Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

4/5

Overall score

79%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lost1876
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 22, 2012

Save your money and do a 5-star resort

Horrible food-not well prepared, cheap quality, little selection. Not very friendly staff-many very annoying, slow service. Beach is great-water very nice. Cockroaches in rooms, cleaning not that good, very limited mini fridge selection. Room service menu very limited. Not enough power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mafe Solano
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Good but not great

This hotel is located very close from the airport - 20 minutes maximum, so consider it well located. The hotel itself (lobby, bathrooms, restaurants, the pool, etc) is pretty and well maintain. The beach has a lot of algae and the hotel has one person cleaning them up, but their system is not modern so even though they try to keep it clean the beach is always dirty. The breakfast is really good but the rest of the food is very very bad, I read about the food in other reviews so I was kind of prepared, but that still affect me... the only restaurant I recommend is the italian (decent food, don't expect anything great). The spa is really nice but sadly it is expensive and the staff is not professionals, so I would not recommend it. The hotel is very tranquil, but if you want to hear music and do activities with other people, you can just walk to the other resort.... however I would say that the activities are not great (music, presentations) the casino looks kind of old... I think overall the hotel is neither bad nor great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DocR
Business
Suffern, NY
Jul 15, 2012

A "Royal" Disappointment

We had read mixed reviews about the Royal Catalonia Bavaro, but had high hopes. Upon arrival, we drove past the Catalonia Bavaro which was very nice. With high hopes for the "Royal" Catalonia we were quite disappointed when we pulled up and it looked more liked we were staying in the back maintenece area. After checking in, we were shown to our room which was unsatisfactory at best. The bed was basically a box spring with a sheet on top, the shower looked like it had not been updated since 1970 nor had been cleaned in a while. We are not ones to complain; however the room was unacceptable. We complained to the front desk and they showed us another room that was not in any better condition. The manager offered us an upgrade for a discount of $10 per night- big deal! In the meantime we were carting our own luggage around from room to room in the heat after a long day of travel. Our upgraded room was more to our liking. Unfortunately we had to pay $$$. The breakfast was poor and we ended up skipping it all but 2 mornings. Lunch at the pool restaurant was decent and dinner was actually very good at the Tapas restaurant. All other restaurants were poor. When asked for a Malibu Bay Breeeze, we were given a glass with straight malibu. Pina Colados along with any mixed drink with juice were quite distatsteful. No top shelf alcohol nor beer besides Dominican beer was available. Staff, including concierge desks, spoke little English, so it was very hard to communicate even though we can speak a bit of Spainish it did not help, otherwise they were friendly.Each time we went to concierge desk, they were never present. We stayed in the resort the entire trip- it was very quiet and relaxing. The pool was nice but the overall hotel needs to be updated. It is quite run down. We stayed at other resorts elsewhere that are far superior to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tapas restaurant was the ONLY decent restaurant. Service was great! Food was good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claire bear 07
Business
New Jersey
Jul 2, 2012

really bad experience

was not what i expected especially after reading the reviews... this was my honeymoon. When my husband and I arrived we waited 3 hours to get to a room. The BED SHEETS WERE DAMP every night.. There were plenty of mosquitos in the room (got so many bites).. GOT FOOD POISONING at the restaurant from the pork ribs. The last three days of the vacation were a waste because my husband and i COULD NOT leave the room how SICK we were. Also found a bug in my food. We attempted to ride horses on the beach, THERE was a 17 year old kid who took us off the resort and did not understand one bit of english; we passed SHACKS and scary locals who wanted us to go into their shops to buy things, so five minutes into the ride we turned around because it was sooo SCARY. the horses looked malnourished. the beach turned into a dirty unkept beach. WE sure wasted 200 bucks on that. also the guy who sold us the tickets to go horse riding, told us that other couples would be there, but when we got there it was just my husband and I, which made it even more scary. definitely NOT what i expected. THE ONLY POSITIVE THING WAS THE STAFF. THEY WERE NICE PEOPLE AND VERY ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigcatml
Business
Long island , NY
Jun 11, 2012

Great relaxing getaway

Everything was great !! Service, food, everything was located in walking distance, Staff was friendly, however english is a second language, so be patience Nice and quiet, beaches were combed everyday, small adult resort, you can use the adjacent resort facilities as well i also like the dress code for eating, restaurant service was excellent as well, tipping is appreciated by the staff too definitely a 4 star, i would like to try a five star next or return here, very close to airport as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure gentlemen bring pants to wear for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed vacation
Business
Indiana
Jun 4, 2012

great vacation

We stayed on the adults only side. The rooms, pools, and beach area were amazing. The resort was very clean and staff were always working hard. The dinners were excellent especially the japanese restaurant and the tapas place. Wished there was a better lunch and breakfast option....just buffets and the only sit down place was just okay. It is a big resort with alot of walking but very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punter
Business
USA
May 10, 2012

Vacation

The facilities were modern and relatively clean. Saw a few bugs in the room during the stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was mediocre, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you also visit the neighboring Catalonia Bavaro resort next door. The circus act was entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bwm81
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Honeymoon

Very nice resort with multiple pools and a beautiful beach. Overall we enjoyed our trip. Staff was nice and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coco puff
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Quiet hotel, and sister hotel needs some help

The piano bar is only open Tuesday, Friday and Saturday so there is no other entertainment on the Royal side other than the beach party on Thursday evening and the music, food and staff did a great job of putting together. The beach is nice and clean but the swimming area before hitting the reef and the storm drain is not very far out. You can walk for miles up and down the beach but be prepared for the trash you will see once leaving the resort beach. We had a shortage of loungers around the pool and the beach for 2 days due to a fire in another hotel and people were housed at the Royal. There was always a shortage of lounge chairs around the main pool and people are laying claim to chairs well before 8.00. Our room was always clean and fresh towels and we had no complaints there. The food on the Royal side is a mater of preference, to us some was good and some was not so good, you would have to decide for yourself. The staff are polite and appreciated the tips we left and the service on the Royal side was pretty good overall. On the sister side, we ate at the Mexican and the Steak house and it was the worst service and worst food ever. It took in both restaurants 40 minutes to get our first course which we promptly left along with 85% of the other food we ordered. The buffet had lots of selection, some tasted good others not so good. The Japanese was our best meal. We did not try the Italian. The nightly shows were not the best we had ever seen, but entertaining for an hour with a good strong drink in hand. The casino.... a good portion of the machines were out of service. I play Blackjack and most of the dealers were nice and appreciated the tips if I was winning, but of course I lost in the end. The sadest thing was the dogs that roam the property in the evening, starving. As an animal lover this was painful to see. Couple of tips..... take house shoes as the tiles in the room are a little uneven and cold to bare feet. Ladies take your own hairdryer if you have long hair otherwise it will take hours to dry also take a good conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Start low with your price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAWK
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Mar 20, 2012

IT WAS NICE

IT IS A GREAT PLACE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR NO NOISE, EARLY NIGHTS ,IF YOU JUST WANT TO RELAX ON THE BEACH OR SIT NEXT TO POOL . JUST 20 MINUTES FROM AIRPORT , THE GROUNDS OF THE RESORT ARE WONDERFUL, THERE IS NO NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT, YOU COULD NEXT STORE TO THE FAMILY RESORT BUT THE SHOWS ARE BAD , ROOMS ARE CLEAN , STAFF VERY NICE , FOOD IS GOOD . BAR GLASSES TOO SMALL, BRING YOUR OWN TRAVEL CUP , THEY WILL FILL IT UP ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

THERE IS NONE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top