$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
196 reviews
Amazing trip

It was amazing trip for us....We were there in May and the Resort was very quiet...If you would... See full review

  • Agata M
  • Feb 10, 2015
Sister-brother vacation

The hotel itself along with all of its perks was amazing! The beaches were beautiful. The only... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jan 17, 2015
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 196
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad Mom IJB
Business
Brookfield CT
May 12, 2014

One Of my worst vacations

I called a few days earlier to confirm my hotel ,that was useless as when we got there they said they were over booked. BUT they would put us up in there upscale sister hotel for one night. Well this was not an upscale room. We over looked the garbage facility . Our phone didn't work even after replace once . We had to hunt down toilet paper the next day. The shower stall floor was a spongy fiberglass that made you feel you were showering on a trampoline. Our power went out and because of a non working phone I had to go to the garbage facility to hunt someone down. .To top it off we had to check out at noon and move to the other room in the next hotel WHICH thank goodness was the nicer of the hotels. But our room wasn't ready until 3pm So that left us with hauling our money and passports around and not being able to do much. THEY TOOK AWAY another full day of our vacation without any compensation. To try to get anyone to hear our complaint took all 7 days until we checked out and finally had a manager listen. Of course what good did that do except a personnel email address from her to come back and give them another shot. I will say the facility was lovely and they did have lovely entertainment and the grounds were beautiful. Just the luck of us I guess was not on our side. and Don't bother getting roped into listening to there one hour privilege thing of there so called time share. They said we would get a coupon for 50 off a massage. We figured we may as well take that . Well it was not disclosed that you had to buy a 177. package massage Not the hour massage that was 85. So that was useless .Save yourself the 29,000. sticker price for 20 yr . It wasn't worth any of it and took more time then they said it will. So of course we were going to take a excursions to see the city and culture and that got canceled because of a public strike . That wasn't the fault of the facility , so we rescheduled that for the following day as the strike was only one day. We had to wake early and be in the lobby at 7:30. No bus shows. finally get a hold of OUR VIP guy and he calls them and said we got canceled late last night and heard nothing of it. Well that just broke the camels back and I burst into tears. He said he would fix it so we ended up chasing another company and getting on that tour which turned out to be nice. > Just sad to say it was my worse vacation and we all know we don't want to have bad memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring enough sunscreen it cost $36.00 a can of spray or cream

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lee, NJ
Apr 18, 2010

it's terrible on both resort and [...]

I went Catalonia Bavaro with a group of friends, total 20 peoples. only me and another friend bought this all inclusive package from [...] this man just don't want to protect his customer and let his customer get a fair service in this hotel.my trip was started 4/11 to 4/18 in this hotel. I just came back home this evening, I wrote this is true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anonous488
Business
NY, NYC
May 25, 2013

Really a 2 star

How this place received 4 stars is beyond me. The reviews must be from their own people. I stayed for 4 days. My room is on the left side and not the "VIP" right side. Other than the luscious ground scenery, beach with its smooth white sand and clean water and pool there's really not much to like here. My shower had a huge 2" size cockroach. Someone else also said they had a cockroach in there room. We asked to not have the room cleaned but it was. I was bitten 10x by mosquitoes in the room. Night life / dancing / live bands are non-existent. Other than their corny show I went to bed by 11pm. What service? There is no one coming around asking you if you wanted drinks. I had to go to the bar each time. They must have used caramel colored water in their Brand name Rum bottles because I only got a buzz after drinking 4-5 coco loco/pina coladas and I'm a light weight. The gym is pathetic with a few machines. They stated 4 specialty restaurants. The Mexican (food was bad) is next to the Steak House and the Japanese is next to the Italian (OK but they must've forgotten me because I waited 30 mins for pasta?) but never all 4 opened at the same time. Its either 1 or the other. The buffet room & eating area is open so birds would swoop in to peck on food. Its unsanitary and they probably pooped on the food while they ate off them. We saw birds eat off plates from the tables if you got up for something and no one's guarding your food. Servers and activities ppl were nice. Everyone was kind but they lack manpower & service. Met a couple who stayed 7 days and the wife said she couldn't wait to leave and get home. Who says that on vacay? For the price I paid I definitely can get better service and entertainment elsewhere. I'll be back in DR but never to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girls Trip 3
Business
Kentucky
Jul 27, 2013

Not what was expected

Overall, our experience was tarnished by the service at the check-in counter and guest services. Upon arrival it took 45 minutes for us to be waited on. Everyone else who had arrived with us was long gone and we were the only people standing at the counter before the staff waited on us. Then we were given a room for 3 adults with only 2 twin beds. Then 6 hours later a third twin bed was delivered to the room after making 4 calls and 2 visits to the front desk. This was annoying since the bellhop told us it would be 15-20 minutes from when he delivered our luggage. Next, the air conditioning in our room would blow air but it didn't cool the air. Our room was 86 degrees and we had to wait 3 days to be moved to another room. Upon being moved to another room the air conditioning in the new room still only cooled to 86 degrees. Other people at the resort stated that their air cooled perfectly. However, the only compensation for staying 6 nights without air conditioning was a 30 minute massage. The guest services employees just said "we feel bad for you" and when we asked to speak to a manager we were told that they were always busy. Overall, the resort was decent. The food was average and on par with other resorts of similar ratings. The service and staff throughout the resort were friendly with the exception of the front desk and guest services staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Punta Girl
Business
Marietta, Ohio
Sep 23, 2013

