$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
659 reviews
awesome place

The stay was awesome, staff was great! The food and entertainment was excellent......i would go... See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Feb 21, 2015
Quick gateway- Loyal guest

We have stayed at Barcelo since 2009 and we love it. We always get excellent service. The staff is... See full review

  • Linette
  • Jan 7, 2015
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 659
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Mar 31, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach not Punta Cana

We were supposed to stay at the Barcelo Punta Cana but were changed to the Dominican beach last minute. The staff wasn't great at all. take in mind that the hotel was completely booked with spring breakers. many of them didnt speak spanish and were incredibly rude. Our towels were never changed nor were our bed sheets even though we requested it. The food in the buffet was AWFUL and the restaurants needed reservation a day in advance - even though when we finally got reservations it was completely EMPTY ALthough the hotel wasnt the best, punta cana is gorgeous and the people are very nice PS- DO NOT GET A HENNA TATTOO- THEY USE PPD WHICH CAUSES EXTREME ALLERGIC REACTIONS. I got a small tattoo and ended up getting a rash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a club called Imagine.. a must see. If you are a little older and don't want to run into the typcial spring breakers - get a day pass to the bavaro palace delux- AMAZING HOTEL- many restaurants and bars

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PR
Jul 12, 2011

Bavaro palace

Of all the hotels I've been, this is the worst so far. Restaurants were closed, and there was no accomodation on the opened ones. And when we walked by them, they were not full. Drinks are awful! Service was bad, entertaining ended around 10:30pm. The hotel was reaaaaally full of locals, and even the people that works there complained about that! No towels, if some food was gone in the buffet, they took too long to put more. It is not a good hotel. And when I complained with a manager, normally anywhere else I get a let see what I can do and there she said that there's nothing she can do! Bad experience! Don't recommend the hotel to anyone! And there's no bottled water available. Considering the cholera situation, that is a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The beach is beautiful

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sarahhhhhh
Business
Clifton, NJ, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Will never go back

The hotel staff was so rude. They would not let us check in before the check in time so we had to wait 4 hours in the lobby for our room to get cleaned. The hotel staff have no idea what they are doing. Each one tells you something different. The food there was also horrible. The japanese rest. was really bad. so was their pizza place and their italian. Also, for each of the specialty restaurants, you need to make a reservation each in the morning that day as soon as you can otherwise there are no more reservations available and you get stuck eating the bad buffet food. The resort was actually beautiful, the hotel staff and their rules for the hotel just absolutely ruined our trip. I will never go back, esp to this hotel. Also, there is nothing to do outside the resort so the whole time you are stuck inside the hotel with the horrible service. trust me, do not go to this hotel! also, there were many bugs in our hotel room. our bathroom was also filthy. there were yellow stains all over the bathroom tub. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

get your reservations to the specialty restaurants as soon as you wake up that morning!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Precious Peach
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Replublic
Jun 9, 2012

Girls getaway

I had the worst experience at this hotel. I wouldn't recommend nobody stay at this hotel.. The staff was VERY rude, nobody speaks English, the food was nasty, the rooms has lots of Ants... Also, if u didn't reserve a spot for the restaurants by 10:00 a.m when the sign says 9:00a.m- 4:00p.m you was stuck with the nasty buffet food and the staff has a problem with picking their nose freely in front of you while touching you're papers like that's ok... I even witness them digging in their nose in the buffet area.... This hotel lacks entertainment big time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby Townshiip, MI
Jul 28, 2009

it sucked

we couldn't wait to come back home. it all started with the airlines. Spirit. i will NEVER fly them again. we almost missed our connected flight. they had issues with the plan so we took off over an hour late. then got to our hotel and the staff members didnt speak english. we had to switch rooms 3 times, due to problems with the rooms. the food was gross. i lived on eggs and toast for 10 days. and the drinks, we couldnt even drink them. they were just as sick. now its time to come home and we just couldnt wait to get home. so when we arrive to FL., to catch our flight to detroit, they delayed it by 45 mins. then we finally boaded. sat on the plan sweating, with no air for them to then tell us to get off the plan, that the pilet will be at least an hour befor he gets to the airport. this was the worst vacation EVER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 7, 2010

Horrible Experience!

The resort itself has a beautiful facility with great pools and spectacular beachfront. However, the unhelpful staff (including front desk, managers,waiters,& room attendants) make it an unpleasurable experience. We were unable to participate in watersports because there are limited supplies and times available. The gym has very old equipment and is very dirty. Housekeeping takes very long, and your room may not be done until after 3PM. I had to request towels at the front desk in person three times because there weren't sufficient in the room, and I never received them. Pools and bars should open later. Disco needs to be renovated and placed in another area that doesn't make it smell like sewer. Theater performances in English were poor; only enjoyed the performance with typical dances of DR. 7 out of 9 travelers had food poisoning by Day 4 of our trip. I've traveled quite a bit and have never experienced this. At the end of the day, the staff's attitude makes all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We had fun on two excursions out of the hotel: mudding on dune buggies and riding speed boats to snorkel.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slimsassy
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2009

