$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
511 reviews
awesome place

The stay was awesome, staff was great! The food and entertainment was excellent......i would go... See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Feb 21, 2015
Quick gateway- Loyal guest

We have stayed at Barcelo since 2009 and we love it. We always get excellent service. The staff is... See full review

  • Linette
  • Jan 7, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Property features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Nearby attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Policies
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 511
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris the vacationer
Business
San Diego
Aug 28, 2012

vactioning

The room has lots of ants & mosquitos. Employees there not customer oriented. Reservation for formal dinning is really bad. Unable to reserve the same day or next day meal after an hour waiting in line to book. There's no coffee or tea in the room 1/2 of time we stay there. Either they ran out or not being filled. there's no non-smoking area designated. People smoke almost everywhere, in the lobby, the hall way, pool, beach, etc.... The fruits were not fresh & not many variety. The food is pretty much the same daily & doesn't taste good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEE Traveler
Business
New York
Sep 11, 2012

Inconsistent, disappointing and not a good value at all

I went here for a week in August with my boyfriend and a few friends. We arrived around 2:30, had our suitcases taken by some men at the curb and after waiting for almost 30 minutes in the check-in line were told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4. We went and got lunch and came back around 4:15- rooms still weren't ready. We sat in the lobby until after 6 that night waiting for our rooms - we couldn't even change into our bathing suits since our suitcases had been taken when we arrived. We wasted almost half a day of our vacation and did not receive an apology or any acknowledgement of the inconvenience. This was a trend among the staff during our stay- some of them were very nice and helpful, but most were dismissive or outwardly unfriendly- some even rolled their eyes or openly ignored us when we were standing there. Our rooms were in the renovated section and looked okay at first glance but on closer inspection were not very nice at all. Our patio door didn't lock, our air conditioner broke the second night, our toilet clogged or overflowed almost every single day and the key card lock on the outside of the door also broke, locking us out of our room for almost an entire day while we repeatedly had to visit the front desk to ask them to fix it. In fact, every single one of these incidents required multiple phone calls or visits to the front desk before they were fixed. By the 3rd day I felt like I'd spent more time in line at the front desk than at the beach! There are a lot of general inconsistencies as well. For example, my room didn't have a bathtub but my friend's room next door did. We only got 2 towels in our room the first day (no bathmat, handtowels, washcloths etc...) but then had 6 a few days later. Some days the room was cleaned, some days not. Two of my friends, in two different rooms, had dark red stains on their sheets when they checked in and several of us had drinks that had clearly been opened and used in our mini bars when we checked in. And just a general warning- the Casino is a huge scam. It is advertised as a hotel amenity but it runs a well known scam called "Bonus Bingo" (sometimes called "Caribbean Keno") in it. It targets guests right when they enter and fortunately, we were warned by another guest and stopped playing it before we lost too much money (the guest was subsequently removed from the casino by security- very sketchy). I looked it up in the internet cafe the next day and sure enough, there was a ton of information on it- the game is rigged to be unwinnable. We spoke to the hotel Accommodations Manager about it the next day and he told us that the casino is actually privately owned and has nothing to do with the hotel. We were able to get some of our money back from the casino by complaining (basically fighting with them for days) but I was appalled and disgusted that the hotel advertises the casino as an amenity when they actually do not oversee it to make sure it's legitimate. And that they knowingly allow their guests to be scammed on a regular basis on their property. This is not a place that I would ever go back to nor would I ever recommend it to others. Definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it and was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey and Cynthia
Business
Yonkers, NY
Jan 16, 2013

