$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
576 reviews
Honeymoon

best honeymoon ever. great staff. good food. great entertainment. See full review

  • Miss Anne 4682
  • Nov 28, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

Great place to stay, takes your family there anytime, you will not be disappointed See full review

  • Seba
  • Nov 21, 2014
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (576)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 576
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Sep 10, 2009

the stay was not good my mom got sick

my mom got sick because of the food I think they should clean better their salads in order for people not to get sick and get ridiculous doctors bill. people go on vacation not to get additional bills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati, ohio
Sep 16, 2010

Punta Cana Barcelo Premium

Check-in was slow--staff appeared to be overhwelmed. i bought two superior ocean views rooms to be together. The rooms were on differnt floors--not good for kids. Even worse our room was infested with ants and roaches. They were even on my wife and myself in bed at night! The kids had bugs as well. Complaining only got us a can of bug spray! I would never stay at the place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2011

Worst vacation experience in my life

[...] the bathroom had water leaking on the floor from a broken toilet tank. 2. CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! what Service? the service was HORRIBLE - ZERO! ZERO! The buffet food was not good, the best meal was at the Japanese restaurant for the first night - we try again the second night and it was a mess (different chef or should I say waiter/floor sweepter/chef) I understand the workers had many duties which is beyond their control but if Management want to visitors to return to Barcelo Punta Cana - they need to have major work done to the hotel bathrooms - It was scarry to use thinking you may end up with more germs by just getting your hands washed. Yes, the beach was lovely but after doing early morning walks with other English speaking vacationers from Boston, Maryland, South Carolina, Philly this hotel is not acceptable for people who travel on vacation on a regular basis nad knows what customer service is like - yes I know the weather is hot and there is cultureal differences in the way we do things but this kind of service is unaccpetable. In addition some of the guest from other Spanish speaking countries were so rude we Americans felt like we were invading their territory. I have gone to Mexico and Spain, France and other countries whose language is not enlgish and was never treated in such a rude manner before. This horrible experience was shared by many Americans who stayed at this hotel - we all had a big joke of the crazy, sickness and other stuff we experience while standing in line at the airport to board our respective flights - each person had a bad experience at their respective hotel. Yes, there were French Canadian, Germans, people from Cuba, Venuzula and other spanish speaking countries and if they are ok with this kind of service we are not and Barcelo Punta Cana is not ready to accomodate us. A group of us is planning to create a website of our horrible experiences - Yes the beach is great but that's all we had going - normally you go to an all inclusive hotel and you have activities for the children here it wa sjust the music on it's own an that was it. Would I ever recommend anyone to this hotel ot location NEVER - ther are too many other beautiful hotels in the Caribbean to waste our money. One lady ordered wash rags and she did not get them until 3 days after and the next day the room attendant took them and did not replace them. THE WORST VACATION EVER - only light was the beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dom Rep
Business
Chicago, IL
May 27, 2012

Perfect Location, NOTHING than that !!!!

The hotel was terrible, the rooms needed a lot of work ! The ceiling in the bathroom leaked, the room had a smell of mold. Our room was in building 3 and there was a constant music coming from the pool or frrom the lobby at night. If you need a family vacation and you need to relax, that is deffinitily not the right place to go with. The kids pool was nice, but there were unattended dogs swimming in it or barking at the beach. I am giving 1 star rating only because of the beautiful beach. I would not recommend that hotel and would not go back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you would like to make a reservation for any of the restaurants, go as early as possible at the customer service desk - they open at 9:00 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris the vacationer
Business
San Diego
Aug 28, 2012

vactioning

The room has lots of ants & mosquitos. Employees there not customer oriented. Reservation for formal dinning is really bad. Unable to reserve the same day or next day meal after an hour waiting in line to book. There's no coffee or tea in the room 1/2 of time we stay there. Either they ran out or not being filled. there's no non-smoking area designated. People smoke almost everywhere, in the lobby, the hall way, pool, beach, etc.... The fruits were not fresh & not many variety. The food is pretty much the same daily & doesn't taste good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEE Traveler
Business
New York
Sep 11, 2012

