$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
160 reviews
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main... See full review

  • hilaryvernon
  • Aug 26, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surrey, BC
May 14, 2010

Nice Resort!

The only bad part was the beach, it had seaweed in the water and in the sand which was not truly "white sand". We went on an excursion and the beach we were driven to was spotless with white sand. Other than that the resort was perfect. Keep in mind that you are in a "third world" country so it will not be up to North American standards. The food was very good. Blue Cheese steak at Thalassa for lunch was AMAZING (when it was on their menu). We never got bored of the food and we ate 2 dinners every night...lol...not including room service at night The rooms were clean (there were some musty and sweaty smells occasionally) but having travelled to more undeveloped countries (Vietnam, Thailand, etc.) this hotel is quite nice for the country it is in. The liquor at the bar was "good stuff" brands that we see in North America

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market down by the beach which sells souvenirs. Just walk down to the beach and turn right and keep walking for about a minute; you'll see a sign. They are very aggressive and set very high prices to start. You must barter it down to at least half of what they initially say. Ex. Picture frame they say is $48 we got for $15 or less. Wear long pants or insect repellent to the market. I got flea bites or something there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Exeter, NH
May 11, 2010

relaxing, just not that tasty

We upgraded to the junior suite for $15 dollars more a day. After viewing some other rooms we realized that it was pretty much the same as the regular suite. The layout was wonderful. We stayed on the royal side and after visiting the regular side are very glad we did. There was never any lines or too many people around on the royal side. The only complaint I have was about the food service a few of the restaurants staff members were clearly un happy with there job and the service reflected it. On the other hand there were some very friendly servers and we tipped accordingly. Also the restaurant tuscana the food was quite bad. Like a bad day at the olive garden. I am not one to complain but it was bad. were talking freezer burn on the desserts and cannaloni that looked like it came out of the can! now to the good. The restaurant Tapas on the royal side was amazing. Great atmosphere, service and food quality. The rooms were nice. I wish we upgraded to one of the suites with a private pool. They looked awsome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
morris co, nj
May 11, 2010

just amazing

my girlfriend and I just got back from d.r. and it was amazing, from the minute we got off the plane and were shuttled to the hotel we were in awe, the grounds are very well kept and quite tropical and that was at the regular resort, as we headed to the royal side we were welcomed at the desk with a nice cool beverage and a wonderful smile, the room was ready in moments and it was very clean and we were thankful it had a dehumidifier, the king bed was a little hard for her but comfortable for me, as far as the room goes the only gripe is very slippery terra cotta floors, be careful. During the week we thoroughly enjoyed the pool and bar, and the food was very good, try the japanese place and the steak house, beach was very nice and quite private, and all in all we will go back, the staff is friendly (be kind to your bartenders, look for [...], [...] or [...] at the pool bar) the atmosphere is fun and relaxing and the people you will meet are very nice and you just may make friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

lots of sunscreen, waterproof if accessible, remember to bring it with you, neccisities can get very expensive on site

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imnutz
northeast PA
May 7, 2010

Quiet times

Great for plain relaxation, good food, freindly staff (for the most part), not much to do unless you like the beach, housekeeping could be alot better. My wife and I thought it was alot like a cruise without the entertainment, different ports of call, and without the ship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 19, 2010

Nice Hotel

This is a nice hotel. We chose the Royal option and it was well worth it. While we got to enjoy all of the features of the standard hotel, we were able to escape to our Royal side whenever we wanted to get away from the crowds for some peace and quiet. Both of the pools and the beach on the Royal side are much less noisy and crowded. The Royal side also has a restaurant that only Royal guests can visit and I was happy to see lobster tail on the menu. Our room was the junior suite and it was awesome. Great tub in the room and nice balcony. You also might want to ask for a dvd player when you check in since there may be a waiting list to receive one (we had a 2 day wait). The mini fridge was stocked when we got to the room but we quickly requested more beer and water. We tipped our maid when she brought us the extra drinks, which put us on her good side. For the rest of the trip, she made sure to keep the fridge full of beer and water. The bed was a little bit stiff but it was easy enough to ignore since everything else was like paradise. All of the restaurants were great, especially the Japanese, but we did not try the Italian after hearing bad reviews from other guests. Most of the staff spoke some English so there wasn't really much of a problem for us non-Spanish speakers but it definitely helps to know some basic Spanish phrases especially to communicate with the maid and room service. My girlfriend ordered room service in English and the food never arrived. About 2 hours later, I called and ordered in Spanish and the food was there within 30 minutes. We also booked a fishing trip through our hotel and the crew didn't speak English but that didn't stop us from landing a huge Marlin! Overall it was a great trip and we felt like we got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time checking the weather before you go. We checked before we went and the internet said rain showers every day! We were a bit discouraged but when we got there, we had sun every day with a few scattered (quick) showers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Barcelona, Spain
Apr 6, 2010

Relax, relax & more relax

Rally good all-inclusive hotel, although there were a VIP group that focused all staff's attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spongebanana
Toronto
Mar 29, 2010

Royal time at Catalonia Royal

Parasailing boat was broken at the time but there were many other water activities available. Lots to do, great to have access to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ivanhoe
Mt. vernon Ia
Mar 7, 2010

the good and the bad

WE always had plenty to eat and drink The staff always frendly but only a few spoke english. the excursion were not very good We had more fun golfing and biking There are alot better places to go . Do not use coco tours as your suttle service they stiffed us on our way back to the airport and we had to take a taxi it cost us aextra $30 dollers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try all of them it will be worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago.IL
Feb 21, 2010

Great vacation

The trip was great overall with no complaints. The majority of the time was spent sitting by the pool relaxing as was the plan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Feb 21, 2010

***** Only for Adults LOVED IT

The experience was amazing....Service was great, the pool is awasome and the rooms are very modern and beautiful. Since it is a hotel for adults only, it was very relax and at the same time fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top