$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bridgettelea
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 20, 2014

Anniversary getaway

The only complaints would be below average food and drinks. Also the harassment trying to take us on tours. I had to pay a guy to stop asking me to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta Cana first timers
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 20, 2014

A little bit...blah.

Meals are ok. They are nothing special by any means. The beverages are nice. Our rooms A/C didn't work properly and didn't adjust which made our room uncomfortable for sleeping. The staff was always polite but there doesn't seem to be much organization in the restaurants. They seemed understaffed and on multiple occasions we waited 20-25 minutes for a simple glass of water while waiters would cross paths around the same tables repeatedly. The location was fine and the beach was nice. If you want to experience culture, go to Santo Domingo or even Puerto Plata. Punta Cana is just a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Paraguay
Business
Paraguay
Aug 8, 2014

Awesome beach, not very good resort

Overall it was a good trip because my family and I were there to enjoy the sun and the beach, but there were a couple of things we didn't like: 1 Privilege area, we felt kind of discriminated that we were separated from "special" people because they paid 15 dollars/day more than us. In the past we did stay in another resort and yes if you paid extra you had "privileges" like upgraded room but I never saw a special beach section, special restaurant area, room service or restaurant only for privileged people. In addition when we checked in the personnel never offered us this "privilege" we just found out on the second day when one of the employees told us that we were in a privilege area. 2. Employees: with a few exceptions like Kenia and Yarideth in the buffet area, Leninmichael in the Mexican restaurant, Milciades in the front bar who were awesome in what they do: greeting customer or preparing drinks the rest weren't courteous. If we made comments like: "today is a very hot and humid day" the employee respond with "well you are here vacationing, I have to sweat the whole day because I'm working" or if they asked us where are we come from and we say Paraguay instantly they respond with the word "Pariguayo" which means stupid/imbecile in Dominican slang. A couple of times I scolded the employee and he replied it was only a joke. I understand that in some way must be frustrated watch other people enjoying their vacation while you are working but no reason for long faces and lack of courtesy. In the end was a good trip but like I said in the beginning that was because we were there to enjoy the weather and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I the rene
Business
NY NY
Aug 6, 2014

Nice

The hotel is nice. When we first got there, we waited check in. I saw flamingos. They hang out on the water near the eating area. Sadly you have to be "privileged" to get closer to them. That eating area is the privileged section. The hotel rooms are nice. There is a shower and a bathtub. There is also a balcony. There is always some type of show going on at night. The pool is nice except for the bugs in it which you can't do much about. The beach was wonderful! I am pale so its nice that there are a lot of shade spots. However, they can be occupied very quickly. Room was comfortable the only complaint I have is one of the blankets bothered my skin if I leaned on it for a bit. The staff were nice. The only thing I didn't like was when they tried to get you to buy stuff when they have sales outside at night. The food was great. I liked all of the restaurants there. However, the Italian restaurant was very busy and seemed a bit disorganized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is an awesome bartender named Eddy. He calls himself Eddie Murphy. Get the Eddie Murphy special.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip happy dad
Business
Santo Domingo
Aug 3, 2014

A few days away

The staff were great, the hotel good value for money and it was a excellent short holiday without annoyances of any kind..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngieR
Business
New Jersey
Jul 29, 2014

Amazing

The moment I arrived at this hotel I knew it was going to be amazing. The place looked beautiful and clean and that was just the front desk area. The walk to the rooms was beautiful too. The room itself was perfect. It had a bathtub, couches and a spacious balcony. The room was clean. What I enjoyed the most was the unlimited alcoholic beverages. I can't even tell you how much I drank. The bartenders were very nice and they can make anything you want. I was amazed by this place. Their pool is amazing too. I mean you can actually swim to the bar, I thought that was great. The beach is right next to the resort which is great. Definitely recommend Catalonia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MickeymouseOff
Business
USA
Jul 21, 2014

We had good time

My experencia in catalonia bavaro has been quite remarkable .. perfect and clean room with no problems, we broke the tank and took a few days to fix it but you know in bavaro no stress .... The food is quite good and plentiful , fail a little themed restaurants, at least for what I expect of them, except the Japanese really worth it. The major drawback of this hotel is the lack of animation, the only party atmosphere is in the pool and the waiters brought by the "wet bar" and disco, animators are lost and focus on doing something on the beach and and, if you're lucky and these next to them you find out if these eg in the pool or know of the activities of the entertainers, the only fault for me ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jbnyquil
Business
Columbus, OH
Jul 14, 2014

Great Beach, Great Food & Great Snorkeling!

We had a fantastic week stay and had no complaints at all! Great snorkeling with some reefs right off of the resort beach! The food was excellent and was a good variety!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring Snorkeling gear to see lots of fish right off the resort!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamhop
Business
cinti,ohio
Jul 13, 2014

great getaway

the whole exp. was great. food pool ocean room staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

cab fare to & from airport 30$ each way

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ariana caraballo
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 28, 2014

amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were amazing, entertainment was great! I would definitely recommend and would go back. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top