Inconsistent, disappointing and not a good value at all

I went here for a week in August with my boyfriend and a few friends. We arrived around 2:30, had our suitcases taken by some men at the curb and after waiting for almost 30 minutes in the check-in line were told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4. We went and got lunch and came back around 4:15- rooms still weren't ready. We sat in the lobby until after 6 that night waiting for our rooms - we couldn't even change into our bathing suits since our suitcases had been taken when we arrived. We wasted almost half a day of our vacation and did not receive an apology or any acknowledgement of the inconvenience. This was a trend among the staff during our stay- some of them were very nice and helpful, but most were dismissive or outwardly unfriendly- some even rolled their eyes or openly ignored us when we were standing there. Our rooms were in the renovated section and looked okay at first glance but on closer inspection were not very nice at all. Our patio door didn't lock, our air conditioner broke the second night, our toilet clogged or overflowed almost every single day and the key card lock on the outside of the door also broke, locking us out of our room for almost an entire day while we repeatedly had to visit the front desk to ask them to fix it. In fact, every single one of these incidents required multiple phone calls or visits to the front desk before they were fixed. By the 3rd day I felt like I'd spent more time in line at the front desk than at the beach! There are a lot of general inconsistencies as well. For example, my room didn't have a bathtub but my friend's room next door did. We only got 2 towels in our room the first day (no bathmat, handtowels, washcloths etc...) but then had 6 a few days later. Some days the room was cleaned, some days not. Two of my friends, in two different rooms, had dark red stains on their sheets when they checked in and several of us had drinks that had clearly been opened and used in our mini bars when we checked in. And just a general warning- the Casino is a huge scam. It is advertised as a hotel amenity but it runs a well known scam called "Bonus Bingo" (sometimes called "Caribbean Keno") in it. It targets guests right when they enter and fortunately, we were warned by another guest and stopped playing it before we lost too much money (the guest was subsequently removed from the casino by security- very sketchy). I looked it up in the internet cafe the next day and sure enough, there was a ton of information on it- the game is rigged to be unwinnable. We spoke to the hotel Accommodations Manager about it the next day and he told us that the casino is actually privately owned and has nothing to do with the hotel. We were able to get some of our money back from the casino by complaining (basically fighting with them for days) but I was appalled and disgusted that the hotel advertises the casino as an amenity when they actually do not oversee it to make sure it's legitimate. And that they knowingly allow their guests to be scammed on a regular basis on their property. This is not a place that I would ever go back to nor would I ever recommend it to others. Definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it and was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey and Cynthia
Business
Yonkers, NY
Jan 16, 2013

Worst vacation EVER

My family's experience at this hotel was horrible from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Upon arrival at around 3 o'clock we waited forever for check-in to find out our room was not yet ready. Check in does begin at 3! They sent us to get something to eat. An hour and a half later we finally get our key to head to our room. Took another hour to get our luggage which sat in the lobby the whole time until we went back down to see what the delay was. More problems upon arriving at our room. When booking the vacation we requested a king size bed and we were given a double bed room. The wouldn't change our room because supposedly all rooms were occupied. I had asked for a crib because we were traveling with our month old baby. The dirty and broken crib was placed outside the room. A wooden bar was missing where a baby could've had their head lodged and the upper bar was broken with nails sticking out, not supporting it up at all. The bare mattress was filthy with small pieces of what seemed to be cement or sheet rock which my baby could have injested. We called the front desk and asked to have the crib taken away and requested a fold up bed. The woman at the front desk gave us a run around and told us we had to call a different number. After hearing our frustration she said she would send up the fold up bed in 10 minutes. In the mean time we left the room and returned back to the same crib which they nailed back together, cleaned up, and covered with a sheet.Our room was also not very clean. After my older son took off his shoes and jumped on the bed we saw foreign hair he picked up on his feet from the floor on the already stained white sheets. The food was terrible. My wife ended up with a stomach virus on our last night there. It was close to impossible to get dinner reservations at their restaurants. They would only start taking reservations the day of and everyday we went at 9am which is when they started making them every restaruant was already full so we were forced to eat at the buffet whose food was far from good. Let me not forget the nasty drinks, Presidentes was the only way to go. We had to shower with cold water pretty much every day. NO HOT Water...seriously! The only good thing was the kiddle water park our older son enjoyed and the beach which was beautiful but very rough. Personnel at this hotel was not helpful or accommodating. We also got left by the shuttle bus who was supposed to drive us over to the shopping area because the bell boy up front failed to point it out to us after we waited for over 30 minutes. Entertainment at the hotel was poor and we found ourselves bored often. We felt very disappointed with our stay and the hotel certainly didn't meet our expectations. We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly not return to it ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JCPT
Business
WHITE PLAINS, NY
Jan 16, 2013

DIRTY/POOR SERVICE

HOTEL ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN(PHONE SMELLED LIKE DIRTY STAGNANT WATER-SEEMED LIKE THEY USE THE SAME RAG TO WIPE EVERYTHING). I SHOWERED 3 1/2 OUT OF 4 NIGHTS WITHOUT HOT WATER BECAUSE IT DID NOT WORK AND SHOWER HEAD WAS BROKEN. THE SERVICE MEN AT THE FRONT OF THE HOTEL NEVER BROUGHT OUR LUGGAGE UP AND MY ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN I CHECKED IN AT 3PM. THE FOOD WAS DISGUSTING AND MY DAD AND SISTER IN LAW GOT SICK OFF THE FOOD. THE ROOM WHERE MY BROTHER STAYED HAD A CRIB READY FOR MY NEPHEW WITH A DIRTY MATTRESS AND A NAIL STICKING OUT OF IT. THE HOTEL SUPPOSE TO BE ALL INCLUSIVE AND THERE WAS NO LIQUEUR OR BEER IN THE REFRIGERATOR AND THE FRIDGE DID NOT COOL THE ITEMS INSIDE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

FIND A NICE RESTAURANT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mejram
Business
Texas
Aug 12, 2013

DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!

Not what you see in the pictures. Personnel was ok but the rooms were horrible. The air condition was broken, lights go out, ants in the room, bed bugs, and the sheets smelled bad. When it rained one night and the water came in our room. Internet you had to pay it was a rip off. You had to wait a long time for your food when you had reservations. The food was not good! We will not return to this hotel not even if we were to go for free...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
east 5
Business
punta cana
Sep 15, 2013

vacation

the hotel and pool were beautiful. the buffet was lousy, towels smelled like mold, the help at the front desk didnt understand english, the toilets didnt work, sreaming child so they changed the room,and then found other peoples luggage in our room so we changed our room again. I've traveled all over the world but i will never go to punta cana ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top