$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 18, 2010

A bit disappointed

The beach at this resort was, by far, one of the nicest beaches my husband and I have experienced, beating out places like Cabo San Lucas and Cancun. The pool was enjoyable as well, as it was large and refreshing (although, we didn't venture too far from the pool bar). The grounds were well-maintained, but each day, there was a horrible manure-like smell that permeated the air. The smell either originated from the water that was used to water the grass and associated plants or from the soil. Either way, it made me gag. The entertainment staff worked hard to keep their guests entertained. That said, there were activities going on around the clock, from water aerobics to volleyball to salsa dancing. By the fifth day, the music they played over and over again got rather annoying, as there was no variety of songs. They also put on shows at night, which were hit or miss. Despite the beautiful beach, large pool and daily/nightly entertainment, the resort did not live up to the "four star" rating. In fact, I would rate it a 2 1/2 at best. The food was absolutely horrible, leaving all 8 of us sick. The sanitation procedures at the resort are non-existent; the chefs do not wear gloves, raw meat bakes in the heat as it is waiting to be cooked, and there are a bunch of flies and birds around the cooking/eating areas. It is no wonder we all experienced the Dominican version of "Montezuma's Revenge." The most appetizing food was the pizza and french fries that were offered at the snack bar. We typically look forward to the dining options available when travelling, but this time, our stomachs couldn't handle anything outside of the "safe" options. Furthermore, in addition to the food, the drinks were terrible. The alcohol used to mix the drinks was bottom shelf (and I would venture guess that it was the bottom of the bottom shelf). Very little to no top shelf liquors were available, so if you enjoy your Grey Goose, Bacardi or Patron, your best bet is to go somewhere else or bring it along in your suitcase to spike your own drinks. Otherwise, you will be very disappointed and sober for the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food will make you sick. Stick to the "safe" choices, such as dry toast, pizza with no toppings and french fries. If that doesn't interest you, then I highly recommend spending a few more bucks to go to a nicer, more upscale resort.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana DR
May 21, 2011

Punta Cana

we explored the country as a part of our honeymoon. The concierge was not very helpful. This trip had a alot of negative points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

CoCo tours is the worst!!!!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe and Jen
Business
Patton Pa
Aug 9, 2011

positives and negatives equaled out

The ride from the airport to the hotel was great. Very short (20 minutes maybe) and coco tours were wonderful. however upon arriving we were taken to a room that looked like someone else was still staying in it with the bed sheets on floor/towels laying all over/and dirty dishes everywhere. the bell boy told us to wait there and he left. we waited at least half hour before we used the phone to call front desk and they finally sent someone else down and switched rooms for us. the new room was really nice and the pool and beach were wonderful. a lot of sea weed but staff cleaned it up each morning best they could. the food was best we have eaten yet. the grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. so much wildlife. stores and shops right in resort so no need to leave for anything you need. Those are all our positives. negatives included very rude staff (with exception of few and far between), terrible drinks at the bar (no alcohol in them unless specify you want it and bartenders are very rude at the pool bar). we even bought a bottle of rum at the store to add in our drinks after we got them and we think it was still watered down. the resort and beach had so many kids that it became a bit distracting and took away for the romantic aspect of the trip completely. also, beware there were a lot of topless women of all ages and children. we went to the excellence the previous year for our honeymoon and def got spoiled there so I think we just expected way more for what we payed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

study up on your spanish because hotel staff very limited on english language.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jul 20, 2009

No good

The hotel was ok, Large selection of mixed drinks are available. The food in this resort is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the ATV tour

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel staff needs to learn english

I stayed at dreams last years in punta cana and I liked it much better. the hotel staff did not speak english and it was difficult to even get a drink or the tv fixed in our room. I could not even get white rice because they did not understand me. You had to hold your pool towel for the whole vacation because there was never a replacement a clean one available. Not enough chairs near the pool so you had to get up at 6:30 am to reserve a chair. You needed a card to get into any of the restaurants and on Monday there were no reservations available for any of the two special restaurants and we were only there from mon to friday. The food was very good, but they served raw bacon at the buffets. Orbitz told me in september when I made the reservations that the hotel transportation was included and it was not. I had to pay 30.00 each way to get back and forth from hotel to airport. The shows at the hotel were very amature. The only positive thing was the people were friendly, but they did not go out of their way to please the customers at all. At dreams the workers went out of their way to please everyone and the shows were very good. If I go back I would stay at dreams. The rooms were very nice, but the outlets were not usable with cell phone, camera recharging because they had a plate around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl.
Sep 14, 2009

The same over and over

Actually there is nothing to do, animation group were always at the beach and they never knew what activities are going on to at least participate and do something.Food is the worst I've tried and at the last 4 days of my 8 we did not eat at all.In the info we got the hotel offers iron board and iron in room, not true, we've to get an iron fron the costumer serv. only for 2h. PLEASE READ THE BROCHURE IT SAID THE TIPS ARE INCLUDED IN YOUR ROOM PRICE. IF EVERYONE STOP TIPPING FOR NOTHING THE EMPLOYEES WILL DO THEIR DUTIES WITHOUT EXTRA PAYMENTS.That hotel employees would be happy to have a job and people around for them to keep it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the steakhouse is not that bad.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2010

Nice beach but poor service and food.

The food seemed to be not fresh and over cooked. The hotel just was not run like a tight ship. Lost air conditioning for two days [...]. Just was not up to par with other all inclusive hotels I have stayed at. Would not go back, not a vacation remembered for good things and great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the resturant early the food sits around and gets dried out.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Macedonian.
Business
NJ
Jan 19, 2010

Resort [*]

Hotel was A ok I wouldn't want to go back. The food was not that good as everyone is saying and drinks if you like tropical sugarry drinks then this place is for you, I don't like tropical drinks so they did not have good beer I only had the rum and pepsi. Overall If you want to spend $2000.00 for a week its fine as its preaty close to the main land.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TreClub
Business
washington, DC
Sep 17, 2014

All good up until checkout...

Everything was good, with a few minor issues but nothing to turn me down....until check out. When I arrived, the phone didnt work and there was a leakage in the room. The phone wasn't fixed up until 2 days prior to me leaving, yet upon check out they said that my phone was working and that I made call from it...which I NEVER did!! They end it up charging me for something I never did! Customer service is HORRIBLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddieeee
Business
Catalonia Bavaro
Sep 24, 2014

Mr

Restaurants food was good and service good Staff that held activities excellent Specially Maria But unfortunately the place lack maintenance. In the outside grounds Needs transportation from beach area to restaurant and front lobby Everything to far and no transportation Lack hospitality Poorly managed With better executives and management Love and care I could be a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top