Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
185 reviews
Biz

Great Stay Overall, overnight rooms have some cleanliness issues and need to be updated. Breakfast... See full review

  • Elizabeth L.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30th bday guy
Business
philadelphia, pa
Sep 25, 2014

Birthday getaway

Overall it was an excellent experience. Besides minor issues that i can overlook i would say this property is a very good value for the dollar. Working for a hotel for the past 12 years and in the food business for 5 years prior i feel i should note good and bad to help with the next travelers decision to stay at this resort. THE GOOD: The resort is very clean and well maintained from the front entrance to the pool and up to and including the beach. Even on days with heavy seaweed they had numerous workers clearing it away. The staff is very friendly and helpful outside of the front desk which i will mention later. A few people will stand out: the bartender andre at the pool is THE BEST, friendly, fast, and welcomes u everyday as if your his bestfriend. Also the server at the italian rest luis was awesome, best service at any place to eat. Last but most important is a lady they call big momma.... She does 100 different jobs from hosting pool events, to yoga instructer, to anything u need and she works 24 hrs a day. The hotel was extremly helpful with booking different events such as horse back riding and snorkeling but different workers give u different prices. The food was pretty average once u get the hang of where to eat and get there early. People complain about the buffet but its a buffet so what do you expect. I always found food i like. THE BAD Only 1 outlet in the room so we had to take turns charging our phones, no big deal to us but many people would disagree. The steak house was terrible from food to service. I love the pool but the bar closes at 8 and pool shuts down at 9, that wasnt cool. The entire resort pretty much shuts down at 9 unless u want to catch a show they have every night. The 24 hr food spot serves cold old pizza so eat dinner because u wont eat until breakfast starts... The main desk in our room had very tiny spider looking things crawling under the glass top on the desk, we just stayed away from that. But my biggest issues were the photo place who tried to charge $250 to put 10 pictures on a cd for me. And the biggest issue is the super slow front desk, check in was at 3 but rooms wont be ready until 6, they give u the runaround when u ask for anything and they are the only people with change but will not give u any so u can tip other employees...I seen maybe 1 other person tip anyone at this resort which upset me , but i found it hard to tip at times because i struggled to find any change anywhere on this resort... OVERALL i enjoyed the resort a lot and i will plan a trip again soon. The resort is well maintained and for the price compared to other resorts the value is by far the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner starts at 6 at all the restaurants, get there early or u will not have a spot. Service and food is better whem you arrive early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddieeee
Business
Catalonia Bavaro
Sep 24, 2014

Mr

Restaurants food was good and service good Staff that held activities excellent Specially Maria But unfortunately the place lack maintenance. In the outside grounds Needs transportation from beach area to restaurant and front lobby Everything to far and no transportation Lack hospitality Poorly managed With better executives and management Love and care I could be a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tropicslover
Business
New York, NY
Sep 22, 2014

Great for couples and families!

My boyfriend and I stayed in Catalonia Bavaro Hotel and I gotta say that it exceeded beyond our expectations. The main thing that really impressed us are the people who work here- very welcoming, warm, friendly, approachable, and they really treat you like VIPs! The restaurants have great food selections as well. Whatever type of food you're into, you'll definitely find something that you like. What's more is the bars serve quality drinks, including alcoholic ones. For what we paid for, we got our money's worth, plus more! The beach area is awesome too and there's free themed entertainment every night. I highly recommend this to anyone who's planning to go to Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
linaz
Business
arizona
Sep 21, 2014

Catalonia not as good as we expected

We were in Punta Cana 2 years ago and stayed at the Sirenis which was a fabulous experience. We decided to stay at the Catalonia because it was closer to the airport and we figured it would be similar to the Sirenis. We were wrong. The main issue was the staff. Most were not very friendly and most didn't speak English. There wasn't the party atmosphere we experienced at Sirenis. The buffet meals were average to poor. The restaurants however were pretty good. The beach is overloaded with piles of seaweed. There weren't enough chairs at the beach or at the pool. Our room was OK - kept fairly clean but needs updating. We did enjoy the martini bar. Candaleria was the bartender there and she was very nice and put a lot of care into making her drinks. I guess my recommendation would be to go to the Catalonia if you cannot afford anything else. Otherwise pay a few hundred more and stay at the Sirenis or one of the other nicer resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TreClub
Business
washington, DC
Sep 17, 2014

All good up until checkout...

Everything was good, with a few minor issues but nothing to turn me down....until check out. When I arrived, the phone didnt work and there was a leakage in the room. The phone wasn't fixed up until 2 days prior to me leaving, yet upon check out they said that my phone was working and that I made call from it...which I NEVER did!! They end it up charging me for something I never did! Customer service is HORRIBLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family...my everything
Business
El Sobrante, California
Sep 15, 2014

Great family vacation spot

Would go back anytime. The place is wonderful, the staff super friendly. The best place to eat is the steak house and the buffet. We ended up eating lunch at the pool a few times and that was good. Wi-fi doesn't work so well at the rooms but you can get service at the front (reception area). Already miss being there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MasonLeo
Business
Baltimore
Sep 8, 2014

Great couple's getaway

Catalonia was just awesome! The resort was beautiful and modern. The entertainment was non-stop with plenty of activities and options. All you could ever ask for in terms of drinks, food, romance, and laughs! Some of the restaurants at the resort were sup-par, but were nothing to complain too harshly about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Italian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bridgettelea
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 20, 2014

Anniversary getaway

The only complaints would be below average food and drinks. Also the harassment trying to take us on tours. I had to pay a guy to stop asking me to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta Cana first timers
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 20, 2014

A little bit...blah.

Meals are ok. They are nothing special by any means. The beverages are nice. Our rooms A/C didn't work properly and didn't adjust which made our room uncomfortable for sleeping. The staff was always polite but there doesn't seem to be much organization in the restaurants. They seemed understaffed and on multiple occasions we waited 20-25 minutes for a simple glass of water while waiters would cross paths around the same tables repeatedly. The location was fine and the beach was nice. If you want to experience culture, go to Santo Domingo or even Puerto Plata. Punta Cana is just a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josevillegas1994
Business
edison n.j
Aug 17, 2014

happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top