Worst vacation EVER

My family's experience at this hotel was horrible from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Upon arrival at around 3 o'clock we waited forever for check-in to find out our room was not yet ready. Check in does begin at 3! They sent us to get something to eat. An hour and a half later we finally get our key to head to our room. Took another hour to get our luggage which sat in the lobby the whole time until we went back down to see what the delay was. More problems upon arriving at our room. When booking the vacation we requested a king size bed and we were given a double bed room. The wouldn't change our room because supposedly all rooms were occupied. I had asked for a crib because we were traveling with our month old baby. The dirty and broken crib was placed outside the room. A wooden bar was missing where a baby could've had their head lodged and the upper bar was broken with nails sticking out, not supporting it up at all. The bare mattress was filthy with small pieces of what seemed to be cement or sheet rock which my baby could have injested. We called the front desk and asked to have the crib taken away and requested a fold up bed. The woman at the front desk gave us a run around and told us we had to call a different number. After hearing our frustration she said she would send up the fold up bed in 10 minutes. In the mean time we left the room and returned back to the same crib which they nailed back together, cleaned up, and covered with a sheet.Our room was also not very clean. After my older son took off his shoes and jumped on the bed we saw foreign hair he picked up on his feet from the floor on the already stained white sheets. The food was terrible. My wife ended up with a stomach virus on our last night there. It was close to impossible to get dinner reservations at their restaurants. They would only start taking reservations the day of and everyday we went at 9am which is when they started making them every restaruant was already full so we were forced to eat at the buffet whose food was far from good. Let me not forget the nasty drinks, Presidentes was the only way to go. We had to shower with cold water pretty much every day. NO HOT Water...seriously! The only good thing was the kiddle water park our older son enjoyed and the beach which was beautiful but very rough. Personnel at this hotel was not helpful or accommodating. We also got left by the shuttle bus who was supposed to drive us over to the shopping area because the bell boy up front failed to point it out to us after we waited for over 30 minutes. Entertainment at the hotel was poor and we found ourselves bored often. We felt very disappointed with our stay and the hotel certainly didn't meet our expectations. We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly not return to it ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JCPT
Business
WHITE PLAINS, NY
Jan 16, 2013

DIRTY/POOR SERVICE

HOTEL ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN(PHONE SMELLED LIKE DIRTY STAGNANT WATER-SEEMED LIKE THEY USE THE SAME RAG TO WIPE EVERYTHING). I SHOWERED 3 1/2 OUT OF 4 NIGHTS WITHOUT HOT WATER BECAUSE IT DID NOT WORK AND SHOWER HEAD WAS BROKEN. THE SERVICE MEN AT THE FRONT OF THE HOTEL NEVER BROUGHT OUR LUGGAGE UP AND MY ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN I CHECKED IN AT 3PM. THE FOOD WAS DISGUSTING AND MY DAD AND SISTER IN LAW GOT SICK OFF THE FOOD. THE ROOM WHERE MY BROTHER STAYED HAD A CRIB READY FOR MY NEPHEW WITH A DIRTY MATTRESS AND A NAIL STICKING OUT OF IT. THE HOTEL SUPPOSE TO BE ALL INCLUSIVE AND THERE WAS NO LIQUEUR OR BEER IN THE REFRIGERATOR AND THE FRIDGE DID NOT COOL THE ITEMS INSIDE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

FIND A NICE RESTAURANT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
east 5
Business
punta cana
Sep 15, 2013

vacation

the hotel and pool were beautiful. the buffet was lousy, towels smelled like mold, the help at the front desk didnt understand english, the toilets didnt work, sreaming child so they changed the room,and then found other peoples luggage in our room so we changed our room again. I've traveled all over the world but i will never go to punta cana ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kim Super Disgusted
Business
Middletown, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

TERRIBLE SERVICE- NEVER AGAIN!

Ok, well to start we arrived on a Friday where the pools were filled with locals wearing full clothing in the pools, when I say filled I mean FILLED! They (the locals) had no respect for the other tourest at the hotel and were very disrespectful towards Americans. I just read that they offer discount prices to locals so they can fill the hotel and they bus them in from all over. If you do not speak spanish dont bother,you will be ignored and there will be no attempt to communicate with you at all. The staff were very rude, once again, if you were American you were put off and ignored and those who spoke spanish were treated with priority. Good luck trying to find a staff member who does speak English. The food was poor but you can get by. The grounds of the hotel, the hotel itself and the beach were very nice. Everyone except for myself got sick, this includes many other toursest staying at the resort and everyone on the plane was talking about how sick they got at their resorts. FYI...based on overhearing other conversations on the plane this seemed to be a common thing at all the reports including the rudness towards Americans. I would never ever stay at Barcelo again here or the Barcelo in Mexico as we had a bad experience there as well. Live and Learn as we always like to give a second change. Customer Service NOT!!!! NEVER AGAIN!!! As my husband was saying under his breath to others checking in SAVE YOUSELF!!! Beware of the local vendors who come to the resort every other day to sell goods, they will stalk you!!! I dont ask for much and I was not expecting 5 star but some respect, aknowledgement and smile from the staff would of been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of single dollar bills...LOTS!!! They will not give you change in American money, only pesos!!!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 2, 2010

