$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OttawaON
Business
Ottawa Ontario
Apr 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort But,,

What a beautiful place to visit. Resort was very clean and the staff were so friendly. Food was great, but found the wine to be not very nice. The only big complaint was that people were allowed to party at the pool all night. On our last night (Sat), people partied until 6 am in the morning. They were very loud, singing/yelling. What a terriable way to spend your last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crepsle
Business
brooklyn ny
Jul 3, 2014

June getaway

My vacation was regular for two days and for next two days it was very noisy because renovations were being done on a room next to me. Food and entertainment was ok. Communication between staff was difficult because most were unable to understand english. Otherwise it was enjoyable. Ps. alcohol was very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Paraguay
Business
Paraguay
Aug 8, 2014

Awesome beach, not very good resort

Overall it was a good trip because my family and I were there to enjoy the sun and the beach, but there were a couple of things we didn't like: 1 Privilege area, we felt kind of discriminated that we were separated from "special" people because they paid 15 dollars/day more than us. In the past we did stay in another resort and yes if you paid extra you had "privileges" like upgraded room but I never saw a special beach section, special restaurant area, room service or restaurant only for privileged people. In addition when we checked in the personnel never offered us this "privilege" we just found out on the second day when one of the employees told us that we were in a privilege area. 2. Employees: with a few exceptions like Kenia and Yarideth in the buffet area, Leninmichael in the Mexican restaurant, Milciades in the front bar who were awesome in what they do: greeting customer or preparing drinks the rest weren't courteous. If we made comments like: "today is a very hot and humid day" the employee respond with "well you are here vacationing, I have to sweat the whole day because I'm working" or if they asked us where are we come from and we say Paraguay instantly they respond with the word "Pariguayo" which means stupid/imbecile in Dominican slang. A couple of times I scolded the employee and he replied it was only a joke. I understand that in some way must be frustrated watch other people enjoying their vacation while you are working but no reason for long faces and lack of courtesy. In the end was a good trip but like I said in the beginning that was because we were there to enjoy the weather and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bridgettelea
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 20, 2014

Anniversary getaway

The only complaints would be below average food and drinks. Also the harassment trying to take us on tours. I had to pay a guy to stop asking me to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta Cana first timers
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 20, 2014

A little bit...blah.

Meals are ok. They are nothing special by any means. The beverages are nice. Our rooms A/C didn't work properly and didn't adjust which made our room uncomfortable for sleeping. The staff was always polite but there doesn't seem to be much organization in the restaurants. They seemed understaffed and on multiple occasions we waited 20-25 minutes for a simple glass of water while waiters would cross paths around the same tables repeatedly. The location was fine and the beach was nice. If you want to experience culture, go to Santo Domingo or even Puerto Plata. Punta Cana is just a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
linaz
Business
arizona
Sep 21, 2014

Catalonia not as good as we expected

We were in Punta Cana 2 years ago and stayed at the Sirenis which was a fabulous experience. We decided to stay at the Catalonia because it was closer to the airport and we figured it would be similar to the Sirenis. We were wrong. The main issue was the staff. Most were not very friendly and most didn't speak English. There wasn't the party atmosphere we experienced at Sirenis. The buffet meals were average to poor. The restaurants however were pretty good. The beach is overloaded with piles of seaweed. There weren't enough chairs at the beach or at the pool. Our room was OK - kept fairly clean but needs updating. We did enjoy the martini bar. Candaleria was the bartender there and she was very nice and put a lot of care into making her drinks. I guess my recommendation would be to go to the Catalonia if you cannot afford anything else. Otherwise pay a few hundred more and stay at the Sirenis or one of the other nicer resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunburnt white girl
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 8, 2014

Fun in the sun

The hotel was older and it showed. Took almost 3hours to check into room once we arrived. Cleanliness of room and pool was to be desired. Air conditioning in room didn't work that great and the shower had just a hole in the bottom of it, no drain cover. The food wasn't that great, we ate at the Italian restaurant 3 of the 4 nights. Our server Eduardo there was fantastic! He was the hardest worker on that resort by far! They hound you about joining a timeshare saying it only will be 45 minute presentation, when it actually took almost 3 hours. Overall, we got what we paid for, but I wish I would've just booked the hard-rock hotel for more money and had the vacation of our lives!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaurant was the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John4Joy
Business
Connecticut
Nov 19, 2014

Catalonia, Punta Cana, November 2014

Beautiful property, large, clean room, great pool area and beach. Your best bet for eating is to remain at the buffets, as all independant restaurants are very disappointing. The buffet food is average for this type of destination, but eating their 3 meals a day, for a week, gets old quickly. Drinks are made with the lowest possible quality liquor, don't even attempt to drink something "on the rocks" as you will be better off drinking rubbing alchol. Very pushy tour (condo sales) group, tell them a firm "NO" right at the start, when checking in. This could be a 4 star facility, but because of the food and low quality liquor, this resort remains a solid 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet, independant restaurants are awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LDandDG
Business
Ohio, USA
Nov 19, 2014

Catalonia Bavaro 11/12/14-11/17/14

Overall we thought the trip was great and pretty much got what we paid for. One reason we chose this resort was the price, however we regret not staying the full week. If you have read other reviews of the resort they are pretty spot on. The food wasn't great, but it was edible and got you by day to day. They upgraded our room to the Privileged room and we literally could walk out our door and the beach was right there. Only bad part about being close to the beach is that you are far from the lobby and most restaurants so you have to walk quite a bit to get places. We had an issue when we got to the room as the keys issued didn't work and we were able to get in from the sliding door which ended up being broken and being on the first floor needed to get fixed ASAP. After multiple phone calls and trips to the front desk they finally showed up to fix the door 4.5 hours later which prevented us from leaving our room and pretty much ruined our first day there. If I could do away with the first days experience I would say our trip was amazing! The beach was one of the nicest I've been to and the water was warm. There is a beach bar which is really convenient as well. The drinks were strong which made up for the mediocre food. The room itself was pretty clean but the AC didn't work very well and the mini fridge didn't work that well either but we didn't spend much time in the room. There are always activities of some sort going on, we especially liked the beach volleyball.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thene H.R
Business
Dorchester
Dec 16, 2014

Soo Hungry!!

I had an absolute ball on this "Girls Trip". One of THE best trips EVER!! That being said...there of course was a down side.,the food SUCKED!! Face cloths were a hot commodity! Very hard to get some for the room. At times, it would take close to 2 HOURS!! We upgraded to Privileged but didn't feel that way. Make friends with the locals and they'll tell you about some good food spots. The gift shop at the hotel is definitely worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top