$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
190 reviews
Relaxing vacation

Love the hotel my only problem was the Internet was extremely slow. They should have the option for... See full review

  • Ria M
  • Jun 18, 2015
AWESOME TIME

We had an awesome time at Catalonia resort! It is our 3rd visit and we look forward to return See full review

  • Sonia R.
  • Jun 15, 2015

Surrounded by palm trees and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private white sand beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs along the beach make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.

Dining

Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Mariachi serving Mexican specialties. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band. Unwind in any of the five bars on site.

Rooms

This all-suite resort offers 704 spacious junior suites appointed with cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.

Property features

Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities include petangue, archery, beach volley, aerobics, aquatic gym, shows, tennis, paddle tennis, sauna, gym, meringue dance and native painting lessons, non-motorized water sports: 1 hour per day of canoe, kayak, catamaran. Snorkeling, scuba diving (introductory lesson), hammocks, sunshades and beach towels, mini-club and mini-disco for children are also on offer. Visitors can also play at the casino, engage in motorized water sports, scuba diving immersions, golf excursions and tennis court lighting, relax with massages and unwind at the beauty salon, all at an additional charge.

High-speed Internet access and medical services are also available for a fee.

Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)

NOTE: The 18-hole golf course will be closed from July 2015 to September 2015 for maintenance.

Nearby attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Policies

The 18-hole golf course will be closed from July 2015 to September 2015 for maintenance.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 190
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Elyse
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2014

Beautiful resort, great food, amazing staff!

The staff made the trip. So friendly, welcoming, and nice. Great food: steakhouse, hibashi, and italian all great! The Gran Caribe buffet has plenty of options for lunch and dinner and great breakfast! Beautiful beach, with entertaining staff. The beach was beautiful with plenty of sun and shade (whatever you wish). Water sports available if desired, beach volleyball, beach bar, water zumba, dancing, and beach games. All around amazing experience! I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snorkeler2013
Business
Canada
Feb 11, 2013

Escape to Paradise

Just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at the Catalonia Bavaro and I can honestly say that I can not wait to return. Atmosphere was very friendly, weather was perfect and very family oriented. There were lots of activities to get involved in, if so inclined, and if only rest and relaxation was the preference, that was okay too. The resort is beautiful and overall very clean with well landscaped property. The grounds are large and often a fair amount of walking is required to go to beach, buffet area, main lobby, etc. depending on room location. Personally, I actually enjoyed the walk as we had a tendency to overeat at the buffets. There was a large variety of food selection at the buffets so although it may not all be to a person's liking, there were options that I enjoyed at each meal. In reading other's reviews about criticism of food and language, I can't help but think that if I as a Canadian was looking for comparable Canadian cuisine and predominantly English speaking staff and patrons, then perhaps I should have stayed in Canada for my vacation. If you are looking for a multicultural experience with a safe and family-oriented atmosphere where the weather is perfect, then I highly recommend this resort. We had a few issues with our fridge not working properly and the patio door had a broken lock; once we brought it to the attention of the staff, it was fixed almost immediately. We can't wait to return and are already planning our next vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware of vendors at airport as many offer such things as free spa days, free days at other local hotels, etc.as soon as you arrive. In essence, they are trying to sell timeshares.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnie College Student
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2014

Great college summer break

I was worried about the resort prior to going because the reviews were either 1 star or 5 star. I am giving this resort a 5 star after going because I believe they deserve it. I traveled right after college ended with a group of 12 college students. Everyone at the resort was very nice and helpful. The entire resort was picturesque and beautiful - I loved how everything had an open-air feel yet it was very cool with fans and air conditioning. The food was great as well. The best food there was definitely the barbecue. Be adventurous... and look for the grilled chicken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For all activities (snorkeling, dirt buggies, etc.) look for Ted. Ted is a representative for travel agencies there, and he speaks perfect English and has great deals. One day my group almost missed the bus, and he personally stopped it and made it wait for us. For nightlife, look for O'Neill, the promoter for Imagine. Imagine Nightclub is a 10-15 minute car ride away, and O'Neill has incredible deals!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lillylover123
Business
wisconsin
May 13, 2014

Excellent

The only thing that wasn't completely excellent was the food on the buffet. Almost everything was room temperature. But I chalk that up to their culture. The staff was more than nice! Not a lot of people spoke english but still very friendly. The employees were so hard working and catered to our every need. The specialty restaurants were fantastic and it was a nice change to the buffet food. The hotel was so clean and fancy! The swim up bar and the disco were great. This was definitely a deal of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosey C
Business
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Magnificent

I have traveled all over the Caribbean and I have never been treated this way. The hotel staff are incredibly inviting and care if you are happy. The grounds are clean and very well maintained. There is food for everyone. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this resort, they are incorrect. Excellent! Excellent! You will not be disappointed if you chose this beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ariana caraballo
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 28, 2014

amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were amazing, entertainment was great! I would definitely recommend and would go back. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Perez04
Business
Homestead
Apr 8, 2015

Honeymoon

Overall Experience was good, The first room i was given it was hot seemed like the AC wasn't working, then we had to switch all our luggage to another room which was a bit better then the first room. Beach was beautiful, Excursions was great. and amenities at hotel was good as well. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple Threat Team
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 1, 2014

Great Place for a Great Price.

I was not impressed by the sourpuss disposition of the girl who checked us in, but this was compensated by the rest of the staff who were superb during the entire stay. Special mention to Lucia, who is an awesome server at the bar area; Nicholas who was bartender at the pool side bar; And, Serverinia, server at the restaurant. Overall, staff were friend. Good variety entertainment. Restaurants were decent. If you go to the Steak House, order a steak! The DISCO club in the resort has good music and vibe. The room was clean, spacious and the hammocks were a plus. Housekeeping staff were nice. Be generous and tip them, they really work hard! Bargain if you decide to do activities; they always high ball people, but try it, like $10 lower, they usually cave in. Food at the buffet was good. They grill the chicken, beef and make pasta in front of you. The hotel location is close to the airport. Landscape is very clean, nicely manicured and clean. Careful swimming at the beach. My friend and I got stuck my a jelly fish, especially if you swim towards the "little island". Bring your little pharmacy; tylenol, nyquil, benadryl, sunscreen, cipro, flagyl, immodium, etc. Overall, a great stay for a great price. I would return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain with the vendors if you decide to do any outside activities. They always try to high ball; go $10 lower that the proposed price.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Reed
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Apr 1, 2013

Variety for all

This site offers as little or as much as you want to do. Options, options, options! Pool and beach chairs were hard to come by in the afternoons. Had to get up early to stake our claim. You can't do much better at this price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Germans
Business
Konstanz, Germany
May 25, 2013

Super Holiday!

What is nice about it, is that the hotel is not one big compex, it is over 20 seperate villas, so it feels way more open and big. The beach is just beautiful, as in your imagination of the carrebbean; white sand, palm trees and bright, blue water. The only disturbing thing are the excursions sellers, they are prettty annoing and theres is a lot of them. Nevertheless the excursions itself are worth to do them!! (but expensive) The food offer is just amazing, in the two buffet restaurants you have so much choice that you stand there and don´t know what to eat... and that for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bar offer is very good, too and the cocktails are super. Sometimes however, there is not everything available, more than every second day they are out of tomato juice at 7pm for example, so after that there is no bloody mary. The animatiopn team is great, there is pretty much everything every day, aerobic, beach soccer, volleyball,... and even free language and dance courses and painting lessons right at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top