$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
191 reviews
Sister-brother vacation

The hotel itself along with all of its perks was amazing! The beaches were beautiful. The only... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jan 17, 2015
Family trip

I really liked the hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. I think, I would come back there. See full review

  • Mariya S
  • Dec 29, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana DR
May 21, 2011

Punta Cana

we explored the country as a part of our honeymoon. The concierge was not very helpful. This trip had a alot of negative points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

CoCo tours is the worst!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe and Jen
Business
Patton Pa
Aug 9, 2011

positives and negatives equaled out

The ride from the airport to the hotel was great. Very short (20 minutes maybe) and coco tours were wonderful. however upon arriving we were taken to a room that looked like someone else was still staying in it with the bed sheets on floor/towels laying all over/and dirty dishes everywhere. the bell boy told us to wait there and he left. we waited at least half hour before we used the phone to call front desk and they finally sent someone else down and switched rooms for us. the new room was really nice and the pool and beach were wonderful. a lot of sea weed but staff cleaned it up each morning best they could. the food was best we have eaten yet. the grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. so much wildlife. stores and shops right in resort so no need to leave for anything you need. Those are all our positives. negatives included very rude staff (with exception of few and far between), terrible drinks at the bar (no alcohol in them unless specify you want it and bartenders are very rude at the pool bar). we even bought a bottle of rum at the store to add in our drinks after we got them and we think it was still watered down. the resort and beach had so many kids that it became a bit distracting and took away for the romantic aspect of the trip completely. also, beware there were a lot of topless women of all ages and children. we went to the excellence the previous year for our honeymoon and def got spoiled there so I think we just expected way more for what we payed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

study up on your spanish because hotel staff very limited on english language.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jul 20, 2009

No good

The hotel was ok, Large selection of mixed drinks are available. The food in this resort is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the ATV tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel staff needs to learn english

I stayed at dreams last years in punta cana and I liked it much better. the hotel staff did not speak english and it was difficult to even get a drink or the tv fixed in our room. I could not even get white rice because they did not understand me. You had to hold your pool towel for the whole vacation because there was never a replacement a clean one available. Not enough chairs near the pool so you had to get up at 6:30 am to reserve a chair. You needed a card to get into any of the restaurants and on Monday there were no reservations available for any of the two special restaurants and we were only there from mon to friday. The food was very good, but they served raw bacon at the buffets. Orbitz told me in september when I made the reservations that the hotel transportation was included and it was not. I had to pay 30.00 each way to get back and forth from hotel to airport. The shows at the hotel were very amature. The only positive thing was the people were friendly, but they did not go out of their way to please the customers at all. At dreams the workers went out of their way to please everyone and the shows were very good. If I go back I would stay at dreams. The rooms were very nice, but the outlets were not usable with cell phone, camera recharging because they had a plate around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl.
Sep 14, 2009

The same over and over

Actually there is nothing to do, animation group were always at the beach and they never knew what activities are going on to at least participate and do something.Food is the worst I've tried and at the last 4 days of my 8 we did not eat at all.In the info we got the hotel offers iron board and iron in room, not true, we've to get an iron fron the costumer serv. only for 2h. PLEASE READ THE BROCHURE IT SAID THE TIPS ARE INCLUDED IN YOUR ROOM PRICE. IF EVERYONE STOP TIPPING FOR NOTHING THE EMPLOYEES WILL DO THEIR DUTIES WITHOUT EXTRA PAYMENTS.That hotel employees would be happy to have a job and people around for them to keep it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the steakhouse is not that bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2010

Nice beach but poor service and food.

The food seemed to be not fresh and over cooked. The hotel just was not run like a tight ship. Lost air conditioning for two days [...]. Just was not up to par with other all inclusive hotels I have stayed at. Would not go back, not a vacation remembered for good things and great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the resturant early the food sits around and gets dried out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Macedonian.
Business
NJ
Jan 19, 2010

Resort [*]

Hotel was A ok I wouldn't want to go back. The food was not that good as everyone is saying and drinks if you like tropical sugarry drinks then this place is for you, I don't like tropical drinks so they did not have good beer I only had the rum and pepsi. Overall If you want to spend $2000.00 for a week its fine as its preaty close to the main land.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TreClub
Business
washington, DC
Sep 17, 2014

All good up until checkout...

Everything was good, with a few minor issues but nothing to turn me down....until check out. When I arrived, the phone didnt work and there was a leakage in the room. The phone wasn't fixed up until 2 days prior to me leaving, yet upon check out they said that my phone was working and that I made call from it...which I NEVER did!! They end it up charging me for something I never did! Customer service is HORRIBLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddieeee
Business
Catalonia Bavaro
Sep 24, 2014

Mr

Restaurants food was good and service good Staff that held activities excellent Specially Maria But unfortunately the place lack maintenance. In the outside grounds Needs transportation from beach area to restaurant and front lobby Everything to far and no transportation Lack hospitality Poorly managed With better executives and management Love and care I could be a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Low expectations Lower service

We stayed here from may 19th 2014 - May 23rd. We read pretty bad reviews but decided to give it a try. Never again. The food was terrible, I actually lost weight. The staff were not very nice and we were haggled every day for either an excursion or time share. Not worth it at all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top