Needs Some Improvement

The food was not too good. Room was clean, but needs improvements. Beach was nice, but miss our service of drinks on the beach. Last year was at another resort and had a servers all the time at the beach. :( Did an excursion that was very nice. Do the Catalina Island Scuba and snorkling, very very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Drink Man
Business
Alaska
Apr 1, 2014

Alright

This hotel was alright. I read a lot of reviews and after staying there the rooms are clean. One thing they don't do is restock the fridge as listed on the site. The maid basically only folds the bed but not a huge deal. The hotel grounds and beach are very nice. The water is more a green color than turquoise though. So straight up the food sucks. I am not picky at all but after a week there I would have given anything for a pb and j sandwich from the us lol. In my opinion I would choose some other destination though. Also not really a spring break party hotel which is what I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The zipline tour is awesome but a long drive from hotel. Also there are 2 different tours so do some research.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 26, 2011

Some bad, some good, some great

My experience was somewhat distressful compared to the relaxing time I was hoping for remembering my last vacation. From the moment we arrived the staff at the hotel was rude and unhelpful with exception of the bar tenders. This attitude persisted through the entire stay. Hotel staff totally lacks customer service training and the language barrier was not the excuse, I speak perfect Spanish. The room size was good and clean, bed clothes and towels were stained, smelled bad and did not appear to be washed properly, beach towels were always damp despite the fact that they were changed daily. There was no internet access for 4 days. The food was abundant but taste was mediocre, even at the specialty restaurants: Sushi, Italian, Crepes, did't try the Mexican but was adviced by another guest to avoid it. Deserts and drinks were too sweet. Fresh fruits, salad and fish were good. The Texan Grill was an exception, great meat, great salads, ask for the Churrasco. All spirits and wines offered in the bars and buffets were disgusting, wines were vinegar and watered down, all spirits were unknown local brands and all tasted the same BAD! You could not tell the difference from a wisky, a rum, a vodka, a tequila a gin, tried them all in the hope of finding something half reasonable. The exception was the wine offered at the Suhi and Italian restaurants but too expensive to buy by the bottle and the choices were very limited, most were not worth it. The local beer was good. The comon facilities were nice and clean, beautiful architecture, nicely kept grounds, the disco was ok as well as the casino, the golf course was nice and the tennis courts were well kept. The beach was magnificent, one of the best I've ever been at! And I have been in many around the world. Long beach with beautiful soft, white sand that never gets hot, lots of palm trees, the ocean is calm, with a beautiful variety of colors from clear,turquoise to saphire blues. There were plenty of beach chairs but not enough umbrella shades, so get up early if you wish to get one, otherwise use the shade of the palm trees. Summarizing, I feel I overpaid for the hotel, but I would recommend it at a lower price. Hotel service and food is very lacking but you can work around it, the beach is so beautiful it helps you forget it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lower your expectations about the hotel/food/service and concentrate in enjoying the beauty around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddieeee
Business
Catalonia Bavaro
Sep 24, 2014

Mr

Restaurants food was good and service good Staff that held activities excellent Specially Maria But unfortunately the place lack maintenance. In the outside grounds Needs transportation from beach area to restaurant and front lobby Everything to far and no transportation Lack hospitality Poorly managed With better executives and management Love and care I could be a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald C.
Business
Benicia
Jan 14, 2015

Can Not Recommend This Resort

The location and beach here are nice, and the resort facilities, landscaping and bars are very nice. The problem was with the food - extremely disappointing. The specialty restaurants were a waste of time did not like any of them (did not try the Japanese restaurant). Can not even get a cup of coffee in them! We complained twice to guest services without any response from them. The mosquitoes were so bad that we (4) left there with major bites all over. One major annoyance was getting and keeping beach chairs. On the plus side all of the staff excluding in restaurants were very friendly and made a bad resort stay a little better. I will never stay at another Catalonia resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharyrk
Business
Catalonia hotel
Dec 21, 2013

Stone weedy beach , but good staffs

Staffs were kind and helpful but not respectful as Jamaicans!! Most of the staffs could not speak and understand English that was a big problem!!! Our first room was in bad condition . When we took a shower , the shower head fell than and it was broken before we arrive there. The shower curtain was too short and cheap that water was all over the bathroom floor after taking a shower. The hair blow dryer was out of order! The bathroom floor was so slippery as you are doing ski on the bathroom. The bath room sink became full of water after a few seconds that was because of clogged pipe. Water bottles and soap were not delivered enough everyday. Cleaning and cooking Staffs could not communicate and understand English, they knew only Spanish !!! Lots of weed plants on the beach that was not pleasant for swimming. The weather was nice in December 85 degree, coconuts and pine apples were the best fruits of punts Cana .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoo and dolphin show , you can touch the animals that was nice. Distance 10 min

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top