$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
185 reviews
Biz

Great Stay Overall, overnight rooms have some cleanliness issues and need to be updated. Breakfast... See full review

  • Elizabeth L.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 185
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honey buns
Business
Ohsweken Ontario Canada
May 4, 2009

fantastic resort and entertainment

My friend and I went for rest and relaxation. It was the greatest place for that..we would lounge by the pool or go by the sea if we wanted to have a nap. The activity personel.....fabulous..made you feel welcome and included ..I have never been to a place where they actually made it a point to remember your name and draw you into the activities. I loved the food and it was so convenient...by the pool, during the day and by the entertainment stage in the evening. Natty from the kids club made me a CD of the music for our school. Her boss didnt even charge for it. I want to take my family there someday if I can ever afford it...it is a place where families, singles and couples could have a great time. I JUST LOVED IT!! It was a little pricey...but we left booking until the last minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They had top notch performers..they were great singers and dancers..I enjoy that kind of entertaiment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snorkeler2013
Business
Canada
Feb 11, 2013

Escape to Paradise

Just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at the Catalonia Bavaro and I can honestly say that I can not wait to return. Atmosphere was very friendly, weather was perfect and very family oriented. There were lots of activities to get involved in, if so inclined, and if only rest and relaxation was the preference, that was okay too. The resort is beautiful and overall very clean with well landscaped property. The grounds are large and often a fair amount of walking is required to go to beach, buffet area, main lobby, etc. depending on room location. Personally, I actually enjoyed the walk as we had a tendency to overeat at the buffets. There was a large variety of food selection at the buffets so although it may not all be to a person's liking, there were options that I enjoyed at each meal. In reading other's reviews about criticism of food and language, I can't help but think that if I as a Canadian was looking for comparable Canadian cuisine and predominantly English speaking staff and patrons, then perhaps I should have stayed in Canada for my vacation. If you are looking for a multicultural experience with a safe and family-oriented atmosphere where the weather is perfect, then I highly recommend this resort. We had a few issues with our fridge not working properly and the patio door had a broken lock; once we brought it to the attention of the staff, it was fixed almost immediately. We can't wait to return and are already planning our next vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware of vendors at airport as many offer such things as free spa days, free days at other local hotels, etc.as soon as you arrive. In essence, they are trying to sell timeshares.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Elyse
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2014

Beautiful resort, great food, amazing staff!

The staff made the trip. So friendly, welcoming, and nice. Great food: steakhouse, hibashi, and italian all great! The Gran Caribe buffet has plenty of options for lunch and dinner and great breakfast! Beautiful beach, with entertaining staff. The beach was beautiful with plenty of sun and shade (whatever you wish). Water sports available if desired, beach volleyball, beach bar, water zumba, dancing, and beach games. All around amazing experience! I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnie College Student
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2014

Great college summer break

I was worried about the resort prior to going because the reviews were either 1 star or 5 star. I am giving this resort a 5 star after going because I believe they deserve it. I traveled right after college ended with a group of 12 college students. Everyone at the resort was very nice and helpful. The entire resort was picturesque and beautiful - I loved how everything had an open-air feel yet it was very cool with fans and air conditioning. The food was great as well. The best food there was definitely the barbecue. Be adventurous... and look for the grilled chicken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For all activities (snorkeling, dirt buggies, etc.) look for Ted. Ted is a representative for travel agencies there, and he speaks perfect English and has great deals. One day my group almost missed the bus, and he personally stopped it and made it wait for us. For nightlife, look for O'Neill, the promoter for Imagine. Imagine Nightclub is a 10-15 minute car ride away, and O'Neill has incredible deals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lillylover123
Business
wisconsin
May 13, 2014

Excellent

The only thing that wasn't completely excellent was the food on the buffet. Almost everything was room temperature. But I chalk that up to their culture. The staff was more than nice! Not a lot of people spoke english but still very friendly. The employees were so hard working and catered to our every need. The specialty restaurants were fantastic and it was a nice change to the buffet food. The hotel was so clean and fancy! The swim up bar and the disco were great. This was definitely a deal of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosey C
Business
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Magnificent

I have traveled all over the Caribbean and I have never been treated this way. The hotel staff are incredibly inviting and care if you are happy. The grounds are clean and very well maintained. There is food for everyone. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this resort, they are incorrect. Excellent! Excellent! You will not be disappointed if you chose this beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ariana caraballo
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 28, 2014

amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were amazing, entertainment was great! I would definitely recommend and would go back. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth L.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Biz

Great Stay Overall, overnight rooms have some cleanliness issues and need to be updated. Breakfast Food and Dinner Food was great. I found a lack of options for lunch food. Beach is BEAUTIFUL!! Night life is great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allendale, Michigan
Feb 5, 2010

A beautiful, fun and relaxing resort

x The beaches were beautiful, the food was really good and the entertainment was awesome. We had great weather the whole 10 days. We only took one excursion, which was ok, but not the best. But there were many more to choose from and our tour guide from Coco Tours was great to work with. The staff was very energetic and got people involved with the aerobics, crazy games, water polo, contests, etc. The rooms were cleaned very good, and they kept the frig stocked with beer, water and pop. There were 4 different restaurants besides the big buffet places, Japanese, Italian, Steak and Mexican and all were very good. The grounds were beautiful, very clean, and lots of foliage and flowers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

get involved, it is a lot of fun, and something different everyday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Reed
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Apr 1, 2013

Variety for all

This site offers as little or as much as you want to do. Options, options, options! Pool and beach chairs were hard to come by in the afternoons. Had to get up early to stake our claim. You can't do much better at this price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top