$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
192 reviews
Relaxing vacation

Love the hotel my only problem was the Internet was extremely slow. They should have the option for... See full review

  • Ria M
  • Jun 18, 2015
AWESOME TIME

We had an awesome time at Catalonia resort! It is our 3rd visit and we look forward to return See full review

  • Sonia R.
  • Jun 15, 2015

Surrounded by palm trees and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private white sand beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs along the beach make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.

Dining

Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Nine restaurants include Mariachi serving Mexican specialties. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band. Unwind in any of the eight bars on site.

Rooms

This all-suite resort offers 711 spacious junior suites appointed with cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.

Property features

Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities include archery, beach volley, aerobics, aqua aerobics, shows, tennis, paddle tennis, sauna, gym, meringue dance and native painting lessons, non-motorized water sports: 1 hour per day of canoe, kayak, catamaran. Snorkeling, scuba diving (introductory lesson), hammocks, sunshades and beach towels, mini-club and mini-disco for children are also on offer. Visitors can also play at the casino, engage in motorized water sports, scuba diving immersions, golf excursions and tennis court lighting, relax with massages and unwind at the beauty salon, all at an additional charge.

Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property.

Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)

 

Nearby attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Conference spaces for up to 250 guests
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Policies
  • NOTICE: The 18-hole golf course will be closed until September 2015 for maintenance.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$145
4.0 / 5 176 reviews
★★★★
$183
3.8 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★
$121
2.9 / 5 118 reviews

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms one conference room with 250 people capacity and another with 140 pax capacity

Dining

Yuca
authentic restaurant la carte with the traditional Caribbean specialties: Not reservation needed, Air-conditioned , Dinner only . *Dress code: casual (short pants and sleeveless shirts for men are not allowed. Closed shoes)
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).Air-conditioned , *Dress code: casual (short pants and sleeveless shirts for men are not allowed. Closed shoes). No reservation needed
Rodeo
Steak House : to enjoy the best la carte meat specialties. Air-conditioned , *Dress code: casual (short pants and sleeveless shirts for men are not allowed. Closed shoes). No reservation needed
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...) Dress code: breakfast and lunch " informal; dinner - casual. *Themed dinner
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch Dress code: informal
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner) Dress code: casual
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.Large variety of sweet and salty crpes to enjoy directly in front of the sea. Dress code: informal
Terrace Tapas & Lounge:
innovative la carte tapas in a romantic atmosphere next to the beach . Dinner only * Dress code: casual. This restaurant is only for Privileged guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Elyse
Friends
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2014

Beautiful resort, great food, amazing staff!

The staff made the trip. So friendly, welcoming, and nice. Great food: steakhouse, hibashi, and italian all great! The Gran Caribe buffet has plenty of options for lunch and dinner and great breakfast! Beautiful beach, with entertaining staff. The beach was beautiful with plenty of sun and shade (whatever you wish). Water sports available if desired, beach volleyball, beach bar, water zumba, dancing, and beach games. All around amazing experience! I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.magaoay
Couples
Sacramento,ca
Apr 11, 2014

Loved it!

We got really lucky with Catalonia! This was my husband and I's first trip to D.R. So I wasn't sure what to expect other people we met like from "other resorts" preferred our resort It's a very big and beautiful resort EVERYONE is sooo nice and they really work hard to make sure your happy ....Juan Carlos is the best rep!!! Really took care of us ... The buggie adventure is a must! And Sonoa island was great too! Right on the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moe Moe K
Family
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2014

My first island getaway

This was my first trip to an island and it was honestly breathe taking. The hotel staff is so much fun and very friendly. They make you feel very welcome. Lots of activities to offer. The massages on the beach were amazing!! Also the bottomless glass boat ride was my favorite part. This is a two hour boat ride that takes you snorkeling with tropical fish and then docks in a huge laguna that was crystal clear. Food was good, lots of options to choose from. Alcohol and beer everywhere! Everywhere you look when you walk is beautiful. The staff take very good care of the hotel; very clean. Also you can tell the staff take pride in their jobs and enjoy making your trip a wonderful experience. I have no complaints, I had an amazing experience going at Punta Cana Catalonia and would recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One tip is that if you want beach chairs under huts at the pool and beach I highly recommend reserving seats by 6:30am. If not they will be all taken; it's first come first serve. With the heat you will need some shade.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa C
Family
Livonia MI
Jan 25, 2012

What a wonderful vacation!

