$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miquet
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Jan 15, 2011

"Best vaction ever"

My goal was to relax and enjoy my surroundings. I wanted beach, sun, water, and not have to worry or lift a finger. My goals were met on all accounts. The people were friendly and bent over backwards to accommodate my every wish. For an all inclusive, the food was exceptional and the service was great. If I wanted more activities, the Catalonia Bavaro was next door and I was able to participate in thier activities. I plan on returning for another get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BOSTONJAB
Business
MA
Jan 8, 2011

Awesome Experience

Our main purpose was to catch a week of rest and relaxation. The experience was absolutely fantastic. Everything about the trip was great and quite frankly I'd go back to the same hotel in a second. The quality of the food and the service were first class and everyone from hotel waiters to managers made sure we were enjoying ourselves. I speak English and Spanish but my wife only speaks English but that was never a problem, they made her feel as one of their own and she couldn't be happier...She LOVED it as much as I did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your appetite as there are 4 theme restaurants within the resort (tapas, japanese, caribbean, french/spanish cuisine)...And remember, meals in a Spanish country are always 3-course meals...

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericton, NB
Jan 3, 2011

Excellent hotel

I have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the Dominican, and this hotel is by far the best that I have ever stayed at. Any negative comments that others may have written are unfounded. From great staff to crystal clean rooms to outstanding food, there is no better place out there that provides so much support to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vincthecat
Business
Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Dec 19, 2010

excellent stay!

We were at the catalonia royal bavaro from dec 1 to 15th 2010. In general, this hotel is excellent for the price we paid. Take COCO TOURS for your transfers from/to the airport, they are wonderful! Private transport, first to arrive at the airport! We took an excursion with them ( Saona island)and it was fun. The representative from Coco tours at the hotel is [...] and he is great!POSITIVES: - Service is unbelieveble, 5*+++++++! ( tip or no tip)- Drinks are very good and strong with international brands.- Food at the royal side ( Thalassa, Catatapa and Sea Blue ) is EXCELLENT!- Very quiet and relax atmosphere. - Grounds are very well maintained and beautiful.- Golf is included ( 18 holes wonderful)- Plenty of chairs and palapas at the beach and at both pools anytime of day.- Internet is free and worked well.- check-in and check out ultra fast.- No wait at any restaurant.- Italian, steakhouse, crepes and pizzeria restaurant we very good at the Catalonia (other side)- Superior junior suites are very spacious and well equiped. Mini-bar was always stocked daily (4 bottles of water, 6 soft drinks 600ml, 4 Brahma beers in bottles, oreo cookies and nuts).- Michael Jackson show and Circus show are a must. - Infinity pool is awesome- Breakfast at the buffet at the catalonia bavaro side is MUCH BETTER than at the thalassa. More choices. - Gym is great on both sides. - The hotel is 15 minutes from the airport; short ride- the entire site is not big so easy to walk.- the pianist at the lobby bar is great!- coffee is excellent at the royal side ( but strong!)- coral barrier in the ocean directly at the hotel: great for snorkeling when the water is clear. NEGATIVES:- Superior junior suites need some touch-up - Musty smell in our room but not much- maids are inconsistent in there work. - DO NOT pay 15$ per person per day to upgrade to the deluxe junior suite,does not worth it. - Many staff members do not speak english.- The Spa on both sides are small and deceiving.- casino is a joke- japanese and mexican restaurant are not good.- we can walk on the beach but there is no other complex near the hotel and many garbage along the way, very isolated. - Lobby and the entrance at the royal side is deceiving for a 5 star hotel. - beach as seaweeds but staff are always removing them. - buffet for dinner at the catalonia bavaro side is not good. The Catalonia Royal Bavaro is very good and has a excellent value. We would recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a phone card in advance because it is really expensive at this resort to phone home. A calling card at the hotel is 20$ (vending machine) and it only has 20 minutes ( 1$/min!!!!). If you don't buy a phone card ; 3$ per minute wth the hotel!

