Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
185 reviews
Biz

Great Stay Overall, overnight rooms have some cleanliness issues and need to be updated. Breakfast... See full review

  • Elizabeth L.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honey buns
Business
Ohsweken Ontario Canada
May 4, 2009

fantastic resort and entertainment

My friend and I went for rest and relaxation. It was the greatest place for that..we would lounge by the pool or go by the sea if we wanted to have a nap. The activity personel.....fabulous..made you feel welcome and included ..I have never been to a place where they actually made it a point to remember your name and draw you into the activities. I loved the food and it was so convenient...by the pool, during the day and by the entertainment stage in the evening. Natty from the kids club made me a CD of the music for our school. Her boss didnt even charge for it. I want to take my family there someday if I can ever afford it...it is a place where families, singles and couples could have a great time. I JUST LOVED IT!! It was a little pricey...but we left booking until the last minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They had top notch performers..they were great singers and dancers..I enjoy that kind of entertaiment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 23, 2009

The best ever!

The Catalonia and Punta beat Mexico by far. there was nothing to complain about. We swam,snorkled,rode bikes on the beach. The food was wonderful and the Dominican people were very nice and respectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

I would suggest you wait for the open market that is at the resort Friday evening. They have everything. A huge selection and better quality than the few vendors that are on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa C
Business
Livonia MI
Jan 25, 2012

What a wonderful vacation!

First off let me start off by saying that Americans and Canadians are spoiled by what they see on TV and perceive to be 5 stars. 5 star in the US/Canada is not the same as 5 star in Mexico or Dominican. Our "5 stars" would be the lap of luxury to those people. So with that being said, remember you are going to a third world country to be provided what they feel are 5 star accomodations. I see people saying that had a wonderful time, but giving the resort 2 stars because there were ants.. or mosquitos.. or their kid fell down. Seriously?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican and the Italian were great !! The wait staff in the big dining rooms were so nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Kurt
Business
Boston, Ma
Nov 29, 2012

Great Time

Had a ton of fun at this resort!! Cocktails were great and they even had the Patriots football game on TV on thanksgiving night!! Can you say Pina Coladas with a Pats rout of the NY Jets!! Couldn’t ask for a better time, amazing beach , pool bar and weather. If you can, definitely go with the privileged honeymoon suite. We had views of both the ocean and the pool from our balcony. The resort is large so be ready to do some walking but it’s very marginable and the grounds are gorgeous so we really didn’t have a problem with it. Party on!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snorkeler2013
Business
Canada
Feb 11, 2013

Escape to Paradise

Just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at the Catalonia Bavaro and I can honestly say that I can not wait to return. Atmosphere was very friendly, weather was perfect and very family oriented. There were lots of activities to get involved in, if so inclined, and if only rest and relaxation was the preference, that was okay too. The resort is beautiful and overall very clean with well landscaped property. The grounds are large and often a fair amount of walking is required to go to beach, buffet area, main lobby, etc. depending on room location. Personally, I actually enjoyed the walk as we had a tendency to overeat at the buffets. There was a large variety of food selection at the buffets so although it may not all be to a person's liking, there were options that I enjoyed at each meal. In reading other's reviews about criticism of food and language, I can't help but think that if I as a Canadian was looking for comparable Canadian cuisine and predominantly English speaking staff and patrons, then perhaps I should have stayed in Canada for my vacation. If you are looking for a multicultural experience with a safe and family-oriented atmosphere where the weather is perfect, then I highly recommend this resort. We had a few issues with our fridge not working properly and the patio door had a broken lock; once we brought it to the attention of the staff, it was fixed almost immediately. We can't wait to return and are already planning our next vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware of vendors at airport as many offer such things as free spa days, free days at other local hotels, etc.as soon as you arrive. In essence, they are trying to sell timeshares.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young Couple 2013
Business
Washington, DC
May 19, 2013

Excellent Getaway

Yes. Yes. And Yes. We have a fantastic vacation in Punta Cana. The staff here was incredibly helpful when we asked for anything, and the resort is huge! There are a few too many folks trying to sell excursions on while we relaxed on the beach (approaced a few times each day), but otherwise this was a wonderful vacation. There's a bar on the beach, in the pool, and at the lobby. There are four or five different restaurants, and several other places to grab a bite. There are also tons of people from all corners of the world (US, Canada, France, Croatia, Russia, and more). We had a great time meeting people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Augrad88
Business
pensacola, fl
May 28, 2013

Catalonia Bavaro

WONDERFUL!! This was an amazing place with fantastic people! The food was good, beach and pool were perfect, and the drinks were awesome (and flowing). The staff cannot be any friendlier or helpful. The only negative thing I can think of was that the pillows need to be replaced, so bring your own. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had a HUGE tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia Fortygin
Business
Rochester, NY
May 28, 2013

Great first choice!

We had such a perfect vacation, everything went smooth. There is lots of room for a walk, beautiful trees and flowers, nice beach. Couple small things that could be better: pillows and the mattress were too hard, and there was no person to great us on arrival, we didn't know much about the place the first day til we explore it ourselves. Otherwise, we loved everything else and we will come back the next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cherry884
Business
nyc
Jul 17, 2013

loved it

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Elyse
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2014

Beautiful resort, great food, amazing staff!

The staff made the trip. So friendly, welcoming, and nice. Great food: steakhouse, hibashi, and italian all great! The Gran Caribe buffet has plenty of options for lunch and dinner and great breakfast! Beautiful beach, with entertaining staff. The beach was beautiful with plenty of sun and shade (whatever you wish). Water sports available if desired, beach volleyball, beach bar, water zumba, dancing, and beach games. All around amazing experience! I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top