$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
592 reviews
awesome place

The stay was awesome, staff was great! The food and entertainment was excellent......i would go... See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Feb 21, 2015
Quick gateway- Loyal guest

We have stayed at Barcelo since 2009 and we love it. We always get excellent service. The staff is... See full review

  • Linette
  • Jan 7, 2015
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (592)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
592 out of 592
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deborah Sad birthday girl!
Business
Long Island, N.Y.
Dec 5, 2010

Horrible experience!!!!!!

We arrived after check in time(3:00pm) and the room was not ready. Waited an additional hour before we could get into our room. Tried to get reservation for dinner in one of the five resturants *all booked*. Can not get reservation until the following morning for that evening and the line was over an hour wait when finally your turn to make reservation and the 5 dining areas are full. ***Was buffet every night and not good foods. Food was not good! First night cockroach in bed, notified front desk nothing was done. Do not disturb sign on door housekeeping disregarded the notice on door and entered with out knocking, we were naked and intimate at that moment. Notified front desk. Nothing done. Day two killed another cockroach in the bathroom. No clean towels as housekeeping never cleaned the room. Notified front desk was told someone would take care of the roach situtation and the towels. At 10 pm with do not disturb notice on door housekeeping walks in NOT knocking, we are naked again and intitmate she says towels and puts them into the bathroom. Day three elevators not working and there are workmen welding the wrought iron that holds the stain glass windows and they are on third floor I do not know until I am on the steps when hot sparks are sparkling on me as I walk up the stairs (elevator two of them out of order). The area where they are working is not closed off to the guests. I am showering and housekeeping walks in bathroom I screamed and they left towels on the bed. Baby roaches in bathroom, Front desk notified!!! Three hours later same stair way all equipment left unattented. Finally someone came to our room to spray for roaches and the odor was unbearable we were told to open the sliding glass door. Day four we booked excursion that was mis represented and we can not get refund. Day five we go to casino to try our luck. Steve hits on blazing 7 three on the same pay line the winning should be $989.67 when he shows attendant the attendant said you didn't win anything because you didn't have the right coin amount in machine. That machine and other machines were broken and we were told can't play that machine but no signs on machines that were out of order. When we asked attendant why dont you put signs he said it is the way it is. This vacation was suppose to be a celebration of my 50th birthday. I can say I will never forget how awful it was. I can not believe this hotel to be a five star top rating location. The grounds are pretty the beach is nice, the pool area was clean but the people who work in this hotel are rude, obnoxious and not friendly. Would never recommend this hotel. Took pictures because no one would believe it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central jersey
Nov 8, 2009

I wanted to cry and run away

Terrible and disappointing. when we first arrived, it looked like every single family from the island was there. overcrowded. I hated the fact that locals get very low fare to stay at this place. over 1,000 locals were at the buffet, making noise and very rude. I was hungry and tier and couldn't even find a plate to eat, when i finally found a plate I was turned off, the food was a mess. I just wanted to run away and leave the place. but minutes later i was informed that it was only crowded over the weekends. I had to way to get my room. then, i was send to a regular room when i paid for ocean view. to make long story short, I would never stay here again. My sheets were never change. i saw bugs in the bathroom. Positive- the beach was super clean and beautiful, The pools were very clean and the staff was friendly, but management was not efficient. the Dominican restaurant was good. dont waste your money at this place. It is a shame because the hotel is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

prices were reasonable, the shops had cute things....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mammasita
Business
Easton, PA
Jul 16, 2010

"Overated"- don't waste your money

We were so disappointed with this resort. We stayed at the Barcelo Tropical in the Riviera Maya, Mexico, last summer and had a great experience there so we thought we would try the Barcelo in Punta Cana this summer. This was our third time in Punta Cana and it will definitely be our last. It was just a bad experience all around. The food and service is not very good and the resort could be much cleaner. It just seems the Dominican workers lack good customer service. If you stay in Mexico, it's all about customer service. Make sure you take your own wash cloths with you if you stay at any resort in Punta Cana, because they are so hard to get. Also, make sure you take lots of Immodium AD with you because most likely your whole family will be using it. We drank bottled water so it must have been the food or the ice that made us sick. The one thing we did enjoy was the beach, the water is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2010

No so good...