Barcelo, Punta Cana Premium

When we arrived at the hotel, we had to wait about two hours just to get to our room. We were told about every half hour to wait just a few minutes more. When we finally got to our room, the tub was dirty and there was a hole in the middle of the wall, filled up with tissue. Also, we had to beg the staff to give us wash cloths and towels. My friends' room had a leak coming from the ceiling and they also had no towels or wash cloths. At night, huge mice could be seen running around the pool. The only thing great about Barcelo was the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly Squared
Business
New York City
Dec 4, 2010

Would NOT recommend

By far the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in!! Slow service, staff barely spoke English and all pool activities were in Spanish so you can't participate even if you wanted to, no pool towels for 3 out of 5 days, buffet food was not replenished, difficult to get restaurant reservations, rooms are outdated, the rooms "mini bar" only consisted of 2 cans of beer, absolutely NO room service after 10:30pm. It was a very cheap trip, and we definitely got what we paid for!!! The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 11, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach - horrendous

We were moved to the Barcelo Dominican Beach after being bumped from the 4 star Barcelo Punta Cana[...] It was absolutely disgusting. We requested a room change two times because it either smelled like smoke (even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room) or the room had something broken (sliding glass door wouldn't lock and we were on the first floor). The food was the worst part of the entire trip. Every single person in our group got some form of food sickness and missed an entire day on the beach at some point during the week. The hotel staff was very rude and offered no help and little compensation for our travel troubles (I speak fluent Spanish and they still ignored us). It was overrun with college kids on spring break. One afternoon a trip company threw a pool party (I'm assuming with the consent of the hotel b/c it was never shut down) in the main pool and the drunk college girls took their tops off while participating in a wet t-shirt company in the midst of children and families. These drunk college students were openly throwing up in the pool. On the last day of our trip a dead mouse was fished out from the pool. Also, one of the rooms in our group saw a mouse scurry across their floor on the day we checked out. All in all it was a terrible trip and [...] I am never staying at a Barcelo ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 9, 2010

WORST VACATION EVER!

This was my 3rd time vacationing in DR and it was the most horrific experience I had encountered. First when we got there, our room wasn't ready so we waited an hour and at 4 pm we were taken to our room. When we got there, we noticed that the beds weren't made; the pillow cases and the duvet weren't put on yet. My friend was going to make herself a coffee but she noticed that the glass cup they had in the room was dirty so she passed on that. The shower handle holder literally came off the wall and the pillows smelled like wet rag. The 3rd night we were there the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking and I don't mean dripping water, it was literally coming down like a waterfall. It took them a while to come and fix it. The staff was very unfriendly (not all but most of them) and most of them don't speak English. They were really slow in getting you things such as water when you asked for it. They have the locals come and pay half price during the weekend so it gets really loud. They serve Spanish people first when you go to their dining areas or to the bar. The food at the resort was not that great and they serve the same thing everyday. If you want to make a reservation for one of the restaurants for dinner, you have to get to the lobby at 9 AM and there is a huge line. It took us 30 min every morning to make a reservation. On the first night we asked if we could make the reservation for dinner for all the nights we were going to stay there but they said no and that we had to come in the morning everyday to make the reservations. At the Italian restaurant, I ordered a Tiramisu and they had a sauce below the cake and when I ate it, it was GRAVY! My friend ordered the same thing and she insisted it wasn't gravy so I had her try mine and she was like "yup, they put gravy on yours" Hers had a sweet caramel sauce and since they are the same color, they had mistaken the gravy for caramel.The manager there was really rude when we told him about our room situation and not once did he apologize to us. They were going to move us to a room with a smaller bathroom and I complained and told him we wanted the same size bathroom. He said they were all the same size when clearly it wasn't. We planned on moving to the room with the smaller bathroom but our other friends said they fixed the ceiling so we decided to just stay. The next day the ceiling leaked again and we called the front desk and they said they would send someone up to fix it. An hour passed and no one came so we called again and once again they said they would send someone but no one came. At this point the ceiling stopped leaking and it was our last night there so we just packed up our stuff and couldn't wait to go back to NY. We met a woman who was from America and she had complained about the service and told us how her bathroom was clogged and she and her daughters and to keep going downstairs to use the public bathroom since no one came to fix it in their room for the whole day. We met a couple from New Jersey and they were really unhappy with the service there and they were annoyed with the fact that nobody who worked at the resort spoke English. We were glad to know we weren't the only ones who noticed what a terrible place this resort was. The beach was nice but that was about it. Most people take bad reviews with a grain of salt but if you want to have a good vacation DO NOT GO TO BARCELO PUNTA CANA!!! This was the first time ever that I had wanted to go home from vacation. If you are the type of person that look for good service, good food, friendly staff, and clean facilities for your vacation you DO NOT want to come here. I read the reviews from [...] the week before we went on the trip and I regretted booking the trip here but it was too late and it was booked so I just hoped that people's reviews were wrong. I wish I had seen the reviews in advance then I would NOT have booked my vacation at this resort. We had paid for the transportation to get to the airport...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top