$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annoymous 2012
Business
Philadelphia, usa
Nov 17, 2012

Nightmare holiday

Worst resort ever stayed in: 1) check in was like going to Walmart refund section. 2) staff can't speak English. So communication was really bad. 3) food was not 5 star. It was 1 star. Holiday inn is better. 4) spa was broken and no one would repair anything. 5) ground is uneven and very cobbly. Take trainers, or hiking shoes. 6) showers were cold. They have no hot water. We felt dirty everyday. 7) whole resort was full of smokers everywhere, air felt very polluted. 8) common areas were not very clean. So many flies everywhere, especially on beach when they do lunchtime barbecue.. It's full of ants and bugs. 9) it's a very Spanish hotel. If you speak Spanish it will help you. 10) food was revolting, got very sick by the third day. Stomach cramps, loose stools, shivers, body aches , etc.. 11) best part of the trip was flying back home last night. 12) had to go doctor this morning.. 13) good luck to those who go here, hope this info helps..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Mom and Dad
Business
MN
Oct 23, 2012

Perfect Escape!

My husband and I have three young kids and we wanted a quiet getaway to relax, recharge, and just escape. This hotel was perfect for that! It was all-inclusive so we just carried a little cash around for tips. The staff was excellent and there were always drinks just footsteps (or a quick swim) away. Both pools were perfect for lounging and swimming. The beach was lovely too. The food at the restaurant was wonderful too- we ate breakfast and dinner there and were very pleased. We did not do anything other than relax in the sun, swim, nap, eat and drink. There were more opportunities to do other things, but that is not what we wanted. The resort that was attached was much livelier if that if that is your style, but that isn't what we wanted. My only 'complaint' was that our room, although gorgeous, was a little musty smelling. We spent very little time in there anyway so that bothered us very little. The beds were comfortable and we even had a little balcony with a hammock. We were there in the end of October and it was beautiful every day (88-90 degrees). Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kropper
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 17, 2012

fabulous all inclusive

We had a great vacation at this hotel. Our room was gorgeous, the bed was comfortable, it was kept very clean. My one complaint is that the shower did not have hot water, it was lukewarm at best. The tub did have hot water. The food was great for the most part. The Japanese restaurant was not great-the beef was overcooked. My favorite restaurant was Sea Blue, I loved every meal I had there. The bartenders was terrific, every drink was better than the last. Overall very happy with the resort and would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

don't go to the shops outside of the hotel (down the beach), the vendors come to the hotel once a week. They came Friday night when we were there.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindaB105
Business
Georgia
Oct 15, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

The room had a funky smell and the bathroom was dirty when we first arrived. Overall it was a great value and they came to clean and tidy up a few times a day. I definitely wouldn't recommend the place for the food but the drinks were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shanclark85
Business
San Antonio Texas
Sep 15, 2012

Amazing

We just arrived back from our stay at Catalonia royal bavaro and it was amazing! The staff are so attentive and nice. The resort is beautiful. All the staff work so hard all day keeping the resort in amazing shape. From raking and cleaning the beach to keeping the rooms spotless. The speciality restaurants are where it's at, the buffetts are hit or miss. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antoinette NJTransplant
Business
PA
Sep 7, 2012

Amazing for Couples

As soon as we got to the hotel, which was just a short drive from the airport, we were greeted with drinks and cool towels - a truly telling experience of the exceptional service at this hotel. The rooms were amazing and exceeded our expectations. The beach did have a bit of sea weed and the water wasn't as clear as I'd hope but to be fair the stormy weather could've caused this. Overall a tropical paradise and great couple's getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gela313
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Aug 23, 2012

Great vacation

Friendly staff, gorgeous beach, beautiful pools and rooms, great choice of restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lost1876
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 22, 2012

Save your money and do a 5-star resort

Horrible food-not well prepared, cheap quality, little selection. Not very friendly staff-many very annoying, slow service. Beach is great-water very nice. Cockroaches in rooms, cleaning not that good, very limited mini fridge selection. Room service menu very limited. Not enough power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mafe Solano
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Good but not great

This hotel is located very close from the airport - 20 minutes maximum, so consider it well located. The hotel itself (lobby, bathrooms, restaurants, the pool, etc) is pretty and well maintain. The beach has a lot of algae and the hotel has one person cleaning them up, but their system is not modern so even though they try to keep it clean the beach is always dirty. The breakfast is really good but the rest of the food is very very bad, I read about the food in other reviews so I was kind of prepared, but that still affect me... the only restaurant I recommend is the italian (decent food, don't expect anything great). The spa is really nice but sadly it is expensive and the staff is not professionals, so I would not recommend it. The hotel is very tranquil, but if you want to hear music and do activities with other people, you can just walk to the other resort.... however I would say that the activities are not great (music, presentations) the casino looks kind of old... I think overall the hotel is neither bad nor great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DocR
Business
Suffern, NY
Jul 15, 2012

A "Royal" Disappointment

We had read mixed reviews about the Royal Catalonia Bavaro, but had high hopes. Upon arrival, we drove past the Catalonia Bavaro which was very nice. With high hopes for the "Royal" Catalonia we were quite disappointed when we pulled up and it looked more liked we were staying in the back maintenece area. After checking in, we were shown to our room which was unsatisfactory at best. The bed was basically a box spring with a sheet on top, the shower looked like it had not been updated since 1970 nor had been cleaned in a while. We are not ones to complain; however the room was unacceptable. We complained to the front desk and they showed us another room that was not in any better condition. The manager offered us an upgrade for a discount of $10 per night- big deal! In the meantime we were carting our own luggage around from room to room in the heat after a long day of travel. Our upgraded room was more to our liking. Unfortunately we had to pay $$$. The breakfast was poor and we ended up skipping it all but 2 mornings. Lunch at the pool restaurant was decent and dinner was actually very good at the Tapas restaurant. All other restaurants were poor. When asked for a Malibu Bay Breeeze, we were given a glass with straight malibu. Pina Colados along with any mixed drink with juice were quite distatsteful. No top shelf alcohol nor beer besides Dominican beer was available. Staff, including concierge desks, spoke little English, so it was very hard to communicate even though we can speak a bit of Spainish it did not help, otherwise they were friendly.Each time we went to concierge desk, they were never present. We stayed in the resort the entire trip- it was very quiet and relaxing. The pool was nice but the overall hotel needs to be updated. It is quite run down. We stayed at other resorts elsewhere that are far superior to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tapas restaurant was the ONLY decent restaurant. Service was great! Food was good!

Back to menu Return to top