$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
182 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allendale, Michigan
Feb 5, 2010

A beautiful, fun and relaxing resort

x The beaches were beautiful, the food was really good and the entertainment was awesome. We had great weather the whole 10 days. We only took one excursion, which was ok, but not the best. But there were many more to choose from and our tour guide from Coco Tours was great to work with. The staff was very energetic and got people involved with the aerobics, crazy games, water polo, contests, etc. The rooms were cleaned very good, and they kept the frig stocked with beer, water and pop. There were 4 different restaurants besides the big buffet places, Japanese, Italian, Steak and Mexican and all were very good. The grounds were beautiful, very clean, and lots of foliage and flowers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

get involved, it is a lot of fun, and something different everyday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Oct 19, 2010

Definitely a wonderful experience!

The people who work here are so friendly and there's so much to do. The excursions are fairly priced, you can do anything for under a $100. We went on a dune buggy adventure for $50 where we went to Macau beach and visited a cave as well. My only complaint is that the lighting in the room is not enough, especially the bathroom! I felt like I was in a dungeon, or prison because it was that dim. Also, on Friday nights the vendors come and sell jewelry, paintings and hand crafted souvenirs. Watch out because they can be a little pushy with their sales, they are good too, they all give you free wooden necklaces. Also the food at the buffet is better than I expected because I hate buffet food, I'm big on quality not quantity. They had a variety of what appeared to be authentic Dominican cuisine. Watch out for the 24 hr snack bar, the stuff sits out there all night so when you're looking for that fourth meal you find yourself eating some very tough spare ribs and stale bread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miranda's Angel
Business
Bronx, New York
May 20, 2012

A well rested vacation

This was our second visit to this resort. The weather could have been better this time around.But the staff in every department made a difference. Food and drink was great. The pool is a lot of fun. I fell ill the last day and the cook made me chicken soup and had it dilivered to my room. Thank you to the on-call doctor, the pharmastist and the cook. I love this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cz Da Zone
Business
KC, Missouri
Dec 10, 2012

Worth every penny...

Took a vacation here dec 2012. Had a wonderful time. The staff was excellent. I don't speak Spanish, but the had just enough people that spoke English there on staff. My American tummy was not use to the type of food they serve there. But there was plenty of food to choose from. The actual hotel is gorgeous. For the price, i was not expecting what we actually got. It was really worth more. There was always something to do on the resort. The beds are not as comfy as American beds, but it was not terrible. Once i got a few extra pillows, everything was jus fine. Would visit this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mikato Japanese Steakhouse was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation ready mom
Business
new jersey
Dec 17, 2012

good value for the money

It's our second time at Catalonia,and i noticed some difference with the staff. I think they are so busy that they were not paying so much attention to people. I missed the olás that EVERYBODY used to say. The manager at the buffet at the beach is very nice and professional, his name is Ruben and he'll do anything to please you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FredW
Business
North New Jersey
Dec 31, 2012

Great holiday getaway

Wonderful location, beach. Food generally pretty good, just don't expect "American Steak House" quality at the "American Steak House".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horsfieldck
Business
Quakertown, Pa.
Feb 3, 2013

We had a Great time in Punta Cana

Hotel Catalonia Bavaro is a beautiful hotel in paradise. The staff work extremely hard to keep things clean and nice for their guests. The food is wonderful and always plentiful. We went on the Boogie Dune Buggy Adventures while there and had a blast!! It was nice to see a different part of the ocean.We learned how coffee and cigars are made, and even got to see a real cave. Spending time on the beach or by the pool was definately relaxing and fun. The entertainment each evening was well done. The entertainers work very hard preparing for the shows!! Thank You for a Great time!! We will be visiting again sometime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lkajkfn
Business
atlanta, ga
Feb 19, 2013

family of 5

The beach was gorgeous, the water was crystal blue, and the activities staff was lots of fun! The breakfast and lunch buffets were good, and the restaurants at dinner were good as well. We didn't expect gourmet meals, and we got what we expected. No one went hungry and everyone had fun trying different foods. We noticed that although gratuities were included, some wait staff and activities staff (at the beach rentals) expected a tip, and the people who tipped got noticed much more than we did. We had a small ant problem in our room and our coffee pot didn't work. Otherwise, no complaints about the room. The grounds were amazing. Our vacation to Punta Cana was paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherry13
Business
Madison, WI
Feb 25, 2013

Beautiful Property

Catalonia PC is an absolutely gorgeous property. The landscaping and mature palm trees are so beautiful. The grounds including the pool and beach are immaculate. Staff are constantly cleaning. The beach is amazing - lots of chairs and shade if you want it., but get your towel out on a chair early in the morning to claim your spot. It's great to spend the morning and afternoon on the beach and then move to the pool later in the day for drinks. You can walk for miles on the beach. Rooms were fine - not extravagant, but comfortable. All tile with the shower (pretty small) and toilet separated from the sink and a huge 2-person bathtub. We had a king size bed and it was comfortable. Every room has a porch or balcony with chairs and most have a hammock. Depending on where your room is located, you will have to walk to pool, beach, restaurants, etc. But it's all on paved walkways through the beautiful grounds. The food was mediocre at best. Eat breakfast at the smaller buffet by the beach. Food was good there and the view is great. You can have lunch there too or just grab a sandwich, burger or pizza at the poolside 24-hour snack bar, The main buffet by the lobby has lots of variety, but its more quantity than quality. That being said, you won't have any problem finding something to satisfy you. Of the four "specialty" restaurants, the Japanese one is by far the best. They have hibachi tables and serve you sushi, chicken, beef and seafood. The other three (Italian, Mexican and steak house) have ok food and the service was very good. Drinks are plentiful but for the most part only local brands. - you will get local rum and El Presidente beer. The tropical drinks were great - we loved the Banana Mama - just ask for a double if you want more liquor in your drink. We brought large cups with tops along and that was great for getting drinks and having them on the beach as the glasses they have are small. You must try the Mamajauna which is a local liqueur made with spices, rum, red wine and honey. The activities at this resort are great - staff is very engaging and always trying to get guests involved. The shows at night were quite good. The service is very good here, but tipping obviously helps too! Bring lots of small bills - US dollars are accepted everywhere so no need to exchange for DR pesos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

"Reserve" your spot on the beach early in the morning by placing your resort towel over your chair. Get chairs under a palapa or palm tree so you have shade as well as sun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fusionman
Business
fargo nd
Mar 7, 2013

punta cana

The over all atmosphere was wonderful. The grounds were beautiful and the beach rocked. People were friendly but hard to understand. Not many talked English. The only downfall was the food wasn't the greatest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to do your homework on the excursions outside the motel. Some of them are tourist traps with lots of vendors so beware.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top