$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
182 reviews
Paradise

This resort was so stunning. The grounds were prestene, there was staff constantly up keeping the... See full review

  • Samantha travel lover
  • Oct 4, 2014
happy family

Excellent, very good and extraordinary, also the service is special , and very friendly. See full review

  • josevillegas1994
  • Aug 17, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.642 -68.3458
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - 20 km.
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erector Man
Business
Charlestown, IN
Mar 16, 2014

Not a 4 star

The farthest from a 4 star. I think was built in the 50's. Refrigerator never did work and couldn't get them to fix it. Electrical outlets were ancient. The buffet was ok and the staff was very friendly and very good. The specialized restaurants weren't worth the time, Mexican was awful along with service. If you are a spring break student and just want to get hammered this place might be for you. I would never go back at even half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dariush lavian
Business
great neck, NY
Nov 27, 2013

very bad getaway

the Hotel 's food, beverages was horrible, lots of bedbugs, which made our stay as nightmare. never again will choose Catalonia hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unbelievably unhappy
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 8, 2014

NOT ACCOMIDATING, FOOD WAS HORRIBLE

To start they sent us to the family hotel when we paid for and reserved the adults only hotel. They refused to give us a room at the adults only resort when our itinerary clearly said ADULTS ONLY. The entire trip we dealt with screaming kids, crying babies and children running around without adult supervision. When we booked the room we requested early check in, when we got there we sat there for three hours waiting until we finally got into our room an hour later than regular check in. The room was nice, not what we thought we were getting, but nice. There were problems with the room like the sink didn't drain, no drain cover in the shower (just a hole in the floor), door knob fell off when we tried to open the door, refrigerator not cold, phone didn't work, etc.. We called (from a near by office ) to have it fixed and eventually after a couple days some of it got fixed, some didn't. We additionally paid for the honeymoon package that included decorated room upon arrival (never got it), champagne (after complaining, we got a day later), chocolates in room upon arrival (never got it), fruit basket in room upon arrival (never got it). Upon check in they didn't give us our free massage and photo voucher so we had to ask them again for it and they tried to make us walk back to our room to check our stuff again (which was more than a quarter of a mile away from the office) when we refused they made us sit there for at least 30 minutes while they verified with the other staff and salon so that we didn't get two vouchers. They only have restaurants for dinner so the only places to eat are the snack bar and the buffet which were both absolutely horrible every day. Room service was terrible as well. Everything service related there was SOOO slow. The restaurants took easily 2+ hours to get in and out of, whether you were waiting to get into the restaurant, waiting to be served, waiting for drinks, waiting to order, etc... We felt like we wasted so much of our vacation waiting!! The only way to get ice in your room was to call room service and it took at least 30-45 minutes if it came at all!! We tried to speak to management about several of the issues but every time we tried (which was several times), no one would allow us to. They kept transferring us to what they call the privileged office who refused us to allow us speak to anyone but them. They allowed outside venders to come and try to sell everyone merchandise like jewelery and other souvenirs which would have been nice and convenient but they hassled you and wouldn't take no for an answer! You wouldn't expect that kind of solicitation at your resort, maybe outside but not at the hotel. We accepted we weren't going to get anything from them so we just made the best of our trip. Luckily the beach was nice and the grounds were nice and kept up. Last but not least when we checked out it took them so long to check us (at least 45 minutes) out that we missed our transportation to the airport and we had to pay a taxi $30 to get there, luckily we got there in time because the plane changed their schedule to leave an hour earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't trust anything anyone says says because they lie to sell you things!! Like the golf course, they told us we had to buy golf balls because they don't give you any to golf with so we bought some and they actually do give you golf balls. Then they didn't want to take back the ones we purchased and never used. The VIP service trying to say their excursions were with a different company and that's why they were charging more money (because it was in an air conditioned luxury van) it wasn't, it was in the back of a truck just like the rest of them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad Mom IJB
Business
Brookfield CT
May 12, 2014

