$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
162 reviews
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main... See full review

  • hilaryvernon
  • Aug 26, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeanSandy
Naz PA
Jun 24, 2013

Paradise

Couldn't ask for anything more. Service, staff, food, beaches, drinks, all were fantastic. Going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melz1
Business
CT
Oct 18, 2014

Nice Room and Great staff but a little musty...

We stayed from 10/10-10/17 and here are some highlights: The room we stayed in was a non-smoking room but don't be surprised if you have smokers next to you smoking on the porch. The room itself is beautiful but musty. I don't think that is really the hotel's fault though because everything is damp in the DR. The humidity is so high even your laundry is going to seem damp by the end of your vacation. Even with the air conditioning on all the time your room won't get any colder than 75 degrees. The staff is wonderful. Most of them call you their "family" which is kind of nice. They are friendly even if you don't speak Spanish but get really excited when you attempt any Spanish at all. The bartenders tend to be more friendly on the family side though. One even gave my husband and I an impromptu merengue lesson when the bar was empty! The beach is nice and shady and the water (as long as it's sunny) has some great snorkeling on the adult side. There is a man-made coral wall on the adult side and a lot of fish hang out there. We even saw a puffer fish. As for food, we mostly went to the buffet on the family side. We tried all the restaurants and liked sorrento at the pool and thallasa for dinner. You have to dress up though so make sure you don't just bring beach clothes. Also, if you scuba dive, take the Catalina island excursion from scubaquatic at the beach. It was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are staying at the hotel and not going anywhere else don't change over money. Every shop takes USD and most excursions do too. If they don't take that then they take Visa. ***most places DON'T take American Express though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Lover 13
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 8, 2014

Not a relaxing stay.

Unfortunately, I wouldn't be packing my bags to stay there again. We expected a nice relaxing stay on the beach but it definitely wasn't. I wrote a little description of the main things below: Rooms: Not good at all. They smelt really badly of mold and was constantly humid/moist. We were not sure if it was because of the humidity or because there was just no ventilation in the rooms. The air conditioner in our room was also not working. I did not have one comfortable night sleep while I was there. The couple we went away with actually had to move rooms because their original room smelt extra awful. Beach: It was pretty, but there was so much seaweed in the water. The employees there were working hard at sweeping it away but they were fighting a losing battle. I was expecting clear water, I got the opposite. Restaurants/Bars: If you like meat, you may be excited about the Rodeo Stead House - don't be. The food is absolutely awful there. The two restaurants that I found were pretty good: Cata Tapa and Sea Blue. The rest were not very good. The Piano Bar at the front of the hotel is nice for drinks. Amenities: The pools were nice and the spa was okay. I received my first massage there which I was expecting to be wow'd by - it was only alright. They do have excursions that you can pay extra for. We signed up for two. Big disappointment was no jet skiing. Staff: Extremely nice however there was definitely a language barrier. Be prepared to know a little Spanish or else it will be hard to communicate. Another Note: Everyone I was with got really sick. Luckily I just didn't feel that great a couple nights. We were unsure if it was from the room's or the food. Overall, it was just not what we expected. We were really disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring bug spray! At night, the mosquitoes are everywhere. We were eaten alive. We had to purchase a expensive bug spray at their convenient store. Wish we just had it with us!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike kost
Business
nyc
Sep 28, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro review

Cons: Room needs refreshing. Thermostat did not work, a lot of mosquitos. Pro: excellent snorkeling, food, stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Thai restaurant is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BFF for life
Business
Chicago, illinois
Aug 30, 2014

pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the Dominican food. So many wonderful pools. I am so grateful I chose the adult only privileges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Mom KL
Business
New York
Aug 30, 2014

Quiet Getaway

Nice, simple hotel with a great beach. Calm and quiet, perfect for a relaxing retreat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hilaryvernon
Business
Salisbury, MD
Aug 26, 2014

Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main restaurant (Thalasa) was fantastic as well. Because this side was adults only, it was much more quiet and relaxed. You are still able to visit the other side (Catalonia Bavaro) and use all of the amenities there, like the casino or disco, so that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not dine at the Catalonia Bavaro side if you are a Catalonia Royal guest. The Royal food is much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puntacana2014
Business
Ny,ny
Aug 13, 2014

Our stay

Staff was very pushy trying to sell timeshares. Some restaurants were good some were bad. Very long wait times for food. Not a good experience with VIP for transportation to/from airport. We were told we had to meet rep at 8:30am to arrange travel back to airport. He tried to see us excursions. We didn't want to wake up early to meet him but we had no choice. Then he told us to see him again the day before we left at 8:30am to get the vouchers and time to leave. We said no. We're on vacation. He said he would leave it at the front desk. The day before we left the info wasn't there. We had to walk to the other resort and waste another 20 minutes waiting just for the return time. What was the point of meeting him the first day? He never arranged anything. He just wasted our time!! The beach was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couples on Vacation
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 7, 2014

Friends vacation

My husband and I went on this trip with two other couples. It was great! Very relaxing, and such a fun time. All the restaurants were tasty and very easy to get a table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A couple bucks for bartenders and servers goes a long way in getting that extra great service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Forney's
Business
Belmont, NC
Aug 6, 2014

Great Anniversary trip

This was our first international vacation, and it was in celebration of our 25th anniversary. Overall, it was a good trip. The hotel grounds, pools, and beach were Beautiful!! We enjoyed all of the restaurants with the exception of Mexican. The drink service was good everywhere, but we found it to be better if you showed appreciation to your wait staff. They remembered you from previous days and showed their appreciation. Our only complaint was the humidity/dampness of the room. It caused a mildew smell and our sheets seemed damped when we turned in for the night. They staff cleaned the rooms superbly each day, which was a plus for us. Overall great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great entertainment nightly on the family side. You have to walk over (or catch the hotel shuttle) if interested, but worth it. After the first day, we found our way by foot, and we enjoyed the walk over and back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJJack
Business
Chicago
Jul 31, 2014

Royal Stay

My wife and I stayed five nights without the kids to unwind from stressful jobs. The adult side is perfect if this is what you are looking for (I would also recommend the family side but not for an over 30 couples trip). The grounds were well maintained, and compared to other resorts I have stayed, found walking distance to be fairly quick to all locations even from 46 which is the closest to the main entrance. I found the food to be very good but we ate on the adult side and would have to admit I am not a picky eater. We booked one excursion to the local island. It is an all day event and it took a little talking into from my wife as it involved having to get up early via alarm clock. Later I believe I saw a half-day excursion but I am not sure who it was through. Try out the kyaks and the catamarans are free to use but require reservations if you do not know how to use it you will need to hire a captain ($35). I am a novice sailor and would have read up in advance to learn the controls before taking it out on the ocean... I just stuck with the kyak. I do not think the price can be beat for this high quality of resort. The weather was beautiful every day with a solid non annoying breeze. Everyone was friendly from the staff to the other customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi fare is a set $30 one way and they are lined up ready to go. If you book a group transfer in advance to save money you will be waiting for the bus to fill and I found the savings to be minimal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top