$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
179 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet4days
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Good for a first timer

my husband and I spent 3 nights here for our 20th wedding anniversary. Check-in was smooth and we got "upgraded" to "privileged". Now, we thought that was great but the only real perk was that we were close to the beach and pool. However we were about a 10 minute walk to the front desk. Not too much of a bad thing because you can take the scenic route which is very beautiful. The other option was walking under the shaded walkway, non scenic, which ran parallel to the scenic route but on the other side of the villas. The room was, uh, not so good. The bed was made but the tub was dirty and the shower was very cheap looking with a cloth curtain that kept flowing into the shower while you showered. The shower and tub were in a separate room from the tub. The stocked fridge had an open, already used, soda in it. The convenience of the buffet restaurant by the beach and pool was great but the food was not. The pool bar was great. On a whole the experience was a good one. We ate at the buffets (the one by the front desk was better) and took everything in stride. The grounds were beautiful but we'd definitely pay a little more money to stay in a more upscale all-inclusive next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet near the front desk. The food is a bit better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 29, 2009

Helpful thoughts for your next stay

We stayed at the hotel for 6 days. Most important: Great location! There is no resort near this one; you have the whole beach to yourself. Walk about 2 miles and you will find the next resort with a not so good beach and location. Also, this hotel has a gorgeous garden area. This is a huge resort, and it is well maintained. Also, good pool area. Big enough to have fun. Very good for couples as well as families. Very nice staff, very friendly. The Management is unorganized, rooms were double booked, and it takes a while for them to take care of complaints. The Suites have a great Bathroom, and enough space to relax and feel comfortable. Be aware: Put everything in the safe in your room, I left my watch out by accident, and after they cleaned our room, the watch was gone. So for everybody who plans a trip: Put your belongings in the safe. So the rooms and the beach are good, but I only give this resort 3 stars because of the food: The offer Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a lot to chose from, but not everything is good. Chose the right food and you will enjoy it. Watch out for Ice Cubes, a lot of our friends got a stomach ache, which is not really the resorts fault, it is just the quality of the water in that country. They also offer theme restaurants, a Steak House, Mexican –Italian and Japanese Restaurant. I would stick with the Buffett. We tried all but the Mexican, and it was so so. The setting of the Japanese Restaurant is fun, but again, the food is OK. I wish they would stick with typical Dominican food, and they would be doing much better. If somebody from Haiti tries to cook Japanese food, of course it won't be as good…. They also have a Crepes bar. GREAT!!! Try the sweet Crepes, you'll love it. The hotel offers free WIFI in certain spots, and you can go online at their internet café. Also, check in is at 3 PM, put your bathing suits in the carry on, and you can go to the beach if you get there before 3 pm. We met some people who were bored at the resort. Before you book: Understand that Punta Cana is a resort location. You go to your resort, and you lay on the beach all day until you get tired and sleep. You don't go to Punta Cana to party at night. So for everybody who wants some cool nightlife and parties: Book another resort. This one is great for long beach days, and a lot of bars and drinks with people you meet at the resort. They also offer great water activities. Free Canoes and Catamarans. Lots of fun! For $25 we went snorkeling. I can recommend that one! Worth the money! We also did the day trip to Saona Island. It's a lot of fun. A 2 hour bus trip gets you to a Catamaran, and after 1,5 hours you will reach the Paradise Island. Just don't expect a deserted Island, because there are going to be TONS of Tourists just like you. But it is sooo beautiful!!! So we had a good vacation, but next time I would go to a different resort, hoping the food will be a little better. Let me know if you have any questions, I'll be more than happy to help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. A.
Business
D.C.
Jun 3, 2010

Not Quite 4 1/2 Stars

4 1/2 stars internationally is not the same as 4 1/2 stars in the states - this was a 3 star. But for the money I guess it was on par. It was clean, had a big pool and a nice beach. However, all inclusive means that the staff are not extra accomodating. They do the status quo and thats about it. The food was ok, some things were good some things were not. The grounds and the rooms are not well lit - very dark. They did not tell us we needed converters for our electrical things. The resort is self-contained (casino, bar, club/disco, nightly show) but the casino was about 1000 sq ft and the shows were very cheesy. Taking excursions is highly recommended. The Catalonia Royal, just next door, was VERY nice and modern for about $100 more a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mike the nonsmoker.
Business
bronx,new york.
Jun 3, 2010

Veri naci but plainty smokers.