One Of my worst vacations

I called a few days earlier to confirm my hotel ,that was useless as when we got there they said they were over booked. BUT they would put us up in there upscale sister hotel for one night. Well this was not an upscale room. We over looked the garbage facility . Our phone didn't work even after replace once . We had to hunt down toilet paper the next day. The shower stall floor was a spongy fiberglass that made you feel you were showering on a trampoline. Our power went out and because of a non working phone I had to go to the garbage facility to hunt someone down. .To top it off we had to check out at noon and move to the other room in the next hotel WHICH thank goodness was the nicer of the hotels. But our room wasn't ready until 3pm So that left us with hauling our money and passports around and not being able to do much. THEY TOOK AWAY another full day of our vacation without any compensation. To try to get anyone to hear our complaint took all 7 days until we checked out and finally had a manager listen. Of course what good did that do except a personnel email address from her to come back and give them another shot. I will say the facility was lovely and they did have lovely entertainment and the grounds were beautiful. Just the luck of us I guess was not on our side. and Don't bother getting roped into listening to there one hour privilege thing of there so called time share. They said we would get a coupon for 50 off a massage. We figured we may as well take that . Well it was not disclosed that you had to buy a 177. package massage Not the hour massage that was 85. So that was useless .Save yourself the 29,000. sticker price for 20 yr . It wasn't worth any of it and took more time then they said it will. So of course we were going to take a excursions to see the city and culture and that got canceled because of a public strike . That wasn't the fault of the facility , so we rescheduled that for the following day as the strike was only one day. We had to wake early and be in the lobby at 7:30. No bus shows. finally get a hold of OUR VIP guy and he calls them and said we got canceled late last night and heard nothing of it. Well that just broke the camels back and I burst into tears. He said he would fix it so we ended up chasing another company and getting on that tour which turned out to be nice. > Just sad to say it was my worse vacation and we all know we don't want to have bad memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring enough sunscreen it cost $36.00 a can of spray or cream

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lee, NJ
Apr 18, 2010

it's terrible on both resort and [...]

I went Catalonia Bavaro with a group of friends, total 20 peoples. only me and another friend bought this all inclusive package from [...] this man just don't want to protect his customer and let his customer get a fair service in this hotel.my trip was started 4/11 to 4/18 in this hotel. I just came back home this evening, I wrote this is true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
krb123
Business
ottawa
Jan 30, 2014

Def not a 4 Star...3Star at best

You get what you pay for...service/food was adequate, resort was poorly maintaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Drink Man
Business
Alaska
Apr 1, 2014

Alright

This hotel was alright. I read a lot of reviews and after staying there the rooms are clean. One thing they don't do is restock the fridge as listed on the site. The maid basically only folds the bed but not a huge deal. The hotel grounds and beach are very nice. The water is more a green color than turquoise though. So straight up the food sucks. I am not picky at all but after a week there I would have given anything for a pb and j sandwich from the us lol. In my opinion I would choose some other destination though. Also not really a spring break party hotel which is what I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The zipline tour is awesome but a long drive from hotel. Also there are 2 different tours so do some research.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mdl123
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
May 9, 2012

Family getaway

Air conditioning wasn't working in both of our rooms, after several calls to front desk at midnight we moved to new rooms. New room #1 the TV didn't work at all and the fan hummed so loud you couldn't sleep. New room #2 the stool ran all the time. There is a real language barrior. Food was ok, would be great if we were from europe. 3 out of 4 got travelers diaherra, tried to go to doctor on site but the language barrior was too great, so bought drugs from pharmacy that was also there, surprisely the pharmist knew exactly what I needed. Will never go to Punta Cuna again, this vacation was a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not go to Punta Canta, if you must, plan on fasting. Do not eat the salad at steak rest., drink the water which they are always offering you, ice. Go to a all inclusive in Curcao, Aruba, Montego Bay I've had no problems there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mar y Cielo
Business
New York, NY
Nov 30, 2012

Mixed and unhappy

The first night was a real nightmare. At registration we asked for the room assigned to be clean. Upon arriving at the room, the quilt was stained and some of the furniture dusty. The bed was two twin beds put together (I understand that the description was 2 twin beds or a king size bed, but we are a couple). The balcony was overlooking a dirty roof top. We had to purchase an upgrade for an additional $500.00. The new room was a honeymoon suite by the beach, and it was much better. The staff was accommodating and friendly, with the exception of the front desk staff including a supervisor. The food/drinks were good. Activities were limited. Shopping was limited and over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The japanese restaurant as well as the steak house were wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MN beach lover
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 27, 2013

Everything was amazing - except the BED BUGS!

Beautiful pool, grounds, beach - the buffets and restaurants were wonderful - the staff was AMAZING -- the only bad was the bed bugs. By the third night I could not sleep because I spent all night itching. I didn't realize at the time it was bed bugs and would have notified someone if I had realized sooner. I did send the resort an email after I got home but did not receive a response of any kind. Like I said, everything else was wonderful. The bed bugs were horrible. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top