$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
176 reviews
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
Amazing

The moment I arrived at this hotel I knew it was going to be amazing. The place looked beautiful... See full review

  • AngieR
  • Jul 29, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip happy dad
Santo Domingo
Aug 3, 2014

A few days away

The staff were great, the hotel good value for money and it was a excellent short holiday without annoyances of any kind..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
buffalo, ny
Apr 18, 2011

wonderful experience !!

Stayed @ the Catalonia 4/5-4/12 and was amazed @ the place. First off, we were upgraded by them to the privilaged rooms.(stayed in building 19) Therefor never had to make dinner reservations,got our pool towels delivered to our room each night, was given $ for casino,had free internet(in the privilaged office)very close walk to the pool/beach, was given a "welcome" bottle of rum/fresh fruit(though it was delivered on our last night)Only thing that stunk was the long"er" walks to the rest./front desk.The grounds are kept very clean and secured. Every path has a security guard on it after dark. Beach is wonderful! Food is so-so, Italian & steak house could of been way better but all in all food was etiable. Bring a refillable mug/cup(bar cups r small) bring a floatie for around the pool, and balding men bring a bandana to block the sun! Very tall blond hair lady @ guest relations desk was rude several times to me & even hung up on me @ one point(guess i asked too many questions)Other than her all staff members were WONDERFUL! An amazing excursion is the Fun Buggy (w/ [...]) It's an all day trip but of the 7 excursions we've done in the past this was hands down the best! You'll c village kids that literally run after the buggies(in bare feet!) in hopes of toys/food. 1/2 hour of horseback riding,lunch, visit tabacco farm(watch them make cigars)a beach visit, a visit to a local school (which those kids seem to have it the best out of all the kids in the beginning of the excursion). YOU WILL GET VERY DUSTY N DIRTY ! GIRLS ~ PROTECT THE LONG HAIR UNDER A HAT ! DO NOT WEAR WHITE, YOU WILL COME BACK BROWN !!! Def. plan on returning to the resort.P.S. It is a tropical resort so expect some bugs! Nothing major just tiny little ants in the bathroom, and an unexpected baby lizard through the drain pipe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

gift shops are on premises but are expensive ! If you walk on the beach & go right, there is a little spot that sells stuff like t-shirts and nicknaks etc. but be warned THEY ARE LIKE FLIES ON S**T ! If you're going there to just "look" and not want to be bothered, do sign languge (even if it's made up)to them or everyone of the sellers will want you to stop n lookey lookey :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling jenny
West Virginia
Jun 3, 2013

Great vacation

Spent 4 nights there last week. Very close to airport. Had a privileged honeymoon suite. Big tub, king bed, sofa and balcony. Shower was decent size. The room was lovely but we did have a good amount of ants. I kept everything off the floor but didn't seem to help. Not complaining too much as we were in 3rd world country in a tropical location. Pool is beautiful. Yes there was some leaves and small outside items in pool like twigs. But hello the pool is outside under trees. The wind was present all week but made for wonderful breeze while laying out. The beach was pretty but there was seaweed. But that was ok with me. It is a tropical island and we expected that. Water was beautiful. There were plenty of covered and uncovered chairs at beach and pool. The food was ok. Didn't expect much since there is no food like home. We mainly ate at the buffet and the little restaurant on the beach for breakfast. Service was great. Food was ok. Only specialty restaurant we tried was rodeo the American steakhouse. Service was quick and nice. Food was just ok but they really tried. Ceaser salad, potato skins, steaks, and apple pie. Portions are small but on man beside us asked for another steak and they fixed him one no problem. Overall we went for fun in the sun and it gets an a+ for the price we paid!!! Wireless Internet only works in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Privileged members do not have to make reservations at all. Just show up when you want and your next in line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatty
Grayson, GA
May 1, 2014

Terrific getaway!!!

