$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chico B
Business
Ohio
May 29, 2014

Good working class resort

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and booked a honey moon suite with the VIP upgraded package. Positives: good food, location, entertainment, activities. Negatives: outside vendors constantly trying to sell you stuff, hit or miss service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upgrade to the VIP package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proster
Business
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2014

Hotel staff needed to focus more on guest's comort insead they acted like sales force

Weak check-in process. We waited nearly 1 hr in line but no apologies from front desk for long wait. FREE Concierce Desk service is a SCAM. They only pushed you to attend 1 of their timeshare type program presentation. Hotel lobby was full of these sales people . If someone asked you, "How you were doing?", don't assume they cared. Insead, it was only a conversation starter. Next question lead them to push you to attend their presentation. Food choices in buffet were not too impressive. Japanese and Italian Restaurants were very good, Mexian Restaurat was disappointing. Bar Service was very good, there were plenty of opportunity to get drunk. Resort did sufficient job keeping guests entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese Restaurant catered to our special diet needs. Also Italian restaurant was better than average. Mexican restaurant was worst experience. Waiters in all three restaurants did not know sufficient English language so it was often hard to explin to them if you needed to modify what is in the menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PriscillaBabyy
Business
Corona, California
May 29, 2014

Amazing Vacation!

My husband & I stayed at Catalonia Punta Cana for 8 nights & it was great. The entertainment is good, they always have something going on so you will never get bored & the entertainment team tries very hard to make everything fun for everyone. :) The rooms, we stayed in a privileged suite in front of the privileged beach & we had no problems except for the shower being tiny but it really didn't bother us because the huge jacuzzi tub makes up for it. The bed was super comfortable & they have a pillow menu so you can choose what type of pillow you want. The food was great, they have a lot of variety & so so so many desserts. We tried every restaurant there. The Mexican was good, Japanese was really good (we went there twice, the first time was great the second time not so great so it really depends on the cook you get), the Italian was really good, the steakhouse was good according to my husband & the rest of our party but I got the angus burger & it was disgusting! The privileged restaurant by the beach (dinner only) was very good as well. The staff was amazing! They all treated us as family, we had never met such kind people before so the staff gets an A+++++++ & I'm sure everyone who visits can agree with me. :) The resort is very very big so if you're beachfront like we were you do walk A LOT but we actually liked the long walks because it kinda made up for all the food we ate! ;) The drinks were very good, the bartenders will make pretty much anything you ask for & if they don't know how to make something they will ask or find out what the drink has. We went to Jamaica on our previous trip & this trip was 10x better because the staff made it so much better. We felt very safe at this resort. We actually plan on going back with our kids soon, that's how great the resort is! :) I absolutely recommend this resort to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Saona Island, it is absolutely beautiful!!! We booked the excursion through the VIP travel agency at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnie College Student
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2014

Great college summer break

I was worried about the resort prior to going because the reviews were either 1 star or 5 star. I am giving this resort a 5 star after going because I believe they deserve it. I traveled right after college ended with a group of 12 college students. Everyone at the resort was very nice and helpful. The entire resort was picturesque and beautiful - I loved how everything had an open-air feel yet it was very cool with fans and air conditioning. The food was great as well. The best food there was definitely the barbecue. Be adventurous... and look for the grilled chicken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For all activities (snorkeling, dirt buggies, etc.) look for Ted. Ted is a representative for travel agencies there, and he speaks perfect English and has great deals. One day my group almost missed the bus, and he personally stopped it and made it wait for us. For nightlife, look for O'Neill, the promoter for Imagine. Imagine Nightclub is a 10-15 minute car ride away, and O'Neill has incredible deals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shang
Business
Michigan
May 25, 2014

Overall great vacation....

