$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MN beach lover
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 27, 2013

Everything was amazing - except the BED BUGS!

Beautiful pool, grounds, beach - the buffets and restaurants were wonderful - the staff was AMAZING -- the only bad was the bed bugs. By the third night I could not sleep because I spent all night itching. I didn't realize at the time it was bed bugs and would have notified someone if I had realized sooner. I did send the resort an email after I got home but did not receive a response of any kind. Like I said, everything else was wonderful. The bed bugs were horrible. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Me Disappointed couple
Business
New Jersey
May 19, 2013

I was disappointed

I was disappointed because I had to ask more than 6 times before someone brought me water. The brochure said that Catalonia would provide a daily refill on the room refrigerator. I did not ask for neither soda nor beer, I just wanted water. I was told that I will get two 16oz bottle of water for me and my wife every other day, Can you believe that, two adults get one 16oz bottle of water every other day. I went to Punta Cana to enjoy my time and my vacation but not going every day to the front desk to argue over a bottle of water. I have been to Punta Cana 4 times, this was the worst experience. Also, I did not like that if you pay extra, you can be a privilege guest, have a special dinning room, don’t have to wait on line for the a la card restaurant, it made me feel as a third class citizen that was treated different from the privilege guest. I understand if you pay extra to get better room and better location, but to go in front of another guest who is been waiting for long time, this is not acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anonous488
Business
NY, NYC
May 25, 2013

Really a 2 star

How this place received 4 stars is beyond me. The reviews must be from their own people. I stayed for 4 days. My room is on the left side and not the "VIP" right side. Other than the luscious ground scenery, beach with its smooth white sand and clean water and pool there's really not much to like here. My shower had a huge 2" size cockroach. Someone else also said they had a cockroach in there room. We asked to not have the room cleaned but it was. I was bitten 10x by mosquitoes in the room. Night life / dancing / live bands are non-existent. Other than their corny show I went to bed by 11pm. What service? There is no one coming around asking you if you wanted drinks. I had to go to the bar each time. They must have used caramel colored water in their Brand name Rum bottles because I only got a buzz after drinking 4-5 coco loco/pina coladas and I'm a light weight. The gym is pathetic with a few machines. They stated 4 specialty restaurants. The Mexican (food was bad) is next to the Steak House and the Japanese is next to the Italian (OK but they must've forgotten me because I waited 30 mins for pasta?) but never all 4 opened at the same time. Its either 1 or the other. The buffet room & eating area is open so birds would swoop in to peck on food. Its unsanitary and they probably pooped on the food while they ate off them. We saw birds eat off plates from the tables if you got up for something and no one's guarding your food. Servers and activities ppl were nice. Everyone was kind but they lack manpower & service. Met a couple who stayed 7 days and the wife said she couldn't wait to leave and get home. Who says that on vacay? For the price I paid I definitely can get better service and entertainment elsewhere. I'll be back in DR but never to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimmey
Business
New Jersey
Jun 13, 2013

June 5th till the 11th

The place was “Ok” the food could have been better, it defiantly was not a 4 star resort, but for the price my girlfriend were happy. The staff seemed to cater more to the Spanish speaking patrons which is why I gave it 2 stars over 3. The beach was outstanding and they did have plenty of activities to do during the day, the pool was also very nice. I would return to the area but not to a Catalonia resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girls Trip 3
Business
Kentucky
Jul 27, 2013

Not what was expected

Overall, our experience was tarnished by the service at the check-in counter and guest services. Upon arrival it took 45 minutes for us to be waited on. Everyone else who had arrived with us was long gone and we were the only people standing at the counter before the staff waited on us. Then we were given a room for 3 adults with only 2 twin beds. Then 6 hours later a third twin bed was delivered to the room after making 4 calls and 2 visits to the front desk. This was annoying since the bellhop told us it would be 15-20 minutes from when he delivered our luggage. Next, the air conditioning in our room would blow air but it didn't cool the air. Our room was 86 degrees and we had to wait 3 days to be moved to another room. Upon being moved to another room the air conditioning in the new room still only cooled to 86 degrees. Other people at the resort stated that their air cooled perfectly. However, the only compensation for staying 6 nights without air conditioning was a 30 minute massage. The guest services employees just said "we feel bad for you" and when we asked to speak to a manager we were told that they were always busy. Overall, the resort was decent. The food was average and on par with other resorts of similar ratings. The service and staff throughout the resort were friendly with the exception of the front desk and guest services staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dholmes
Business
Greensboro, NC
Sep 7, 2013

