$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 13, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
131 reviews
Loved it!

We got really lucky with Catalonia! This was my husband and I's first trip to D.R. So I wasn't sure... See full review

  • Mrs.magaoay
  • Apr 11, 2014
Beautiful resort, great food, amazing staff!

The staff made the trip. So friendly, welcoming, and nice. Great food: steakhouse, hibashi, and... See full review

  • Britt Elyse
  • Mar 7, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Erector Man
Charlestown, IN
Mar 16, 2014

Not a 4 star

The farthest from a 4 star. I think was built in the 50's. Refrigerator never did work and couldn't get them to fix it. Electrical outlets were ancient. The buffet was ok and the staff was very friendly and very good. The specialized restaurants weren't worth the time, Mexican was awful along with service. If you are a spring break student and just want to get hammered this place might be for you. I would never go back at even half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Fort Lee, NJ
Apr 18, 2010

it's terrible on both resort and [...]

I went Catalonia Bavaro with a group of friends, total 20 peoples. only me and another friend bought this all inclusive package from [...] this man just don't want to protect his customer and let his customer get a fair service in this hotel.my trip was started 4/11 to 4/18 in this hotel. I just came back home this evening, I wrote this is true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
dariush lavian
great neck, NY
Nov 27, 2013

very bad getaway

the Hotel 's food, beverages was horrible, lots of bedbugs, which made our stay as nightmare. never again will choose Catalonia hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 26, 2011

Some bad, some good, some great

My experience was somewhat distressful compared to the relaxing time I was hoping for remembering my last vacation. From the moment we arrived the staff at the hotel was rude and unhelpful with exception of the bar tenders. This attitude persisted through the entire stay. Hotel staff totally lacks customer service training and the language barrier was not the excuse, I speak perfect Spanish. The room size was good and clean, bed clothes and towels were stained, smelled bad and did not appear to be washed properly, beach towels were always damp despite the fact that they were changed daily. There was no internet access for 4 days. The food was abundant but taste was mediocre, even at the specialty restaurants: Sushi, Italian, Crepes, did't try the Mexican but was adviced by another guest to avoid it. Deserts and drinks were too sweet. Fresh fruits, salad and fish were good. The Texan Grill was an exception, great meat, great salads, ask for the Churrasco. All spirits and wines offered in the bars and buffets were disgusting, wines were vinegar and watered down, all spirits were unknown local brands and all tasted the same BAD! You could not tell the difference from a wisky, a rum, a vodka, a tequila a gin, tried them all in the hope of finding something half reasonable. The exception was the wine offered at the Suhi and Italian restaurants but too expensive to buy by the bottle and the choices were very limited, most were not worth it. The local beer was good. The comon facilities were nice and clean, beautiful architecture, nicely kept grounds, the disco was ok as well as the casino, the golf course was nice and the tennis courts were well kept. The beach was magnificent, one of the best I've ever been at! And I have been in many around the world. Long beach with beautiful soft, white sand that never gets hot, lots of palm trees, the ocean is calm, with a beautiful variety of colors from clear,turquoise to saphire blues. There were plenty of beach chairs but not enough umbrella shades, so get up early if you wish to get one, otherwise use the shade of the palm trees. Summarizing, I feel I overpaid for the hotel, but I would recommend it at a lower price. Hotel service and food is very lacking but you can work around it, the beach is so beautiful it helps you forget it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lower your expectations about the hotel/food/service and concentrate in enjoying the beauty around.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Joe and Jen
Patton Pa
Aug 9, 2011

positives and negatives equaled out

The ride from the airport to the hotel was great. Very short (20 minutes maybe) and coco tours were wonderful. however upon arriving we were taken to a room that looked like someone else was still staying in it with the bed sheets on floor/towels laying all over/and dirty dishes everywhere. the bell boy told us to wait there and he left. we waited at least half hour before we used the phone to call front desk and they finally sent someone else down and switched rooms for us. the new room was really nice and the pool and beach were wonderful. a lot of sea weed but staff cleaned it up each morning best they could. the food was best we have eaten yet. the grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. so much wildlife. stores and shops right in resort so no need to leave for anything you need. Those are all our positives. negatives included very rude staff (with exception of few and far between), terrible drinks at the bar (no alcohol in them unless specify you want it and bartenders are very rude at the pool bar). we even bought a bottle of rum at the store to add in our drinks after we got them and we think it was still watered down. the resort and beach had so many kids that it became a bit distracting and took away for the romantic aspect of the trip completely. also, beware there were a lot of topless women of all ages and children. we went to the excellence the previous year for our honeymoon and def got spoiled there so I think we just expected way more for what we payed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

study up on your spanish because hotel staff very limited on english language.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
mdl123
Kansas City, MO, USA
May 9, 2012