This was my first time to DR with my fiancee for our annual vacation. The resort was beautiful and clean, the beach was awesome with clear water and white sands (where we spent most of our time). Plenty of beach chairs no matter what time it was. Food was average, nothing spectacular (1 main buffet and 4 ala carte restaurants plus add'tl mini buffet by the pool). We tried Marachi the mexican restaurant and we weren't impressed at all with the food or the service. We both felt the service and friendliness of the staff were a hit or miss especially during dining. Sometimes we didn't even get our water glasses filled or refilled at all. Entertainment was available during the day and night. Rooms are always cleaned and kept up by the maids daily. There is also a small casino and a small shopping area right inside the resort as well. The casino was small, but ok. Shopping plaza was nice One thing that we did NOT like was the constant hassle by the time share staff who wanted us to sit down and listen to a presentation about their time shares available. We simply said we were not interested, but the constant hounding almost everyday by one of the time share staff members were relentless (they work in the lobby and are present all day every day!!) It was quite annoying, and one day we actually had to take an alternate route back to our room to avoid one of the salesman. This really put us off about the resort, although we did enjoy everything else. Overall it was a great vacation with great sunny weather every day. I would def go back to DR, but to a different resort just to compare the differences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMVP
Business
Scranton, PA, USA
May 23, 2014

Staff way Too Friendly

Most of the Young Men workers (Bar/Beach etc) were a little too friendly. where it got to the point that it was uncomfortable being around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Traveling
Business
TN
May 21, 2014

Love Punta Canta but won't stay at Catalonia again.

We upgraded to Priviledged which I have done at another resort in Punta Cana and that experience was top notch. Don't waste your money at Catalonia the Priviledged staff is more interested in interacting with each other than assisting guests. Our upgraded room had 2 twin beds pushed together when our reservation was for 3 adults. It was 3 of us girls so we made do. Huge bathtub, but tiny shower stall. The food was mediocre at best with the exception being the Japanese restaurant. Great staff, presentation and food. We went to the Mexican restaurant placed our orders and 2 out of the 3 got something totally different than what we ordered. The waiter had the nerve to argue with us and then got snarky and called the manager over and might as well said we were lying. Shrimp tacos ( which I ordered) are nowhere near the same as chicken fajitas which is what he insisted I ordered. My adult granddaughter ordered stuffed chicken and she got beef fajitas. They finally brought the correct dishes, but we should have just left after the waiter got his attitude-because the food was overcooked and not good at all. The Italian restaurant was pretty good but we sat there for 15 minutes before our waiter even acknowledged us. The guys at the beach and pool bars and the employees at the beach/pool buffet were wonderful as were the guys at the pool grill. They made up for the bad attitudes of the rest of the staff. The "casino" is tiny and only has 5¢ slots and one blackjack table that was open but the people that worked there were really nice. I am pretty much a laid back traveler, but for the most part this resort just was not what I have come to expect from Punta Cana resorts. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Mexican and don't miss the Japanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoMattGo
Business
Minneapolis,MN
May 20, 2014

Surprised Greatness!

Wow what an amazing resort! The buffets and food were excellent which was surprising after reading some picky reviews. The staff was very friendly and eager to help out. Entertainment nightly and lots of entertainment options. Things to keep in mind: 1. They employees will try to get you to do a 60 minute presentation that takes 3 hours we heard from some friends there. 2. Bring your own snorkel and mask because they wouldn't let us snorkel to try to get us to buy an excursion. 3. Watch out for the MamaJuana:) fun and delicious 4. Some restaurants were very slow with service not enough wait staff for the amount of people being served. 5. Loved the fresh fruits, Passion Fruit, Papaya, Manago and more! Also cheeses and more everyday! 6. Pool side bar always has fun and interesting people especially around 3-5pm 7. Get your Palapa aka the beach Tikis early in the morning using a towel and more to save them. They get taken fast. 8. All the shops near the hotel sell the same exact items but with very aggressive owners. 9. Excursions are offered, don't forget to haggle for everything! 10. Tip your room attendants for more beer, water, and cleanliness. Have Fun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No kid vacation
Business
Washington, DC
May 20, 2014

If you can't be happy here...you can't be happy!

This place was great all the way around. One of the best vacations ever. Staff goes over and above, rooms clean, food great, drinks better! Going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Una Vaina Bien
Business
NYC
May 20, 2014

First time ever on a vacation

I went to Catalonia Bavaro with my wife.. It was my first time ever at a resort. I was very impressed by the wonderful staff, the beautiful beach and pool. All you can eat and drink.. Great entertainment. The food is ok.. you wil definetly not go hungry. Honestly speaking I did not come here for the food. I came for the romance, relaxation, the entertainment and all the alcohol you can drink. and that is exactly what I got. Also staff was 100% satisfaction!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to dune boggie ride. Its Great !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top