$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
192 reviews
Just Relax!

The resort is smaller than others but it has the best bang for the buck. The food is great, the... See full review

  • Brian
  • Apr 30, 2015
Great Escape!!!!

I did travel with my wife to visit this hotel. It was dream vacation!!! The weather was great( we... See full review

  • Piotr K.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeanSandy
Naz PA
Mar 25, 2013

EXCELLENT!

Absolutely perfect describes this resort. Food, staff, facilities, grounds, beach, all of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston Salem
May 15, 2015

Okay I guess, but everything is a sales pitch

This was my first all-inclusive experience, so maybe this happens everywhere, but I was really put off by how everywhere I went there were personnel (from the resort and local vendors) devoted to selling me stuff. They were pushy, sometimes insulting, and way more aggressive than I was comfortable with. By the end of the trip, I was avoiding everyone from the resort or local shops because even when I was interested in buying a souvenir, I felt extremely pressured to buy more. When we checked in, we were told our room wasn't quite ready, so we were asked to wait in the lobby, or eat lunch (already covered in our all-inclusive package) in the restaurant. We also were told we could meet without private 'concierge' that came with our package. Walking the 30 feet to the restaurant, our concierge intercepted us to introduce himself. He showed us a book full of information about the resort, and started trying to get us to commit to coming to a sales pitch meeting on Sunday morning to learn more about timeshares and memberships with the resort (we'd get a beach bag for our trouble). He was nice, but was really persistent in trying to get us to sign up for the meeting, and eventually we had to say flat out that we were not interested in any additional bookings during our trip. We saw several people go through the same thing as us at check-in, so we think it was a standard practice. These concierges were regularly in the lobby greeting people trying to talk to guests, so we didn't venture over there often, and tried to avoid them. Outside the main buffet there was a gentleman stationed every day at breakfast who greeted people and then tried to talk to them about going to the shops on the resort. He stopped us one day and asked us with an accusatory tone about why we weren't wearing a shirt from the souvenir shop -- asking didn't we like Punta Cana? It made me really uncomfortable. They allowed local vendors on the resort regularly to set up tables and sell jewelry, artwork and crafts, which we thought was great at first--but--they set up the tables on major walkways, and the vendors would come grab people and try to get them to come to their table, and wouldn't leave people alone unless they made a purchase. Prices weren't marked, so unless you were really shrewd, you could easily get ripped off. They told me they were only on the resort for one day (my first night there) and we saw them two more times. We saw copies of the 'original' artwork throughout the rest of the country while on excursions. All of it kept me on edge a lot of the time, because I was approached even while trying to relax (around the pool, at the beach, etc.). I guess I had more to say about that than I realized -- on everything else: Free Wi-Fi is misleading: I was able to get a signal in two locations, and not in my room at all. There were no available outlets for charging cameras, phones, tablets, etc in the room-- we ended up unplugging lights and the TV to charge our devices. The food was okay-- I guess if it's unlimited and all inclusive the expectations shouldn't be too high. The tapas restaurant was fantastic though-- I definitely recommend that. Note - wine is not included, and there is one beer option in the entire resort. If you drink, your primary choices are sweet liquor beverages. The room was nice, and on the 'adults only' side, it was quiet, peaceful and the atmosphere was generally pleasant. The beach was okay, but there wasn't much space on our (quiet adult) side of the resort, and there were a ton of sharp rocks on the beach, so you need shoes if you walk along the water (or you need to watch out). The resort is really far from all the excursions we did-- we had to be picked up really early and we got back late because of how far we were from everything. Not sure it's worth being so far out, given that the beach is just okay, and there isn’t much nearby to walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian
Business
N/A
Apr 30, 2015

Just Relax!

The resort is smaller than others but it has the best bang for the buck. The food is great, the grounds are extremely clean, quiet beach, and everything is within a minute or 2 walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Formerly Big Ed
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Solid vacation

everything was just fine, except wifi coverage was spotty. Resort is segregated between adult and family sections, which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JC Bos
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Would never go back...

Let me start off by saying I have never written a review on a hotel/vacation but our experience was so bad I feel compelled to. Stayed here 1 week with my fiancé and another couple in Oct 2014. We have been to many all inclusive resorts so have a pretty good idea of when we are getting quality for our money and when we aren't. In retrospect, we should have known something was "up" when we got such a good deal. Let me start off by saying the smell in the rooms was HORRIBLE - both ours and our friends'. We stayed in Villa 46. The minute we walked in all we could breathe was must and mold. We called the front desk immediately, an employee came down to our room, agreed it smelled, and moved us (after the manager told us "make sure you are happy with the next room because I am not moving you again."). When we were going back to the original room to finish grabbing our luggage, the employees were spreading potpourri all over the room. Yup just covering up the smell for the next unlucky family to check in. The best part is our "new" room smelled worse than the first. My husband found black mold all over the bed posts and curtains. The kind of black mold that would shut places down in the US. Major problem #2: the food. almost every single plate we had in 7 days for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, was unedible. 3/4 of us got sick from cross contamination. I actually lost weight on my vacation. If you get a drink at any of the outdoor/beach/pool bars, the cups have a film of all the different frozen drinks that were previously in them. Poor to non-existant cleansing. The only thing I could stomach was the gnocci from the Italian restaurant at the sister resort nextdoor. For a week. Beach is small.. lots of shade. Lots of seaweed (they were doing their best to clean it but there is just too much). Lobby is nothing special. Old couches. Really nothing to look at. On a positive note the staff (besides the managers we came across) were very friendly. Definitely helped to speak a good amount of Spanish. Bottom Line: Don't stay here. Spend the extra money and stay at the Hard Rock down the street. We are still talking about how disappointed we are in our stay after we looked forward to it for so long. We couldn't wait to come home. It was so bad that a coworker of mine was supposed to be staying here next week but I URGED her to change to a different hotel which she did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robert H.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Diarrhea for days

So much poo. Everyone was pooing. First day was okay. Second day was okay. Third day the poo's started happening. Fourth day: poo. Fifth day: poo. Sixth day: poo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Piotr K.
Business
Ridgewood
Mar 26, 2015

Great Escape!!!!

I did travel with my wife to visit this hotel. It was dream vacation!!! The weather was great( we went on April), very hot, no humid!!! The beach was very clean, the beach bar was very close, the service was excellent!!!! The staff was really helpful!!!!! Small resort -if you are looking for great, quiet getaway!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ross G.
Business
Saint ClaireShores
Mar 3, 2015

GREAT TRIP!!!

Place is amazing, I am going back again this year! Stay on the adult side, its very clean, great food (room sercive food was NASTY!) Make sure to go out on the glass bottom boat!! Not a singles spot, however great with a couples group! 5 stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan A.
Business
North Holllywood
Mar 2, 2015

Great place for the price we paid

Loved the adults only resort. For what I paid for this trip the place was good. However I must say the food is good but not great, and the beach is not as pretty as other resorts in punta Cana. Nonetheless the service was great as well as the two nice pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon G.
Business
Beverly Hills
Feb 16, 2015

great resort

amazing experience. highly recommend. property is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnny lam
Business
BROOKLYN
Feb 4, 2015

vacation

the hotel say 5 stars but I'm think really only 3.5 close to 4 the most... most of the visitors are french and they are not that nice the staffs are good the only problem is when I'm about to check out try to call the front desk and the bell boy desk and no ones answer the phone to help us the luggages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

would recommend this hotel only for the good price the beach is not nice and clean only stayed in my room cause with my own swimming pool the room is facing the fountains my room number is 3407

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top