$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FredW
Couples
North New Jersey
Dec 31, 2012

Great holiday getaway

Wonderful location, beach. Food generally pretty good, just don't expect "American Steak House" quality at the "American Steak House".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamhop
Couples
cinti,ohio
Jul 13, 2014

great getaway

the whole exp. was great. food pool ocean room staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

cab fare to & from airport 30$ each way

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ariana caraballo
Friends
Massachusetts
Jun 28, 2014

amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were amazing, entertainment was great! I would definitely recommend and would go back. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcuboy
Couples
Dallas
Jun 28, 2014

We enjoyed

The only thing that we have to complain about is the people that try to get you to purchase a time share. The island is very quiet we stayed 9 days and enjoyed it we will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Everything is cheaper in the hotel

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony Yllescas
Family
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2014

Fantastic getaway vacation spot!

Everyone was so nice! The room way very clean and comfortable. They had a lot of restaurants that had really good food. The only thing is that they take forever to bring you drinks or refill them. Staff was great, but a bit too flirtatious whenever they find out that you're not a couple, but just a brother and sister on vacation together. And I mean, they really do big you a lot when they want to flirt, which was annoying. However, the overall experience that we had deserves five stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sith1966
Couples
Orlando, Florida
Jun 21, 2014

wonderful beach

We had a wonderful time in this all inclusive vacation package, great beaches, nice staff and beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unbelievably unhappy
Family
Los Angeles, California
Jun 8, 2014

NOT ACCOMIDATING, FOOD WAS HORRIBLE

To start they sent us to the family hotel when we paid for and reserved the adults only hotel. They refused to give us a room at the adults only resort when our itinerary clearly said ADULTS ONLY. The entire trip we dealt with screaming kids, crying babies and children running around without adult supervision. When we booked the room we requested early check in, when we got there we sat there for three hours waiting until we finally got into our room an hour later than regular check in. The room was nice, not what we thought we were getting, but nice. There were problems with the room like the sink didn't drain, no drain cover in the shower (just a hole in the floor), door knob fell off when we tried to open the door, refrigerator not cold, phone didn't work, etc.. We called (from a near by office ) to have it fixed and eventually after a couple days some of it got fixed, some didn't. We additionally paid for the honeymoon package that included decorated room upon arrival (never got it), champagne (after complaining, we got a day later), chocolates in room upon arrival (never got it), fruit basket in room upon arrival (never got it). Upon check in they didn't give us our free massage and photo voucher so we had to ask them again for it and they tried to make us walk back to our room to check our stuff again (which was more than a quarter of a mile away from the office) when we refused they made us sit there for at least 30 minutes while they verified with the other staff and salon so that we didn't get two vouchers. They only have restaurants for dinner so the only places to eat are the snack bar and the buffet which were both absolutely horrible every day. Room service was terrible as well. Everything service related there was SOOO slow. The restaurants took easily 2+ hours to get in and out of, whether you were waiting to get into the restaurant, waiting to be served, waiting for drinks, waiting to order, etc... We felt like we wasted so much of our vacation waiting!! The only way to get ice in your room was to call room service and it took at least 30-45 minutes if it came at all!! We tried to speak to management about several of the issues but every time we tried (which was several times), no one would allow us to. They kept transferring us to what they call the privileged office who refused us to allow us speak to anyone but them. They allowed outside venders to come and try to sell everyone merchandise like jewelery and other souvenirs which would have been nice and convenient but they hassled you and wouldn't take no for an answer! You wouldn't expect that kind of solicitation at your resort, maybe outside but not at the hotel. We accepted we weren't going to get anything from them so we just made the best of our trip. Luckily the beach was nice and the grounds were nice and kept up. Last but not least when we checked out it took them so long to check us (at least 45 minutes) out that we missed our transportation to the airport and we had to pay a taxi $30 to get there, luckily we got there in time because the plane changed their schedule to leave an hour earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't trust anything anyone says says because they lie to sell you things!! Like the golf course, they told us we had to buy golf balls because they don't give you any to golf with so we bought some and they actually do give you golf balls. Then they didn't want to take back the ones we purchased and never used. The VIP service trying to say their excursions were with a different company and that's why they were charging more money (because it was in an air conditioned luxury van) it wasn't, it was in the back of a truck just like the rest of them!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MalTom
Couples
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 5, 2014

First Time All Inclusive

It was everything we expected, just wish the themed restaraunt food quality was a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CCFisher
Couples
DFW
May 30, 2014

Not what we expected!!!

We were terribly disappointed to discover this resort wasn't located on the Caribbean side of the island, beach was rocky and full of sea weeds. Also communication was a horrible problem, very, very little English was spoken by anyone at the resort, made getting anything we needed, be it food, towels, room service, etc almost impossible. We did find the food to be good and waiters at the Italian and Steak house were exceptional. We had a bad experience with our one and only tour and not at all impressed with the upgrade to the Priveleged deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed the Japanese, Italian and Steak House

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chico B
Couples
Ohio
May 29, 2014

Good working class resort

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and booked a honey moon suite with the VIP upgraded package. Positives: good food, location, entertainment, activities. Negatives: outside vendors constantly trying to sell you stuff, hit or miss service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upgrade to the VIP package.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proster
Family
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2014

Hotel staff needed to focus more on guest's comort insead they acted like sales force

Weak check-in process. We waited nearly 1 hr in line but no apologies from front desk for long wait. FREE Concierce Desk service is a SCAM. They only pushed you to attend 1 of their timeshare type program presentation. Hotel lobby was full of these sales people . If someone asked you, "How you were doing?", don't assume they cared. Insead, it was only a conversation starter. Next question lead them to push you to attend their presentation. Food choices in buffet were not too impressive. Japanese and Italian Restaurants were very good, Mexian Restaurat was disappointing. Bar Service was very good, there were plenty of opportunity to get drunk. Resort did sufficient job keeping guests entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese Restaurant catered to our special diet needs. Also Italian restaurant was better than average. Mexican restaurant was worst experience. Waiters in all three restaurants did not know sufficient English language so it was often hard to explin to them if you needed to modify what is in the menu.

Back to menu Return to top