$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
179 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jbnyquil
Business
Columbus, OH
Jul 14, 2014

Great Beach, Great Food & Great Snorkeling!

We had a fantastic week stay and had no complaints at all! Great snorkeling with some reefs right off of the resort beach! The food was excellent and was a good variety!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring Snorkeling gear to see lots of fish right off the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crepsle
Business
brooklyn ny
Jul 3, 2014

June getaway

My vacation was regular for two days and for next two days it was very noisy because renovations were being done on a room next to me. Food and entertainment was ok. Communication between staff was difficult because most were unable to understand english. Otherwise it was enjoyable. Ps. alcohol was very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ariana caraballo
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 28, 2014

amazing time

This was the best all inclusive experience, hotel was amazing! People were great, restaurants were amazing, entertainment was great! I would definitely recommend and would go back. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcuboy
Business
Dallas
Jun 28, 2014

We enjoyed

The only thing that we have to complain about is the people that try to get you to purchase a time share. The island is very quiet we stayed 9 days and enjoyed it we will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Everything is cheaper in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony Yllescas
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2014

Fantastic getaway vacation spot!

Everyone was so nice! The room way very clean and comfortable. They had a lot of restaurants that had really good food. The only thing is that they take forever to bring you drinks or refill them. Staff was great, but a bit too flirtatious whenever they find out that you're not a couple, but just a brother and sister on vacation together. And I mean, they really do big you a lot when they want to flirt, which was annoying. However, the overall experience that we had deserves five stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unbelievably unhappy
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 8, 2014

NOT ACCOMIDATING, FOOD WAS HORRIBLE

To start they sent us to the family hotel when we paid for and reserved the adults only hotel. They refused to give us a room at the adults only resort when our itinerary clearly said ADULTS ONLY. The entire trip we dealt with screaming kids, crying babies and children running around without adult supervision. When we booked the room we requested early check in, when we got there we sat there for three hours waiting until we finally got into our room an hour later than regular check in. The room was nice, not what we thought we were getting, but nice. There were problems with the room like the sink didn't drain, no drain cover in the shower (just a hole in the floor), door knob fell off when we tried to open the door, refrigerator not cold, phone didn't work, etc.. We called (from a near by office ) to have it fixed and eventually after a couple days some of it got fixed, some didn't. We additionally paid for the honeymoon package that included decorated room upon arrival (never got it), champagne (after complaining, we got a day later), chocolates in room upon arrival (never got it), fruit basket in room upon arrival (never got it). Upon check in they didn't give us our free massage and photo voucher so we had to ask them again for it and they tried to make us walk back to our room to check our stuff again (which was more than a quarter of a mile away from the office) when we refused they made us sit there for at least 30 minutes while they verified with the other staff and salon so that we didn't get two vouchers. They only have restaurants for dinner so the only places to eat are the snack bar and the buffet which were both absolutely horrible every day. Room service was terrible as well. Everything service related there was SOOO slow. The restaurants took easily 2+ hours to get in and out of, whether you were waiting to get into the restaurant, waiting to be served, waiting for drinks, waiting to order, etc... We felt like we wasted so much of our vacation waiting!! The only way to get ice in your room was to call room service and it took at least 30-45 minutes if it came at all!! We tried to speak to management about several of the issues but every time we tried (which was several times), no one would allow us to. They kept transferring us to what they call the privileged office who refused us to allow us speak to anyone but them. They allowed outside venders to come and try to sell everyone merchandise like jewelery and other souvenirs which would have been nice and convenient but they hassled you and wouldn't take no for an answer! You wouldn't expect that kind of solicitation at your resort, maybe outside but not at the hotel. We accepted we weren't going to get anything from them so we just made the best of our trip. Luckily the beach was nice and the grounds were nice and kept up. Last but not least when we checked out it took them so long to check us (at least 45 minutes) out that we missed our transportation to the airport and we had to pay a taxi $30 to get there, luckily we got there in time because the plane changed their schedule to leave an hour earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't trust anything anyone says says because they lie to sell you things!! Like the golf course, they told us we had to buy golf balls because they don't give you any to golf with so we bought some and they actually do give you golf balls. Then they didn't want to take back the ones we purchased and never used. The VIP service trying to say their excursions were with a different company and that's why they were charging more money (because it was in an air conditioned luxury van) it wasn't, it was in the back of a truck just like the rest of them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MalTom
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 5, 2014

First Time All Inclusive

It was everything we expected, just wish the themed restaraunt food quality was a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CCFisher
Business
DFW
May 30, 2014

Not what we expected!!!

We were terribly disappointed to discover this resort wasn't located on the Caribbean side of the island, beach was rocky and full of sea weeds. Also communication was a horrible problem, very, very little English was spoken by anyone at the resort, made getting anything we needed, be it food, towels, room service, etc almost impossible. We did find the food to be good and waiters at the Italian and Steak house were exceptional. We had a bad experience with our one and only tour and not at all impressed with the upgrade to the Priveleged deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed the Japanese, Italian and Steak House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chico B
Business
Ohio
May 29, 2014

Good working class resort

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and booked a honey moon suite with the VIP upgraded package. Positives: good food, location, entertainment, activities. Negatives: outside vendors constantly trying to sell you stuff, hit or miss service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upgrade to the VIP package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proster
Business
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2014

Hotel staff needed to focus more on guest's comort insead they acted like sales force

Weak check-in process. We waited nearly 1 hr in line but no apologies from front desk for long wait. FREE Concierce Desk service is a SCAM. They only pushed you to attend 1 of their timeshare type program presentation. Hotel lobby was full of these sales people . If someone asked you, "How you were doing?", don't assume they cared. Insead, it was only a conversation starter. Next question lead them to push you to attend their presentation. Food choices in buffet were not too impressive. Japanese and Italian Restaurants were very good, Mexian Restaurat was disappointing. Bar Service was very good, there were plenty of opportunity to get drunk. Resort did sufficient job keeping guests entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese Restaurant catered to our special diet needs. Also Italian restaurant was better than average. Mexican restaurant was worst experience. Waiters in all three restaurants did not know sufficient English language so it was often hard to explin to them if you needed to modify what is in the menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top