$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
191 reviews
Sister-brother vacation

The hotel itself along with all of its perks was amazing! The beaches were beautiful. The only... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jan 17, 2015
Family trip

I really liked the hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. I think, I would come back there. See full review

  • Mariya S
  • Dec 29, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex and Nelly
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 26, 2013

Good 8 nights couple getaway

Great location, very nice hotel/resort. The food was great and the drinks were awesome. Fun acitvities... Live music excellent...Some complains: The casino was without air conditioner, beach towels exchange was not friendly, around 4PM there were no towles at all. And mosquitoes bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'Don' Juan
Business
New Jersey
Nov 7, 2013

Most relaxing time ever

First time in this resort, great beach, it was more than I was expecting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juanf
Business
new york
Dec 27, 2013

Great Hotel

Great price and the customer service is really awesome!! you should try it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren goes on vacation
Business
Idaho
Jan 17, 2014

Couple on a getaway

We loved our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. Shower was small and the shower curtain attacked you each shower but how much time do you actually spend in there ;-)? Only downside to the room was no clock or alarm clock, it would have been helpful sometimes to know what time it was. Resort was beautiful and grounds were beautiful, nothing taller than 3 stories here spread out for a nice leisure walk. A family oriented resort but we didn't feel overrun with kids. Restaurants were easy to get into, it says you need reservations but they don't need them. The Japanese was by far the best food. The Mexican we weren't impressed with. The buffet was good but didn't really change much from day to day but there was enough variety to change it up a bit. The pool was nice and the bartenders at the swim up bar a blast. The staff was all friendly and outgoing. The entertainment staff have wonderful personalities and run around all day interacting with the guests and getting people involved. They put on entertainment shows nightly and were very enjoyable. We never ran into communication barriers with the staff. The resort also provides a small shopping center on site with a drug store and mini market if you forgot anything. We would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaribbeanGirl
Business
WI, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Solid vacation spot

Stayed here for a week in Feb 2014 - the location was definitely the high light. The beach is beautiful and if you wake up early you can see the sun rise over the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, with a small balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican restaurant featured at the hotel was definitely the best, but it seemed like very few people were aware of it. My group went twice and there were always empty tables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amusins
Business
New York
Mar 5, 2014

What's missing

This hotel needs a lot of beach chairs, so people would not have to get up at 6 in the morning to secure them...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm weather beach people
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 5, 2014

Better than what we expected for what we paid

For what we paid, it was better than our expectations. The rooms were the biggest downfall. Beach, staff, bars, and pool were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K and J K.
Business
new york
Apr 12, 2014

Sooo Beautiful!!!!!

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. The resort is really beautiful, you would think you were in a botanical garden. We just wanted to relax and enjoy the sun and the beach and your biggest task every morning was getting down to the beach early to get that perfect spot to spend the day.The glasses at the pool bar were small. so you may want to bring your own insulated larger cups so you don't have to make so many trips up from the beach. We did have one day of rain and it would have been nice to have some place to go shopping but there is nothing near this hotel. It is 15 minutes from the airport so we were on the beach in no time on our arrival day. All in all it was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple Threat Team
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 1, 2014

Great Place for a Great Price.

I was not impressed by the sourpuss disposition of the girl who checked us in, but this was compensated by the rest of the staff who were superb during the entire stay. Special mention to Lucia, who is an awesome server at the bar area; Nicholas who was bartender at the pool side bar; And, Serverinia, server at the restaurant. Overall, staff were friend. Good variety entertainment. Restaurants were decent. If you go to the Steak House, order a steak! The DISCO club in the resort has good music and vibe. The room was clean, spacious and the hammocks were a plus. Housekeeping staff were nice. Be generous and tip them, they really work hard! Bargain if you decide to do activities; they always high ball people, but try it, like $10 lower, they usually cave in. Food at the buffet was good. They grill the chicken, beef and make pasta in front of you. The hotel location is close to the airport. Landscape is very clean, nicely manicured and clean. Careful swimming at the beach. My friend and I got stuck my a jelly fish, especially if you swim towards the "little island". Bring your little pharmacy; tylenol, nyquil, benadryl, sunscreen, cipro, flagyl, immodium, etc. Overall, a great stay for a great price. I would return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain with the vendors if you decide to do any outside activities. They always try to high ball; go $10 lower that the proposed price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatty
Business
Grayson, GA
May 1, 2014

Terrific getaway!!!

We loved our stay at Catalonia,great place to relax!!! We will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top