$306 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas De Bavaro - Punta Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
191 reviews
Sister-brother vacation

The hotel itself along with all of its perks was amazing! The beaches were beautiful. The only... See full review

  • Tony Yllescas
  • Jan 17, 2015
Family trip

I really liked the hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. I think, I would come back there. See full review

  • Mariya S
  • Dec 29, 2014
All-inclusive along a snorkel-ready Punta Cana coral reef beach
Surrounded by coconut palms and lush vegetation, Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive offers a private beach along the turquoise waters of the coastal Dominican Republic. Coral reefs make an ideal snorkeling environment where guests can get an up-close look at the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Swim in a large pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds, nap in a hammock or head to the palapas and loungers on the white beach.
Highlights
  • International restaurants and five bars
  • Enjoy an hour a day of non-motor water sports such as snorkeling or a catamaran
  • Mini-club and disco for children, a disco and casino for adults (fees apply)
Rooms
More than 700 all junior-suite rooms have cable TV, a marble bathroom and a mini bar at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Casual and carefree, each is designed for families and couples to find no-fuss comfort in beachfront style. Some rooms have been recently updated.
Features
Recreation
Try something new at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive where daily activities included in the room rates range from archery, beach volley, aerobics and paddle tennis to a sauna, fitness center, canoes, kayaks, small sailboats and lessons in meringue dance and native painting. Motorized water sports, scuba diving, lighted tennis courts, massage and nearby golf excursions are available (fees apply).
Dining
Travel the globe on-site at Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive. Eight themed restaurants include Far East flavors, a steakhouse and French cuisine. A cooking show entertains diners who stop by the buffet. Once a week, guests gather for a beach barbecue party with a live band.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Corales Golf Course (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Ecological reserve (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (62.7 mi/101 km)
  • Santo Domingo (131 mi/210 km)
Business
  • High-speed, Wi-Fi Internet available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants. Welcome fruit basket with bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Junior Suite
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services such as 24 hrs room service, private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffee maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to 5 theme restaurants.
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed or two double beds includes air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, mini bar with soft drinks and beer refiled everyday, hair dryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hair dryer, round bath tub and independent shower.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms with a total capacity 600 people.

Dining

Mariachi
Mexican specialty restaurant (only dinner).
La Toscana
Italian cuisine specialty restaurant (only dinner).
Rodeo
Steak House (only dinner).
Gran Caribe
Buffet style, with every night them dinner (Italian, oriental, tex-mex...)
La Palapa
buffet style, in front of the beach for breakfast and lunch
Pizzeria snack
enjoy delicious wood fired pizzas next to the pool
Mikado
Japanese Teppanyaki (only dinner, with reservation).
Bretonne
Ices ream & french Crepes stall.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigs-n-Ter
Bastrop, Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Marvelous Gettaway

We had a marvelous time body surfing in the waves of the clean swept beautiful beaches, cooling off in the large beautiful pools, having an enjoyable scuba lesson in the pool and going out with a group snorkeling. All buffets were tasty, the theme restaurants were fun and delicious. The inland tour gave us a real feel for The Dominican Republic. It was very entertaining and totally enjoyable. The medical facilities which we had need of provided a solution to our needs. Staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An exceptional deal was the Snorkeling $35 USD trip. A boat takes you out about 1/2 hr to a specific area that is roped off. You snorkel for an hour and then head back. We saw tons on different marine life and fish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fercho from Boston
Business
REVERE
Jan 22, 2015

Best Family vacation ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The hotel was very nice, my room was not that clean , it is a little old and had some cockroaches, I did like that part, beside that the food was very good, the staff very frendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go there, make sure your room is clean, if you go to the pizza place ask for fresh pizza you will get it right out of the oven. if you give a dollar tip, tou will be treat like a king.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony Yllescas
Business
elgin
Jan 17, 2015

Sister-brother vacation

The hotel itself along with all of its perks was amazing! The beaches were beautiful. The only issue was that the staff at the front desk was VERY slow at check-in, checkout and anytime we would go up there for something. In addition, at first we thought that the male staff members were just being nice by complementing my sister, but then it got extremely annoying. They were flirting with my sister like they've never seen a woman before it was hardcore flirting with her almost every day. Overall however, I'd go back there any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Have money aside for tips in addition to your spending money. Also, no need to exchange dollars into their currency. Dollars are accepted almost everywhere. Be aware of people selling you stuff. They are very pushy and will annoy you. Bargain about the price with them until you can no longer get a lower price. They think that bc we come from the US that we all have lots of money. If you're rich go for it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald C.
Business
Benicia
Jan 14, 2015

Can Not Recommend This Resort

The location and beach here are nice, and the resort facilities, landscaping and bars are very nice. The problem was with the food - extremely disappointing. The specialty restaurants were a waste of time did not like any of them (did not try the Japanese restaurant). Can not even get a cup of coffee in them! We complained twice to guest services without any response from them. The mosquitoes were so bad that we (4) left there with major bites all over. One major annoyance was getting and keeping beach chairs. On the plus side all of the staff excluding in restaurants were very friendly and made a bad resort stay a little better. I will never stay at another Catalonia resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Low expectations Lower service

We stayed here from may 19th 2014 - May 23rd. We read pretty bad reviews but decided to give it a try. Never again. The food was terrible, I actually lost weight. The staff were not very nice and we were haggled every day for either an excursion or time share. Not worth it at all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariya S
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Family trip

I really liked the hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. I think, I would come back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth L.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Biz

Great Stay Overall, overnight rooms have some cleanliness issues and need to be updated. Breakfast Food and Dinner Food was great. I found a lack of options for lunch food. Beach is BEAUTIFUL!! Night life is great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thene H.R
Business
Dorchester
Dec 16, 2014

Soo Hungry!!

I had an absolute ball on this "Girls Trip". One of THE best trips EVER!! That being said...there of course was a down side.,the food SUCKED!! Face cloths were a hot commodity! Very hard to get some for the room. At times, it would take close to 2 HOURS!! We upgraded to Privileged but didn't feel that way. Make friends with the locals and they'll tell you about some good food spots. The gift shop at the hotel is definitely worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariya S
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Family trip

I really liked the hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. I think, I would come back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amusins
Business
New York
Nov 21, 2014

Good vacation

Everything was fine, only the shortage of beach/pool chairs made it difficult to find a spot any time after 9 am......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Punta Cana -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John4Joy
Business
Connecticut
Nov 19, 2014

Catalonia, Punta Cana, November 2014

Beautiful property, large, clean room, great pool area and beach. Your best bet for eating is to remain at the buffets, as all independant restaurants are very disappointing. The buffet food is average for this type of destination, but eating their 3 meals a day, for a week, gets old quickly. Drinks are made with the lowest possible quality liquor, don't even attempt to drink something "on the rocks" as you will be better off drinking rubbing alchol. Very pushy tour (condo sales) group, tell them a firm "NO" right at the start, when checking in. This could be a 4 star facility, but because of the food and low quality liquor, this resort remains a solid 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the buffet, independant restaurants are awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top