Not a 4 Star

I am not one to leave reviews but this stay was not what I was expecting. To start the we had to be moved three separate times due to room cleanness. (Or lack there of.) I was not expecting a 5 star facility but I was let down by the first impression the rooms. It was something similar to a $49.99 USD room. The grounds, beach and staff are nice. Very few english speaking staff so it was difficult to communicate at times. Food was a hit and miss for me and I have been all over and like to try new foods, but they seem to lacking in the food part too. Was not happy with the stay.. and Everyone we spoke with had the same issues regarding the rooms and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make friends and drink.... Hotel entertainment is not good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Punta Girl
Business
Marietta, Ohio
Sep 23, 2013

Needs Some Improvement

The food was not too good. Room was clean, but needs improvements. Beach was nice, but miss our service of drinks on the beach. Last year was at another resort and had a servers all the time at the beach. :( Did an excursion that was very nice. Do the Catalina Island Scuba and snorkling, very very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy Traveling
Business
TN
May 21, 2014

Love Punta Canta but won't stay at Catalonia again.

We upgraded to Priviledged which I have done at another resort in Punta Cana and that experience was top notch. Don't waste your money at Catalonia the Priviledged staff is more interested in interacting with each other than assisting guests. Our upgraded room had 2 twin beds pushed together when our reservation was for 3 adults. It was 3 of us girls so we made do. Huge bathtub, but tiny shower stall. The food was mediocre at best with the exception being the Japanese restaurant. Great staff, presentation and food. We went to the Mexican restaurant placed our orders and 2 out of the 3 got something totally different than what we ordered. The waiter had the nerve to argue with us and then got snarky and called the manager over and might as well said we were lying. Shrimp tacos ( which I ordered) are nowhere near the same as chicken fajitas which is what he insisted I ordered. My adult granddaughter ordered stuffed chicken and she got beef fajitas. They finally brought the correct dishes, but we should have just left after the waiter got his attitude-because the food was overcooked and not good at all. The Italian restaurant was pretty good but we sat there for 15 minutes before our waiter even acknowledged us. The guys at the beach and pool bars and the employees at the beach/pool buffet were wonderful as were the guys at the pool grill. They made up for the bad attitudes of the rest of the staff. The "casino" is tiny and only has 5¢ slots and one blackjack table that was open but the people that worked there were really nice. I am pretty much a laid back traveler, but for the most part this resort just was not what I have come to expect from Punta Cana resorts. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Mexican and don't miss the Japanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 26, 2011

Some bad, some good, some great

My experience was somewhat distressful compared to the relaxing time I was hoping for remembering my last vacation. From the moment we arrived the staff at the hotel was rude and unhelpful with exception of the bar tenders. This attitude persisted through the entire stay. Hotel staff totally lacks customer service training and the language barrier was not the excuse, I speak perfect Spanish. The room size was good and clean, bed clothes and towels were stained, smelled bad and did not appear to be washed properly, beach towels were always damp despite the fact that they were changed daily. There was no internet access for 4 days. The food was abundant but taste was mediocre, even at the specialty restaurants: Sushi, Italian, Crepes, did't try the Mexican but was adviced by another guest to avoid it. Deserts and drinks were too sweet. Fresh fruits, salad and fish were good. The Texan Grill was an exception, great meat, great salads, ask for the Churrasco. All spirits and wines offered in the bars and buffets were disgusting, wines were vinegar and watered down, all spirits were unknown local brands and all tasted the same BAD! You could not tell the difference from a wisky, a rum, a vodka, a tequila a gin, tried them all in the hope of finding something half reasonable. The exception was the wine offered at the Suhi and Italian restaurants but too expensive to buy by the bottle and the choices were very limited, most were not worth it. The local beer was good. The comon facilities were nice and clean, beautiful architecture, nicely kept grounds, the disco was ok as well as the casino, the golf course was nice and the tennis courts were well kept. The beach was magnificent, one of the best I've ever been at! And I have been in many around the world. Long beach with beautiful soft, white sand that never gets hot, lots of palm trees, the ocean is calm, with a beautiful variety of colors from clear,turquoise to saphire blues. There were plenty of beach chairs but not enough umbrella shades, so get up early if you wish to get one, otherwise use the shade of the palm trees. Summarizing, I feel I overpaid for the hotel, but I would recommend it at a lower price. Hotel service and food is very lacking but you can work around it, the beach is so beautiful it helps you forget it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lower your expectations about the hotel/food/service and concentrate in enjoying the beauty around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yaks!
Business
NYC
Jul 25, 2011

nice place, will never return!

Hotel and grounds were beautiful, food was much less than great, beach was nice but not pristine for a Caribbean location! Foot note: I believe is a ridiculous fact, Men are require to wear long pants at dinner! Its a tropical location not a 5 star resort...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

short visits only!!! 5 day was way too much...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top