$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thene H.R
Business
Dorchester
Dec 16, 2014

Soo Hungry!!

I had an absolute ball on this "Girls Trip". One of THE best trips EVER!! That being said...there of course was a down side.,the food SUCKED!! Face cloths were a hot commodity! Very hard to get some for the room. At times, it would take close to 2 HOURS!! We upgraded to Privileged but didn't feel that way. Make friends with the locals and they'll tell you about some good food spots. The gift shop at the hotel is definitely worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeffrey E.
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Ok trip

Service was lacking...stayed in a similarly priced place in Mexico and they were always trying to bring you drinks at the beach or by the pool. Here not at all gotta walk to the bar everytime. Staff at bars and restaraunt were great though Sounds silly but it makes a difference. Plus side nice pool, beautiful grounds. If you like waves in the ocean you will be disappointed. The water was calmer than the small lake where I live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nitabee
Business
Charleston
Sep 15, 2014

Food was Awful...

I had to make the best with what I had...this was my 1st time to DR and my last.. Started out with the hotel staff, my friends (5 ladies) requested for a upgrade to the adult only side... Was charge $85 per person only to be lied 2 ... Just was given a new room in the same hotel (privilege wristband) .. 2nd.. The food was awful.. Had to locate a place to eat off the resort. Which cost us $ 30x5.. 3rd.. We purchased 2 Excursion $95 per person and was told ... Music, 15 seat boat, bar to... That was a joke... We had a 5 seat boat no music and a cooler with coke and rum... Dirty equipment ... The only part that was good was the next day we went riding on atv.s.... And the drinks they and severs was good.. Thanks to Oscar the bellhop and Sandy our sever at Pure Bar.. I had a good time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring snacks....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mlhl
Business
New york
Sep 27, 2014

Ladies week

Was not to happy with the front desk at check in and check out. Not enough towels and when requested were not granted. Overall the property and staff especially evening entertainment was great . The bartenders were superb. If you are looking for a reasonable hotel this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The toro restaurant the better choice of the 4 on premises

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren goes on vacation
Business
Idaho
Jan 17, 2014

Couple on a getaway

We loved our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. Shower was small and the shower curtain attacked you each shower but how much time do you actually spend in there ;-)? Only downside to the room was no clock or alarm clock, it would have been helpful sometimes to know what time it was. Resort was beautiful and grounds were beautiful, nothing taller than 3 stories here spread out for a nice leisure walk. A family oriented resort but we didn't feel overrun with kids. Restaurants were easy to get into, it says you need reservations but they don't need them. The Japanese was by far the best food. The Mexican we weren't impressed with. The buffet was good but didn't really change much from day to day but there was enough variety to change it up a bit. The pool was nice and the bartenders at the swim up bar a blast. The staff was all friendly and outgoing. The entertainment staff have wonderful personalities and run around all day interacting with the guests and getting people involved. They put on entertainment shows nightly and were very enjoyable. We never ran into communication barriers with the staff. The resort also provides a small shopping center on site with a drug store and mini market if you forgot anything. We would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaribbeanGirl
Business
WI, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Solid vacation spot

Stayed here for a week in Feb 2014 - the location was definitely the high light. The beach is beautiful and if you wake up early you can see the sun rise over the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, with a small balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican restaurant featured at the hotel was definitely the best, but it seemed like very few people were aware of it. My group went twice and there were always empty tables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amusins
Business
New York
Mar 5, 2014

What's missing

This hotel needs a lot of beach chairs, so people would not have to get up at 6 in the morning to secure them...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm weather beach people
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 5, 2014

Better than what we expected for what we paid

For what we paid, it was better than our expectations. The rooms were the biggest downfall. Beach, staff, bars, and pool were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K and J K.
Business
new york
Apr 12, 2014

Sooo Beautiful!!!!!

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. The resort is really beautiful, you would think you were in a botanical garden. We just wanted to relax and enjoy the sun and the beach and your biggest task every morning was getting down to the beach early to get that perfect spot to spend the day.The glasses at the pool bar were small. so you may want to bring your own insulated larger cups so you don't have to make so many trips up from the beach. We did have one day of rain and it would have been nice to have some place to go shopping but there is nothing near this hotel. It is 15 minutes from the airport so we were on the beach in no time on our arrival day. All in all it was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple Threat Team
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 1, 2014

Great Place for a Great Price.

I was not impressed by the sourpuss disposition of the girl who checked us in, but this was compensated by the rest of the staff who were superb during the entire stay. Special mention to Lucia, who is an awesome server at the bar area; Nicholas who was bartender at the pool side bar; And, Serverinia, server at the restaurant. Overall, staff were friend. Good variety entertainment. Restaurants were decent. If you go to the Steak House, order a steak! The DISCO club in the resort has good music and vibe. The room was clean, spacious and the hammocks were a plus. Housekeeping staff were nice. Be generous and tip them, they really work hard! Bargain if you decide to do activities; they always high ball people, but try it, like $10 lower, they usually cave in. Food at the buffet was good. They grill the chicken, beef and make pasta in front of you. The hotel location is close to the airport. Landscape is very clean, nicely manicured and clean. Careful swimming at the beach. My friend and I got stuck my a jelly fish, especially if you swim towards the "little island". Bring your little pharmacy; tylenol, nyquil, benadryl, sunscreen, cipro, flagyl, immodium, etc. Overall, a great stay for a great price. I would return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain with the vendors if you decide to do any outside activities. They always try to high ball; go $10 lower that the proposed price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top