$261 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
194 reviews
Amazing trip

It was amazing trip for us....We were there in May and the Resort was very quiet...If you would... See full review

  • Agata M
  • Feb 10, 2015
Sister-brother vacation

The hotel itself along with all of its perks was amazing! The beaches were beautiful. The only... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jan 17, 2015
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.magaoay
Business
Sacramento,ca
Apr 11, 2014

Loved it!

We got really lucky with Catalonia! This was my husband and I's first trip to D.R. So I wasn't sure what to expect other people we met like from "other resorts" preferred our resort It's a very big and beautiful resort EVERYONE is sooo nice and they really work hard to make sure your happy ....Juan Carlos is the best rep!!! Really took care of us ... The buggie adventure is a must! And Sonoa island was great too! Right on the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moe Moe K
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2014

My first island getaway

This was my first trip to an island and it was honestly breathe taking. The hotel staff is so much fun and very friendly. They make you feel very welcome. Lots of activities to offer. The massages on the beach were amazing!! Also the bottomless glass boat ride was my favorite part. This is a two hour boat ride that takes you snorkeling with tropical fish and then docks in a huge laguna that was crystal clear. Food was good, lots of options to choose from. Alcohol and beer everywhere! Everywhere you look when you walk is beautiful. The staff take very good care of the hotel; very clean. Also you can tell the staff take pride in their jobs and enjoy making your trip a wonderful experience. I have no complaints, I had an amazing experience going at Punta Cana Catalonia and would recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One tip is that if you want beach chairs under huts at the pool and beach I highly recommend reserving seats by 6:30am. If not they will be all taken; it's first come first serve. With the heat you will need some shade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnie College Student
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2014

Great college summer break

I was worried about the resort prior to going because the reviews were either 1 star or 5 star. I am giving this resort a 5 star after going because I believe they deserve it. I traveled right after college ended with a group of 12 college students. Everyone at the resort was very nice and helpful. The entire resort was picturesque and beautiful - I loved how everything had an open-air feel yet it was very cool with fans and air conditioning. The food was great as well. The best food there was definitely the barbecue. Be adventurous... and look for the grilled chicken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For all activities (snorkeling, dirt buggies, etc.) look for Ted. Ted is a representative for travel agencies there, and he speaks perfect English and has great deals. One day my group almost missed the bus, and he personally stopped it and made it wait for us. For nightlife, look for O'Neill, the promoter for Imagine. Imagine Nightclub is a 10-15 minute car ride away, and O'Neill has incredible deals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PriscillaBabyy
Business
Corona, California
May 29, 2014

Amazing Vacation!

My husband & I stayed at Catalonia Punta Cana for 8 nights & it was great. The entertainment is good, they always have something going on so you will never get bored & the entertainment team tries very hard to make everything fun for everyone. :) The rooms, we stayed in a privileged suite in front of the privileged beach & we had no problems except for the shower being tiny but it really didn't bother us because the huge jacuzzi tub makes up for it. The bed was super comfortable & they have a pillow menu so you can choose what type of pillow you want. The food was great, they have a lot of variety & so so so many desserts. We tried every restaurant there. The Mexican was good, Japanese was really good (we went there twice, the first time was great the second time not so great so it really depends on the cook you get), the Italian was really good, the steakhouse was good according to my husband & the rest of our party but I got the angus burger & it was disgusting! The privileged restaurant by the beach (dinner only) was very good as well. The staff was amazing! They all treated us as family, we had never met such kind people before so the staff gets an A+++++++ & I'm sure everyone who visits can agree with me. :) The resort is very very big so if you're beachfront like we were you do walk A LOT but we actually liked the long walks because it kinda made up for all the food we ate! ;) The drinks were very good, the bartenders will make pretty much anything you ask for & if they don't know how to make something they will ask or find out what the drink has. We went to Jamaica on our previous trip & this trip was 10x better because the staff made it so much better. We felt very safe at this resort. We actually plan on going back with our kids soon, that's how great the resort is! :) I absolutely recommend this resort to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Saona Island, it is absolutely beautiful!!! We booked the excursion through the VIP travel agency at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ozone Park, NY
May 7, 2010

Excellent Resort, Great Family getaway

The Resort is beautifull, its quiet, the food was excellent and the staff was allways willing to help on whatever you need, even before you ask. I'd recommend it , A++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey Ann
Business
Northern VA
May 8, 2010

Loved it!

This vacation was simply for relaxation and that is what we did. When we got to the hotel we got upgraded to "priviledged" they said it was because of us using [...]. This meant 24 hour room service, special areas, a pillow menu and so much more. We had read ad reveiws about the restaurants before we went so we were worried - we ate at all of them except the Japenese (not a fan of sushi) and they were all amazing. We even went back to the American restuarant because the steak was so good. The buffets were so-so but that's what you expect from buffets. All the staff was really nice and if they didn't speak English that well they would get another staff member that could. The pool and beach were kept spotless - in fact the whole resort was. My boyfriend and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Tuesday night they have a Beach Party - it was very entertaining and so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cornel, the Traveler
Business
Warren, MI
Dec 24, 2009

All was good, but...

We went for the second time to Catalonia Bavaro Beach and Golf Resort. We enjoyed our stay there: pool, food, room, entertainment, everything was good until the last day. We did not receive the 'wake up call' we requested for 3:30 am (luckily, we did get up in time) and, then, the CocoTours did not come to pick us for the airport, although we had paid the two-way transfer in advance. We had to take a taxi that cost us additional $ 30.00. We loved our stay there; however, we will not buy transfer from and to the airport next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The animators are all very nice and courtious people. They entertain all the visitors on the beach, at the pool, on stage, all day long. Thank you for making our 14 days worth spending there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Veracruz, Mex.
Jul 21, 2010

An excellent family experience

There are two very different opinions about it, I want to notice how great and friendly everyone is at the hotel, and I mean everyone! But in the other hand, there were problems at attending the guests calls asking for fix something, maintenance of the room, specially beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mikado and La Toscana restaurants were awesome, food was excellent and the service was wonderful, I totally recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luto 14
Business
Gouldsboro Pa
Aug 2, 2010

Best birthday ever

We"ve been to this hotel 4 years ago My husband and daughter of 14 and just loved it that is why we decided to go back for my 50th birthday. There were alot of nice changes. The staff is excellent. My 2nd day there I fell down the steps by accident and sprained my ankel ,the maid that was on staff saw what happened And helped me to my room put me to bed fluffed my pillows and avised to call the Dr. her name is Carmen. She was so helpful and caring. It turned out it was a minor sprain I managed to enjoy my vacation after all. Carmen also wound up being our maid for the week. We just loved her. The trip was just awesome the hotel beautiful. No complaints here. We will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, fl
Dec 22, 2010

fantastic family aniversary and birthday

excellent experience in this hotel very profesionals friendly people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top