$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
574 reviews
great get away

everything was great from staff to food. made me feel welcomed. See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Jul 24, 2014
Great

Lots of fun. Staff is friendly. Kids pool. Adults pool with bar. Beach is right on the outskirts. See full review

  • Nuuk
  • Jul 21, 2014
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (574)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
574 out of 574
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slimsassy
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2009

Barcelo, Punta Cana Premium

When we arrived at the hotel, we had to wait about two hours just to get to our room. We were told about every half hour to wait just a few minutes more. When we finally got to our room, the tub was dirty and there was a hole in the middle of the wall, filled up with tissue. Also, we had to beg the staff to give us wash cloths and towels. My friends' room had a leak coming from the ceiling and they also had no towels or wash cloths. At night, huge mice could be seen running around the pool. The only thing great about Barcelo was the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 9, 2009

Horrible hotel, pick another one!!!

The hotel is very pretty, but if you get a room from building 4-7, get ready for horrible rooms. The rooms are full of bugs and mosquitos, they are dirty, and everything is rusted. I had to change rooms 3 times, and it was a mission to do because their staff does not care. I have never had such a bad experience with a hotel. Take mosquito repellent because I had so many mosquito bites on my face that my eyelids swelled up. Pick another hotel if you can because this one stinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2010

Won't ever go back.

Food is not very good, staff isn't very helpful and restaurant reservation situation is a joke. Girl working guest services desk is very helpful so make sure you talk to her. WATCH WHAT YOU EAT AND WHEN YOU EAT IT, if you eat at the buffets eat in the first hour its open. I ended up getting a tropical bacteria and spending the night in a medical clinic where almost no one spoke English, ruined our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trip loving Mom
Business
Nebraska
Jul 17, 2010

Not so good in Punta Cana

Took forever to check in...We had a hard time getting towels replaced after they cleaned our room. The food was always cold!!! Would not recommend this Hotel...and to top it off my cell phone was stolen out of our room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

WE did have fun on our excursion to Catalina Island...would recommend doing this we had a great time and the staff was alot of fun!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
Jul 19, 2010

Really Awful

very unfriendly staff had to stand in line to request dinner reservations, very disorganized check in process, not one person at the hotel asked if we had a nice time. would never recomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly Squared
Business
New York City
Dec 4, 2010

Would NOT recommend

By far the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in!! Slow service, staff barely spoke English and all pool activities were in Spanish so you can't participate even if you wanted to, no pool towels for 3 out of 5 days, buffet food was not replenished, difficult to get restaurant reservations, rooms are outdated, the rooms "mini bar" only consisted of 2 cans of beer, absolutely NO room service after 10:30pm. It was a very cheap trip, and we definitely got what we paid for!!! The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 11, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach - horrendous

We were moved to the Barcelo Dominican Beach after being bumped from the 4 star Barcelo Punta Cana[...] It was absolutely disgusting. We requested a room change two times because it either smelled like smoke (even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room) or the room had something broken (sliding glass door wouldn't lock and we were on the first floor). The food was the worst part of the entire trip. Every single person in our group got some form of food sickness and missed an entire day on the beach at some point during the week. The hotel staff was very rude and offered no help and little compensation for our travel troubles (I speak fluent Spanish and they still ignored us). It was overrun with college kids on spring break. One afternoon a trip company threw a pool party (I'm assuming with the consent of the hotel b/c it was never shut down) in the main pool and the drunk college girls took their tops off while participating in a wet t-shirt company in the midst of children and families. These drunk college students were openly throwing up in the pool. On the last day of our trip a dead mouse was fished out from the pool. Also, one of the rooms in our group saw a mouse scurry across their floor on the day we checked out. All in all it was a terrible trip and [...] I am never staying at a Barcelo ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 9, 2010

WORST VACATION EVER!