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Dec 5, 2010

the good, the bad

Not enough restaurants in Royal, especially for breakfast and lunch, the breakfast place is located ½ mile from the beach, and you need to wait to be served and until they bring you your omelet you want just to go back, the lunch place at the beach serves mostly cheeseburgers with French fries and you need to wait to be seated, and wait for a waiter to bring them to you, and wait for a cup of coffee forever, we had to call front desk every day for towels because maids always miss some: face towels or beach towels or etc., they bring pillows without pillow cases- had to call again, there is no pitch in the shower stall so you always will stand in the 3 inches of water, rooms are dump-need dehumidifiers, the beach is very short- there are no adjacent hotels so forget about long beach walks- it takes 10 minutes to walk along the hotel and then you will face no man's land covered with garbage on both sides of the property, water is also not that clean as at other hotels located at Bavaro beach, this one is not actually at Bavaro beach. Overall it should not have more that 3 Dominican stars compare to other resorts, e.g. Majestic, Iberostar, Melia, Princess that have 4 stars. Also, nobody speaks English, I mean AT ALL, nothing, not a letter. Waiters do not know words "bread and butter", maids do not know words "towels". Front desk people know a few words, and that's about it. We visited a half dozen other places in Punta Cana and never had a language problem but here. So complains and requests were useless. They just do what they've been told to do every day, and if you ask for something that is not specifically written in their instructions they would not even know what it is, e.g. how come you need a pillow case with you pillow?!, or butter with bread?!or hot coffee ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poszepszynska
Business
Pennsylvania,US
Nov 28, 2010

nice hotel

kept nice and clean,very good food at a la carte restaurants, buffet was avarage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MF
Business
MIAMI FLORIDA
Nov 22, 2010

Awesome place!!!

This was my second time in the hotel. It was great!! I prefered it the first time though...I thought the food was better before... I'd definitely recommend this hotel! The rooms are huge and confortable... The staff very nice and friendly (sometimes a little bit too much - especially when they see that you are a woman alone!) The spanish and Japanese restaurants are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Engagement Vacation
Business
New York, New York
Nov 22, 2010

All in all - Excellent vacation

Excellent food, lots of choices. A bit of a language barrier (brush up on your Spanish). Bring small bills for tipping, not easy to get cash. Entertainment was cool, checked out a Michael Jackson show and a Circe De Solei type show. Overall, great trip. Would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did a glass bottom boat tour - lame. Save your money and don't do that one.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MF
Business
MIAMI FLORIDA
Nov 22, 2010

Awesome place!!!

This was my second time in the hotel. It was great!! I prefered it the first time though...I thought the food was better before... I'd definitely recommend this hotel! The rooms are huge and confortable... The staff very nice and friendly (sometimes a little bit too much - especially when they see that you are a woman alone!) The spanish and Japanese restaurants are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Detroiters
Business
MI
Nov 21, 2010

Absolutely Beautiful Resort!

The Royal Catalonia Bavaro was absolutely beautiful. Great rooms, good food, beautiful beaches, decent entertainment, and plenty of good drinks to go around. We've never done an AI before and we were worried that we would be bored to stay at the same place all week, but we could have stayed for another week + easily. The resort is huge and you get access to the other side as well. To make your trip more enjoyable, bring 1 Damp Rid thing to get rid of the humidity and accompanying smell. Bring a triple outlet adapter if you have gadgets (there aren't many outlets in the rooms). Bring a ton of singles to tip the staff (they really appreciate the tips and work hard enough to warrant a couple bucks per meal). There is some decent snorkeling right off the beach as well. All restaurants had good food (although you can always just order something else if you don't like a dish). Our favorites were the Italian and the Tapas. Enjoy your trip - you can't go wrong at this beautiful property!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to do one activity, make it the segway tour. It was $90 for the two of us and lasted 1.5 hours or so. These are fun to ride around on, safe and allow you to take a mini-tour of a local neighborhood and the next resort down the beach. You will see the guys on segways at the resort all week.

Back to menu Return to top