Family getaway

Air conditioning wasn't working in both of our rooms, after several calls to front desk at midnight we moved to new rooms. New room #1 the TV didn't work at all and the fan hummed so loud you couldn't sleep. New room #2 the stool ran all the time. There is a real language barrior. Food was ok, would be great if we were from europe. 3 out of 4 got travelers diaherra, tried to go to doctor on site but the language barrior was too great, so bought drugs from pharmacy that was also there, surprisely the pharmist knew exactly what I needed. Will never go to Punta Cuna again, this vacation was a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not go to Punta Canta, if you must, plan on fasting. Do not eat the salad at steak rest., drink the water which they are always offering you, ice. Go to a all inclusive in Curcao, Aruba, Montego Bay I've had no problems there.

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Me Disappointed couple
New Jersey
May 19, 2013

I was disappointed

I was disappointed because I had to ask more than 6 times before someone brought me water. The brochure said that Catalonia would provide a daily refill on the room refrigerator. I did not ask for neither soda nor beer, I just wanted water. I was told that I will get two 16oz bottle of water for me and my wife every other day, Can you believe that, two adults get one 16oz bottle of water every other day. I went to Punta Cana to enjoy my time and my vacation but not going every day to the front desk to argue over a bottle of water. I have been to Punta Cana 4 times, this was the worst experience. Also, I did not like that if you pay extra, you can be a privilege guest, have a special dinning room, don’t have to wait on line for the a la card restaurant, it made me feel as a third class citizen that was treated different from the privilege guest. I understand if you pay extra to get better room and better location, but to go in front of another guest who is been waiting for long time, this is not acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Punta Cana DR
May 21, 2011

Punta Cana

we explored the country as a part of our honeymoon. The concierge was not very helpful. This trip had a alot of negative points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

CoCo tours is the worst!!!!

Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
anonous488
NY, NYC
May 25, 2013

Really a 2 star

How this place received 4 stars is beyond me. The reviews must be from their own people. I stayed for 4 days. My room is on the left side and not the "VIP" right side. Other than the luscious ground scenery, beach with its smooth white sand and clean water and pool there's really not much to like here. My shower had a huge 2" size cockroach. Someone else also said they had a cockroach in there room. We asked to not have the room cleaned but it was. I was bitten 10x by mosquitoes in the room. Night life / dancing / live bands are non-existent. Other than their corny show I went to bed by 11pm. What service? There is no one coming around asking you if you wanted drinks. I had to go to the bar each time. They must have used caramel colored water in their Brand name Rum bottles because I only got a buzz after drinking 4-5 coco loco/pina coladas and I'm a light weight. The gym is pathetic with a few machines. They stated 4 specialty restaurants. The Mexican (food was bad) is next to the Steak House and the Japanese is next to the Italian (OK but they must've forgotten me because I waited 30 mins for pasta?) but never all 4 opened at the same time. Its either 1 or the other. The buffet room & eating area is open so birds would swoop in to peck on food. Its unsanitary and they probably pooped on the food while they ate off them. We saw birds eat off plates from the tables if you got up for something and no one's guarding your food. Servers and activities ppl were nice. Everyone was kind but they lack manpower & service. Met a couple who stayed 7 days and the wife said she couldn't wait to leave and get home. Who says that on vacay? For the price I paid I definitely can get better service and entertainment elsewhere. I'll be back in DR but never to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Punta Girl
Marietta, Ohio
Sep 23, 2013

Needs Some Improvement

The food was not too good. Room was clean, but needs improvements. Beach was nice, but miss our service of drinks on the beach. Last year was at another resort and had a servers all the time at the beach. :( Did an excursion that was very nice. Do the Catalina Island Scuba and snorkling, very very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top