$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
185 reviews
Biz

Great Stay Overall, overnight rooms have some cleanliness issues and need to be updated. Breakfast... See full review

  • Elizabeth L.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 185
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Kurt
Business
Boston, Ma
Nov 29, 2012

Great Time

Had a ton of fun at this resort!! Cocktails were great and they even had the Patriots football game on TV on thanksgiving night!! Can you say Pina Coladas with a Pats rout of the NY Jets!! Couldn’t ask for a better time, amazing beach , pool bar and weather. If you can, definitely go with the privileged honeymoon suite. We had views of both the ocean and the pool from our balcony. The resort is large so be ready to do some walking but it’s very marginable and the grounds are gorgeous so we really didn’t have a problem with it. Party on!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young Couple 2013
Business
Washington, DC
May 19, 2013

Excellent Getaway

Yes. Yes. And Yes. We have a fantastic vacation in Punta Cana. The staff here was incredibly helpful when we asked for anything, and the resort is huge! There are a few too many folks trying to sell excursions on while we relaxed on the beach (approaced a few times each day), but otherwise this was a wonderful vacation. There's a bar on the beach, in the pool, and at the lobby. There are four or five different restaurants, and several other places to grab a bite. There are also tons of people from all corners of the world (US, Canada, France, Croatia, Russia, and more). We had a great time meeting people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Augrad88
Business
pensacola, fl
May 28, 2013

Catalonia Bavaro

WONDERFUL!! This was an amazing place with fantastic people! The food was good, beach and pool were perfect, and the drinks were awesome (and flowing). The staff cannot be any friendlier or helpful. The only negative thing I can think of was that the pillows need to be replaced, so bring your own. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had a HUGE tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia Fortygin
Business
Rochester, NY
May 28, 2013

Great first choice!

We had such a perfect vacation, everything went smooth. There is lots of room for a walk, beautiful trees and flowers, nice beach. Couple small things that could be better: pillows and the mattress were too hard, and there was no person to great us on arrival, we didn't know much about the place the first day til we explore it ourselves. Otherwise, we loved everything else and we will come back the next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cherry884
Business
nyc
Jul 17, 2013

loved it

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.magaoay
Business
Sacramento,ca
Apr 11, 2014

Loved it!

We got really lucky with Catalonia! This was my husband and I's first trip to D.R. So I wasn't sure what to expect other people we met like from "other resorts" preferred our resort It's a very big and beautiful resort EVERYONE is sooo nice and they really work hard to make sure your happy ....Juan Carlos is the best rep!!! Really took care of us ... The buggie adventure is a must! And Sonoa island was great too! Right on the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PriscillaBabyy
Business
Corona, California
May 29, 2014

Amazing Vacation!

My husband & I stayed at Catalonia Punta Cana for 8 nights & it was great. The entertainment is good, they always have something going on so you will never get bored & the entertainment team tries very hard to make everything fun for everyone. :) The rooms, we stayed in a privileged suite in front of the privileged beach & we had no problems except for the shower being tiny but it really didn't bother us because the huge jacuzzi tub makes up for it. The bed was super comfortable & they have a pillow menu so you can choose what type of pillow you want. The food was great, they have a lot of variety & so so so many desserts. We tried every restaurant there. The Mexican was good, Japanese was really good (we went there twice, the first time was great the second time not so great so it really depends on the cook you get), the Italian was really good, the steakhouse was good according to my husband & the rest of our party but I got the angus burger & it was disgusting! The privileged restaurant by the beach (dinner only) was very good as well. The staff was amazing! They all treated us as family, we had never met such kind people before so the staff gets an A+++++++ & I'm sure everyone who visits can agree with me. :) The resort is very very big so if you're beachfront like we were you do walk A LOT but we actually liked the long walks because it kinda made up for all the food we ate! ;) The drinks were very good, the bartenders will make pretty much anything you ask for & if they don't know how to make something they will ask or find out what the drink has. We went to Jamaica on our previous trip & this trip was 10x better because the staff made it so much better. We felt very safe at this resort. We actually plan on going back with our kids soon, that's how great the resort is! :) I absolutely recommend this resort to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Saona Island, it is absolutely beautiful!!! We booked the excursion through the VIP travel agency at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey Ann
Business
Northern VA
May 8, 2010

Loved it!

This vacation was simply for relaxation and that is what we did. When we got to the hotel we got upgraded to "priviledged" they said it was because of us using [...]. This meant 24 hour room service, special areas, a pillow menu and so much more. We had read ad reveiws about the restaurants before we went so we were worried - we ate at all of them except the Japenese (not a fan of sushi) and they were all amazing. We even went back to the American restuarant because the steak was so good. The buffets were so-so but that's what you expect from buffets. All the staff was really nice and if they didn't speak English that well they would get another staff member that could. The pool and beach were kept spotless - in fact the whole resort was. My boyfriend and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Tuesday night they have a Beach Party - it was very entertaining and so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burke
Aug 12, 2008

All Around Great Value

What can I say, this place was absolutely great. My wife and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. The rooms were always clean and we always had plenty of towels, water and other beaverages. The pool was great and it was never crowded. The beach was amazing and we were always able to get a hut for some shade. Vendors came on Sunday I believe and had some nice stuff, a little over priced but you can def. haggle. The food was probably the only thing that could have been a little better. The 4 a la carte resturants were all excellent. The Japanese and American were our favorites, the Mexican was good and so was the Italian but the Italian restaurant had no AC and was hot. But again the food was great. We had a the main breakfast buffet every morning. They had a good variety of food and the coffee was great too. We always ate lunch by the pool at the snack bar. The snack bar was awesome and never got old. The dinner buffet probably had the worse food, each night is themed which we didn't realize to the middle of the trip. We ate on the carribean and mexican and another night which I can't think of. The food was pretty much the same each night with some different stuff. All and all the dinner buffet was okay. The dinner at the beach party on Monday nights was a lot better and it was a nice atmosphere. The crepes place at night was excellent too. I would def. go back to the dominican and def. stay at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

$10 fee to get into the country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No kid vacation
Business
Washington, DC
May 20, 2014

If you can't be happy here...you can't be happy!

This place was great all the way around. One of the best vacations ever. Staff goes over and above, rooms clean, food great, drinks better! Going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top