The checking took 3hrs bcs they dont have any organization...You make a line to check in and they give you an envelope and then you wait for the keys. The staff was very disrespectful and sarcastic...We asked for a manager various time and they alwayws had and excuse...Only 1 computer was working.When I finally got to my room to take a shower, there was no towels so I dry myself up with a washcloth...Compare with my family my room was good but some family members had no air conditiones, roach and ant in the room, some outlets didnt work and my aunt got in to her room the bed was not make and had blood stains...At the buffet the fruits look old but the food was decent...That nigh went we went to the bar all the alcohol has name that I never heard in my life and the top shelf was Beefeater, Cutty Sark and Jose Cuervo ...Who drinks beefeater??? Even the Pina Coladas looks like old milk and taste like coconut milk...You have to wake up early in the morning to make reservations for the restaurant but by 9am were full but when u go to the restaurant they were empty all the time...Me and my son got sick for two days with stomache and diarrhea...The so call disco look like a dungeon I could even touch the ceiling...I was there for 10 minutes and I felt like I was in a sauna no air conditioner only by the bar...I think I lost 5lbs in 10 minutes...The only good thing about it is the pools they have a quiet one for ppl that want to relax of have small kids and on the other side a pool with a bar and music and very good restaurant...Everybody that I spoke that were staying in that hotel were very dissapointed nobody had anything good to say about it only the price...I will never go back to the hotel instead of a relaxing vacation with family it was a nightmare...and Im a very easy going person...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 6, 2010

Great location......horrible service

Compared to previous trips to Dominican Republic, this was the worst. It's sad to say because the facility itself (the rooms,the view, pool, beach) was gorgeous, but the service was horrible. The staff doesnt inform you of the facility amenities or entertainment. You need to walk around or ask to find anything. The food wasnt good either (wasnt very typical). The liquor is also not top shelf and you can truly tell the difference. If you purchase transportation to and from the hotel, be careful as well. They will try to sell you excursions that are not worth what they try to charge. Also they will not contact you for pickup....we ended up paying for a cab to the airport, even though we had already paid for transportation. We waited for bell service and they never showed, so we had to take our own luggage down. When we arrived they said van service had left, yet no one called us or informed them that we were waiting. I guess it didnt matter since it was already paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You have to walk around and find things on your own, they dont tell you where anything is unless you ask.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crux
Business
New York
Jun 29, 2010

The good, bad and the ugly.

I don't ask for too much, but we have to move from the first room because a water leak coming from the bathroom ceiling right on top of your head when sitting on the toilet. When we moved to the next room, that one also had a water leak in the bathroom coming from the upper bathroom bathtub to mine. It was a horrible experience. The food at the buffet also terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MR. METRO
Business
LAS VEGAS, NV
Nov 27, 2010

Barcelo Punta Cana UUGGGHHHHH!

TERRIBLE - DIRTY ROOM/SHEETS. AIR COND DID NOT WORK CORRECTLY(WOULD NOT ADJUST/SHUT DOWN, ALWAYS COLD) NIGHT MANAGER RUDE AND INSULTING. I DID NOT STAY ONE NIGHT AT THIS HORRIBLE PLACE, I MOVED TO ANOTHER RESORT (THE HARD ROCK) NIGHT AND DAY DIFFERENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLORIDA
Jul 6, 2009

THE WORST DAYS OF MY LIVE

I AM ON MY WAY TO MY DR WITH SEVERE CASE OF LIQUID DIARRHEAS FOR THREE DAYS. VERY POOR QUALITY FOOD. NO AIR CONDITIONING IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY Long Island
Jul 30, 2010

Jacqueline Torres

The wait time was ridiculous.I didn't like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bedford, NH
Jan 1, 2011

Very very bad service

* Water fall from the bathroom ceiling. * Shower doesn't work. * After the flight was cancel because the snowstorm in Boston, the hotel increase their price by $68/ person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park with slide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top