$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kropper
Couples
Long Island, NY
Oct 17, 2012

fabulous all inclusive

We had a great vacation at this hotel. Our room was gorgeous, the bed was comfortable, it was kept very clean. My one complaint is that the shower did not have hot water, it was lukewarm at best. The tub did have hot water. The food was great for the most part. The Japanese restaurant was not great-the beef was overcooked. My favorite restaurant was Sea Blue, I loved every meal I had there. The bartenders was terrific, every drink was better than the last. Overall very happy with the resort and would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

don't go to the shops outside of the hotel (down the beach), the vendors come to the hotel once a week. They came Friday night when we were there.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen the Beach Bum
Couples
New York, NY
Dec 16, 2012

Great Vacation

We had a great time! The Catalonia Royal Bavaro had a relaxing and laid back atmosphere. The food was good and the hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and spoke many languages. A huge plus to this resort was being able to use the sister resort's amenities next door, which were also inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob Burton
Couples
Kansas City, KS
Dec 10, 2012

This is the way to do it!!

This was my first time doing an all inclusive resort. But let me tell you, whether it is your first or 15th you will feel like it doesn't get any better then this place. The staff is so kind and acomindating. I definitely recommend you stay on the adult side. You have access to better restaurants and the beach is cleaner and staff if much nicer. You have access to all the restaurants of course but you will only want to eat at the ones on the adult side. There is nothing better then the tapas restaurant at night. The food there is five star. The buffet in the lobby for breakfast is top notch too with a great variety of god from around the world. Look for Juan Pablo he made our trip do much better due to his kindness. Stay at this resort, do yourself a favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

When and if it rains. Don't get down. Go to the bar and pull up a seat and Carlos will make the rainiest day into a great one with his incredible drinks and kindness.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooner Coach
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Dec 2, 2012

Will not be going back

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and fruit in our room. A very nice touch. Our room was very hot. Our air conditioner only made the room humid, our clothes and towels stayed wet most of the trip. There was not another room that we could switch to. Our hair dryer did not work for the first two days, finally we did have someone come and put in a new one. The sheets did not get changed while we were there, even when we put the card on the pillow and we even tipped our cleaning woman. The reason I know this is from the stain on the sheet and the hole in the pillow case. There was a language barrier with the staff when we voiced all of these concerns. The food was just okay on the resort. The neighboring resort did not have good food there. We went to the buffet for breakfast one morning, but did not go back after we saw birds landing on the cheese. The pools were both nice and relaxing. Either one you will need to get to early. We also did a dolphin explorer excursion that was the highlight of our trip if you get a chance to do that! Overall, I should have done a little more homework before choosing a place to stay. There were negative reviews with each place I looked at, and I just assumed every place there could be someone who has a negative experience, no matter how nice the place is. Who knows, maybe I am that person now?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cata Tapa was the best place to eat. Took a few days for us to realize, but everything there was great!

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Nov 23, 2012

Relaxing Quiet Vacation Spot

Great value. Great room and cleanliness. Food was great for dinner. Rest of meals were okay, not amazing. Perfect spot for a quiet relaxing spot. Not much to do other than enjoy the food/drinks/pool/beach. If you're looking for lots of activities and shows this isn't the place for you. If you're happy bumming out by the pool/beach/room it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annoymous 2012
Couples
Philadelphia, usa
Nov 17, 2012

Nightmare holiday

Worst resort ever stayed in: 1) check in was like going to Walmart refund section. 2) staff can't speak English. So communication was really bad. 3) food was not 5 star. It was 1 star. Holiday inn is better. 4) spa was broken and no one would repair anything. 5) ground is uneven and very cobbly. Take trainers, or hiking shoes. 6) showers were cold. They have no hot water. We felt dirty everyday. 7) whole resort was full of smokers everywhere, air felt very polluted. 8) common areas were not very clean. So many flies everywhere, especially on beach when they do lunchtime barbecue.. It's full of ants and bugs. 9) it's a very Spanish hotel. If you speak Spanish it will help you. 10) food was revolting, got very sick by the third day. Stomach cramps, loose stools, shivers, body aches , etc.. 11) best part of the trip was flying back home last night. 12) had to go doctor this morning.. 13) good luck to those who go here, hope this info helps..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Mom and Dad
Couples
MN
Oct 23, 2012

Perfect Escape!

My husband and I have three young kids and we wanted a quiet getaway to relax, recharge, and just escape. This hotel was perfect for that! It was all-inclusive so we just carried a little cash around for tips. The staff was excellent and there were always drinks just footsteps (or a quick swim) away. Both pools were perfect for lounging and swimming. The beach was lovely too. The food at the restaurant was wonderful too- we ate breakfast and dinner there and were very pleased. We did not do anything other than relax in the sun, swim, nap, eat and drink. There were more opportunities to do other things, but that is not what we wanted. The resort that was attached was much livelier if that if that is your style, but that isn't what we wanted. My only 'complaint' was that our room, although gorgeous, was a little musty smelling. We spent very little time in there anyway so that bothered us very little. The beds were comfortable and we even had a little balcony with a hammock. We were there in the end of October and it was beautiful every day (88-90 degrees). Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindaB105
Couples
Georgia
Oct 15, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

The room had a funky smell and the bathroom was dirty when we first arrived. Overall it was a great value and they came to clean and tidy up a few times a day. I definitely wouldn't recommend the place for the food but the drinks were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shanclark85
Couples
San Antonio Texas
Sep 15, 2012

Amazing

We just arrived back from our stay at Catalonia royal bavaro and it was amazing! The staff are so attentive and nice. The resort is beautiful. All the staff work so hard all day keeping the resort in amazing shape. From raking and cleaning the beach to keeping the rooms spotless. The speciality restaurants are where it's at, the buffetts are hit or miss. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antoinette NJTransplant
Couples
PA
Sep 7, 2012

Amazing for Couples

As soon as we got to the hotel, which was just a short drive from the airport, we were greeted with drinks and cool towels - a truly telling experience of the exceptional service at this hotel. The rooms were amazing and exceeded our expectations. The beach did have a bit of sea weed and the water wasn't as clear as I'd hope but to be fair the stormy weather could've caused this. Overall a tropical paradise and great couple's getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top