$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
182 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 182
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erector Man
Business
Charlestown, IN
Mar 16, 2014

Not a 4 star

The farthest from a 4 star. I think was built in the 50's. Refrigerator never did work and couldn't get them to fix it. Electrical outlets were ancient. The buffet was ok and the staff was very friendly and very good. The specialized restaurants weren't worth the time, Mexican was awful along with service. If you are a spring break student and just want to get hammered this place might be for you. I would never go back at even half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dariush lavian
Business
great neck, NY
Nov 27, 2013

very bad getaway

the Hotel 's food, beverages was horrible, lots of bedbugs, which made our stay as nightmare. never again will choose Catalonia hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
krb123
Business
ottawa
Jan 30, 2014

Def not a 4 Star...3Star at best

You get what you pay for...service/food was adequate, resort was poorly maintaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mar y Cielo
Business
New York, NY
Nov 30, 2012

Mixed and unhappy

The first night was a real nightmare. At registration we asked for the room assigned to be clean. Upon arriving at the room, the quilt was stained and some of the furniture dusty. The bed was two twin beds put together (I understand that the description was 2 twin beds or a king size bed, but we are a couple). The balcony was overlooking a dirty roof top. We had to purchase an upgrade for an additional $500.00. The new room was a honeymoon suite by the beach, and it was much better. The staff was accommodating and friendly, with the exception of the front desk staff including a supervisor. The food/drinks were good. Activities were limited. Shopping was limited and over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The japanese restaurant as well as the steak house were wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MN beach lover
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 27, 2013

Everything was amazing - except the BED BUGS!

Beautiful pool, grounds, beach - the buffets and restaurants were wonderful - the staff was AMAZING -- the only bad was the bed bugs. By the third night I could not sleep because I spent all night itching. I didn't realize at the time it was bed bugs and would have notified someone if I had realized sooner. I did send the resort an email after I got home but did not receive a response of any kind. Like I said, everything else was wonderful. The bed bugs were horrible. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Me Disappointed couple
Business
New Jersey
May 19, 2013

I was disappointed

I was disappointed because I had to ask more than 6 times before someone brought me water. The brochure said that Catalonia would provide a daily refill on the room refrigerator. I did not ask for neither soda nor beer, I just wanted water. I was told that I will get two 16oz bottle of water for me and my wife every other day, Can you believe that, two adults get one 16oz bottle of water every other day. I went to Punta Cana to enjoy my time and my vacation but not going every day to the front desk to argue over a bottle of water. I have been to Punta Cana 4 times, this was the worst experience. Also, I did not like that if you pay extra, you can be a privilege guest, have a special dinning room, don’t have to wait on line for the a la card restaurant, it made me feel as a third class citizen that was treated different from the privilege guest. I understand if you pay extra to get better room and better location, but to go in front of another guest who is been waiting for long time, this is not acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimmey
Business
New Jersey
Jun 13, 2013

June 5th till the 11th

The place was “Ok” the food could have been better, it defiantly was not a 4 star resort, but for the price my girlfriend were happy. The staff seemed to cater more to the Spanish speaking patrons which is why I gave it 2 stars over 3. The beach was outstanding and they did have plenty of activities to do during the day, the pool was also very nice. I would return to the area but not to a Catalonia resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dholmes
Business
Greensboro, NC
Sep 7, 2013

Not a 4 Star

I am not one to leave reviews but this stay was not what I was expecting. To start the we had to be moved three separate times due to room cleanness. (Or lack there of.) I was not expecting a 5 star facility but I was let down by the first impression the rooms. It was something similar to a $49.99 USD room. The grounds, beach and staff are nice. Very few english speaking staff so it was difficult to communicate at times. Food was a hit and miss for me and I have been all over and like to try new foods, but they seem to lacking in the food part too. Was not happy with the stay.. and Everyone we spoke with had the same issues regarding the rooms and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make friends and drink.... Hotel entertainment is not good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 18, 2010

A bit disappointed

The beach at this resort was, by far, one of the nicest beaches my husband and I have experienced, beating out places like Cabo San Lucas and Cancun. The pool was enjoyable as well, as it was large and refreshing (although, we didn't venture too far from the pool bar). The grounds were well-maintained, but each day, there was a horrible manure-like smell that permeated the air. The smell either originated from the water that was used to water the grass and associated plants or from the soil. Either way, it made me gag. The entertainment staff worked hard to keep their guests entertained. That said, there were activities going on around the clock, from water aerobics to volleyball to salsa dancing. By the fifth day, the music they played over and over again got rather annoying, as there was no variety of songs. They also put on shows at night, which were hit or miss. Despite the beautiful beach, large pool and daily/nightly entertainment, the resort did not live up to the "four star" rating. In fact, I would rate it a 2 1/2 at best. The food was absolutely horrible, leaving all 8 of us sick. The sanitation procedures at the resort are non-existent; the chefs do not wear gloves, raw meat bakes in the heat as it is waiting to be cooked, and there are a bunch of flies and birds around the cooking/eating areas. It is no wonder we all experienced the Dominican version of "Montezuma's Revenge." The most appetizing food was the pizza and french fries that were offered at the snack bar. We typically look forward to the dining options available when travelling, but this time, our stomachs couldn't handle anything outside of the "safe" options. Furthermore, in addition to the food, the drinks were terrible. The alcohol used to mix the drinks was bottom shelf (and I would venture guess that it was the bottom of the bottom shelf). Very little to no top shelf liquors were available, so if you enjoy your Grey Goose, Bacardi or Patron, your best bet is to go somewhere else or bring it along in your suitcase to spike your own drinks. Otherwise, you will be very disappointed and sober for the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food will make you sick. Stick to the "safe" choices, such as dry toast, pizza with no toppings and french fries. If that doesn't interest you, then I highly recommend spending a few more bucks to go to a nicer, more upscale resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana DR
May 21, 2011

Punta Cana

we explored the country as a part of our honeymoon. The concierge was not very helpful. This trip had a alot of negative points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

CoCo tours is the worst!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top