$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
573 reviews
great get away

everything was great from staff to food. made me feel welcomed. See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Jul 24, 2014
Great

Lots of fun. Staff is friendly. Kids pool. Adults pool with bar. Beach is right on the outskirts. See full review

  • Nuuk
  • Jul 21, 2014
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (573)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
573 out of 573
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mammasita
Business
Easton, PA
Jul 16, 2010

"Overated"- don't waste your money

We were so disappointed with this resort. We stayed at the Barcelo Tropical in the Riviera Maya, Mexico, last summer and had a great experience there so we thought we would try the Barcelo in Punta Cana this summer. This was our third time in Punta Cana and it will definitely be our last. It was just a bad experience all around. The food and service is not very good and the resort could be much cleaner. It just seems the Dominican workers lack good customer service. If you stay in Mexico, it's all about customer service. Make sure you take your own wash cloths with you if you stay at any resort in Punta Cana, because they are so hard to get. Also, make sure you take lots of Immodium AD with you because most likely your whole family will be using it. We drank bottled water so it must have been the food or the ice that made us sick. The one thing we did enjoy was the beach, the water is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2010

No so good...

The checking took 3hrs bcs they dont have any organization...You make a line to check in and they give you an envelope and then you wait for the keys. The staff was very disrespectful and sarcastic...We asked for a manager various time and they alwayws had and excuse...Only 1 computer was working.When I finally got to my room to take a shower, there was no towels so I dry myself up with a washcloth...Compare with my family my room was good but some family members had no air conditiones, roach and ant in the room, some outlets didnt work and my aunt got in to her room the bed was not make and had blood stains...At the buffet the fruits look old but the food was decent...That nigh went we went to the bar all the alcohol has name that I never heard in my life and the top shelf was Beefeater, Cutty Sark and Jose Cuervo ...Who drinks beefeater??? Even the Pina Coladas looks like old milk and taste like coconut milk...You have to wake up early in the morning to make reservations for the restaurant but by 9am were full but when u go to the restaurant they were empty all the time...Me and my son got sick for two days with stomache and diarrhea...The so call disco look like a dungeon I could even touch the ceiling...I was there for 10 minutes and I felt like I was in a sauna no air conditioner only by the bar...I think I lost 5lbs in 10 minutes...The only good thing about it is the pools they have a quiet one for ppl that want to relax of have small kids and on the other side a pool with a bar and music and very good restaurant...Everybody that I spoke that were staying in that hotel were very dissapointed nobody had anything good to say about it only the price...I will never go back to the hotel instead of a relaxing vacation with family it was a nightmare...and Im a very easy going person...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 6, 2010

Great location......horrible service

Compared to previous trips to Dominican Republic, this was the worst. It's sad to say because the facility itself (the rooms,the view, pool, beach) was gorgeous, but the service was horrible. The staff doesnt inform you of the facility amenities or entertainment. You need to walk around or ask to find anything. The food wasnt good either (wasnt very typical). The liquor is also not top shelf and you can truly tell the difference. If you purchase transportation to and from the hotel, be careful as well. They will try to sell you excursions that are not worth what they try to charge. Also they will not contact you for pickup....we ended up paying for a cab to the airport, even though we had already paid for transportation. We waited for bell service and they never showed, so we had to take our own luggage down. When we arrived they said van service had left, yet no one called us or informed them that we were waiting. I guess it didnt matter since it was already paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You have to walk around and find things on your own, they dont tell you where anything is unless you ask.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
edmonton,ab
Mar 14, 2011

Worst hotel service & poor food quality

The main thing that made this trip worth it was the gorgeous beach! The front desk staff were not friendly in the least, both my husband and I got sick 3x from the food. I spoke with other travelers and they too got sick. Our room had problems, half of the lights didnt work, the hot water was hard to set, and the walls are sooo thin that you can hear people walking as they go down the hall. And at the buffet, I went up a few times to get my husband and I drinks; sometimes we would get them when we ordered other times we would just do it ourselves...Very poor service and I highly recommend spending the extra few hundred for a much more relaxed vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sebastiano Lapi
Business
Houston, TX. USA
Jan 7, 2011

Ripped off!!!!

