$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigs-n-Ter
Bastrop, Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Marvelous Gettaway

We had a marvelous time body surfing in the waves of the clean swept beautiful beaches, cooling off in the large beautiful pools, having an enjoyable scuba lesson in the pool and going out with a group snorkeling. All buffets were tasty, the theme restaurants were fun and delicious. The inland tour gave us a real feel for The Dominican Republic. It was very entertaining and totally enjoyable. The medical facilities which we had need of provided a solution to our needs. Staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An exceptional deal was the Snorkeling $35 USD trip. A boat takes you out about 1/2 hr to a specific area that is roped off. You snorkel for an hour and then head back. We saw tons on different marine life and fish.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth L.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Biz

Great Stay Overall, overnight rooms have some cleanliness issues and need to be updated. Breakfast Food and Dinner Food was great. I found a lack of options for lunch food. Beach is BEAUTIFUL!! Night life is great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thene H.R
Business
Dorchester
Dec 16, 2014

Soo Hungry!!

I had an absolute ball on this "Girls Trip". One of THE best trips EVER!! That being said...there of course was a down side.,the food SUCKED!! Face cloths were a hot commodity! Very hard to get some for the room. At times, it would take close to 2 HOURS!! We upgraded to Privileged but didn't feel that way. Make friends with the locals and they'll tell you about some good food spots. The gift shop at the hotel is definitely worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariya S
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Family trip

I really liked the hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. I think, I would come back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amusins
Business
New York
Nov 21, 2014

Good vacation

Everything was fine, only the shortage of beach/pool chairs made it difficult to find a spot any time after 9 am......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gigi622
Business
new york
Nov 20, 2014

not good food

This resort is a nice resort. I appreciate the fact that it is about mins away from the airport but the food was horrible and majority of the workers in the kitchen cant speak that much English. There should be more entertainment for the guests and the mosquitoes was everywhere most resorts spray the entire resort at 4am. this resort didnt do so as a result i got bitten alot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John4Joy
Business
Connecticut
Nov 19, 2014

Catalonia, Punta Cana, November 2014

Beautiful property, large, clean room, great pool area and beach. Your best bet for eating is to remain at the buffets, as all independant restaurants are very disappointing. The buffet food is average for this type of destination, but eating their 3 meals a day, for a week, gets old quickly. Drinks are made with the lowest possible quality liquor, don't even attempt to drink something "on the rocks" as you will be better off drinking rubbing alchol. Very pushy tour (condo sales) group, tell them a firm "NO" right at the start, when checking in. This could be a 4 star facility, but because of the food and low quality liquor, this resort remains a solid 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet, independant restaurants are awful.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LDandDG
Business
Ohio, USA
Nov 19, 2014

Catalonia Bavaro 11/12/14-11/17/14

Overall we thought the trip was great and pretty much got what we paid for. One reason we chose this resort was the price, however we regret not staying the full week. If you have read other reviews of the resort they are pretty spot on. The food wasn't great, but it was edible and got you by day to day. They upgraded our room to the Privileged room and we literally could walk out our door and the beach was right there. Only bad part about being close to the beach is that you are far from the lobby and most restaurants so you have to walk quite a bit to get places. We had an issue when we got to the room as the keys issued didn't work and we were able to get in from the sliding door which ended up being broken and being on the first floor needed to get fixed ASAP. After multiple phone calls and trips to the front desk they finally showed up to fix the door 4.5 hours later which prevented us from leaving our room and pretty much ruined our first day there. If I could do away with the first days experience I would say our trip was amazing! The beach was one of the nicest I've been to and the water was warm. There is a beach bar which is really convenient as well. The drinks were strong which made up for the mediocre food. The room itself was pretty clean but the AC didn't work very well and the mini fridge didn't work that well either but we didn't spend much time in the room. There are always activities of some sort going on, we especially liked the beach volleyball.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corbett Crushers
Business
Manassas, VA
Nov 3, 2014

Great time!

We arrived at the Catolonia resort on 10/25 and stayed until 11/1. What a beautiful resort! Check in was easy, had to wait about an hour for our room, but we had lunch at the buffet. Restaurants were good..especially the Mexican and Italian. We went to the casino every night...had a great time! Most relaxing vacation we have been on in a very long time. Loved how they entertainment crew dressed up for Halloween and walked on the beach..and they put up a cemetery on the beach. Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring wash clothes! Tip a few dollars ..if you get good service!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamieE
Business
Homeland CA
Oct 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel and area. Large rooms and great food. A few drawbacks... they do NOT serve you drinks at the pool or beach. You have to go to the bar and get your own. They do not serve mixed drinks or even coffee at the ala carte restaurants. The food is great but you are limited to wine or soft drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunburnt white girl
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 8, 2014

Fun in the sun

The hotel was older and it showed. Took almost 3hours to check into room once we arrived. Cleanliness of room and pool was to be desired. Air conditioning in room didn't work that great and the shower had just a hole in the bottom of it, no drain cover. The food wasn't that great, we ate at the Italian restaurant 3 of the 4 nights. Our server Eduardo there was fantastic! He was the hardest worker on that resort by far! They hound you about joining a timeshare saying it only will be 45 minute presentation, when it actually took almost 3 hours. Overall, we got what we paid for, but I wish I would've just booked the hard-rock hotel for more money and had the vacation of our lives!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaurant was the best.

Back to menu Return to top