$253 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
164 reviews
Beautiful Resort with Great amenities and Amazing Staff

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful quick trip. We didn't want to leave and we plan on going back... See full review

  • Dawn Allen
  • Nov 19, 2014
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 4, 2010

Loved it. Very relaxing & calm.

These hotel is relaxing and classy. The service was great and is very very clean. Buffet food was ok, dinners were very good - we ate Mexican, Tapas, American, and Japanese. Preferred the service lunch at the pool over the buffet lunches. We took the kayaks & catamaran out. Sign up early for catarman's - esp. if you have to take the lesson for first time. Beach was very clean-no waves so no body surfing here. Could always find a chair in the shade. Went into the jacuzzi once - not hot but bubbly. Space could be found at the pools but we didn't hang there. Loved our room and our room soaking tub. Did lose power on the first day for about 10 min. during a storm. On the last day the hotel lost water for a few hours - we were checking out so I'm not sure how that all played out. They did truck in water and it didn't effect breakfast at all and they were manually flushing the lobby toliets after each use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They are strict on clothing. During lunch (and I assume breakfast) bathing suits must be fully covered and at least flip flops on. Sent us back for shoes from the beach and saw 2 women sent back for not quite fully covered bathing suits (one no shirt, one long shirt but no shorts). Dinner is long pants & closed shoes for men - seemed strict about it too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for more sun...
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2010

Beautiful Property -but not going again

I was on a trip with 9 other friends (some couples, some singles) - an annual vacation to an all inclusive and we decided to try the Dominican. The resort was beautiful with large pools and a great beach and the rooms were spacious but other than that I run out of great things to say. It was rainy season so it rained every day and the mosquitoes were TERRIBLE so you didn't even want to sit outside at night. The rooms were spacious but smelled awful - think musty, moldy old basement smell... And then all of our clothes smelled like that for the rest of the trip! Also, don't expect any of your swim suits or sweaty workout clothes to ever fully dry while you're there. Even in the rooms it's soooo humid that nothing ever dries out! Food was subpar - the hibachi grill/Japanese place was the best by far! We were hoping to explore the downtown area and the VERY friendly woman at the front desk, Angela (who speaks great English!) told us it was a short walk (about a mile) from the resort to the Punta Cana. But when we started our excursion out, we stopped immediately at the resort gates when there were armed guards with large, large guns protecting the property. we just thought, "if they need those size guns to keep whatever is 'out there' from coming on to the resort, do we really need to be 'out there'??". I'm just not sure how safe it is to leave the resort - and it's unfortunate because if you can't explore some of the local culture I feel as if it was a wasted trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nandopatty
Business
NJ
May 31, 2010

Relaxing in paradise.

Catalonia Royal Bavaro couples only offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. It's the first hotel resort close to punta cana airport just 20 min away. Friedly staff and exceptional room service. A la carte dining at its main restaurant(Talassa) and no reservation to enjoy other theme restaurants. But we only went to Rodeo (steak house and Tapas restaurant which offers small portions of delicious staffed calamari and other delicious unfilling portions of mushroom sauce. Although weather was wet for three days we enjoyed sunshine and we both got a tan. There is no nighly show but you can hop to its sister hotel Catalonia which is more for family and nighlife activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 24, 2010

catalonia royal bavaro

The ground was just beautiful, everything was green, the trees and flowers just gorgeous but that was it. Right after i arrived i was placed in the room in the building closer to the beach, which i learned later was more expensive, but people at desk simply forgot to mention it to me and expected me to pay. The pools were great, but it was hard to find a space under the umbrella. The rooms were standard, definitely not 5 star, and the shower was strangely located right in front of the entrance door, and the shower had no door at all. The balcony was ok, except the fact that it was noisy ( the little native village played loud music to attract the shoppers )for most of the time(9 am-5pm) so if you really want to have cup of coffee and relax on the balcony...is not going to happen. The food was really awful, maybe i am a little bit too critical, but i got food poisoning and i was not the only one.!!!! The grilled food mostly meat and fish was undercooked, raw in the middle burned on the outside so watch out. Besides, the were many flies on food and in the eating area. If you have sensitive stomach stick to fried foods cause the lettuce and some veggies were full of dirt. Really. But if you get sick and have to visit the doctor, just be adviced that the doctor do not accept traveler's insurance from people coming from US. So, you have to pay up. Just to see a doctor 100$ plus the cost of the medication. Entertainment, poooooooor, 2 stars the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveling hashbrown
Business
bergen county, nj
May 22, 2010

1st time punta cana

upon entering resort. was greeted with drinks and offered lunch since we were early, that was awesome. we were starving since the flight. choosing the royal side was definitely better BUT if i were to do it again, i would have gone for the upgraded suite where you get your own personal plunge pool. swim 24/7 if you like, you own it for the entire stay. we only had 1 issue, room 3601 had broken AC, just had working vent fan and ceiling fan. the humidity stunk up the room and we tried to get it resolved for 2 days until we finally realized nothing can be fixed over the phone. finally we approached the front desk and they determined it could not be fixed at that time and we were moved to the next door. thanks cairo. food was excellent in the cata tapa as well as the steak house. if you're plannig on breakfast at the buffet, definitely have your omelets made - tastes a lot better with your ingredients. like a previous reviewer said, don't worry about weather if only scattered showers. it was sunny until 5ish PM there and rained for only 1 hour. they had a MJ concert, the performance was awesome. i really thought they brought MJ back to life. i guess that's how it felt to be in a MJ concert. all was free and if it was not they would let you know. no surprises, which was good. another that should have had was free shuttle to airport but i originally booked a car rental but economy was no where on site. took a $30 taxi instead. car rental would have been nice as an adventure. kayaking was good. beach was peaceful and you can walk for miles to the right of the resort and sometimes there's no one around, like you're in a secluded beach. nudity is also permitted. bring atleast 1 pair of closed toe footwear for their semi casual dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cata tapa and steak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Surrey, BC
May 14, 2010

Nice Resort!

