$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pstphd
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 19, 2013

It's okay...

This was a couple's getaway and we had a great time. We were there January - 18. There were planned activities and great music on the beach.The resort grounds were beautiful but the outside floors were dangerous when wet. The staff was awesome. We never had to wait for anything at any of the restaurants. Housekeeping provided excellent services and the room was cleaned well every day. Both check-in and check out were painless and quick. We upgraded to priviledged which helped. Miguel was wonderful. It also provided more benefits and extras including two computers in the priviledged area which you will probably need if you decide to stay there. Our room, room 223, was on the top floor of a unit that was steps from the beach and the beach bar (Jose was a sweetie). The view from the balcony was the beach on one side and the beautiful pool from the other with coconut trees all around. The hammock was very a nice touch and very relaxing. We did not like the food. At first we thought it was because it was not american. We soon realized that the food was just bland. The fruit was not fresh. There was not much variety on the buffet. The restaurant by the beach served what seemed to be Sunny Delight for orange juice. There was not one food that excited the taste buds. Do not go here if you want to have a great food experience. The rooms were dated and some things needed to be replaced like the lamp shades. But again, very clean. If you decide to go, be sure to take an extension cord or power strip. We read this suggestion before going and we were glad that we did. There is only one plug in the room. The lamps and coffee pot are hard wired into the wall. The shower was small, but the tub was great. The air conditioner worked as it was supposed to, Do not go here if you need internet access. The signal is weak, when you do get one. There is decent reception in the lobby of the hotel and the privildged office but even there it was inconsistent. The beach was okay. Lots of seaweed. The guys selling on the beach did not bother us. We actually learned a great deal from them and looked forward to talking with them daily. This is not the Caymans with Seven Mile Beach. It is not Club Med or Sandals. Do not go here if that is what you are looking for. But for the cost, it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mia BONITA
Business
USA
Feb 1, 2013

Nice Hotel,but,not the best food

The hotel is nice,staff is nice, food is not the best, you need to put 10 diferents items on your plate to get one good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ski coach
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Mar 26, 2013

vacation for my wife and I

There is really nothing special about this place except a nice beach. The room service was performed not every day. The fridge in the room was never replenished. The food is great by value, but not that great in quality. We thought it was a more upscale place compare with Cancun, but the reality is exactly opposite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

trip to Santo Domingo is expencive and long, but worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
florida robin
Business
florida
May 18, 2013

12 day vacation

they had lost my reservation.......waited three hours at the front desk........the bars ran out of everything we were drinking.....very limited selection at pool and beach bars......MUST wear long pants at specialty dining.......pool and beach bars close way to early.........but overall for the money it was a good vacation......plan on a lot of walking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharShar
Business
Piscataway, NJ
Jun 2, 2013

Okay for the money

The location was great, only 15 minutes from the hotel but that's about it. There wasn't anything that stood out as amazing at this hotel. The casino was lackluster and the food wasn't that great. They had 4 specialty restaurants but only one of them had great food. Overall, it was okay but I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The only good specialty restaurant is the Italian one. All others are a miss.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luvwriter
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Dec 9, 2013

Hotel Catalonia Bavaro

The 'in hotel' attractions at Catalonia Bavaro are nice. This hotel has an onsite small shopping center (no cash, though - only credit card or they can charge it to your room); a small casino; several bars and restaurant options. The only downside is that if you're staying for more than a few days, you'll probably want to take some tours. We booked through VIP travel, which has an on site representative, and were very happy with the Santo Domingo tour and the zip lining experience! This hotel is on a beautiful beach surrounded by a reef but is fairly isolated so you'll need a ride to any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharyrk
Business
Catalonia hotel
Dec 21, 2013

Stone weedy beach , but good staffs

Staffs were kind and helpful but not respectful as Jamaicans!! Most of the staffs could not speak and understand English that was a big problem!!! Our first room was in bad condition . When we took a shower , the shower head fell than and it was broken before we arrive there. The shower curtain was too short and cheap that water was all over the bathroom floor after taking a shower. The hair blow dryer was out of order! The bathroom floor was so slippery as you are doing ski on the bathroom. The bath room sink became full of water after a few seconds that was because of clogged pipe. Water bottles and soap were not delivered enough everyday. Cleaning and cooking Staffs could not communicate and understand English, they knew only Spanish !!! Lots of weed plants on the beach that was not pleasant for swimming. The weather was nice in December 85 degree, coconuts and pine apples were the best fruits of punts Cana .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoo and dolphin show , you can touch the animals that was nice. Distance 10 min

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chico B
Business
Ohio
May 29, 2014

Good working class resort

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and booked a honey moon suite with the VIP upgraded package. Positives: good food, location, entertainment, activities. Negatives: outside vendors constantly trying to sell you stuff, hit or miss service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upgrade to the VIP package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proster
Business
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2014

Hotel staff needed to focus more on guest's comort insead they acted like sales force

Weak check-in process. We waited nearly 1 hr in line but no apologies from front desk for long wait. FREE Concierce Desk service is a SCAM. They only pushed you to attend 1 of their timeshare type program presentation. Hotel lobby was full of these sales people . If someone asked you, "How you were doing?", don't assume they cared. Insead, it was only a conversation starter. Next question lead them to push you to attend their presentation. Food choices in buffet were not too impressive. Japanese and Italian Restaurants were very good, Mexian Restaurat was disappointing. Bar Service was very good, there were plenty of opportunity to get drunk. Resort did sufficient job keeping guests entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese Restaurant catered to our special diet needs. Also Italian restaurant was better than average. Mexican restaurant was worst experience. Waiters in all three restaurants did not know sufficient English language so it was often hard to explin to them if you needed to modify what is in the menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CCFisher
Business
DFW
May 30, 2014

Not what we expected!!!

We were terribly disappointed to discover this resort wasn't located on the Caribbean side of the island, beach was rocky and full of sea weeds. Also communication was a horrible problem, very, very little English was spoken by anyone at the resort, made getting anything we needed, be it food, towels, room service, etc almost impossible. We did find the food to be good and waiters at the Italian and Steak house were exceptional. We had a bad experience with our one and only tour and not at all impressed with the upgrade to the Priveleged deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed the Japanese, Italian and Steak House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top