$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa C
Livonia MI
Jan 25, 2012

What a wonderful vacation!

First off let me start off by saying that Americans and Canadians are spoiled by what they see on TV and perceive to be 5 stars. 5 star in the US/Canada is not the same as 5 star in Mexico or Dominican. Our "5 stars" would be the lap of luxury to those people. So with that being said, remember you are going to a third world country to be provided what they feel are 5 star accomodations. I see people saying that had a wonderful time, but giving the resort 2 stars because there were ants.. or mosquitos.. or their kid fell down. Seriously?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican and the Italian were great !! The wait staff in the big dining rooms were so nice!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosey C
Business
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Magnificent

I have traveled all over the Caribbean and I have never been treated this way. The hotel staff are incredibly inviting and care if you are happy. The grounds are clean and very well maintained. There is food for everyone. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this resort, they are incorrect. Excellent! Excellent! You will not be disappointed if you chose this beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MYJO
Business
Puertp Rico
May 19, 2014

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel. The only concern that we have is the food. They need to improve it. Steak and Italian restaurant are the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mlhl
Business
New york
May 17, 2014

Graduation gift

I had a wonderful time at the hotel. Friendly staff. Entertainment staff was anazing .. Definitely will go back very soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the ala cart restaurants were great , buffet restaurant clean and the variety of food was in abundance

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauly G
Business
Queens, New York
May 17, 2014

Most beautiful experience

The entire resort from beginning to end was very beautiful. It was more than i expected. The staff were really nice and comforting. We made a lot of friend, enjoyed the awesome activities and entertainment. It was Kate like a 5 star rather than a 4 star. I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catalonia
Business
dc
May 16, 2014

dominican vacation

All in all it was wonderful. My only complaint was the food quality was not very good, but there was food anytime of day day so you can't go hungry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take cash to tip, it's expected everywhere

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lillylover123
Business
wisconsin
May 13, 2014

Excellent

The only thing that wasn't completely excellent was the food on the buffet. Almost everything was room temperature. But I chalk that up to their culture. The staff was more than nice! Not a lot of people spoke english but still very friendly. The employees were so hard working and catered to our every need. The specialty restaurants were fantastic and it was a nice change to the buffet food. The hotel was so clean and fancy! The swim up bar and the disco were great. This was definitely a deal of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad Mom IJB
Business
Brookfield CT
May 12, 2014

One Of my worst vacations

I called a few days earlier to confirm my hotel ,that was useless as when we got there they said they were over booked. BUT they would put us up in there upscale sister hotel for one night. Well this was not an upscale room. We over looked the garbage facility . Our phone didn't work even after replace once . We had to hunt down toilet paper the next day. The shower stall floor was a spongy fiberglass that made you feel you were showering on a trampoline. Our power went out and because of a non working phone I had to go to the garbage facility to hunt someone down. .To top it off we had to check out at noon and move to the other room in the next hotel WHICH thank goodness was the nicer of the hotels. But our room wasn't ready until 3pm So that left us with hauling our money and passports around and not being able to do much. THEY TOOK AWAY another full day of our vacation without any compensation. To try to get anyone to hear our complaint took all 7 days until we checked out and finally had a manager listen. Of course what good did that do except a personnel email address from her to come back and give them another shot. I will say the facility was lovely and they did have lovely entertainment and the grounds were beautiful. Just the luck of us I guess was not on our side. and Don't bother getting roped into listening to there one hour privilege thing of there so called time share. They said we would get a coupon for 50 off a massage. We figured we may as well take that . Well it was not disclosed that you had to buy a 177. package massage Not the hour massage that was 85. So that was useless .Save yourself the 29,000. sticker price for 20 yr . It wasn't worth any of it and took more time then they said it will. So of course we were going to take a excursions to see the city and culture and that got canceled because of a public strike . That wasn't the fault of the facility , so we rescheduled that for the following day as the strike was only one day. We had to wake early and be in the lobby at 7:30. No bus shows. finally get a hold of OUR VIP guy and he calls them and said we got canceled late last night and heard nothing of it. Well that just broke the camels back and I burst into tears. He said he would fix it so we ended up chasing another company and getting on that tour which turned out to be nice. > Just sad to say it was my worse vacation and we all know we don't want to have bad memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring enough sunscreen it cost $36.00 a can of spray or cream

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karina1926
Business
New Jersey
May 11, 2014

Fantastic vacation!!!

The staff was absolutely wonderful the rooms were extremely wonderful & clean great activity everything was just wonderful for my first time going I would definitely be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple Threat Team
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 1, 2014

Great Place for a Great Price.

I was not impressed by the sourpuss disposition of the girl who checked us in, but this was compensated by the rest of the staff who were superb during the entire stay. Special mention to Lucia, who is an awesome server at the bar area; Nicholas who was bartender at the pool side bar; And, Serverinia, server at the restaurant. Overall, staff were friend. Good variety entertainment. Restaurants were decent. If you go to the Steak House, order a steak! The DISCO club in the resort has good music and vibe. The room was clean, spacious and the hammocks were a plus. Housekeeping staff were nice. Be generous and tip them, they really work hard! Bargain if you decide to do activities; they always high ball people, but try it, like $10 lower, they usually cave in. Food at the buffet was good. They grill the chicken, beef and make pasta in front of you. The hotel location is close to the airport. Landscape is very clean, nicely manicured and clean. Careful swimming at the beach. My friend and I got stuck my a jelly fish, especially if you swim towards the "little island". Bring your little pharmacy; tylenol, nyquil, benadryl, sunscreen, cipro, flagyl, immodium, etc. Overall, a great stay for a great price. I would return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain with the vendors if you decide to do any outside activities. They always try to high ball; go $10 lower that the proposed price.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatty
Business
Grayson, GA
May 1, 2014

Terrific getaway!!!

We loved our stay at Catalonia,great place to relax!!! We will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top