$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
169 reviews
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
Amazing

The moment I arrived at this hotel I knew it was going to be amazing. The place looked beautiful... See full review

  • AngieR
  • Jul 29, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa C
Livonia MI
Jan 25, 2012

What a wonderful vacation!

First off let me start off by saying that Americans and Canadians are spoiled by what they see on TV and perceive to be 5 stars. 5 star in the US/Canada is not the same as 5 star in Mexico or Dominican. Our "5 stars" would be the lap of luxury to those people. So with that being said, remember you are going to a third world country to be provided what they feel are 5 star accomodations. I see people saying that had a wonderful time, but giving the resort 2 stars because there were ants.. or mosquitos.. or their kid fell down. Seriously?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican and the Italian were great !! The wait staff in the big dining rooms were so nice!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PriscillaBabyy
Corona, California
May 29, 2014

Amazing Vacation!

My husband & I stayed at Catalonia Punta Cana for 8 nights & it was great. The entertainment is good, they always have something going on so you will never get bored & the entertainment team tries very hard to make everything fun for everyone. :) The rooms, we stayed in a privileged suite in front of the privileged beach & we had no problems except for the shower being tiny but it really didn't bother us because the huge jacuzzi tub makes up for it. The bed was super comfortable & they have a pillow menu so you can choose what type of pillow you want. The food was great, they have a lot of variety & so so so many desserts. We tried every restaurant there. The Mexican was good, Japanese was really good (we went there twice, the first time was great the second time not so great so it really depends on the cook you get), the Italian was really good, the steakhouse was good according to my husband & the rest of our party but I got the angus burger & it was disgusting! The privileged restaurant by the beach (dinner only) was very good as well. The staff was amazing! They all treated us as family, we had never met such kind people before so the staff gets an A+++++++ & I'm sure everyone who visits can agree with me. :) The resort is very very big so if you're beachfront like we were you do walk A LOT but we actually liked the long walks because it kinda made up for all the food we ate! ;) The drinks were very good, the bartenders will make pretty much anything you ask for & if they don't know how to make something they will ask or find out what the drink has. We went to Jamaica on our previous trip & this trip was 10x better because the staff made it so much better. We felt very safe at this resort. We actually plan on going back with our kids soon, that's how great the resort is! :) I absolutely recommend this resort to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Saona Island, it is absolutely beautiful!!! We booked the excursion through the VIP travel agency at the resort.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnie College Student
New York, NY
May 27, 2014

Great college summer break

I was worried about the resort prior to going because the reviews were either 1 star or 5 star. I am giving this resort a 5 star after going because I believe they deserve it. I traveled right after college ended with a group of 12 college students. Everyone at the resort was very nice and helpful. The entire resort was picturesque and beautiful - I loved how everything had an open-air feel yet it was very cool with fans and air conditioning. The food was great as well. The best food there was definitely the barbecue. Be adventurous... and look for the grilled chicken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For all activities (snorkeling, dirt buggies, etc.) look for Ted. Ted is a representative for travel agencies there, and he speaks perfect English and has great deals. One day my group almost missed the bus, and he personally stopped it and made it wait for us. For nightlife, look for O'Neill, the promoter for Imagine. Imagine Nightclub is a 10-15 minute car ride away, and O'Neill has incredible deals!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shang
Michigan
May 25, 2014

Overall great vacation....

This was my first time to DR with my fiancee for our annual vacation. The resort was beautiful and clean, the beach was awesome with clear water and white sands (where we spent most of our time). Plenty of beach chairs no matter what time it was. Food was average, nothing spectacular (1 main buffet and 4 ala carte restaurants plus add'tl mini buffet by the pool). We tried Marachi the mexican restaurant and we weren't impressed at all with the food or the service. We both felt the service and friendliness of the staff were a hit or miss especially during dining. Sometimes we didn't even get our water glasses filled or refilled at all. Entertainment was available during the day and night. Rooms are always cleaned and kept up by the maids daily. There is also a small casino and a small shopping area right inside the resort as well. The casino was small, but ok. Shopping plaza was nice One thing that we did NOT like was the constant hassle by the time share staff who wanted us to sit down and listen to a presentation about their time shares available. We simply said we were not interested, but the constant hounding almost everyday by one of the time share staff members were relentless (they work in the lobby and are present all day every day!!) It was quite annoying, and one day we actually had to take an alternate route back to our room to avoid one of the salesman. This really put us off about the resort, although we did enjoy everything else. Overall it was a great vacation with great sunny weather every day. I would def go back to DR, but to a different resort just to compare the differences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMVP
Scranton, PA, USA
May 23, 2014

Staff way Too Friendly

Most of the Young Men workers (Bar/Beach etc) were a little too friendly. where it got to the point that it was uncomfortable being around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Traveling
TN
May 21, 2014

Love Punta Canta but won't stay at Catalonia again.