This was my 3rd time vacationing in DR and it was the most horrific experience I had encountered. First when we got there, our room wasn't ready so we waited an hour and at 4 pm we were taken to our room. When we got there, we noticed that the beds weren't made; the pillow cases and the duvet weren't put on yet. My friend was going to make herself a coffee but she noticed that the glass cup they had in the room was dirty so she passed on that. The shower handle holder literally came off the wall and the pillows smelled like wet rag. The 3rd night we were there the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking and I don't mean dripping water, it was literally coming down like a waterfall. It took them a while to come and fix it. The staff was very unfriendly (not all but most of them) and most of them don't speak English. They were really slow in getting you things such as water when you asked for it. They have the locals come and pay half price during the weekend so it gets really loud. They serve Spanish people first when you go to their dining areas or to the bar. The food at the resort was not that great and they serve the same thing everyday. If you want to make a reservation for one of the restaurants for dinner, you have to get to the lobby at 9 AM and there is a huge line. It took us 30 min every morning to make a reservation. On the first night we asked if we could make the reservation for dinner for all the nights we were going to stay there but they said no and that we had to come in the morning everyday to make the reservations. At the Italian restaurant, I ordered a Tiramisu and they had a sauce below the cake and when I ate it, it was GRAVY! My friend ordered the same thing and she insisted it wasn't gravy so I had her try mine and she was like "yup, they put gravy on yours" Hers had a sweet caramel sauce and since they are the same color, they had mistaken the gravy for caramel.The manager there was really rude when we told him about our room situation and not once did he apologize to us. They were going to move us to a room with a smaller bathroom and I complained and told him we wanted the same size bathroom. He said they were all the same size when clearly it wasn't. We planned on moving to the room with the smaller bathroom but our other friends said they fixed the ceiling so we decided to just stay. The next day the ceiling leaked again and we called the front desk and they said they would send someone up to fix it. An hour passed and no one came so we called again and once again they said they would send someone but no one came. At this point the ceiling stopped leaking and it was our last night there so we just packed up our stuff and couldn't wait to go back to NY. We met a woman who was from America and she had complained about the service and told us how her bathroom was clogged and she and her daughters and to keep going downstairs to use the public bathroom since no one came to fix it in their room for the whole day. We met a couple from New Jersey and they were really unhappy with the service there and they were annoyed with the fact that nobody who worked at the resort spoke English. We were glad to know we weren't the only ones who noticed what a terrible place this resort was. The beach was nice but that was about it. Most people take bad reviews with a grain of salt but if you want to have a good vacation DO NOT GO TO BARCELO PUNTA CANA!!! This was the first time ever that I had wanted to go home from vacation. If you are the type of person that look for good service, good food, friendly staff, and clean facilities for your vacation you DO NOT want to come here. I read the reviews from [...] the week before we went on the trip and I regretted booking the trip here but it was too late and it was booked so I just hoped that people's reviews were wrong. I wish I had seen the reviews in advance then I would NOT have booked my vacation at this resort. We had paid for the transportation to get to the airport...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deborah Sad birthday girl!
Business
Long Island, N.Y.
Dec 5, 2010

Horrible experience!!!!!!

We arrived after check in time(3:00pm) and the room was not ready. Waited an additional hour before we could get into our room. Tried to get reservation for dinner in one of the five resturants *all booked*. Can not get reservation until the following morning for that evening and the line was over an hour wait when finally your turn to make reservation and the 5 dining areas are full. ***Was buffet every night and not good foods. Food was not good! First night cockroach in bed, notified front desk nothing was done. Do not disturb sign on door housekeeping disregarded the notice on door and entered with out knocking, we were naked and intimate at that moment. Notified front desk. Nothing done. Day two killed another cockroach in the bathroom. No clean towels as housekeeping never cleaned the room. Notified front desk was told someone would take care of the roach situtation and the towels. At 10 pm with do not disturb notice on door housekeeping walks in NOT knocking, we are naked again and intitmate she says towels and puts them into the bathroom. Day three elevators not working and there are workmen welding the wrought iron that holds the stain glass windows and they are on third floor I do not know until I am on the steps when hot sparks are sparkling on me as I walk up the stairs (elevator two of them out of order). The area where they are working is not closed off to the guests. I am showering and housekeeping walks in bathroom I screamed and they left towels on the bed. Baby roaches in bathroom, Front desk notified!!! Three hours later same stair way all equipment left unattented. Finally someone came to our room to spray for roaches and the odor was unbearable we were told to open the sliding glass door. Day four we booked excursion that was mis represented and we can not get refund. Day five we go to casino to try our luck. Steve hits on blazing 7 three on the same pay line the winning should be $989.67 when he shows attendant the attendant said you didn't win anything because you didn't have the right coin amount in machine. That machine and other machines were broken and we were told can't play that machine but no signs on machines that were out of order. When we asked attendant why dont you put signs he said it is the way it is. This vacation was suppose to be a celebration of my 50th birthday. I can say I will never forget how awful it was. I can not believe this hotel to be a five star top rating location. The grounds are pretty the beach is nice, the pool area was clean but the people who work in this hotel are rude, obnoxious and not friendly. Would never recommend this hotel. Took pictures because no one would believe it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central jersey
Nov 8, 2009

I wanted to cry and run away

Terrible and disappointing. when we first arrived, it looked like every single family from the island was there. overcrowded. I hated the fact that locals get very low fare to stay at this place. over 1,000 locals were at the buffet, making noise and very rude. I was hungry and tier and couldn't even find a plate to eat, when i finally found a plate I was turned off, the food was a mess. I just wanted to run away and leave the place. but minutes later i was informed that it was only crowded over the weekends. I had to way to get my room. then, i was send to a regular room when i paid for ocean view. to make long story short, I would never stay here again. My sheets were never change. i saw bugs in the bathroom. Positive- the beach was super clean and beautiful, The pools were very clean and the staff was friendly, but management was not efficient. the Dominican restaurant was good. dont waste your money at this place. It is a shame because the hotel is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

prices were reasonable, the shops had cute things....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top