$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
182 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
A magnificent hotel resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. A tropical paradise of everlasting sun, Catalonia Punta Cana is surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation. A heavenly location for relaxation or water sports activities. This all Junior Suite resort offers spacious accommodation with 704 junior suites. On-site: Offers 8 restaurants and 5 bars, all included!, beach barbecue for lunch with beach party and orchestra (once a week), local alcoholic drinks, soft drinks, water and hot drinks in all bars, restaurants and disco (free entry). Drinks not included in the casino. Daily activities program, petangue, archery, beach volley, aerobics, aquatic gym, shows, tennis, paddle tennis, sauna, gym, meringue dance and native painting lessons, non-motorized water sports: 1 hour per day of canoe, kayak, catamaran. Snorkeling, scuba diving(introductory lesson), hammocks, sunshades and beach towels, mini-club and mini-disco for children. Not included and with an additional charge: motorized water sports, scuba diving immersions, tennis court lighting, massages, hairdresser, beauty saloon, internet connection(Wi-Fi available in 2007), casino and golf excursions, medical service, high speed internet access - chargeable.

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa C
Livonia MI
Jan 25, 2012

What a wonderful vacation!

First off let me start off by saying that Americans and Canadians are spoiled by what they see on TV and perceive to be 5 stars. 5 star in the US/Canada is not the same as 5 star in Mexico or Dominican. Our "5 stars" would be the lap of luxury to those people. So with that being said, remember you are going to a third world country to be provided what they feel are 5 star accomodations. I see people saying that had a wonderful time, but giving the resort 2 stars because there were ants.. or mosquitos.. or their kid fell down. Seriously?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican and the Italian were great !! The wait staff in the big dining rooms were so nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dpjones
Business
california
Sep 6, 2013

wonderful couple get away

Our stay at Catalonia was wonderful. The blue water white sand beach is breath taking. The Hotel grounds are beautiful as will. The staff members are wonderful with smiles that make you feel right at home.The food was wonderful. For excursions I will recommend Vidal Martinze and Jose E Robles from Tours Point Great costumer service with great prices. We will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lebed
Business
baltimore md
Sep 3, 2013

mr

hotel was good beach was exalent food was ok grounds were beatifull staff was verry friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el viejon
Business
Mongomery,MD
Sep 2, 2013

we have good time

the hotel is fine,the only problem was de pillow to har

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michulanga
Business
U.S.A
Aug 26, 2013

Good experience

We have a great time at the Catalonia, the staff are more than specials. Always helping you and working to ake our stay special. the only concern are the beds and pillows, we came back with bites from bed bugs!! beside that our experience are excelent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girls Trip 3
Business
Kentucky
Jul 27, 2013

Not what was expected

Overall, our experience was tarnished by the service at the check-in counter and guest services. Upon arrival it took 45 minutes for us to be waited on. Everyone else who had arrived with us was long gone and we were the only people standing at the counter before the staff waited on us. Then we were given a room for 3 adults with only 2 twin beds. Then 6 hours later a third twin bed was delivered to the room after making 4 calls and 2 visits to the front desk. This was annoying since the bellhop told us it would be 15-20 minutes from when he delivered our luggage. Next, the air conditioning in our room would blow air but it didn't cool the air. Our room was 86 degrees and we had to wait 3 days to be moved to another room. Upon being moved to another room the air conditioning in the new room still only cooled to 86 degrees. Other people at the resort stated that their air cooled perfectly. However, the only compensation for staying 6 nights without air conditioning was a 30 minute massage. The guest services employees just said "we feel bad for you" and when we asked to speak to a manager we were told that they were always busy. Overall, the resort was decent. The food was average and on par with other resorts of similar ratings. The service and staff throughout the resort were friendly with the exception of the front desk and guest services staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Couple 2013
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 17, 2013

Couple Get Away

There is an excellent group of travelers at this hotel (from all over the world). The resort has "two side" that is, it is two resorts next to one another --- a "couples/adults-only" side, and then a family side. We stayed on the family side (because it was cheaper). We found that the young couples who were on the couples side came over to the family side because it was more fun (and more people their age to meet and talk with). The pool bar is great, and the beach bar was pretty nice too! There is PLENTY of shaded seating at the pool and on the beach (palm trees everywhere)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cherry884
Business
nyc
Jul 17, 2013

loved it

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimmey
Business
New Jersey
Jun 13, 2013

June 5th till the 11th

The place was “Ok” the food could have been better, it defiantly was not a 4 star resort, but for the price my girlfriend were happy. The staff seemed to cater more to the Spanish speaking patrons which is why I gave it 2 stars over 3. The beach was outstanding and they did have plenty of activities to do during the day, the pool was also very nice. I would return to the area but not to a Catalonia resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubanparty
Business
Ontario, CA>
Jun 8, 2013

My experience

Great location, very nice hotel/resort, they are on their own time, things move slow, If they say we will take care of it right a way expect it in four (4) hours. food was good, clean grounds, some activity and great entertainment group. I had lots of fun and so did my family. PS. Bring plenty of sun block with high SPF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel has a free taxi service to take you shopping at near by shopping stores which have agreement with them and are very expensive. There are also some offers to take you to a night club inside a cave and they want to charge you $60.00 for the ride and drinks, but if you take a taxi with your friends, it is a short ride and you end up paying about $30.00 for ride and entry to the club. To shop and save you need to go on a taxi to a non resort related store to find the best prices, and don't settle, bargain to the end. Have fun !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling jenny
Business
West Virginia
Jun 3, 2013

Great vacation

Spent 4 nights there last week. Very close to airport. Had a privileged honeymoon suite. Big tub, king bed, sofa and balcony. Shower was decent size. The room was lovely but we did have a good amount of ants. I kept everything off the floor but didn't seem to help. Not complaining too much as we were in 3rd world country in a tropical location. Pool is beautiful. Yes there was some leaves and small outside items in pool like twigs. But hello the pool is outside under trees. The wind was present all week but made for wonderful breeze while laying out. The beach was pretty but there was seaweed. But that was ok with me. It is a tropical island and we expected that. Water was beautiful. There were plenty of covered and uncovered chairs at beach and pool. The food was ok. Didn't expect much since there is no food like home. We mainly ate at the buffet and the little restaurant on the beach for breakfast. Service was great. Food was ok. Only specialty restaurant we tried was rodeo the American steakhouse. Service was quick and nice. Food was just ok but they really tried. Ceaser salad, potato skins, steaks, and apple pie. Portions are small but on man beside us asked for another steak and they fixed him one no problem. Overall we went for fun in the sun and it gets an a+ for the price we paid!!! Wireless Internet only works in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Privileged members do not have to make reservations at all. Just show up when you want and your next in line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top