$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thene H.R
Business
Dorchester
Dec 16, 2014

Soo Hungry!!

I had an absolute ball on this "Girls Trip". One of THE best trips EVER!! That being said...there of course was a down side.,the food SUCKED!! Face cloths were a hot commodity! Very hard to get some for the room. At times, it would take close to 2 HOURS!! We upgraded to Privileged but didn't feel that way. Make friends with the locals and they'll tell you about some good food spots. The gift shop at the hotel is definitely worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeffrey E.
Business
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Ok trip

Service was lacking...stayed in a similarly priced place in Mexico and they were always trying to bring you drinks at the beach or by the pool. Here not at all gotta walk to the bar everytime. Staff at bars and restaraunt were great though Sounds silly but it makes a difference. Plus side nice pool, beautiful grounds. If you like waves in the ocean you will be disappointed. The water was calmer than the small lake where I live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nitabee
Business
Charleston
Sep 15, 2014

Food was Awful...

I had to make the best with what I had...this was my 1st time to DR and my last.. Started out with the hotel staff, my friends (5 ladies) requested for a upgrade to the adult only side... Was charge $85 per person only to be lied 2 ... Just was given a new room in the same hotel (privilege wristband) .. 2nd.. The food was awful.. Had to locate a place to eat off the resort. Which cost us $ 30x5.. 3rd.. We purchased 2 Excursion $95 per person and was told ... Music, 15 seat boat, bar to... That was a joke... We had a 5 seat boat no music and a cooler with coke and rum... Dirty equipment ... The only part that was good was the next day we went riding on atv.s.... And the drinks they and severs was good.. Thanks to Oscar the bellhop and Sandy our sever at Pure Bar.. I had a good time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring snacks....

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mlhl
Business
New york
Sep 27, 2014

Ladies week

Was not to happy with the front desk at check in and check out. Not enough towels and when requested were not granted. Overall the property and staff especially evening entertainment was great . The bartenders were superb. If you are looking for a reasonable hotel this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The toro restaurant the better choice of the 4 on premises

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AskTheAdmin
Business
NEW YORK CITY
May 18, 2010

Beautiful grounds HORRIBLE service.

The grounds are beautiful. They got us upgraded to a honey moon suite with privlidged status. That was supposed to get us our beach towels to the room and preferential treatment. HA! We got nothing and if you want your room cleaned or refrigerator refilled you have to call. We had a broken DVD player that took 5 days to fix. The maid broke a toy that my daughter won at one of their nightly shows. The anamacion team on the other hand was awesome and tried to make up for the hotels short comings but it was the last straw when the photographers tried to hustle us. They told us they would discount the photos if we bought a bunch, obviously 74 of them was not enough because they offered the same price per picture to everyone. When we complained we were told they could not do anything as they are an outside company! I am tired of complaining and if you want a relaxing trip stay away from here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newleyweds
Business
Michigan
May 10, 2011

Had a fine time but wouldn't go back

Overall, we had a nice time, but did have some issues. The resort was nice and we liked the beach and pool area. The food was average. When they say "all-inclusive", they really only mean things they don't want to charge you for--you will get asked to pay extra for certain wines and beers. We ran into a few problems during our stay. Our room was generally clean and cool (air conditioning worked well), but we did find ants on the counter in the bathroom, including on one of our toothbrushes, which was disgusting. Also, we brought one pillow of our own, which the housekeepers took from our room one day and we never saw it again. The minibar was supposed to be stocked everyday, including beer, and we received none on some days. We did call and ask for beer to be stocked, and they never showed up even though they said they were coming with some. When we returned home, we found holes in some of our clothing, and it looked like rats had chewed on them--that then became the most disappointing and disgusting aspect of the hotel for us. Would not return to this resort, but we still mostly enjoyed our stay this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren goes on vacation
Business
Idaho
Jan 17, 2014

Couple on a getaway

We loved our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. Shower was small and the shower curtain attacked you each shower but how much time do you actually spend in there ;-)? Only downside to the room was no clock or alarm clock, it would have been helpful sometimes to know what time it was. Resort was beautiful and grounds were beautiful, nothing taller than 3 stories here spread out for a nice leisure walk. A family oriented resort but we didn't feel overrun with kids. Restaurants were easy to get into, it says you need reservations but they don't need them. The Japanese was by far the best food. The Mexican we weren't impressed with. The buffet was good but didn't really change much from day to day but there was enough variety to change it up a bit. The pool was nice and the bartenders at the swim up bar a blast. The staff was all friendly and outgoing. The entertainment staff have wonderful personalities and run around all day interacting with the guests and getting people involved. They put on entertainment shows nightly and were very enjoyable. We never ran into communication barriers with the staff. The resort also provides a small shopping center on site with a drug store and mini market if you forgot anything. We would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaribbeanGirl
Business
WI, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Solid vacation spot

Stayed here for a week in Feb 2014 - the location was definitely the high light. The beach is beautiful and if you wake up early you can see the sun rise over the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, with a small balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican restaurant featured at the hotel was definitely the best, but it seemed like very few people were aware of it. My group went twice and there were always empty tables.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amusins
Business
New York
Mar 5, 2014

What's missing

This hotel needs a lot of beach chairs, so people would not have to get up at 6 in the morning to secure them...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm weather beach people
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 5, 2014

Better than what we expected for what we paid

For what we paid, it was better than our expectations. The rooms were the biggest downfall. Beach, staff, bars, and pool were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top