We upgraded to Priviledged which I have done at another resort in Punta Cana and that experience was top notch. Don't waste your money at Catalonia the Priviledged staff is more interested in interacting with each other than assisting guests. Our upgraded room had 2 twin beds pushed together when our reservation was for 3 adults. It was 3 of us girls so we made do. Huge bathtub, but tiny shower stall. The food was mediocre at best with the exception being the Japanese restaurant. Great staff, presentation and food. We went to the Mexican restaurant placed our orders and 2 out of the 3 got something totally different than what we ordered. The waiter had the nerve to argue with us and then got snarky and called the manager over and might as well said we were lying. Shrimp tacos ( which I ordered) are nowhere near the same as chicken fajitas which is what he insisted I ordered. My adult granddaughter ordered stuffed chicken and she got beef fajitas. They finally brought the correct dishes, but we should have just left after the waiter got his attitude-because the food was overcooked and not good at all. The Italian restaurant was pretty good but we sat there for 15 minutes before our waiter even acknowledged us. The guys at the beach and pool bars and the employees at the beach/pool buffet were wonderful as were the guys at the pool grill. They made up for the bad attitudes of the rest of the staff. The "casino" is tiny and only has 5¢ slots and one blackjack table that was open but the people that worked there were really nice. I am pretty much a laid back traveler, but for the most part this resort just was not what I have come to expect from Punta Cana resorts. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Mexican and don't miss the Japanese.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No kid vacation
Washington, DC
May 20, 2014

If you can't be happy here...you can't be happy!

This place was great all the way around. One of the best vacations ever. Staff goes over and above, rooms clean, food great, drinks better! Going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoMattGo
Minneapolis,MN
May 20, 2014

Surprised Greatness!

Wow what an amazing resort! The buffets and food were excellent which was surprising after reading some picky reviews. The staff was very friendly and eager to help out. Entertainment nightly and lots of entertainment options. Things to keep in mind: 1. They employees will try to get you to do a 60 minute presentation that takes 3 hours we heard from some friends there. 2. Bring your own snorkel and mask because they wouldn't let us snorkel to try to get us to buy an excursion. 3. Watch out for the MamaJuana:) fun and delicious 4. Some restaurants were very slow with service not enough wait staff for the amount of people being served. 5. Loved the fresh fruits, Passion Fruit, Papaya, Manago and more! Also cheeses and more everyday! 6. Pool side bar always has fun and interesting people especially around 3-5pm 7. Get your Palapa aka the beach Tikis early in the morning using a towel and more to save them. They get taken fast. 8. All the shops near the hotel sell the same exact items but with very aggressive owners. 9. Excursions are offered, don't forget to haggle for everything! 10. Tip your room attendants for more beer, water, and cleanliness. Have Fun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Una Vaina Bien
NYC
May 20, 2014

First time ever on a vacation

I went to Catalonia Bavaro with my wife.. It was my first time ever at a resort. I was very impressed by the wonderful staff, the beautiful beach and pool. All you can eat and drink.. Great entertainment. The food is ok.. you wil definetly not go hungry. Honestly speaking I did not come here for the food. I came for the romance, relaxation, the entertainment and all the alcohol you can drink. and that is exactly what I got. Also staff was 100% satisfaction!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to dune boggie ride. Its Great !!!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MYJO
Puertp Rico
May 19, 2014

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel. The only concern that we have is the food. They need to improve it. Steak and Italian restaurant are the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosey C
Minnesota
May 19, 2014

Magnificent

I have traveled all over the Caribbean and I have never been treated this way. The hotel staff are incredibly inviting and care if you are happy. The grounds are clean and very well maintained. There is food for everyone. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this resort, they are incorrect. Excellent! Excellent! You will not be disappointed if you chose this beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search