$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
179 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
A magnificent hotel resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. A tropical paradise of everlasting sun, Catalonia Punta Cana is surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation. A heavenly location for relaxation or water sports activities. This all Junior Suite resort offers spacious accommodation with 704 junior suites. On-site: Offers 8 restaurants and 5 bars, all included!, beach barbecue for lunch with beach party and orchestra (once a week), local alcoholic drinks, soft drinks, water and hot drinks in all bars, restaurants and disco (free entry). Drinks not included in the casino. Daily activities program, petangue, archery, beach volley, aerobics, aquatic gym, shows, tennis, paddle tennis, sauna, gym, meringue dance and native painting lessons, non-motorized water sports: 1 hour per day of canoe, kayak, catamaran. Snorkeling, scuba diving(introductory lesson), hammocks, sunshades and beach towels, mini-club and mini-disco for children. Not included and with an additional charge: motorized water sports, scuba diving immersions, tennis court lighting, massages, hairdresser, beauty saloon, internet connection(Wi-Fi available in 2007), casino and golf excursions, medical service, high speed internet access - chargeable.

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Kurt
Boston, Ma
Nov 29, 2012

Great Time

Had a ton of fun at this resort!! Cocktails were great and they even had the Patriots football game on TV on thanksgiving night!! Can you say Pina Coladas with a Pats rout of the NY Jets!! Couldn’t ask for a better time, amazing beach , pool bar and weather. If you can, definitely go with the privileged honeymoon suite. We had views of both the ocean and the pool from our balcony. The resort is large so be ready to do some walking but it’s very marginable and the grounds are gorgeous so we really didn’t have a problem with it. Party on!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MasonLeo
Business
Baltimore
Sep 8, 2014

Great couple's getaway

Catalonia was just awesome! The resort was beautiful and modern. The entertainment was non-stop with plenty of activities and options. All you could ever ask for in terms of drinks, food, romance, and laughs! Some of the restaurants at the resort were sup-par, but were nothing to complain too harshly about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Italian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bridgettelea
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 20, 2014

Anniversary getaway

The only complaints would be below average food and drinks. Also the harassment trying to take us on tours. I had to pay a guy to stop asking me to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta Cana first timers
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 20, 2014

A little bit...blah.

Meals are ok. They are nothing special by any means. The beverages are nice. Our rooms A/C didn't work properly and didn't adjust which made our room uncomfortable for sleeping. The staff was always polite but there doesn't seem to be much organization in the restaurants. They seemed understaffed and on multiple occasions we waited 20-25 minutes for a simple glass of water while waiters would cross paths around the same tables repeatedly. The location was fine and the beach was nice. If you want to experience culture, go to Santo Domingo or even Puerto Plata. Punta Cana is just a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josevillegas1994
Business
edison n.j
Aug 17, 2014

happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Paraguay
Business
Paraguay
Aug 8, 2014

Awesome beach, not very good resort

Overall it was a good trip because my family and I were there to enjoy the sun and the beach, but there were a couple of things we didn't like: 1 Privilege area, we felt kind of discriminated that we were separated from "special" people because they paid 15 dollars/day more than us. In the past we did stay in another resort and yes if you paid extra you had "privileges" like upgraded room but I never saw a special beach section, special restaurant area, room service or restaurant only for privileged people. In addition when we checked in the personnel never offered us this "privilege" we just found out on the second day when one of the employees told us that we were in a privilege area. 2. Employees: with a few exceptions like Kenia and Yarideth in the buffet area, Leninmichael in the Mexican restaurant, Milciades in the front bar who were awesome in what they do: greeting customer or preparing drinks the rest weren't courteous. If we made comments like: "today is a very hot and humid day" the employee respond with "well you are here vacationing, I have to sweat the whole day because I'm working" or if they asked us where are we come from and we say Paraguay instantly they respond with the word "Pariguayo" which means stupid/imbecile in Dominican slang. A couple of times I scolded the employee and he replied it was only a joke. I understand that in some way must be frustrated watch other people enjoying their vacation while you are working but no reason for long faces and lack of courtesy. In the end was a good trip but like I said in the beginning that was because we were there to enjoy the weather and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I the rene
Business
NY NY
Aug 6, 2014

Nice

The hotel is nice. When we first got there, we waited check in. I saw flamingos. They hang out on the water near the eating area. Sadly you have to be "privileged" to get closer to them. That eating area is the privileged section. The hotel rooms are nice. There is a shower and a bathtub. There is also a balcony. There is always some type of show going on at night. The pool is nice except for the bugs in it which you can't do much about. The beach was wonderful! I am pale so its nice that there are a lot of shade spots. However, they can be occupied very quickly. Room was comfortable the only complaint I have is one of the blankets bothered my skin if I leaned on it for a bit. The staff were nice. The only thing I didn't like was when they tried to get you to buy stuff when they have sales outside at night. The food was great. I liked all of the restaurants there. However, the Italian restaurant was very busy and seemed a bit disorganized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is an awesome bartender named Eddy. He calls himself Eddie Murphy. Get the Eddie Murphy special.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip happy dad
Business
Santo Domingo
Aug 3, 2014

A few days away

The staff were great, the hotel good value for money and it was a excellent short holiday without annoyances of any kind..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rongheo
Business
San Jose, California
Jul 30, 2014

Great Entertainment

We spent 7 nights at the Catalonia Punta Cana in July 2014 and we enjoyed every single day. The beach is nice, the room is clean, the happiest memories are for the entertainment staff especially Fernando and the one-man band singer (Sorry, I missed his name) who keep us entertained every night. The foods are rated "average" but all other activities are great,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure to bring your gorgles to watch the fishes at the hotel beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngieR
Business
New Jersey
Jul 29, 2014

Amazing

The moment I arrived at this hotel I knew it was going to be amazing. The place looked beautiful and clean and that was just the front desk area. The walk to the rooms was beautiful too. The room itself was perfect. It had a bathtub, couches and a spacious balcony. The room was clean. What I enjoyed the most was the unlimited alcoholic beverages. I can't even tell you how much I drank. The bartenders were very nice and they can make anything you want. I was amazed by this place. Their pool is amazing too. I mean you can actually swim to the bar, I thought that was great. The beach is right next to the resort which is great. Definitely recommend Catalonia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MickeymouseOff
Business
USA
Jul 21, 2014

We had good time

My experencia in catalonia bavaro has been quite remarkable .. perfect and clean room with no problems, we broke the tank and took a few days to fix it but you know in bavaro no stress .... The food is quite good and plentiful , fail a little themed restaurants, at least for what I expect of them, except the Japanese really worth it. The major drawback of this hotel is the lack of animation, the only party atmosphere is in the pool and the waiters brought by the "wet bar" and disco, animators are lost and focus on doing something on the beach and and, if you're lucky and these next to them you find out if these eg in the pool or know of the activities of the entertainers, the only fault for me ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top