away from the seafood, which is sad, considering you're on the ocean! --The hotel can't do much about this, but people routinely put towels over the "best" beach lounge chairs every day, "reserving them" (even though hotel does not reserve loungers); my husband and I would be at the beach usually by 7:45am to find almost all beachfront chairs taken by placing towels and perhaps a personal bag or hat on the chair; we'd be on the beach for TWO OR MORE HOURS and those same chairs were still no occupied; we did not want to start any arguments with guests so never took off the towels and personal items, but there should be a rule in place that is a chair is not occupied by a HUMAN BEING within 30-45min, then it's free game to whomever is on the beach. These were minor things - the vacation was fabulous; lots of activities to choose from; if you don't take advantage of the activities offerred, you may get bored, so do it! Bars were definitely not lacking; I don't like sweet sugary drinks so I usually ordered wine, beer, or champagne, or asked for a mixed drink of my own choice, which was never a problem. Great stay!!! Will consider again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
mama Jen
Lincoln, NE
May 24, 2013

Wonderful week with my hubby

I just got back from a wonderful week with my husband, I loved this resort. The staff are wonderful people and make the resort an excellent place to relax and enjoy yourself. We were on the adults only side but had access to the larger family side as well. It is an all-inclusive resort with many excursions that you can take from the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Melvatorres
Philadelphia
May 23, 2013

Fantastic birthday vacation

Omg this was the first time I went there , I had the best time of my life and o travel before to other countries but nothing like this country. The hotel is amazing and the most important thing is the stuff they made my vacation worth it. They smiled every single time they were fun social they make u feel like if your there family. Our favorite one was Hector Ramirez we love him and treated us so good that we are going back in 2 months for my boyfriend birthday. The only thing I didn't like was that everything was so expensive they over charge stuff but after that the best time of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Peaceful hotel

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
nailitoff
Tennessee
May 20, 2013

pretty good

I liked this palce pretty good but i thought the Catalonia in Tulum was much better.The food was not as good as we had hoped.We got a few good dinners in the specialty restaraunts.The pools are descent and the beach was pretty awesome.My wife did not like all of the topless women everywhere.The grounds are immaculate and the staff were very friendly and accomadating.One thing we thought was stupid is that you book adults only but 3 restaraunts are on the other property and you're eating with kids and one of the reasons I booked adults only was so i didn't have to eat with kids.All in all thogh I had fun but If I go back to Punta Cana I might try a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you do Jungle excursion stay away from Compay.They tried to sell me video of our trip.I gave them 10 dollars when we got back and they told me I could bring 10 more at 8 in the morning or after and pick it up at the front desk.After getting the run around for about 30 minutes there was no video but I did get my 10 dollars back.One of the women that went with us did get hers but they tried to charge her 20 more dollars because somebody had changed the 10 to 20.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Christine and Eli
long island, NY
May 19, 2013

great vacation

Great overall experience. Wish there was more entertainment at the adults only section. Alcohol tasted watered down at the main resort. Would definitely recommend the adults only section as you can use the facilities at both the main resort and the adults only section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main resort has 4 restaurants and much better food.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Happy Travelr
Northville, MI
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel, wonderful staff

Our first visit to this Hotel, 3rd to Punta Cana: The rooms were large, clean, beds comfortable, peaceful. Staff couldn't be better, nicer, or more attentive. Room service food came HOT! Only wish the tub was a jacuzzi. Pool area clean, plenty of shaddy spots. Beach cool breeze. Fruit smoothy station nice touch and very good! Lunch Bar-b-Q each day good. Dissappointed in food at restaurants and entertainment both poor. Had problem with something I ate & sick for 3 days, UGH! (never had this problem before on other visits) Nightly shows were very poor, same performers each night & not very good at all. Several others we met had the same experience with the food & opinion of the entertainment. Back to the Majestic Elegance next time. People of Punta Cana are WONDERFUL they make the trip! Get out of the resort and see the country & people, you will keep coming back each year like us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Safari trip is well worth it! Don't miss it.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Peggy H
Marietta, GA
May 2, 2013

Great place to deconpress

Wonderful staff. The upgraded room suite was enjoyable and full of nice touches.....Great beach and the pools were clean and well maintained. The food and drinks were B+ A- but over all very good experence and look forward to returning to this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The sister property is a short walk, but gives more options then whats offered by the one property

Back to menu Return to top