$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
216 reviews
amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were... See full review

  • ariana caraballo
  • Jun 28, 2014
Fantastic getaway vacation spot!

Everyone was so nice! The room way very clean and comfortable. They had a lot of restaurants that... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jun 27, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CCFisher
DFW
May 30, 2014

Not what we expected!!!

We were terribly disappointed to discover this resort wasn't located on the Caribbean side of the island, beach was rocky and full of sea weeds. Also communication was a horrible problem, very, very little English was spoken by anyone at the resort, made getting anything we needed, be it food, towels, room service, etc almost impossible. We did find the food to be good and waiters at the Italian and Steak house were exceptional. We had a bad experience with our one and only tour and not at all impressed with the upgrade to the Priveleged deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed the Japanese, Italian and Steak House

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and layout! So,so food...

The layout of the resort was great! Pool and beach were amazing! The rooms could of been a little bigger. Hot water wasn't always there. There were no ice machines near rooms. The pool kept running out of clean towels. The food and service at the Italian restaurant were terrible! The buffet could of been better (would of been good to be able to eat inside an air conditioned room). Hotel staff was very nice and prompt. A NOTE ALL BACHELOR PARTIES...THIS IS NOT THE RESORT TO GO TO!! But it is great for all other!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mia BONITA
USA
Feb 1, 2013

Nice Hotel,but,not the best food

The hotel is nice,staff is nice, food is not the best, you need to put 10 diferents items on your plate to get one good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tours

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drappy
Quakertown PA
Oct 5, 2009

Great Beach, great price

We liked the resort to an extent. Glad to be home, We can talk to people here, Learn some Spanish before going. Rooms were clean, but there are BUGS! Tiny ants even saw a cockroach, gross. Food was okay, but not wonderful. All the drinks are waek and gave us really bad heart burn bring TUMS. Would we go there again....I don't know. We went for the beach and are glad about that. Clear water and warm. Oh all places to eat are not have air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk them down!!!!! They give you a 'gift' then you feel like you need to buy something!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
florida robin
florida
May 18, 2013

12 day vacation

they had lost my reservation.......waited three hours at the front desk........the bars ran out of everything we were drinking.....very limited selection at pool and beach bars......MUST wear long pants at specialty dining.......pool and beach bars close way to early.........but overall for the money it was a good vacation......plan on a lot of walking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler111289
NY
Apr 10, 2014

Just a "good" vacation

After reading previous reviews, I was skeptical to book this hotel so I feel as if I owe it to people looking to stay here in the future that I wrote a review myself. I traveled with my boyfriend the first week of April. I strongly suggest paying the extra 15-20$ per person for round trip transportation to and from the hotel. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the airport which makes this a breeze as we were ready to get to the beach and drinks. We got there at about 2pm and the rooms weren't ready till about 3 we were told. When we went back, they told us another 30 minutes- no big deal. The hotel is very big and it takes about 10 mintues to walk from the lobby to the beach. We luckily were in a room right by the pool ! The rooms were okay- nice size bathroom, with a tub and sink on one side and shower/ toilet on the other. There is a mini fridge and couch and table. BEACH: The beach was beautiful ! White sand and warm clear water. You need to get to the beach by 8am to get chairs and even earlier for the huts ! Same goes for the pool. There is a bar by the beach which was nice and a swim up bar in the pool. They had daily entertainment also. FOOD: Here is the reason I give this resort 3 stars- the food was ehhhhh, just OKAY ! The buffet didn't look appetizing for breakfast or lunch and the food tasted bland. There is a spot by the pool that has burgers, pizza and French fries which is where we would find ourselves everyday. The specialty restaurants in my book were nothing special- and the menus were limited. The Mexican was definitely the best of all We didn't even go to the Italian because we heard a couple say it was horrible. The Japanese restaurant was what I was exited for and it stunk- There is a group of about 10 seated with a chef cooking in front of you- It's a predetermined menu. I can't even say that the sushi rolls they give you were fish??? The rice and vegetables was hard and not cooked and the beef/chicken was blah- disappointed !! The steakhouse was okay as well. BEST PART: the drinks- if you are going here as guys/girls in your 20's or couples- this will be your favorite part- ( who wants to eat anyway # - the lobby bartenders are friendly and at night, everyone ends up by this bar since there is entertainment. One night we ventured off the resort to Club Oro - it was a blast !!!!!! definitely suggest for young people ! There are people all around the resort trying to sell you things and also promoters for excursions / nightlife # the club) definitely bargain with them. I would go back here if the food was better, but just for that reason I wouldn't. You get what you pay for !! I would say worth it to spend the extra 300-400$ to go to a resort with better food ! Hope this helps !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Hotel

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crepsle
brooklyn ny
Jul 3, 2014

June getaway

My vacation was regular for two days and for next two days it was very noisy because renovations were being done on a room next to me. Food and entertainment was ok. Communication between staff was difficult because most were unable to understand english. Otherwise it was enjoyable. Ps. alcohol was very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OttawaON
Ottawa Ontario
Apr 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort But,,

What a beautiful place to visit. Resort was very clean and the staff were so friendly. Food was great, but found the wine to be not very nice. The only big complaint was that people were allowed to party at the pool all night. On our last night (Sat), people partied until 6 am in the morning. They were very loud, singing/yelling. What a terriable way to spend your last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was great.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newleyweds
Michigan
May 10, 2011

Had a fine time but wouldn't go back

Overall, we had a nice time, but did have some issues. The resort was nice and we liked the beach and pool area. The food was average. When they say "all-inclusive", they really only mean things they don't want to charge you for--you will get asked to pay extra for certain wines and beers. We ran into a few problems during our stay. Our room was generally clean and cool (air conditioning worked well), but we did find ants on the counter in the bathroom, including on one of our toothbrushes, which was disgusting. Also, we brought one pillow of our own, which the housekeepers took from our room one day and we never saw it again. The minibar was supposed to be stocked everyday, including beer, and we received none on some days. We did call and ask for beer to be stocked, and they never showed up even though they said they were coming with some. When we returned home, we found holes in some of our clothing, and it looked like rats had chewed on them--that then became the most disappointing and disgusting aspect of the hotel for us. Would not return to this resort, but we still mostly enjoyed our stay this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mike the nonsmoker.
bronx,new york.
Jun 3, 2010

Veri naci but plainty smokers.

There are not a single areas tha you could siad it was free of smoking people around you,other than that it was a veri plesand vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

When at japanes stile restauran do not eat the rice first, the good stuf come last.

Back to menu Return to top