Terrible Resort

This was the worst resort i have stayed at. The staff is unfriendly. The entire stay you serve your self. Even while you are at the beach you have to walk back to the resort for a drink. There is never any staff member available or asking you for a drink. The food sucks and it's the same food every single day. In order to make reservation for a restaurant you have to wait on a line everyday at 9am and by the time you arrive to the front all resturants are full by 9:45am. During my stay the lights went off 3xtime. The bathrooms were always extremely dirty with no toilet tissue. We waited over 2hours for dinner at the restaurants and the food was disgusting. The pool was always dirty including the chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The entertainment was the only service that made our vacation.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melanie and Ozzy
Business
NJ
Jul 31, 2011

WORST VACATION EVER!!!!

This was the worst vacation my family and I have ever taken! First, when we first got there, we were suppose to check in at 3PM and our room wasn't ready till 7PM. After we got our room, the room was a total mess. The sheets were stained, the air conditioner wasn't working, there was a leakage and we had water coming in so the floor was very very slippery. We were very upset being that we paid almost $4000 for our family trip. We complained and the front desk guy was very nasty and had a terrible attitude. Finally, I was able to speak to a manager and he promised us a better room for the following day. We didn't get our room for another 2 days!! My husband and I, as well as my children had to squeeze in my mother in laws room and sleep on the floor. The following day there was a black out. We had no electricity for the entire night. We depended on candles that whole time, my children were uncomfortable and cranky. It was hot and humid because there was no air conditioning. Horrible! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 28, 2011

Very Bad All Inclusive

This was the worst resorts we've been in. We have stayed in Dominican Republic in Melia Tropicale and Riu Palace. In Mexico we've stayed in Barcelo palace. This is an OLD property probably bought from another owner but they're just rebranding and repainting it and making superficial repairs. 1. Cracks everywhere on the fascade 2. rooms (had 2) smell like mildew. Furniture inside appears to be something you find at Goodwill or thrift store. Beds Horrible. Bathrooms with rusted old fixtures. Basically a motel room. 3. Our balcony would not close properly, son was bitten all over body by mosquitos. They tried to repair balcony 2 times after many calls to manager. No repairs really helped. 4. Only 1 Buffet. Food not good for money paid. Although desserts excellent. 5. Let locals in on the weekend (masses of people since they get great discounts). 6. Gym equipment all rusted, archaic (they claim the hotel to be 7 ears old!!!) After 2nd day we had enough. I could not bear to be there for another week. It was my 40th birthday and I was on vacation with my wife, 2 kids, and mother in law. We complained to the manager who was nice enough to transfer us to Barcelo Palace which was an excellent property, incomparable to this. We had a great vacation staying at the palace. As we were leaving my mother in law checked her purse which she did not lock up in the safe, the housekeeper managed to sneak out a $100 bill from the envelope inside. We filed a report, of course we did not except anything to come out of it. Dont be deceived by the beautiful photos, this is a horrible resort. Please do not stay here unless you get some super deal. And lock up your stuff in the safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crux
Business
New York
Jun 29, 2010

The good, bad and the ugly.

I don't ask for too much, but we have to move from the first room because a water leak coming from the bathroom ceiling right on top of your head when sitting on the toilet. When we moved to the next room, that one also had a water leak in the bathroom coming from the upper bathroom bathtub to mine. It was a horrible experience. The food at the buffet also terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top