$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
162 reviews
Friends vacation

My husband and I went on this trip with two other couples. It was great! Very relaxing, and such a... See full review

  • Couples on Vacation
  • Aug 7, 2014
Royal Stay

My wife and I stayed five nights without the kids to unwind from stressful jobs. The adult side is... See full review

  • JJJack
  • Jul 31, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rutger
Nashville , Tennessee
Jan 28, 2013

Amazing royal side

Staff member Yeisy was the best concierge around! Had honeymoon package and the 2 minor issues we encountered she solved immediately! Restraunts on the family side leave a bit to be desired but as its inclusive who can complain. The royal side adults restraunts however are as high end as you can get. Thalassa restraunt at the entrance was amazing and when we return we will frequent this restraunt to try the rest of the dishes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you only use the attractions that are offered at the desk in entrance for professional people. The ones that walk around the beech are not backed by hotel and so the quality isn't their

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puntacana2014
Ny,ny
Aug 13, 2014

Our stay

Staff was very pushy trying to sell timeshares. Some restaurants were good some were bad. Very long wait times for food. Not a good experience with VIP for transportation to/from airport. We were told we had to meet rep at 8:30am to arrange travel back to airport. He tried to see us excursions. We didn't want to wake up early to meet him but we had no choice. Then he told us to see him again the day before we left at 8:30am to get the vouchers and time to leave. We said no. We're on vacation. He said he would leave it at the front desk. The day before we left the info wasn't there. We had to walk to the other resort and waste another 20 minutes waiting just for the return time. What was the point of meeting him the first day? He never arranged anything. He just wasted our time!! The beach was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couples on Vacation
Wisconsin
Aug 7, 2014

Friends vacation

My husband and I went on this trip with two other couples. It was great! Very relaxing, and such a fun time. All the restaurants were tasty and very easy to get a table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

A couple bucks for bartenders and servers goes a long way in getting that extra great service!

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Forney's
Belmont, NC
Aug 6, 2014

Great Anniversary trip

This was our first international vacation, and it was in celebration of our 25th anniversary. Overall, it was a good trip. The hotel grounds, pools, and beach were Beautiful!! We enjoyed all of the restaurants with the exception of Mexican. The drink service was good everywhere, but we found it to be better if you showed appreciation to your wait staff. They remembered you from previous days and showed their appreciation. Our only complaint was the humidity/dampness of the room. It caused a mildew smell and our sheets seemed damped when we turned in for the night. They staff cleaned the rooms superbly each day, which was a plus for us. Overall great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great entertainment nightly on the family side. You have to walk over (or catch the hotel shuttle) if interested, but worth it. After the first day, we found our way by foot, and we enjoyed the walk over and back.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJJack
Chicago
Jul 31, 2014

Royal Stay

My wife and I stayed five nights without the kids to unwind from stressful jobs. The adult side is perfect if this is what you are looking for (I would also recommend the family side but not for an over 30 couples trip). The grounds were well maintained, and compared to other resorts I have stayed, found walking distance to be fairly quick to all locations even from 46 which is the closest to the main entrance. I found the food to be very good but we ate on the adult side and would have to admit I am not a picky eater. We booked one excursion to the local island. It is an all day event and it took a little talking into from my wife as it involved having to get up early via alarm clock. Later I believe I saw a half-day excursion but I am not sure who it was through. Try out the kyaks and the catamarans are free to use but require reservations if you do not know how to use it you will need to hire a captain ($35). I am a novice sailor and would have read up in advance to learn the controls before taking it out on the ocean... I just stuck with the kyak. I do not think the price can be beat for this high quality of resort. The weather was beautiful every day with a solid non annoying breeze. Everyone was friendly from the staff to the other customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi fare is a set $30 one way and they are lined up ready to go. If you book a group transfer in advance to save money you will be waiting for the bus to fill and I found the savings to be minimal.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Figue
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Jul 28, 2014

Terrible experience

The hotel is beautiful, but the service of housekeeping and room service were awful. Housekeeping forgot to take care of trash, towels, minibar. Room service information is takes by a person in the front desk, 4 out 5 we never got exactly what we order. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good in average

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HawkInMidwest
Iowa
Jul 11, 2014

Disappointed- We will never stay at another Catalonia property

It took 4 different rooms and 2 days to get checked in. Room #1 was completely under construction. Room #2 was flooded and had about 2 inches of water throughout the entire room.. Room #3 smelled horribly of mold/mildew. Finally, on the second day, Room #4 was adequate. It took a total of about 6 hours of standing in the lobby for the staff to get our room figured out. The hotel management was absolutely inept at solving any issues... and frankly didn't care. I don't know how many times we heard, "Trust me, we will take care of this." Only to get nothing taken care of... we basically had to complain for 2 days to get a suitable room. We ended up on some weird timeshare presentation that was somehow connected to the hotel. It was some sort of vacation exclusive club they marketed from the moment you walked in the door. In the end it wasted another 3-4 hrs. of our time. The salesman basically harassed us until we finally agreed to hear the presentation. Throughout our stay we tried to avoid these salespeople but they were always around wanting a high-five or fist bump. They just made you want to avoid all the common areas in general. Food was okay throughout both resorts. The waiters/staff were usually pretty slow... especially at getting water. Italian Restaurant at the other resort was very bad. All the other restaurants were average. Beaches were nice but there was a lot of moss/seaweed along the beach. Both pools were okay and usually not too busy. Bartenders mixed good drinks... they were above average. In conclusion- The lobby staff ruined our experience from the moment we checked into the hotel. We will never return to any "Catalonia" property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not take part in the "Exclusive Club" presentation they push on you from the moment you get checked into the hotel. Total waste of time.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P and K newlyweds
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2014

Recommend the Adult Side

We really enjoyed staying on the adult side (Royal Side) of the hotel. You have access to the family side, but you can easily stay on the adult's only side and enjoy the beach, pools, bars, and restaurants. The service is better on the Royal side, and you get to meet some great staff members. The overall quality of food, drinks, and service is better on the Royal side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

When the staff learn you are new, they will ask you to set up an "orientation" (sales) meeting. They will tempt you with a free welcome gift and continue the pressure during your stay. It is not a mandatory meeting, and will likely waste 2 hours of your first day.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCSG
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2014

Good for the price

We spent 1 week at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. This is my fourth time to the DR and first time to the CRB. Overall, the resort was a good value for our money, but we would not return to this hotel. The beach was small but nice with plenty of shade. There are no other hotels in this location so walking on the beach wasn't as enjoyable as usual. The pools were also small but the grounds were well kept and the resort looked great. We found the food at this resort to be below the average all inclusive resorts we have been to. Also, the restaurants on the other side are not as good and I wouldn't recommend going on that side. We found the rooms to be spacious, but a bit dark. We also had a number of things broken in our room. Lastly, while the staff was friendly, service was often very very slow. Overall, good adults only resort for the price we paid, but wouldn't recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bentley15
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 16, 2014

Go for the Exclusive Swimming Pool Suite

My husband and I just returned from a week-long stay at this resort. We had a fabulous time. We spent the whole week in our own pool, which was the best part of this resort. If you can swing it, definitely stay in one of the Exclusive Swimming Pool Suites. The staff is fantastic, the resort is beautiful and the experience is for those looking for a quiet, relaxing trip. The food was ok -- but we do not travel for the food. Overall, a great resort. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikebom
Marietta, ga
Jun 6, 2014

Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property and amenities were perfect. It was well worth the money. Would go back again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai and Spanish restaurants were great.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search