First off let me start off by saying that Americans and Canadians are spoiled by what they see on TV and perceive to be 5 stars. 5 star in the US/Canada is not the same as 5 star in Mexico or Dominican. Our "5 stars" would be the lap of luxury to those people. So with that being said, remember you are going to a third world country to be provided what they feel are 5 star accomodations. I see people saying that had a wonderful time, but giving the resort 2 stars because there were ants.. or mosquitos.. or their kid fell down. Seriously?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican and the Italian were great !! The wait staff in the big dining rooms were so nice!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Kurt
Couples
Boston, Ma
Nov 29, 2012

Great Time

Had a ton of fun at this resort!! Cocktails were great and they even had the Patriots football game on TV on thanksgiving night!! Can you say Pina Coladas with a Pats rout of the NY Jets!! Couldn’t ask for a better time, amazing beach , pool bar and weather. If you can, definitely go with the privileged honeymoon suite. We had views of both the ocean and the pool from our balcony. The resort is large so be ready to do some walking but it’s very marginable and the grounds are gorgeous so we really didn’t have a problem with it. Party on!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snorkeler2013
Friends
Canada
Feb 11, 2013

Escape to Paradise

Just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at the Catalonia Bavaro and I can honestly say that I can not wait to return. Atmosphere was very friendly, weather was perfect and very family oriented. There were lots of activities to get involved in, if so inclined, and if only rest and relaxation was the preference, that was okay too. The resort is beautiful and overall very clean with well landscaped property. The grounds are large and often a fair amount of walking is required to go to beach, buffet area, main lobby, etc. depending on room location. Personally, I actually enjoyed the walk as we had a tendency to overeat at the buffets. There was a large variety of food selection at the buffets so although it may not all be to a person's liking, there were options that I enjoyed at each meal. In reading other's reviews about criticism of food and language, I can't help but think that if I as a Canadian was looking for comparable Canadian cuisine and predominantly English speaking staff and patrons, then perhaps I should have stayed in Canada for my vacation. If you are looking for a multicultural experience with a safe and family-oriented atmosphere where the weather is perfect, then I highly recommend this resort. We had a few issues with our fridge not working properly and the patio door had a broken lock; once we brought it to the attention of the staff, it was fixed almost immediately. We can't wait to return and are already planning our next vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware of vendors at airport as many offer such things as free spa days, free days at other local hotels, etc.as soon as you arrive. In essence, they are trying to sell timeshares.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young Couple 2013
Couples
Washington, DC
May 19, 2013

Excellent Getaway

Yes. Yes. And Yes. We have a fantastic vacation in Punta Cana. The staff here was incredibly helpful when we asked for anything, and the resort is huge! There are a few too many folks trying to sell excursions on while we relaxed on the beach (approaced a few times each day), but otherwise this was a wonderful vacation. There's a bar on the beach, in the pool, and at the lobby. There are four or five different restaurants, and several other places to grab a bite. There are also tons of people from all corners of the world (US, Canada, France, Croatia, Russia, and more). We had a great time meeting people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Augrad88
Couples
pensacola, fl
May 28, 2013

Catalonia Bavaro

WONDERFUL!! This was an amazing place with fantastic people! The food was good, beach and pool were perfect, and the drinks were awesome (and flowing). The staff cannot be any friendlier or helpful. The only negative thing I can think of was that the pillows need to be replaced, so bring your own. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had a HUGE tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnie College Student
Friends
New York, NY
May 27, 2014

Great college summer break

I was worried about the resort prior to going because the reviews were either 1 star or 5 star. I am giving this resort a 5 star after going because I believe they deserve it. I traveled right after college ended with a group of 12 college students. Everyone at the resort was very nice and helpful. The entire resort was picturesque and beautiful - I loved how everything had an open-air feel yet it was very cool with fans and air conditioning. The food was great as well. The best food there was definitely the barbecue. Be adventurous... and look for the grilled chicken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For all activities (snorkeling, dirt buggies, etc.) look for Ted. Ted is a representative for travel agencies there, and he speaks perfect English and has great deals. One day my group almost missed the bus, and he personally stopped it and made it wait for us. For nightlife, look for O'Neill, the promoter for Imagine. Imagine Nightclub is a 10-15 minute car ride away, and O'Neill has incredible deals!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ozone Park, NY
May 7, 2010

Excellent Resort, Great Family getaway

The Resort is beautifull, its quiet, the food was excellent and the staff was allways willing to help on whatever you need, even before you ask. I'd recommend it , A++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top