$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
191 reviews
Sister-brother vacation

The hotel itself along with all of its perks was amazing! The beaches were beautiful. The only... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jan 17, 2015
Family trip

I really liked the hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. I think, I would come back there. See full review

  • Mariya S
  • Dec 29, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimmey
Business
New Jersey
Jun 13, 2013

June 5th till the 11th

The place was “Ok” the food could have been better, it defiantly was not a 4 star resort, but for the price my girlfriend were happy. The staff seemed to cater more to the Spanish speaking patrons which is why I gave it 2 stars over 3. The beach was outstanding and they did have plenty of activities to do during the day, the pool was also very nice. I would return to the area but not to a Catalonia resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girls Trip 3
Business
Kentucky
Jul 27, 2013

Not what was expected

Overall, our experience was tarnished by the service at the check-in counter and guest services. Upon arrival it took 45 minutes for us to be waited on. Everyone else who had arrived with us was long gone and we were the only people standing at the counter before the staff waited on us. Then we were given a room for 3 adults with only 2 twin beds. Then 6 hours later a third twin bed was delivered to the room after making 4 calls and 2 visits to the front desk. This was annoying since the bellhop told us it would be 15-20 minutes from when he delivered our luggage. Next, the air conditioning in our room would blow air but it didn't cool the air. Our room was 86 degrees and we had to wait 3 days to be moved to another room. Upon being moved to another room the air conditioning in the new room still only cooled to 86 degrees. Other people at the resort stated that their air cooled perfectly. However, the only compensation for staying 6 nights without air conditioning was a 30 minute massage. The guest services employees just said "we feel bad for you" and when we asked to speak to a manager we were told that they were always busy. Overall, the resort was decent. The food was average and on par with other resorts of similar ratings. The service and staff throughout the resort were friendly with the exception of the front desk and guest services staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dholmes
Business
Greensboro, NC
Sep 7, 2013

Not a 4 Star

I am not one to leave reviews but this stay was not what I was expecting. To start the we had to be moved three separate times due to room cleanness. (Or lack there of.) I was not expecting a 5 star facility but I was let down by the first impression the rooms. It was something similar to a $49.99 USD room. The grounds, beach and staff are nice. Very few english speaking staff so it was difficult to communicate at times. Food was a hit and miss for me and I have been all over and like to try new foods, but they seem to lacking in the food part too. Was not happy with the stay.. and Everyone we spoke with had the same issues regarding the rooms and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make friends and drink.... Hotel entertainment is not good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Punta Girl
Business
Marietta, Ohio
Sep 23, 2013

Needs Some Improvement

The food was not too good. Room was clean, but needs improvements. Beach was nice, but miss our service of drinks on the beach. Last year was at another resort and had a servers all the time at the beach. :( Did an excursion that was very nice. Do the Catalina Island Scuba and snorkling, very very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
krb123
Business
ottawa
Jan 30, 2014

Def not a 4 Star...3Star at best

You get what you pay for...service/food was adequate, resort was poorly maintaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Drink Man
Business
Alaska
Apr 1, 2014

Alright

This hotel was alright. I read a lot of reviews and after staying there the rooms are clean. One thing they don't do is restock the fridge as listed on the site. The maid basically only folds the bed but not a huge deal. The hotel grounds and beach are very nice. The water is more a green color than turquoise though. So straight up the food sucks. I am not picky at all but after a week there I would have given anything for a pb and j sandwich from the us lol. In my opinion I would choose some other destination though. Also not really a spring break party hotel which is what I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The zipline tour is awesome but a long drive from hotel. Also there are 2 different tours so do some research.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Traveling
Business
TN
May 21, 2014

Love Punta Canta but won't stay at Catalonia again.

We upgraded to Priviledged which I have done at another resort in Punta Cana and that experience was top notch. Don't waste your money at Catalonia the Priviledged staff is more interested in interacting with each other than assisting guests. Our upgraded room had 2 twin beds pushed together when our reservation was for 3 adults. It was 3 of us girls so we made do. Huge bathtub, but tiny shower stall. The food was mediocre at best with the exception being the Japanese restaurant. Great staff, presentation and food. We went to the Mexican restaurant placed our orders and 2 out of the 3 got something totally different than what we ordered. The waiter had the nerve to argue with us and then got snarky and called the manager over and might as well said we were lying. Shrimp tacos ( which I ordered) are nowhere near the same as chicken fajitas which is what he insisted I ordered. My adult granddaughter ordered stuffed chicken and she got beef fajitas. They finally brought the correct dishes, but we should have just left after the waiter got his attitude-because the food was overcooked and not good at all. The Italian restaurant was pretty good but we sat there for 15 minutes before our waiter even acknowledged us. The guys at the beach and pool bars and the employees at the beach/pool buffet were wonderful as were the guys at the pool grill. They made up for the bad attitudes of the rest of the staff. The "casino" is tiny and only has 5¢ slots and one blackjack table that was open but the people that worked there were really nice. I am pretty much a laid back traveler, but for the most part this resort just was not what I have come to expect from Punta Cana resorts. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Mexican and don't miss the Japanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 26, 2011

