$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
217 reviews
Great Beach, Great Food & Great Snorkeling!

We had a fantastic week stay and had no complaints at all! Great snorkeling with some reefs right... See full review

  • Jbnyquil
  • Jul 14, 2014
amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were... See full review

  • ariana caraballo
  • Jun 28, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet4days
Queens, NY, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Good for a first timer

my husband and I spent 3 nights here for our 20th wedding anniversary. Check-in was smooth and we got "upgraded" to "privileged". Now, we thought that was great but the only real perk was that we were close to the beach and pool. However we were about a 10 minute walk to the front desk. Not too much of a bad thing because you can take the scenic route which is very beautiful. The other option was walking under the shaded walkway, non scenic, which ran parallel to the scenic route but on the other side of the villas. The room was, uh, not so good. The bed was made but the tub was dirty and the shower was very cheap looking with a cloth curtain that kept flowing into the shower while you showered. The shower and tub were in a separate room from the tub. The stocked fridge had an open, already used, soda in it. The convenience of the buffet restaurant by the beach and pool was great but the food was not. The pool bar was great. On a whole the experience was a good one. We ate at the buffets (the one by the front desk was better) and took everything in stride. The grounds were beautiful but we'd definitely pay a little more money to stay in a more upscale all-inclusive next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet near the front desk. The food is a bit better.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Bias
NJ
Jul 31, 2009

07/22 - 07/29

Great over all, except the BED is smell little bit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharyrk
Catalonia hotel
Dec 21, 2013

Stone weedy beach , but good staffs

Staffs were kind and helpful but not respectful as Jamaicans!! Most of the staffs could not speak and understand English that was a big problem!!! Our first room was in bad condition . When we took a shower , the shower head fell than and it was broken before we arrive there. The shower curtain was too short and cheap that water was all over the bathroom floor after taking a shower. The hair blow dryer was out of order! The bathroom floor was so slippery as you are doing ski on the bathroom. The bath room sink became full of water after a few seconds that was because of clogged pipe. Water bottles and soap were not delivered enough everyday. Cleaning and cooking Staffs could not communicate and understand English, they knew only Spanish !!! Lots of weed plants on the beach that was not pleasant for swimming. The weather was nice in December 85 degree, coconuts and pine apples were the best fruits of punts Cana .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoo and dolphin show , you can touch the animals that was nice. Distance 10 min

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wildecarter
Utah
Jul 26, 2009

Mixed Reviews

Please note that we are not picky travelers. We generally travel for 8-9 days and have visited Cancun, St. Marten, St. John and Sandals resort in St. Lucia wich was an all inclusive resort. I am writing this review because I think it will be helpful to others that are looking for certain amenities when traveling. I will start with the pros first: visually, the resort was stunning, well manicured gardens, lush green vegitation and an overall serene experience. 2nd: Speciality restaurants were excellent (except Mikado's it lacked the typical flair of a Tepanyaki style grill and the food was salty and mediocre)The Mariachi (Mexican) was my favorite the Posole was delicious. Toscano's (Italian) was also a favorite. The last one was Rodeo's Steakhouse. 3rd-Their theater productions of Grease and Michael Jackson were entertaining! They feature a nightly live performance with different themes. 4th-The pool area was great except for the bar service. Also, the pizzaria was amazing. We lived on the fire oven pizza for lunch daily. The pool eatery was better than the buffet lunches. Even though there were so many people it never felt crowded. 5th-Main bar at the lobby was the best for quality and service THANKS TO [...] OUR BARTENDER every night that we were there. The further out you get from the main Lobby area the worst the service gets. We never figured out why. One thing for certain is that the language barrier is or can be a huge frustration and I SPEAK SPANISH. I often felt sorry for those who didn't. Another note on the language issue, English speaking travelers are definatley the minority. Warning,if you are conservative then this might not be the place for you. Topless women are everywhere even at the pool. Okay now for the negatives.......let's start with the room...they have not been upgraded in who knows how long??? (Although they were clean)pillows were like sleeping on a bag of knots (not joking) I slept only with the sheet because the blankets felt like sand paper. The air conditioning never really got cold but at least it was a reprieve from being out in the heat. The mini fridge was a good idea except it didn't keep anything cold. Showering was an experience hot water came and went with no warning. As for service the watersport area, beach buffet and pool bar were the worst! Either you were ignored or given attitude for general requests like water or utensils. Final comments.....for the price we paid it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Specialty restaurants were excellent.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AskTheAdmin
NEW YORK CITY
May 18, 2010

Beautiful grounds HORRIBLE service.

