$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMVP
Business
Scranton, PA, USA
May 23, 2014

Staff way Too Friendly

Most of the Young Men workers (Bar/Beach etc) were a little too friendly. where it got to the point that it was uncomfortable being around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Traveling
Business
TN
May 21, 2014

Love Punta Canta but won't stay at Catalonia again.

We upgraded to Priviledged which I have done at another resort in Punta Cana and that experience was top notch. Don't waste your money at Catalonia the Priviledged staff is more interested in interacting with each other than assisting guests. Our upgraded room had 2 twin beds pushed together when our reservation was for 3 adults. It was 3 of us girls so we made do. Huge bathtub, but tiny shower stall. The food was mediocre at best with the exception being the Japanese restaurant. Great staff, presentation and food. We went to the Mexican restaurant placed our orders and 2 out of the 3 got something totally different than what we ordered. The waiter had the nerve to argue with us and then got snarky and called the manager over and might as well said we were lying. Shrimp tacos ( which I ordered) are nowhere near the same as chicken fajitas which is what he insisted I ordered. My adult granddaughter ordered stuffed chicken and she got beef fajitas. They finally brought the correct dishes, but we should have just left after the waiter got his attitude-because the food was overcooked and not good at all. The Italian restaurant was pretty good but we sat there for 15 minutes before our waiter even acknowledged us. The guys at the beach and pool bars and the employees at the beach/pool buffet were wonderful as were the guys at the pool grill. They made up for the bad attitudes of the rest of the staff. The "casino" is tiny and only has 5¢ slots and one blackjack table that was open but the people that worked there were really nice. I am pretty much a laid back traveler, but for the most part this resort just was not what I have come to expect from Punta Cana resorts. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Mexican and don't miss the Japanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoMattGo
Business
Minneapolis,MN
May 20, 2014

Surprised Greatness!

Wow what an amazing resort! The buffets and food were excellent which was surprising after reading some picky reviews. The staff was very friendly and eager to help out. Entertainment nightly and lots of entertainment options. Things to keep in mind: 1. They employees will try to get you to do a 60 minute presentation that takes 3 hours we heard from some friends there. 2. Bring your own snorkel and mask because they wouldn't let us snorkel to try to get us to buy an excursion. 3. Watch out for the MamaJuana:) fun and delicious 4. Some restaurants were very slow with service not enough wait staff for the amount of people being served. 5. Loved the fresh fruits, Passion Fruit, Papaya, Manago and more! Also cheeses and more everyday! 6. Pool side bar always has fun and interesting people especially around 3-5pm 7. Get your Palapa aka the beach Tikis early in the morning using a towel and more to save them. They get taken fast. 8. All the shops near the hotel sell the same exact items but with very aggressive owners. 9. Excursions are offered, don't forget to haggle for everything! 10. Tip your room attendants for more beer, water, and cleanliness. Have Fun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No kid vacation
Business
Washington, DC
May 20, 2014

If you can't be happy here...you can't be happy!

This place was great all the way around. One of the best vacations ever. Staff goes over and above, rooms clean, food great, drinks better! Going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Una Vaina Bien
Business
NYC
May 20, 2014

First time ever on a vacation

I went to Catalonia Bavaro with my wife.. It was my first time ever at a resort. I was very impressed by the wonderful staff, the beautiful beach and pool. All you can eat and drink.. Great entertainment. The food is ok.. you wil definetly not go hungry. Honestly speaking I did not come here for the food. I came for the romance, relaxation, the entertainment and all the alcohol you can drink. and that is exactly what I got. Also staff was 100% satisfaction!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to dune boggie ride. Its Great !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosey C
Business
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Magnificent

I have traveled all over the Caribbean and I have never been treated this way. The hotel staff are incredibly inviting and care if you are happy. The grounds are clean and very well maintained. There is food for everyone. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this resort, they are incorrect. Excellent! Excellent! You will not be disappointed if you chose this beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MYJO
Business
Puertp Rico
May 19, 2014

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel. The only concern that we have is the food. They need to improve it. Steak and Italian restaurant are the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mlhl
Business
New york
May 17, 2014

Graduation gift

I had a wonderful time at the hotel. Friendly staff. Entertainment staff was anazing .. Definitely will go back very soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the ala cart restaurants were great , buffet restaurant clean and the variety of food was in abundance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catalonia
Business
dc
May 16, 2014

dominican vacation

All in all it was wonderful. My only complaint was the food quality was not very good, but there was food anytime of day day so you can't go hungry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take cash to tip, it's expected everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lillylover123
Business
wisconsin
May 13, 2014

Excellent

The only thing that wasn't completely excellent was the food on the buffet. Almost everything was room temperature. But I chalk that up to their culture. The staff was more than nice! Not a lot of people spoke english but still very friendly. The employees were so hard working and catered to our every need. The specialty restaurants were fantastic and it was a nice change to the buffet food. The hotel was so clean and fancy! The swim up bar and the disco were great. This was definitely a deal of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top