Some bad, some good, some great

My experience was somewhat distressful compared to the relaxing time I was hoping for remembering my last vacation. From the moment we arrived the staff at the hotel was rude and unhelpful with exception of the bar tenders. This attitude persisted through the entire stay. Hotel staff totally lacks customer service training and the language barrier was not the excuse, I speak perfect Spanish. The room size was good and clean, bed clothes and towels were stained, smelled bad and did not appear to be washed properly, beach towels were always damp despite the fact that they were changed daily. There was no internet access for 4 days. The food was abundant but taste was mediocre, even at the specialty restaurants: Sushi, Italian, Crepes, did't try the Mexican but was adviced by another guest to avoid it. Deserts and drinks were too sweet. Fresh fruits, salad and fish were good. The Texan Grill was an exception, great meat, great salads, ask for the Churrasco. All spirits and wines offered in the bars and buffets were disgusting, wines were vinegar and watered down, all spirits were unknown local brands and all tasted the same BAD! You could not tell the difference from a wisky, a rum, a vodka, a tequila a gin, tried them all in the hope of finding something half reasonable. The exception was the wine offered at the Suhi and Italian restaurants but too expensive to buy by the bottle and the choices were very limited, most were not worth it. The local beer was good. The comon facilities were nice and clean, beautiful architecture, nicely kept grounds, the disco was ok as well as the casino, the golf course was nice and the tennis courts were well kept. The beach was magnificent, one of the best I've ever been at! And I have been in many around the world. Long beach with beautiful soft, white sand that never gets hot, lots of palm trees, the ocean is calm, with a beautiful variety of colors from clear,turquoise to saphire blues. There were plenty of beach chairs but not enough umbrella shades, so get up early if you wish to get one, otherwise use the shade of the palm trees. Summarizing, I feel I overpaid for the hotel, but I would recommend it at a lower price. Hotel service and food is very lacking but you can work around it, the beach is so beautiful it helps you forget it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lower your expectations about the hotel/food/service and concentrate in enjoying the beauty around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yaks!
Business
NYC
Jul 25, 2011

nice place, will never return!

Hotel and grounds were beautiful, food was much less than great, beach was nice but not pristine for a Caribbean location! Foot note: I believe is a ridiculous fact, Men are require to wear long pants at dinner! Its a tropical location not a 5 star resort...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

short visits only!!! 5 day was way too much...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 18, 2010

A bit disappointed

The beach at this resort was, by far, one of the nicest beaches my husband and I have experienced, beating out places like Cabo San Lucas and Cancun. The pool was enjoyable as well, as it was large and refreshing (although, we didn't venture too far from the pool bar). The grounds were well-maintained, but each day, there was a horrible manure-like smell that permeated the air. The smell either originated from the water that was used to water the grass and associated plants or from the soil. Either way, it made me gag. The entertainment staff worked hard to keep their guests entertained. That said, there were activities going on around the clock, from water aerobics to volleyball to salsa dancing. By the fifth day, the music they played over and over again got rather annoying, as there was no variety of songs. They also put on shows at night, which were hit or miss. Despite the beautiful beach, large pool and daily/nightly entertainment, the resort did not live up to the "four star" rating. In fact, I would rate it a 2 1/2 at best. The food was absolutely horrible, leaving all 8 of us sick. The sanitation procedures at the resort are non-existent; the chefs do not wear gloves, raw meat bakes in the heat as it is waiting to be cooked, and there are a bunch of flies and birds around the cooking/eating areas. It is no wonder we all experienced the Dominican version of "Montezuma's Revenge." The most appetizing food was the pizza and french fries that were offered at the snack bar. We typically look forward to the dining options available when travelling, but this time, our stomachs couldn't handle anything outside of the "safe" options. Furthermore, in addition to the food, the drinks were terrible. The alcohol used to mix the drinks was bottom shelf (and I would venture guess that it was the bottom of the bottom shelf). Very little to no top shelf liquors were available, so if you enjoy your Grey Goose, Bacardi or Patron, your best bet is to go somewhere else or bring it along in your suitcase to spike your own drinks. Otherwise, you will be very disappointed and sober for the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food will make you sick. Stick to the "safe" choices, such as dry toast, pizza with no toppings and french fries. If that doesn't interest you, then I highly recommend spending a few more bucks to go to a nicer, more upscale resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top