$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
179 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
A magnificent hotel resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. A tropical paradise of everlasting sun, Catalonia Punta Cana is surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation. A heavenly location for relaxation or water sports activities. This all Junior Suite resort offers spacious accommodation with 704 junior suites. On-site: Offers 8 restaurants and 5 bars, all included!, beach barbecue for lunch with beach party and orchestra (once a week), local alcoholic drinks, soft drinks, water and hot drinks in all bars, restaurants and disco (free entry). Drinks not included in the casino. Daily activities program, petangue, archery, beach volley, aerobics, aquatic gym, shows, tennis, paddle tennis, sauna, gym, meringue dance and native painting lessons, non-motorized water sports: 1 hour per day of canoe, kayak, catamaran. Snorkeling, scuba diving(introductory lesson), hammocks, sunshades and beach towels, mini-club and mini-disco for children. Not included and with an additional charge: motorized water sports, scuba diving immersions, tennis court lighting, massages, hairdresser, beauty saloon, internet connection(Wi-Fi available in 2007), casino and golf excursions, medical service, high speed internet access - chargeable.

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lillylover123
Business
wisconsin
May 13, 2014

Excellent

The only thing that wasn't completely excellent was the food on the buffet. Almost everything was room temperature. But I chalk that up to their culture. The staff was more than nice! Not a lot of people spoke english but still very friendly. The employees were so hard working and catered to our every need. The specialty restaurants were fantastic and it was a nice change to the buffet food. The hotel was so clean and fancy! The swim up bar and the disco were great. This was definitely a deal of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosey C
Business
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Magnificent

I have traveled all over the Caribbean and I have never been treated this way. The hotel staff are incredibly inviting and care if you are happy. The grounds are clean and very well maintained. There is food for everyone. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this resort, they are incorrect. Excellent! Excellent! You will not be disappointed if you chose this beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burke
Aug 12, 2008

All Around Great Value

What can I say, this place was absolutely great. My wife and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. The rooms were always clean and we always had plenty of towels, water and other beaverages. The pool was great and it was never crowded. The beach was amazing and we were always able to get a hut for some shade. Vendors came on Sunday I believe and had some nice stuff, a little over priced but you can def. haggle. The food was probably the only thing that could have been a little better. The 4 a la carte resturants were all excellent. The Japanese and American were our favorites, the Mexican was good and so was the Italian but the Italian restaurant had no AC and was hot. But again the food was great. We had a the main breakfast buffet every morning. They had a good variety of food and the coffee was great too. We always ate lunch by the pool at the snack bar. The snack bar was awesome and never got old. The dinner buffet probably had the worse food, each night is themed which we didn't realize to the middle of the trip. We ate on the carribean and mexican and another night which I can't think of. The food was pretty much the same each night with some different stuff. All and all the dinner buffet was okay. The dinner at the beach party on Monday nights was a lot better and it was a nice atmosphere. The crepes place at night was excellent too. I would def. go back to the dominican and def. stay at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

$10 fee to get into the country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mlhl
Business
New york
May 17, 2014

Graduation gift

I had a wonderful time at the hotel. Friendly staff. Entertainment staff was anazing .. Definitely will go back very soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the ala cart restaurants were great , buffet restaurant clean and the variety of food was in abundance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No kid vacation
Business
Washington, DC
May 20, 2014

If you can't be happy here...you can't be happy!

This place was great all the way around. One of the best vacations ever. Staff goes over and above, rooms clean, food great, drinks better! Going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Sep 29, 2010

excellent!!!!!

really nice vacation!!!! good staff!!! good food !!!! all good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigs-n-Ter
Business
Bastrop, Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Marvelous Gettaway

We had a marvelous time body surfing in the waves of the clean swept beautiful beaches, cooling off in the large beautiful pools, having an enjoyable scuba lesson in the pool and going out with a group snorkeling. All buffets were tasty, the theme restaurants were fun and delicious. The inland tour gave us a real feel for The Dominican Republic. It was very entertaining and totally enjoyable. The medical facilities which we had need of provided a solution to our needs. Staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An exceptional deal was the Snorkeling $35 USD trip. A boat takes you out about 1/2 hr to a specific area that is roped off. You snorkel for an hour and then head back. We saw tons on different marine life and fish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sask, Canada
Feb 15, 2010

Great Resort!!!

Was a great experience! Beautiful Grounds, Great Food lots of options, Beautiful Beaches! Fun Night enterainment, very friendly staff great service. Zip Line tour is very fun. Stayed 2 weeks which felt too short. Our room was unpgraded for free as a promotion which was very nice. We loved loved loved this resort and Highly Recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 12, 2009

Catalonia Bavaro

Amazing experience at Catalonia Bavaro. The beach is absolutely perfect, the pool is clean, and amazing staffs and room service. I went on "Bavaro Runners" excursion, which includes horse back riding, cigar & sugar cane plantation, and a visit to a local family. The asking price was $90, but we bargained down to $80. Do not pay the asking price, as there is a huge mark-up, so ALWAYS bargain!!. Remember to bring lots of sunscreen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Harpe, Illinois
Oct 25, 2010

"Unbeatable locattion for the price"

Went to the beach, and casino. They had many different choices on foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and food close to our room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top