$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
182 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharShar
Business
Piscataway, NJ
Jun 2, 2013

Okay for the money

The location was great, only 15 minutes from the hotel but that's about it. There wasn't anything that stood out as amazing at this hotel. The casino was lackluster and the food wasn't that great. They had 4 specialty restaurants but only one of them had great food. Overall, it was okay but I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The only good specialty restaurant is the Italian one. All others are a miss.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luvwriter
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Dec 9, 2013

Hotel Catalonia Bavaro

The 'in hotel' attractions at Catalonia Bavaro are nice. This hotel has an onsite small shopping center (no cash, though - only credit card or they can charge it to your room); a small casino; several bars and restaurant options. The only downside is that if you're staying for more than a few days, you'll probably want to take some tours. We booked through VIP travel, which has an on site representative, and were very happy with the Santo Domingo tour and the zip lining experience! This hotel is on a beautiful beach surrounded by a reef but is fairly isolated so you'll need a ride to any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharyrk
Business
Catalonia hotel
Dec 21, 2013

Stone weedy beach , but good staffs

Staffs were kind and helpful but not respectful as Jamaicans!! Most of the staffs could not speak and understand English that was a big problem!!! Our first room was in bad condition . When we took a shower , the shower head fell than and it was broken before we arrive there. The shower curtain was too short and cheap that water was all over the bathroom floor after taking a shower. The hair blow dryer was out of order! The bathroom floor was so slippery as you are doing ski on the bathroom. The bath room sink became full of water after a few seconds that was because of clogged pipe. Water bottles and soap were not delivered enough everyday. Cleaning and cooking Staffs could not communicate and understand English, they knew only Spanish !!! Lots of weed plants on the beach that was not pleasant for swimming. The weather was nice in December 85 degree, coconuts and pine apples were the best fruits of punts Cana .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoo and dolphin show , you can touch the animals that was nice. Distance 10 min

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chico B
Business
Ohio
May 29, 2014

Good working class resort

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and booked a honey moon suite with the VIP upgraded package. Positives: good food, location, entertainment, activities. Negatives: outside vendors constantly trying to sell you stuff, hit or miss service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upgrade to the VIP package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proster
Business
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2014

Hotel staff needed to focus more on guest's comort insead they acted like sales force

Weak check-in process. We waited nearly 1 hr in line but no apologies from front desk for long wait. FREE Concierce Desk service is a SCAM. They only pushed you to attend 1 of their timeshare type program presentation. Hotel lobby was full of these sales people . If someone asked you, "How you were doing?", don't assume they cared. Insead, it was only a conversation starter. Next question lead them to push you to attend their presentation. Food choices in buffet were not too impressive. Japanese and Italian Restaurants were very good, Mexian Restaurat was disappointing. Bar Service was very good, there were plenty of opportunity to get drunk. Resort did sufficient job keeping guests entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese Restaurant catered to our special diet needs. Also Italian restaurant was better than average. Mexican restaurant was worst experience. Waiters in all three restaurants did not know sufficient English language so it was often hard to explin to them if you needed to modify what is in the menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CCFisher
Business
DFW
May 30, 2014

Not what we expected!!!

We were terribly disappointed to discover this resort wasn't located on the Caribbean side of the island, beach was rocky and full of sea weeds. Also communication was a horrible problem, very, very little English was spoken by anyone at the resort, made getting anything we needed, be it food, towels, room service, etc almost impossible. We did find the food to be good and waiters at the Italian and Steak house were exceptional. We had a bad experience with our one and only tour and not at all impressed with the upgrade to the Priveleged deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed the Japanese, Italian and Steak House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMVP
Business
Scranton, PA, USA
May 23, 2014

Staff way Too Friendly

Most of the Young Men workers (Bar/Beach etc) were a little too friendly. where it got to the point that it was uncomfortable being around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MalTom
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 5, 2014

First Time All Inclusive

It was everything we expected, just wish the themed restaraunt food quality was a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
May 30, 2009

"The Pros and Cons"

First of all, check-in was bad. I am pregnant and the check-in was so slow. I was tired just sitting around and waiting after 3pm. Until we got a bit of tone in our voices, then the check-in was completed. The staff was great and the shows were very nice. The only con I would say is that there is nowhere for a pregnant person to escape from the smokers. Everyone smoked wherever they pleased and everywhere. I didn't appreciate this fact very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Night shows were great especially the Michael Jackson show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wildecarter
Business
Utah
Jul 26, 2009

Mixed Reviews

Please note that we are not picky travelers. We generally travel for 8-9 days and have visited Cancun, St. Marten, St. John and Sandals resort in St. Lucia wich was an all inclusive resort. I am writing this review because I think it will be helpful to others that are looking for certain amenities when traveling. I will start with the pros first: visually, the resort was stunning, well manicured gardens, lush green vegitation and an overall serene experience. 2nd: Speciality restaurants were excellent (except Mikado's it lacked the typical flair of a Tepanyaki style grill and the food was salty and mediocre)The Mariachi (Mexican) was my favorite the Posole was delicious. Toscano's (Italian) was also a favorite. The last one was Rodeo's Steakhouse. 3rd-Their theater productions of Grease and Michael Jackson were entertaining! They feature a nightly live performance with different themes. 4th-The pool area was great except for the bar service. Also, the pizzaria was amazing. We lived on the fire oven pizza for lunch daily. The pool eatery was better than the buffet lunches. Even though there were so many people it never felt crowded. 5th-Main bar at the lobby was the best for quality and service THANKS TO [...] OUR BARTENDER every night that we were there. The further out you get from the main Lobby area the worst the service gets. We never figured out why. One thing for certain is that the language barrier is or can be a huge frustration and I SPEAK SPANISH. I often felt sorry for those who didn't. Another note on the language issue, English speaking travelers are definatley the minority. Warning,if you are conservative then this might not be the place for you. Topless women are everywhere even at the pool. Okay now for the negatives.......let's start with the room...they have not been upgraded in who knows how long??? (Although they were clean)pillows were like sleeping on a bag of knots (not joking) I slept only with the sheet because the blankets felt like sand paper. The air conditioning never really got cold but at least it was a reprieve from being out in the heat. The mini fridge was a good idea except it didn't keep anything cold. Showering was an experience hot water came and went with no warning. As for service the watersport area, beach buffet and pool bar were the worst! Either you were ignored or given attitude for general requests like water or utensils. Final comments.....for the price we paid it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Specialty restaurants were excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top