$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
192 reviews
Relaxing vacation

Love the hotel my only problem was the Internet was extremely slow. They should have the option for... See full review

  • Ria M
  • Jun 18, 2015
AWESOME TIME

We had an awesome time at Catalonia resort! It is our 3rd visit and we look forward to return See full review

  • Sonia R.
  • Jun 15, 2015

Surrounded by palm trees and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private white sand beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs along the beach make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.

Dining

Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Nine restaurants include Mariachi serving Mexican specialties. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band. Unwind in any of the eight bars on site.

Rooms

This all-suite resort offers 711 spacious junior suites appointed with cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.

Property features

Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities include archery, beach volley, aerobics, aqua aerobics, shows, tennis, paddle tennis, sauna, gym, meringue dance and native painting lessons, non-motorized water sports: 1 hour per day of canoe, kayak, catamaran. Snorkeling, scuba diving (introductory lesson), hammocks, sunshades and beach towels, mini-club and mini-disco for children are also on offer. Visitors can also play at the casino, engage in motorized water sports, scuba diving immersions, golf excursions and tennis court lighting, relax with massages and unwind at the beauty salon, all at an additional charge.

Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property.

Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)

 

Nearby attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Conference spaces for up to 250 guests
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Policies
  • NOTICE: The 18-hole golf course will be closed until September 2015 for maintenance.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$145
4.0 / 5 176 reviews
★★★★
$183
3.8 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★
$121
2.9 / 5 118 reviews

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms one conference room with 250 people capacity and another with 140 pax capacity

Dining

Yuca
authentic restaurant la carte with the traditional Caribbean specialties: Not reservation needed, Air-conditioned , Dinner only . *Dress code: casual (short pants and sleeveless shirts for men are not allowed. Closed shoes)
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).Air-conditioned , *Dress code: casual (short pants and sleeveless shirts for men are not allowed. Closed shoes). No reservation needed
Rodeo
Steak House : to enjoy the best la carte meat specialties. Air-conditioned , *Dress code: casual (short pants and sleeveless shirts for men are not allowed. Closed shoes). No reservation needed
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...) Dress code: breakfast and lunch " informal; dinner - casual. *Themed dinner
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch Dress code: informal
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner) Dress code: casual
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.Large variety of sweet and salty crpes to enjoy directly in front of the sea. Dress code: informal
Terrace Tapas & Lounge:
innovative la carte tapas in a romantic atmosphere next to the beach . Dinner only * Dress code: casual. This restaurant is only for Privileged guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erector Man
Couples
Charlestown, IN
Mar 16, 2014

Not a 4 star

The farthest from a 4 star. I think was built in the 50's. Refrigerator never did work and couldn't get them to fix it. Electrical outlets were ancient. The buffet was ok and the staff was very friendly and very good. The specialized restaurants weren't worth the time, Mexican was awful along with service. If you are a spring break student and just want to get hammered this place might be for you. I would never go back at even half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dariush lavian
Couples
great neck, NY
Nov 27, 2013

very bad getaway

the Hotel 's food, beverages was horrible, lots of bedbugs, which made our stay as nightmare. never again will choose Catalonia hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unbelievably unhappy
Family
Los Angeles, California
Jun 8, 2014

NOT ACCOMIDATING, FOOD WAS HORRIBLE

To start they sent us to the family hotel when we paid for and reserved the adults only hotel. They refused to give us a room at the adults only resort when our itinerary clearly said ADULTS ONLY. The entire trip we dealt with screaming kids, crying babies and children running around without adult supervision. When we booked the room we requested early check in, when we got there we sat there for three hours waiting until we finally got into our room an hour later than regular check in. The room was nice, not what we thought we were getting, but nice. There were problems with the room like the sink didn't drain, no drain cover in the shower (just a hole in the floor), door knob fell off when we tried to open the door, refrigerator not cold, phone didn't work, etc.. We called (from a near by office ) to have it fixed and eventually after a couple days some of it got fixed, some didn't. We additionally paid for the honeymoon package that included decorated room upon arrival (never got it), champagne (after complaining, we got a day later), chocolates in room upon arrival (never got it), fruit basket in room upon arrival (never got it). Upon check in they didn't give us our free massage and photo voucher so we had to ask them again for it and they tried to make us walk back to our room to check our stuff again (which was more than a quarter of a mile away from the office) when we refused they made us sit there for at least 30 minutes while they verified with the other staff and salon so that we didn't get two vouchers. They only have restaurants for dinner so the only places to eat are the snack bar and the buffet which were both absolutely horrible every day. Room service was terrible as well. Everything service related there was SOOO slow. The restaurants took easily 2+ hours to get in and out of, whether you were waiting to get into the restaurant, waiting to be served, waiting for drinks, waiting to order, etc... We felt like we wasted so much of our vacation waiting!! The only way to get ice in your room was to call room service and it took at least 30-45 minutes if it came at all!! We tried to speak to management about several of the issues but every time we tried (which was several times), no one would allow us to. They kept transferring us to what they call the privileged office who refused us to allow us speak to anyone but them. They allowed outside venders to come and try to sell everyone merchandise like jewelery and other souvenirs which would have been nice and convenient but they hassled you and wouldn't take no for an answer! You wouldn't expect that kind of solicitation at your resort, maybe outside but not at the hotel. We accepted we weren't going to get anything from them so we just made the best of our trip. Luckily the beach was nice and the grounds were nice and kept up. Last but not least when we checked out it took them so long to check us (at least 45 minutes) out that we missed our transportation to the airport and we had to pay a taxi $30 to get there, luckily we got there in time because the plane changed their schedule to leave an hour earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't trust anything anyone says says because they lie to sell you things!! Like the golf course, they told us we had to buy golf balls because they don't give you any to golf with so we bought some and they actually do give you golf balls. Then they didn't want to take back the ones we purchased and never used. The VIP service trying to say their excursions were with a different company and that's why they were charging more money (because it was in an air conditioned luxury van) it wasn't, it was in the back of a truck just like the rest of them!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad Mom IJB
Friends
Brookfield CT
May 12, 2014