We loved our stay at Catalonia,great place to relax!!! We will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New york NY
Oct 22, 2010

Punta Cana @ Catalonia Bavaro

When we arrived in Punta Cana Airport, we went straight to Coco Tours desk and drove us to the hotel without any problem.We were told that we received a free upgrade to "Privilege section" of the resort which we were excited after 5 hour flight. Good: Beach, staff service, Rodeo steakhouse(was probably the best)Bad: food (20% were good, 20% were salty and 60% not so good), mixed drinks were all sweet and not enough alcohol (you must request if you want more).If you want to get a prime hut location at the beach, you should place your towels between 6-7amOverall for the price [...] provided us, we had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Most of the foods were salty. Carved Pork was excellent as well as the Texas steak at the Rodeo Steakhouse. Japanese and Italian was not so good. If you are a coffee drinker - excellent coffee - one of the best I've had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K and J K.
new york
Apr 12, 2014

Sooo Beautiful!!!!!

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. The resort is really beautiful, you would think you were in a botanical garden. We just wanted to relax and enjoy the sun and the beach and your biggest task every morning was getting down to the beach early to get that perfect spot to spend the day.The glasses at the pool bar were small. so you may want to bring your own insulated larger cups so you don't have to make so many trips up from the beach. We did have one day of rain and it would have been nice to have some place to go shopping but there is nothing near this hotel. It is 15 minutes from the airport so we were on the beach in no time on our arrival day. All in all it was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 27, 2009

Nice Relaxing Vacation

I traveled with my husband (we are in our mid 20s), my brother and girlfriend (early 20s), and my parents (late 50s). We all had a wonderful vacation together. We took full advantage of the relaxing beach days, all-inlusive meals and drinks, and nightly entertainment. The resort was full and there were guests from all over the world, which was new to us. We were impressed by the staff's ability to accomodate and interact with people speaking all different languages. In addition, the service was excellent. We did have a few problems with no hot water and terrible to no water pressure in the showers between 5pm-7pm, which was very frustrating. Our first night we had a problem with our air conditioner, but they quickly fixed it for us. The activities staff were a pleasure and we were impressed with the nightly shows, especially the Michael Jackson show. In terms of other activities, they are available to those who seek them. We placed volleyball and Boche Ball on the beach, went kayaking, made Paella on the beach, participated in aerobics on the beach, played tennis and basketball, and attempted to use the gym. The gym was a disappointment. It was hot, very tiny, and in poor condition. The tropical drinks were a delight and readily available. The food was overall pretty good. The buffets were mediocre. Taste and presentation was somewhat lost there but I would expect this with the mass amount of food produced and guests coming and going constantly. We enjoyed the a la carte experience much more. The pizza at the pool was great! Overall we were pleased with our relaxing vacation. We had great weather and made the best of our experience all around. I would like to recommend this resort to others, but I am afraid there may be better simply because of the water problems we endured.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster PA
Mar 11, 2009

Fantastic getaway!!

Snorkling was just so so Parasailing was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Need to stock more for travelers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Nails
St. Louis, Mo
Oct 24, 2010

great getaway

We loved the fresh flowers each and everyday in the decorations. The beach was so smooth and clear we saw 1 octupus, 4 stingray, 1 baby stingray, a star fish and the mose colorful tropical fish ever. We snorkeled 3 days right off our own beach. You can lay out in the ocean and read and your book doesn't even get wet the water is so smooth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

use the beach everyday

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I the rene
NY NY
Aug 6, 2014

Nice

The hotel is nice. When we first got there, we waited check in. I saw flamingos. They hang out on the water near the eating area. Sadly you have to be "privileged" to get closer to them. That eating area is the privileged section. The hotel rooms are nice. There is a shower and a bathtub. There is also a balcony. There is always some type of show going on at night. The pool is nice except for the bugs in it which you can't do much about. The beach was wonderful! I am pale so its nice that there are a lot of shade spots. However, they can be occupied very quickly. Room was comfortable the only complaint I have is one of the blankets bothered my skin if I leaned on it for a bit. The staff were nice. The only thing I didn't like was when they tried to get you to buy stuff when they have sales outside at night. The food was great. I liked all of the restaurants there. However, the Italian restaurant was very busy and seemed a bit disorganized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is an awesome bartender named Eddy. He calls himself Eddie Murphy. Get the Eddie Murphy special.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top