$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Low expectations Lower service

We stayed here from may 19th 2014 - May 23rd. We read pretty bad reviews but decided to give it a try. Never again. The food was terrible, I actually lost weight. The staff were not very nice and we were haggled every day for either an excursion or time share. Not worth it at all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald C.
Business
Benicia
Jan 14, 2015

Can Not Recommend This Resort

The location and beach here are nice, and the resort facilities, landscaping and bars are very nice. The problem was with the food - extremely disappointing. The specialty restaurants were a waste of time did not like any of them (did not try the Japanese restaurant). Can not even get a cup of coffee in them! We complained twice to guest services without any response from them. The mosquitoes were so bad that we (4) left there with major bites all over. One major annoyance was getting and keeping beach chairs. On the plus side all of the staff excluding in restaurants were very friendly and made a bad resort stay a little better. I will never stay at another Catalonia resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gigi622
Business
new york
Nov 20, 2014

not good food

This resort is a nice resort. I appreciate the fact that it is about mins away from the airport but the food was horrible and majority of the workers in the kitchen cant speak that much English. There should be more entertainment for the guests and the mosquitoes was everywhere most resorts spray the entire resort at 4am. this resort didnt do so as a result i got bitten alot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single Mom from NJ
Business
Edison, NJ
Mar 10, 2014

Unimpressed

Food was average, staff unfriendly. Great location and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler111289
Business
NY
Apr 10, 2014

Just a "good" vacation

After reading previous reviews, I was skeptical to book this hotel so I feel as if I owe it to people looking to stay here in the future that I wrote a review myself. I traveled with my boyfriend the first week of April. I strongly suggest paying the extra 15-20$ per person for round trip transportation to and from the hotel. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the airport which makes this a breeze as we were ready to get to the beach and drinks. We got there at about 2pm and the rooms weren't ready till about 3 we were told. When we went back, they told us another 30 minutes- no big deal. The hotel is very big and it takes about 10 mintues to walk from the lobby to the beach. We luckily were in a room right by the pool ! The rooms were okay- nice size bathroom, with a tub and sink on one side and shower/ toilet on the other. There is a mini fridge and couch and table. BEACH: The beach was beautiful ! White sand and warm clear water. You need to get to the beach by 8am to get chairs and even earlier for the huts ! Same goes for the pool. There is a bar by the beach which was nice and a swim up bar in the pool. They had daily entertainment also. FOOD: Here is the reason I give this resort 3 stars- the food was ehhhhh, just OKAY ! The buffet didn't look appetizing for breakfast or lunch and the food tasted bland. There is a spot by the pool that has burgers, pizza and French fries which is where we would find ourselves everyday. The specialty restaurants in my book were nothing special- and the menus were limited. The Mexican was definitely the best of all We didn't even go to the Italian because we heard a couple say it was horrible. The Japanese restaurant was what I was exited for and it stunk- There is a group of about 10 seated with a chef cooking in front of you- It's a predetermined menu. I can't even say that the sushi rolls they give you were fish??? The rice and vegetables was hard and not cooked and the beef/chicken was blah- disappointed !! The steakhouse was okay as well. BEST PART: the drinks- if you are going here as guys/girls in your 20's or couples- this will be your favorite part- ( who wants to eat anyway # - the lobby bartenders are friendly and at night, everyone ends up by this bar since there is entertainment. One night we ventured off the resort to Club Oro - it was a blast !!!!!! definitely suggest for young people ! There are people all around the resort trying to sell you things and also promoters for excursions / nightlife # the club) definitely bargain with them. I would go back here if the food was better, but just for that reason I wouldn't. You get what you pay for !! I would say worth it to spend the extra 300-400$ to go to a resort with better food ! Hope this helps !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mpas12
Business
New Jersey
Apr 30, 2014

It's a great place to go away

The hotel was great , staff were amazing and they always tried to make you feel really comfortable!! I just a little problem with the room . It should ve been a little bigger , the food was good buffet,steak house ,Japanese , the Italian and Mexican I didn't like them!! They clean the room really well overall all I had a great experience and I ll go back again without no problem!! Love the beach and the water !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AskTheAdmin
Business
NEW YORK CITY
May 18, 2010

Beautiful grounds HORRIBLE service.

The grounds are beautiful. They got us upgraded to a honey moon suite with privlidged status. That was supposed to get us our beach towels to the room and preferential treatment. HA! We got nothing and if you want your room cleaned or refrigerator refilled you have to call. We had a broken DVD player that took 5 days to fix. The maid broke a toy that my daughter won at one of their nightly shows. The anamacion team on the other hand was awesome and tried to make up for the hotels short comings but it was the last straw when the photographers tried to hustle us. They told us they would discount the photos if we bought a bunch, obviously 74 of them was not enough because they offered the same price per picture to everyone. When we complained we were told they could not do anything as they are an outside company! I am tired of complaining and if you want a relaxing trip stay away from here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newleyweds
Business
Michigan
May 10, 2011

Had a fine time but wouldn't go back

Overall, we had a nice time, but did have some issues. The resort was nice and we liked the beach and pool area. The food was average. When they say "all-inclusive", they really only mean things they don't want to charge you for--you will get asked to pay extra for certain wines and beers. We ran into a few problems during our stay. Our room was generally clean and cool (air conditioning worked well), but we did find ants on the counter in the bathroom, including on one of our toothbrushes, which was disgusting. Also, we brought one pillow of our own, which the housekeepers took from our room one day and we never saw it again. The minibar was supposed to be stocked everyday, including beer, and we received none on some days. We did call and ask for beer to be stocked, and they never showed up even though they said they were coming with some. When we returned home, we found holes in some of our clothing, and it looked like rats had chewed on them--that then became the most disappointing and disgusting aspect of the hotel for us. Would not return to this resort, but we still mostly enjoyed our stay this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Girbaud101
Business
California
Oct 31, 2012

A great change of pace and get away but not the best.

I would like to start with the staff, they were great. Honest very attentive and not always looking for tips. The layout of the resort is a little awkward were one has to decide it one wants to be close to the beach or the main lobby and main cafe. The walk from where we stayed in building 2200 was about 5 mins. away no really much to complain about. The food was not that great. Our biggest complaint was about the food believe it or not the best food items that we ate for the 4 days we were their were the fresh fruits pizza and french fries sad but true. I understand that some places opt to cook bland flavorless food as a precaution for those that might have food allergies but this was pretty bad. Pizza and french fries come on.. The casino was a joke not any action going on. To go alone to this resort is to be miserable one must have a partner. Although, price was very good for what we got in my opinion, 15 dollars USD more a day might not have been such a bad thing in retrospect.for exclusive status I'm not sure I would stay here again with all the other competition out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It was a little confusing to me they have a requirement to eat at one of the 3 theme restaurants. They say casual elegante, which I painfully found out means no shorts or sandle with preferably a button-down shirt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ygefghu
Business
California
Jan 14, 2013

Average family getaway

The hotel is really a 3 star hotel, do not expect anything better. The food is in buffets is very bad, in the restaurants - mmm, not so bad. The beach been always very windy, but I don't know if it's due to the season or permanent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

In a Steak house ask the steak to be rare, otherwise it will be un-eatable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top