One Of my worst vacations

I called a few days earlier to confirm my hotel ,that was useless as when we got there they said they were over booked. BUT they would put us up in there upscale sister hotel for one night. Well this was not an upscale room. We over looked the garbage facility . Our phone didn't work even after replace once . We had to hunt down toilet paper the next day. The shower stall floor was a spongy fiberglass that made you feel you were showering on a trampoline. Our power went out and because of a non working phone I had to go to the garbage facility to hunt someone down. .To top it off we had to check out at noon and move to the other room in the next hotel WHICH thank goodness was the nicer of the hotels. But our room wasn't ready until 3pm So that left us with hauling our money and passports around and not being able to do much. THEY TOOK AWAY another full day of our vacation without any compensation. To try to get anyone to hear our complaint took all 7 days until we checked out and finally had a manager listen. Of course what good did that do except a personnel email address from her to come back and give them another shot. I will say the facility was lovely and they did have lovely entertainment and the grounds were beautiful. Just the luck of us I guess was not on our side. and Don't bother getting roped into listening to there one hour privilege thing of there so called time share. They said we would get a coupon for 50 off a massage. We figured we may as well take that . Well it was not disclosed that you had to buy a 177. package massage Not the hour massage that was 85. So that was useless .Save yourself the 29,000. sticker price for 20 yr . It wasn't worth any of it and took more time then they said it will. So of course we were going to take a excursions to see the city and culture and that got canceled because of a public strike . That wasn't the fault of the facility , so we rescheduled that for the following day as the strike was only one day. We had to wake early and be in the lobby at 7:30. No bus shows. finally get a hold of OUR VIP guy and he calls them and said we got canceled late last night and heard nothing of it. Well that just broke the camels back and I burst into tears. He said he would fix it so we ended up chasing another company and getting on that tour which turned out to be nice. > Just sad to say it was my worse vacation and we all know we don't want to have bad memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring enough sunscreen it cost $36.00 a can of spray or cream

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Fort Lee, NJ
Apr 18, 2010

it's terrible on both resort and [...]

I went Catalonia Bavaro with a group of friends, total 20 peoples. only me and another friend bought this all inclusive package from [...] this man just don't want to protect his customer and let his customer get a fair service in this hotel.my trip was started 4/11 to 4/18 in this hotel. I just came back home this evening, I wrote this is true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
krb123
Couples
ottawa
Jan 30, 2014

Def not a 4 Star...3Star at best

You get what you pay for...service/food was adequate, resort was poorly maintaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Drink Man
Friends
Alaska
Apr 1, 2014

Alright

This hotel was alright. I read a lot of reviews and after staying there the rooms are clean. One thing they don't do is restock the fridge as listed on the site. The maid basically only folds the bed but not a huge deal. The hotel grounds and beach are very nice. The water is more a green color than turquoise though. So straight up the food sucks. I am not picky at all but after a week there I would have given anything for a pb and j sandwich from the us lol. In my opinion I would choose some other destination though. Also not really a spring break party hotel which is what I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The zipline tour is awesome but a long drive from hotel. Also there are 2 different tours so do some research.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mdl123
Family
Kansas City, MO, USA
May 9, 2012

Family getaway

Air conditioning wasn't working in both of our rooms, after several calls to front desk at midnight we moved to new rooms. New room #1 the TV didn't work at all and the fan hummed so loud you couldn't sleep. New room #2 the stool ran all the time. There is a real language barrior. Food was ok, would be great if we were from europe. 3 out of 4 got travelers diaherra, tried to go to doctor on site but the language barrior was too great, so bought drugs from pharmacy that was also there, surprisely the pharmist knew exactly what I needed. Will never go to Punta Cuna again, this vacation was a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not go to Punta Canta, if you must, plan on fasting. Do not eat the salad at steak rest., drink the water which they are always offering you, ice. Go to a all inclusive in Curcao, Aruba, Montego Bay I've had no problems there.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mar y Cielo
Couples
New York, NY
Nov 30, 2012

Mixed and unhappy

The first night was a real nightmare. At registration we asked for the room assigned to be clean. Upon arriving at the room, the quilt was stained and some of the furniture dusty. The bed was two twin beds put together (I understand that the description was 2 twin beds or a king size bed, but we are a couple). The balcony was overlooking a dirty roof top. We had to purchase an upgrade for an additional $500.00. The new room was a honeymoon suite by the beach, and it was much better. The staff was accommodating and friendly, with the exception of the front desk staff including a supervisor. The food/drinks were good. Activities were limited. Shopping was limited and over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The japanese restaurant as well as the steak house were wonderful.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MN beach lover
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 27, 2013

Everything was amazing - except the BED BUGS!

Beautiful pool, grounds, beach - the buffets and restaurants were wonderful - the staff was AMAZING -- the only bad was the bed bugs. By the third night I could not sleep because I spent all night itching. I didn't realize at the time it was bed bugs and would have notified someone if I had realized sooner. I did send the resort an email after I got home but did not receive a response of any kind. Like I said, everything else was wonderful. The bed bugs were horrible. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top