$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta Cana first timers
Couples
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 20, 2014

A little bit...blah.

Meals are ok. They are nothing special by any means. The beverages are nice. Our rooms A/C didn't work properly and didn't adjust which made our room uncomfortable for sleeping. The staff was always polite but there doesn't seem to be much organization in the restaurants. They seemed understaffed and on multiple occasions we waited 20-25 minutes for a simple glass of water while waiters would cross paths around the same tables repeatedly. The location was fine and the beach was nice. If you want to experience culture, go to Santo Domingo or even Puerto Plata. Punta Cana is just a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
linaz
Friends
arizona
Sep 21, 2014

Catalonia not as good as we expected

We were in Punta Cana 2 years ago and stayed at the Sirenis which was a fabulous experience. We decided to stay at the Catalonia because it was closer to the airport and we figured it would be similar to the Sirenis. We were wrong. The main issue was the staff. Most were not very friendly and most didn't speak English. There wasn't the party atmosphere we experienced at Sirenis. The buffet meals were average to poor. The restaurants however were pretty good. The beach is overloaded with piles of seaweed. There weren't enough chairs at the beach or at the pool. Our room was OK - kept fairly clean but needs updating. We did enjoy the martini bar. Candaleria was the bartender there and she was very nice and put a lot of care into making her drinks. I guess my recommendation would be to go to the Catalonia if you cannot afford anything else. Otherwise pay a few hundred more and stay at the Sirenis or one of the other nicer resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunburnt white girl
Philadelphia
Oct 8, 2014

Fun in the sun

The hotel was older and it showed. Took almost 3hours to check into room once we arrived. Cleanliness of room and pool was to be desired. Air conditioning in room didn't work that great and the shower had just a hole in the bottom of it, no drain cover. The food wasn't that great, we ate at the Italian restaurant 3 of the 4 nights. Our server Eduardo there was fantastic! He was the hardest worker on that resort by far! They hound you about joining a timeshare saying it only will be 45 minute presentation, when it actually took almost 3 hours. Overall, we got what we paid for, but I wish I would've just booked the hard-rock hotel for more money and had the vacation of our lives!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaurant was the best.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John4Joy
Friends
Connecticut
Nov 19, 2014

Catalonia, Punta Cana, November 2014

Beautiful property, large, clean room, great pool area and beach. Your best bet for eating is to remain at the buffets, as all independant restaurants are very disappointing. The buffet food is average for this type of destination, but eating their 3 meals a day, for a week, gets old quickly. Drinks are made with the lowest possible quality liquor, don't even attempt to drink something "on the rocks" as you will be better off drinking rubbing alchol. Very pushy tour (condo sales) group, tell them a firm "NO" right at the start, when checking in. This could be a 4 star facility, but because of the food and low quality liquor, this resort remains a solid 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet, independant restaurants are awful.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thene H.R
Friends
Dorchester
Dec 16, 2014

Soo Hungry!!

I had an absolute ball on this "Girls Trip". One of THE best trips EVER!! That being said...there of course was a down side.,the food SUCKED!! Face cloths were a hot commodity! Very hard to get some for the room. At times, it would take close to 2 HOURS!! We upgraded to Privileged but didn't feel that way. Make friends with the locals and they'll tell you about some good food spots. The gift shop at the hotel is definitely worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeffrey E.
Couples
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

Ok trip

Service was lacking...stayed in a similarly priced place in Mexico and they were always trying to bring you drinks at the beach or by the pool. Here not at all gotta walk to the bar everytime. Staff at bars and restaraunt were great though Sounds silly but it makes a difference. Plus side nice pool, beautiful grounds. If you like waves in the ocean you will be disappointed. The water was calmer than the small lake where I live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nitabee
Friends
Charleston
Sep 15, 2014

Food was Awful...

I had to make the best with what I had...this was my 1st time to DR and my last.. Started out with the hotel staff, my friends (5 ladies) requested for a upgrade to the adult only side... Was charge $85 per person only to be lied 2 ... Just was given a new room in the same hotel (privilege wristband) .. 2nd.. The food was awful.. Had to locate a place to eat off the resort. Which cost us $ 30x5.. 3rd.. We purchased 2 Excursion $95 per person and was told ... Music, 15 seat boat, bar to... That was a joke... We had a 5 seat boat no music and a cooler with coke and rum... Dirty equipment ... The only part that was good was the next day we went riding on atv.s.... And the drinks they and severs was good.. Thanks to Oscar the bellhop and Sandy our sever at Pure Bar.. I had a good time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring snacks....

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mlhl
Friends
New york
Sep 27, 2014

Ladies week

Was not to happy with the front desk at check in and check out. Not enough towels and when requested were not granted. Overall the property and staff especially evening entertainment was great . The bartenders were superb. If you are looking for a reasonable hotel this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

The toro restaurant the better choice of the 4 on premises

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren goes on vacation
Couples
Idaho
Jan 17, 2014

Couple on a getaway

We loved our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. Shower was small and the shower curtain attacked you each shower but how much time do you actually spend in there ;-)? Only downside to the room was no clock or alarm clock, it would have been helpful sometimes to know what time it was. Resort was beautiful and grounds were beautiful, nothing taller than 3 stories here spread out for a nice leisure walk. A family oriented resort but we didn't feel overrun with kids. Restaurants were easy to get into, it says you need reservations but they don't need them. The Japanese was by far the best food. The Mexican we weren't impressed with. The buffet was good but didn't really change much from day to day but there was enough variety to change it up a bit. The pool was nice and the bartenders at the swim up bar a blast. The staff was all friendly and outgoing. The entertainment staff have wonderful personalities and run around all day interacting with the guests and getting people involved. They put on entertainment shows nightly and were very enjoyable. We never ran into communication barriers with the staff. The resort also provides a small shopping center on site with a drug store and mini market if you forgot anything. We would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaribbeanGirl
Family
WI, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Solid vacation spot

Stayed here for a week in Feb 2014 - the location was definitely the high light. The beach is beautiful and if you wake up early you can see the sun rise over the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, with a small balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican restaurant featured at the hotel was definitely the best, but it seemed like very few people were aware of it. My group went twice and there were always empty tables.

Back to menu Return to top