Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
216 reviews
amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were... See full review

  • ariana caraballo
  • Jun 28, 2014
Fantastic getaway vacation spot!

Everyone was so nice! The room way very clean and comfortable. They had a lot of restaurants that... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jun 27, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa C
Livonia MI
Jan 25, 2012

What a wonderful vacation!

First off let me start off by saying that Americans and Canadians are spoiled by what they see on TV and perceive to be 5 stars. 5 star in the US/Canada is not the same as 5 star in Mexico or Dominican. Our "5 stars" would be the lap of luxury to those people. So with that being said, remember you are going to a third world country to be provided what they feel are 5 star accomodations. I see people saying that had a wonderful time, but giving the resort 2 stars because there were ants.. or mosquitos.. or their kid fell down. Seriously?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican and the Italian were great !! The wait staff in the big dining rooms were so nice!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
orlando, fl
Dec 22, 2010

fantastic family aniversary and birthday

excellent experience in this hotel very profesionals friendly people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ozone Park, NY
May 7, 2010

Excellent Resort, Great Family getaway

The Resort is beautifull, its quiet, the food was excellent and the staff was allways willing to help on whatever you need, even before you ask. I'd recommend it , A++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey Ann
Northern VA
May 8, 2010

Loved it!

This vacation was simply for relaxation and that is what we did. When we got to the hotel we got upgraded to "priviledged" they said it was because of us using [...]. This meant 24 hour room service, special areas, a pillow menu and so much more. We had read ad reveiws about the restaurants before we went so we were worried - we ate at all of them except the Japenese (not a fan of sushi) and they were all amazing. We even went back to the American restuarant because the steak was so good. The buffets were so-so but that's what you expect from buffets. All the staff was really nice and if they didn't speak English that well they would get another staff member that could. The pool and beach were kept spotless - in fact the whole resort was. My boyfriend and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Tuesday night they have a Beach Party - it was very entertaining and so much fun!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony Yllescas
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2014

Fantastic getaway vacation spot!

Everyone was so nice! The room way very clean and comfortable. They had a lot of restaurants that had really good food. The only thing is that they take forever to bring you drinks or refill them. Staff was great, but a bit too flirtatious whenever they find out that you're not a couple, but just a brother and sister on vacation together. And I mean, they really do big you a lot when they want to flirt, which was annoying. However, the overall experience that we had deserves five stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cornel, the Traveler
Warren, MI
Dec 24, 2009

All was good, but...

We went for the second time to Catalonia Bavaro Beach and Golf Resort. We enjoyed our stay there: pool, food, room, entertainment, everything was good until the last day. We did not receive the 'wake up call' we requested for 3:30 am (luckily, we did get up in time) and, then, the CocoTours did not come to pick us for the airport, although we had paid the two-way transfer in advance. We had to take a taxi that cost us additional $ 30.00. We loved our stay there; however, we will not buy transfer from and to the airport next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The animators are all very nice and courtious people. They entertain all the visitors on the beach, at the pool, on stage, all day long. Thank you for making our 14 days worth spending there.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON
Sep 12, 2009

Catalonia Bavaro

Amazing experience at Catalonia Bavaro. The beach is absolutely perfect, the pool is clean, and amazing staffs and room service. I went on "Bavaro Runners" excursion, which includes horse back riding, cigar & sugar cane plantation, and a visit to a local family. The asking price was $90, but we bargained down to $80. Do not pay the asking price, as there is a huge mark-up, so ALWAYS bargain!!. Remember to bring lots of sunscreen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
La Harpe, Illinois
Oct 25, 2010

"Unbeatable locattion for the price"

Went to the beach, and casino. They had many different choices on foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and food close to our room

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigs-n-Ter
Bastrop, Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Marvelous Gettaway

We had a marvelous time body surfing in the waves of the clean swept beautiful beaches, cooling off in the large beautiful pools, having an enjoyable scuba lesson in the pool and going out with a group snorkeling. All buffets were tasty, the theme restaurants were fun and delicious. The inland tour gave us a real feel for The Dominican Republic. It was very entertaining and totally enjoyable. The medical facilities which we had need of provided a solution to our needs. Staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An exceptional deal was the Snorkeling $35 USD trip. A boat takes you out about 1/2 hr to a specific area that is roped off. You snorkel for an hour and then head back. We saw tons on different marine life and fish.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Veracruz, Mex.
Jul 21, 2010

An excellent family experience

There are two very different opinions about it, I want to notice how great and friendly everyone is at the hotel, and I mean everyone! But in the other hand, there were problems at attending the guests calls asking for fix something, maintenance of the room, specially beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Mikado and La Toscana restaurants were awesome, food was excellent and the service was wonderful, I totally recommend it.

Back to menu Return to top