$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
168 reviews
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
Amazing

The moment I arrived at this hotel I knew it was going to be amazing. The place looked beautiful... See full review

  • AngieR
  • Jul 29, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rongheo
San Jose, California
Jul 30, 2014

Great Entertainment

We spent 7 nights at the Catalonia Punta Cana in July 2014 and we enjoyed every single day. The beach is nice, the room is clean, the happiest memories are for the entertainment staff especially Fernando and the one-man band singer (Sorry, I missed his name) who keep us entertained every night. The foods are rated "average" but all other activities are great,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure to bring your gorgles to watch the fishes at the hotel beach.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ariana caraballo
Massachusetts
Jun 28, 2014

amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were amazing, entertainment was great! I would definitely recommend and would go back. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnie College Student
New York, NY
May 27, 2014

Great college summer break

I was worried about the resort prior to going because the reviews were either 1 star or 5 star. I am giving this resort a 5 star after going because I believe they deserve it. I traveled right after college ended with a group of 12 college students. Everyone at the resort was very nice and helpful. The entire resort was picturesque and beautiful - I loved how everything had an open-air feel yet it was very cool with fans and air conditioning. The food was great as well. The best food there was definitely the barbecue. Be adventurous... and look for the grilled chicken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For all activities (snorkeling, dirt buggies, etc.) look for Ted. Ted is a representative for travel agencies there, and he speaks perfect English and has great deals. One day my group almost missed the bus, and he personally stopped it and made it wait for us. For nightlife, look for O'Neill, the promoter for Imagine. Imagine Nightclub is a 10-15 minute car ride away, and O'Neill has incredible deals!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosey C
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Magnificent

I have traveled all over the Caribbean and I have never been treated this way. The hotel staff are incredibly inviting and care if you are happy. The grounds are clean and very well maintained. There is food for everyone. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this resort, they are incorrect. Excellent! Excellent! You will not be disappointed if you chose this beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lillylover123
wisconsin
May 13, 2014

Excellent

The only thing that wasn't completely excellent was the food on the buffet. Almost everything was room temperature. But I chalk that up to their culture. The staff was more than nice! Not a lot of people spoke english but still very friendly. The employees were so hard working and catered to our every need. The specialty restaurants were fantastic and it was a nice change to the buffet food. The hotel was so clean and fancy! The swim up bar and the disco were great. This was definitely a deal of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad Mom IJB
Brookfield CT
May 12, 2014

One Of my worst vacations

I called a few days earlier to confirm my hotel ,that was useless as when we got there they said they were over booked. BUT they would put us up in there upscale sister hotel for one night. Well this was not an upscale room. We over looked the garbage facility . Our phone didn't work even after replace once . We had to hunt down toilet paper the next day. The shower stall floor was a spongy fiberglass that made you feel you were showering on a trampoline. Our power went out and because of a non working phone I had to go to the garbage facility to hunt someone down. .To top it off we had to check out at noon and move to the other room in the next hotel WHICH thank goodness was the nicer of the hotels. But our room wasn't ready until 3pm So that left us with hauling our money and passports around and not being able to do much. THEY TOOK AWAY another full day of our vacation without any compensation. To try to get anyone to hear our complaint took all 7 days until we checked out and finally had a manager listen. Of course what good did that do except a personnel email address from her to come back and give them another shot. I will say the facility was lovely and they did have lovely entertainment and the grounds were beautiful. Just the luck of us I guess was not on our side. and Don't bother getting roped into listening to there one hour privilege thing of there so called time share. They said we would get a coupon for 50 off a massage. We figured we may as well take that . Well it was not disclosed that you had to buy a 177. package massage Not the hour massage that was 85. So that was useless .Save yourself the 29,000. sticker price for 20 yr . It wasn't worth any of it and took more time then they said it will. So of course we were going to take a excursions to see the city and culture and that got canceled because of a public strike . That wasn't the fault of the facility , so we rescheduled that for the following day as the strike was only one day. We had to wake early and be in the lobby at 7:30. No bus shows. finally get a hold of OUR VIP guy and he calls them and said we got canceled late last night and heard nothing of it. Well that just broke the camels back and I burst into tears. He said he would fix it so we ended up chasing another company and getting on that tour which turned out to be nice. > Just sad to say it was my worse vacation and we all know we don't want to have bad memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring enough sunscreen it cost $36.00 a can of spray or cream

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple Threat Team
Long Beach, CA
May 1, 2014

Great Place for a Great Price.

I was not impressed by the sourpuss disposition of the girl who checked us in, but this was compensated by the rest of the staff who were superb during the entire stay. Special mention to Lucia, who is an awesome server at the bar area; Nicholas who was bartender at the pool side bar; And, Serverinia, server at the restaurant. Overall, staff were friend. Good variety entertainment. Restaurants were decent. If you go to the Steak House, order a steak! The DISCO club in the resort has good music and vibe. The room was clean, spacious and the hammocks were a plus. Housekeeping staff were nice. Be generous and tip them, they really work hard! Bargain if you decide to do activities; they always high ball people, but try it, like $10 lower, they usually cave in. Food at the buffet was good. They grill the chicken, beef and make pasta in front of you. The hotel location is close to the airport. Landscape is very clean, nicely manicured and clean. Careful swimming at the beach. My friend and I got stuck my a jelly fish, especially if you swim towards the "little island". Bring your little pharmacy; tylenol, nyquil, benadryl, sunscreen, cipro, flagyl, immodium, etc. Overall, a great stay for a great price. I would return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain with the vendors if you decide to do any outside activities. They always try to high ball; go $10 lower that the proposed price.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mpas12
New Jersey
Apr 30, 2014

It's a great place to go away

The hotel was great , staff were amazing and they always tried to make you feel really comfortable!! I just a little problem with the room . It should ve been a little bigger , the food was good buffet,steak house ,Japanese , the Italian and Mexican I didn't like them!! They clean the room really well overall all I had a great experience and I ll go back again without no problem!! Love the beach and the water !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Drink Man
Alaska
Apr 1, 2014

Alright

This hotel was alright. I read a lot of reviews and after staying there the rooms are clean. One thing they don't do is restock the fridge as listed on the site. The maid basically only folds the bed but not a huge deal. The hotel grounds and beach are very nice. The water is more a green color than turquoise though. So straight up the food sucks. I am not picky at all but after a week there I would have given anything for a pb and j sandwich from the us lol. In my opinion I would choose some other destination though. Also not really a spring break party hotel which is what I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The zipline tour is awesome but a long drive from hotel. Also there are 2 different tours so do some research.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Elyse
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2014

Beautiful resort, great food, amazing staff!

The staff made the trip. So friendly, welcoming, and nice. Great food: steakhouse, hibashi, and italian all great! The Gran Caribe buffet has plenty of options for lunch and dinner and great breakfast! Beautiful beach, with entertaining staff. The beach was beautiful with plenty of sun and shade (whatever you wish). Water sports available if desired, beach volleyball, beach bar, water zumba, dancing, and beach games. All around amazing experience! I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search