Good:- Swimming pools for kids and adults- Beach: any hotel will have it- Service: People was very nice. But the lack of management to maintain the facilities dulled it.Bad:- First day we got at 11:00 p.m. and all the restaurants were closed nowhere to eat.- Second day "[...]" canceled our reservations we have to wait for 3 hours to get the issue solved with infants waiting to be fed and changed.- The room that they show in the web page has nothing to do whit the one assigned to us.- Room very old: mattress, pillows, sheets, etc- No hot water sometimes. Spent everyday 5-10 minutes everyday trying to get a comfortable water temperature to showers faucets very old.- At 3:00 p.m. the room was not done yet and if it was ready no towels until late in the evening.- The room door was tilt dragging with the floor very difficult to open and close. Fixed after a couple of days. - The food generally speaking was awful, old and reheated food, green flies around the food in the buffet. We got upset stomach.- Service to attend problems very slow, every time I called the answer was "I will report the issue in the system" after 3rd or 4th call issue was solved when solved.- Last day we had a early checkout 6:00 p.m. all the lights in the corridors were off, we had to walk in the dark until the lobby.I will not go back to this hotel and I do not recommend this to anybody. I did not receive the service that I paid for. Many people that we talked to had the same issue.They have a couple of remodeled rooms that are much better but very few. The ones showed in the internet but you cannot tell the difference when you book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Mar 20, 2011

Worst service ever but beautiful resort

Check in took 3 hours and they only spoke very broken English. Our room wasn't ready until 4 hours after our 3 PM check in. Drinks were watered down, no service with a smile, often smelled like sewers when walking around the resort, room was not ocean view when we paid for it, we had to wait in line to make a dinner reservation every day and if you are a guy not wearing pants or closed toe shoes they would refuse to let you make a reservation. Girls had no problem as long as you were in a sun-dress or more. [...]There wasn't running water when we got there for the first whole day and we didn't have electricity for most mornings. They also didn't purchase us plane tickets that guaranteed us a seat so we were put on standby for the flight back until I had to freak out at the check in counter and they guaranteed us seats and took our bags out of the stand-by area. I also got Montezuma's Revenge even though I didn't drink the water so I assume it was from the foot or unfiltered water in ice cubes. Worst spring break ever and I'm going to dispute the charge on my credit card bill. The beaches were beautiful and the resort was nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portland, oregon
Sep 19, 2010

This Hotel really sucks!!

This was the worst hotel I have ever been to. It started with the staff as soon as we arrived. Rude, unfriendly and very unorganized. Our room was not what we expected. Very dirty. The noise was horrible all through the night. We had to changed our room twice. The food at this place was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Will Try Another Resort
Business
United States
Jul 5, 2009

Price Performer, But Has Rough Spots

The rooms are outdated, about 25-30 years old is my guess. From what we learned after arriving if you don't get a room in buildings 1, 2, or 3, STAY HOME. We were in bldg. 6, outdated, the bathroom fixtures barely worked as they were simply worn out. The place is reasonably clean, but not spick and span clean. The staff is unorganized and not very helpful, check-in was chaotic and took about 3 hours. Prepare to get nicely aggressive; it is the only way to get through to the staff. We got our room assignment and bracelets then headed to bar to wait for two hours for our room to be cleaned. The common grounds were reasonably nice, but you could tell they were fairly old. The beach and water are wonderful; however, the hotel staff rarely cleaned up after guests who left glasses and dishes lying around in the beach area. A little care and picking up the beach area on daily basis would have made it near perfect. The gym sucked, outfitted with outdated equipment. We felt shortchanged on the specialty restaurants as we only got 2 dinners, we tried to get a third but was turned down. Otherwise the resort food was reasonable. Forget the [...]/Orbitz airport transportation, save your money. It was run by a local tour operator named COCO Tours, the ride from the airport to the hotel was fine; but they failed to show at the pre-agreed to time on return trip. We were so close missing our flight that we ended up being forced to grab a cab that we had to pay for to make our flight. Even after repeated contact with the COCO Tour agent, they were a no-show. Grab your own cab and save yourself the frustration. If you looking simply at price and want to go on the cheap, this place is a reasonable choice, if you want top quality and something really special, LOOK ELSEWHERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oxana
Business
New York
Jan 21, 2011

Disappointed

We arrived check in time(3:00pm) and the room was not ready.staff was very rude. beach and ocean are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana
May 17, 2011

Food was bad

I enjoyed the staff, but the food was not good at all. The hotel is not as clean as other Bacelo's I visited during my trip. It can take up to three hours to get a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do not leave the hotel to go shopping, its not a good experience, as soon as you get to the market you get attacked. The hotel staff are friendly and have activities thorough out the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top