The only bad part was the beach, it had seaweed in the water and in the sand which was not truly "white sand". We went on an excursion and the beach we were driven to was spotless with white sand. Other than that the resort was perfect. Keep in mind that you are in a "third world" country so it will not be up to North American standards. The food was very good. Blue Cheese steak at Thalassa for lunch was AMAZING (when it was on their menu). We never got bored of the food and we ate 2 dinners every night...lol...not including room service at night The rooms were clean (there were some musty and sweaty smells occasionally) but having travelled to more undeveloped countries (Vietnam, Thailand, etc.) this hotel is quite nice for the country it is in. The liquor at the bar was "good stuff" brands that we see in North America

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market down by the beach which sells souvenirs. Just walk down to the beach and turn right and keep walking for about a minute; you'll see a sign. They are very aggressive and set very high prices to start. You must barter it down to at least half of what they initially say. Ex. Picture frame they say is $48 we got for $15 or less. Wear long pants or insect repellent to the market. I got flea bites or something there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
morris co, nj
May 11, 2010

just amazing

my girlfriend and I just got back from d.r. and it was amazing, from the minute we got off the plane and were shuttled to the hotel we were in awe, the grounds are very well kept and quite tropical and that was at the regular resort, as we headed to the royal side we were welcomed at the desk with a nice cool beverage and a wonderful smile, the room was ready in moments and it was very clean and we were thankful it had a dehumidifier, the king bed was a little hard for her but comfortable for me, as far as the room goes the only gripe is very slippery terra cotta floors, be careful. During the week we thoroughly enjoyed the pool and bar, and the food was very good, try the japanese place and the steak house, beach was very nice and quite private, and all in all we will go back, the staff is friendly (be kind to your bartenders, look for [...], [...] or [...] at the pool bar) the atmosphere is fun and relaxing and the people you will meet are very nice and you just may make friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

lots of sunscreen, waterproof if accessible, remember to bring it with you, neccisities can get very expensive on site

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, NH
May 11, 2010

relaxing, just not that tasty

We upgraded to the junior suite for $15 dollars more a day. After viewing some other rooms we realized that it was pretty much the same as the regular suite. The layout was wonderful. We stayed on the royal side and after visiting the regular side are very glad we did. There was never any lines or too many people around on the royal side. The only complaint I have was about the food service a few of the restaurants staff members were clearly un happy with there job and the service reflected it. On the other hand there were some very friendly servers and we tipped accordingly. Also the restaurant tuscana the food was quite bad. Like a bad day at the olive garden. I am not one to complain but it was bad. were talking freezer burn on the desserts and cannaloni that looked like it came out of the can! now to the good. The restaurant Tapas on the royal side was amazing. Great atmosphere, service and food quality. The rooms were nice. I wish we upgraded to one of the suites with a private pool. They looked awsome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imnutz
Business
northeast PA
May 7, 2010

Quiet times

Great for plain relaxation, good food, freindly staff (for the most part), not much to do unless you like the beach, housekeeping could be alot better. My wife and I thought it was alot like a cruise without the entertainment, different ports of call, and without the ship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 19, 2010

Nice Hotel

This is a nice hotel. We chose the Royal option and it was well worth it. While we got to enjoy all of the features of the standard hotel, we were able to escape to our Royal side whenever we wanted to get away from the crowds for some peace and quiet. Both of the pools and the beach on the Royal side are much less noisy and crowded. The Royal side also has a restaurant that only Royal guests can visit and I was happy to see lobster tail on the menu. Our room was the junior suite and it was awesome. Great tub in the room and nice balcony. You also might want to ask for a dvd player when you check in since there may be a waiting list to receive one (we had a 2 day wait). The mini fridge was stocked when we got to the room but we quickly requested more beer and water. We tipped our maid when she brought us the extra drinks, which put us on her good side. For the rest of the trip, she made sure to keep the fridge full of beer and water. The bed was a little bit stiff but it was easy enough to ignore since everything else was like paradise. All of the restaurants were great, especially the Japanese, but we did not try the Italian after hearing bad reviews from other guests. Most of the staff spoke some English so there wasn't really much of a problem for us non-Spanish speakers but it definitely helps to know some basic Spanish phrases especially to communicate with the maid and room service. My girlfriend ordered room service in English and the food never arrived. About 2 hours later, I called and ordered in Spanish and the food was there within 30 minutes. We also booked a fishing trip through our hotel and the crew didn't speak English but that didn't stop us from landing a huge Marlin! Overall it was a great trip and we felt like we got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time checking the weather before you go. We checked before we went and the internet said rain showers every day! We were a bit discouraged but when we got there, we had sun every day with a few scattered (quick) showers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top