The grounds are beautiful. They got us upgraded to a honey moon suite with privlidged status. That was supposed to get us our beach towels to the room and preferential treatment. HA! We got nothing and if you want your room cleaned or refrigerator refilled you have to call. We had a broken DVD player that took 5 days to fix. The maid broke a toy that my daughter won at one of their nightly shows. The anamacion team on the other hand was awesome and tried to make up for the hotels short comings but it was the last straw when the photographers tried to hustle us. They told us they would discount the photos if we bought a bunch, obviously 74 of them was not enough because they offered the same price per picture to everyone. When we complained we were told they could not do anything as they are an outside company! I am tired of complaining and if you want a relaxing trip stay away from here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Bias
NJ
Jul 31, 2009

07/22 - 07/29

Great over all, except the BED is smell little bit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mpas12
New Jersey
Apr 30, 2014

It's a great place to go away

The hotel was great , staff were amazing and they always tried to make you feel really comfortable!! I just a little problem with the room . It should ve been a little bigger , the food was good buffet,steak house ,Japanese , the Italian and Mexican I didn't like them!! They clean the room really well overall all I had a great experience and I ll go back again without no problem!! Love the beach and the water !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharShar
Piscataway, NJ
Jun 2, 2013

Okay for the money

The location was great, only 15 minutes from the hotel but that's about it. There wasn't anything that stood out as amazing at this hotel. The casino was lackluster and the food wasn't that great. They had 4 specialty restaurants but only one of them had great food. Overall, it was okay but I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The only good specialty restaurant is the Italian one. All others are a miss.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 29, 2009

Helpful thoughts for your next stay

We stayed at the hotel for 6 days. Most important: Great location! There is no resort near this one; you have the whole beach to yourself. Walk about 2 miles and you will find the next resort with a not so good beach and location. Also, this hotel has a gorgeous garden area. This is a huge resort, and it is well maintained. Also, good pool area. Big enough to have fun. Very good for couples as well as families. Very nice staff, very friendly. The Management is unorganized, rooms were double booked, and it takes a while for them to take care of complaints. The Suites have a great Bathroom, and enough space to relax and feel comfortable. Be aware: Put everything in the safe in your room, I left my watch out by accident, and after they cleaned our room, the watch was gone. So for everybody who plans a trip: Put your belongings in the safe. So the rooms and the beach are good, but I only give this resort 3 stars because of the food: The offer Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a lot to chose from, but not everything is good. Chose the right food and you will enjoy it. Watch out for Ice Cubes, a lot of our friends got a stomach ache, which is not really the resorts fault, it is just the quality of the water in that country. They also offer theme restaurants, a Steak House, Mexican –Italian and Japanese Restaurant. I would stick with the Buffett. We tried all but the Mexican, and it was so so. The setting of the Japanese Restaurant is fun, but again, the food is OK. I wish they would stick with typical Dominican food, and they would be doing much better. If somebody from Haiti tries to cook Japanese food, of course it won't be as good…. They also have a Crepes bar. GREAT!!! Try the sweet Crepes, you'll love it. The hotel offers free WIFI in certain spots, and you can go online at their internet café. Also, check in is at 3 PM, put your bathing suits in the carry on, and you can go to the beach if you get there before 3 pm. We met some people who were bored at the resort. Before you book: Understand that Punta Cana is a resort location. You go to your resort, and you lay on the beach all day until you get tired and sleep. You don't go to Punta Cana to party at night. So for everybody who wants some cool nightlife and parties: Book another resort. This one is great for long beach days, and a lot of bars and drinks with people you meet at the resort. They also offer great water activities. Free Canoes and Catamarans. Lots of fun! For $25 we went snorkeling. I can recommend that one! Worth the money! We also did the day trip to Saona Island. It's a lot of fun. A 2 hour bus trip gets you to a Catamaran, and after 1,5 hours you will reach the Paradise Island. Just don't expect a deserted Island, because there are going to be TONS of Tourists just like you. But it is sooo beautiful!!! So we had a good vacation, but next time I would go to a different resort, hoping the food will be a little better. Let me know if you have any questions, I'll be more than happy to help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. A.
D.C.
Jun 3, 2010

Not Quite 4 1/2 Stars

4 1/2 stars internationally is not the same as 4 1/2 stars in the states - this was a 3 star. But for the money I guess it was on par. It was clean, had a big pool and a nice beach. However, all inclusive means that the staff are not extra accomodating. They do the status quo and thats about it. The food was ok, some things were good some things were not. The grounds and the rooms are not well lit - very dark. They did not tell us we needed converters for our electrical things. The resort is self-contained (casino, bar, club/disco, nightly show) but the casino was about 1000 sq ft and the shows were very cheesy. Taking excursions is highly recommended. The Catalonia Royal, just next door, was VERY nice and modern for about $100 more a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top