There are not a single areas tha you could siad it was free of smoking people around you,other than that it was a veri plesand vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When at japanes stile restauran do not eat the rice first, the good stuf come last.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drappy
Business
Quakertown PA
Oct 5, 2009

Great Beach, great price

We liked the resort to an extent. Glad to be home, We can talk to people here, Learn some Spanish before going. Rooms were clean, but there are BUGS! Tiny ants even saw a cockroach, gross. Food was okay, but not wonderful. All the drinks are waek and gave us really bad heart burn bring TUMS. Would we go there again....I don't know. We went for the beach and are glad about that. Clear water and warm. Oh all places to eat are not have air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk them down!!!!! They give you a 'gift' then you feel like you need to buy something!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Bias
Business
NJ
Jul 31, 2009

07/22 - 07/29

Great over all, except the BED is smell little bit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and layout! So,so food...

The layout of the resort was great! Pool and beach were amazing! The rooms could of been a little bigger. Hot water wasn't always there. There were no ice machines near rooms. The pool kept running out of clean towels. The food and service at the Italian restaurant were terrible! The buffet could of been better (would of been good to be able to eat inside an air conditioned room). Hotel staff was very nice and prompt. A NOTE ALL BACHELOR PARTIES...THIS IS NOT THE RESORT TO GO TO!! But it is great for all other!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OttawaON
Business
Ottawa Ontario
Apr 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort But,,

What a beautiful place to visit. Resort was very clean and the staff were so friendly. Food was great, but found the wine to be not very nice. The only big complaint was that people were allowed to party at the pool all night. On our last night (Sat), people partied until 6 am in the morning. They were very loud, singing/yelling. What a terriable way to spend your last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crepsle
Business
brooklyn ny
Jul 3, 2014

June getaway

My vacation was regular for two days and for next two days it was very noisy because renovations were being done on a room next to me. Food and entertainment was ok. Communication between staff was difficult because most were unable to understand english. Otherwise it was enjoyable. Ps. alcohol was very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Paraguay
Business
Paraguay
Aug 8, 2014

Awesome beach, not very good resort

Overall it was a good trip because my family and I were there to enjoy the sun and the beach, but there were a couple of things we didn't like: 1 Privilege area, we felt kind of discriminated that we were separated from "special" people because they paid 15 dollars/day more than us. In the past we did stay in another resort and yes if you paid extra you had "privileges" like upgraded room but I never saw a special beach section, special restaurant area, room service or restaurant only for privileged people. In addition when we checked in the personnel never offered us this "privilege" we just found out on the second day when one of the employees told us that we were in a privilege area. 2. Employees: with a few exceptions like Kenia and Yarideth in the buffet area, Leninmichael in the Mexican restaurant, Milciades in the front bar who were awesome in what they do: greeting customer or preparing drinks the rest weren't courteous. If we made comments like: "today is a very hot and humid day" the employee respond with "well you are here vacationing, I have to sweat the whole day because I'm working" or if they asked us where are we come from and we say Paraguay instantly they respond with the word "Pariguayo" which means stupid/imbecile in Dominican slang. A couple of times I scolded the employee and he replied it was only a joke. I understand that in some way must be frustrated watch other people enjoying their vacation while you are working but no reason for long faces and lack of courtesy. In the end was a good trip but like I said in the beginning that was because we were there to enjoy the weather and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top