$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob Burton
Kansas City, KS
Dec 10, 2012

This is the way to do it!!

This was my first time doing an all inclusive resort. But let me tell you, whether it is your first or 15th you will feel like it doesn't get any better then this place. The staff is so kind and acomindating. I definitely recommend you stay on the adult side. You have access to better restaurants and the beach is cleaner and staff if much nicer. You have access to all the restaurants of course but you will only want to eat at the ones on the adult side. There is nothing better then the tapas restaurant at night. The food there is five star. The buffet in the lobby for breakfast is top notch too with a great variety of god from around the world. Look for Juan Pablo he made our trip do much better due to his kindness. Stay at this resort, do yourself a favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

When and if it rains. Don't get down. Go to the bar and pull up a seat and Carlos will make the rainiest day into a great one with his incredible drinks and kindness.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karrah P.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Wonderful couples trip

Excellent resort! From the time we arrived everyone was friendly and welcoming. Made sure we were aware of everything the hotel had to offer and the things we can do while there. The hotel was very calm and we were even allowed to visit the sister hotel with their ammenities included. The room was spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are about 10 different restaurants including carribbean, Japanese,Italian and many more. You will definetly enjoy and it is your money's worth.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea R.
Business
Alexandria
Dec 16, 2014

Great for realxing and enjoying quality time

Great staff and service, small, but exactly what you need if you want some peace and quite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dawn Allen
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 19, 2014

Beautiful Resort with Great amenities and Amazing Staff

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful quick trip. We didn't want to leave and we plan on going back and staying at this resort again. The only things that you should be aware of are the horrible mosquitos (not in your room just outside of the rooms) so bring lots of off.. Also the sales guys looking to give you a tour to sell you a package are extremely pushy.. Be firm with them unless you are truly interested. The food was really good and the service was awesome (try the Domincan Chicken at Sea Blue... so good). Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounge on the Bavaro side of the hotel is gorgeous

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melz1
Business
CT
Oct 18, 2014

Nice Room and Great staff but a little musty...

We stayed from 10/10-10/17 and here are some highlights: The room we stayed in was a non-smoking room but don't be surprised if you have smokers next to you smoking on the porch. The room itself is beautiful but musty. I don't think that is really the hotel's fault though because everything is damp in the DR. The humidity is so high even your laundry is going to seem damp by the end of your vacation. Even with the air conditioning on all the time your room won't get any colder than 75 degrees. The staff is wonderful. Most of them call you their "family" which is kind of nice. They are friendly even if you don't speak Spanish but get really excited when you attempt any Spanish at all. The bartenders tend to be more friendly on the family side though. One even gave my husband and I an impromptu merengue lesson when the bar was empty! The beach is nice and shady and the water (as long as it's sunny) has some great snorkeling on the adult side. There is a man-made coral wall on the adult side and a lot of fish hang out there. We even saw a puffer fish. As for food, we mostly went to the buffet on the family side. We tried all the restaurants and liked sorrento at the pool and thallasa for dinner. You have to dress up though so make sure you don't just bring beach clothes. Also, if you scuba dive, take the Catalina island excursion from scubaquatic at the beach. It was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are staying at the hotel and not going anywhere else don't change over money. Every shop takes USD and most excursions do too. If they don't take that then they take Visa. ***most places DON'T take American Express though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Lover 13
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 8, 2014

Not a relaxing stay.

Unfortunately, I wouldn't be packing my bags to stay there again. We expected a nice relaxing stay on the beach but it definitely wasn't. I wrote a little description of the main things below: Rooms: Not good at all. They smelt really badly of mold and was constantly humid/moist. We were not sure if it was because of the humidity or because there was just no ventilation in the rooms. The air conditioner in our room was also not working. I did not have one comfortable night sleep while I was there. The couple we went away with actually had to move rooms because their original room smelt extra awful. Beach: It was pretty, but there was so much seaweed in the water. The employees there were working hard at sweeping it away but they were fighting a losing battle. I was expecting clear water, I got the opposite. Restaurants/Bars: If you like meat, you may be excited about the Rodeo Stead House - don't be. The food is absolutely awful there. The two restaurants that I found were pretty good: Cata Tapa and Sea Blue. The rest were not very good. The Piano Bar at the front of the hotel is nice for drinks. Amenities: The pools were nice and the spa was okay. I received my first massage there which I was expecting to be wow'd by - it was only alright. They do have excursions that you can pay extra for. We signed up for two. Big disappointment was no jet skiing. Staff: Extremely nice however there was definitely a language barrier. Be prepared to know a little Spanish or else it will be hard to communicate. Another Note: Everyone I was with got really sick. Luckily I just didn't feel that great a couple nights. We were unsure if it was from the room's or the food. Overall, it was just not what we expected. We were really disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring bug spray! At night, the mosquitoes are everywhere. We were eaten alive. We had to purchase a expensive bug spray at their convenient store. Wish we just had it with us!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike kost
Business
nyc
Sep 28, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro review

Cons: Room needs refreshing. Thermostat did not work, a lot of mosquitos. Pro: excellent snorkeling, food, stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Thai restaurant is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BFF for life
Business
Chicago, illinois
Aug 30, 2014

pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the Dominican food. So many wonderful pools. I am so grateful I chose the adult only privileges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Mom KL
Business
New York
Aug 30, 2014

Quiet Getaway

Nice, simple hotel with a great beach. Calm and quiet, perfect for a relaxing retreat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hilaryvernon
Business
Salisbury, MD
Aug 26, 2014

Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main restaurant (Thalasa) was fantastic as well. Because this side was adults only, it was much more quiet and relaxed. You are still able to visit the other side (Catalonia Bavaro) and use all of the amenities there, like the casino or disco, so that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not dine at the Catalonia Bavaro side if you are a Catalonia Royal guest. The Royal food is much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puntacana2014
Business
Ny,ny
Aug 13, 2014

Our stay

Staff was very pushy trying to sell timeshares. Some restaurants were good some were bad. Very long wait times for food. Not a good experience with VIP for transportation to/from airport. We were told we had to meet rep at 8:30am to arrange travel back to airport. He tried to see us excursions. We didn't want to wake up early to meet him but we had no choice. Then he told us to see him again the day before we left at 8:30am to get the vouchers and time to leave. We said no. We're on vacation. He said he would leave it at the front desk. The day before we left the info wasn't there. We had to walk to the other resort and waste another 20 minutes waiting just for the return time. What was the point of meeting him the first day? He never arranged anything. He just wasted our time!! The beach was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top