$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
949 reviews
Great vacation

It was a perfect place for vacation. It was our second time in Barcelo and this time I liked it... See full review

  • Joanna 70
  • Aug 12, 2013
Fantastic gateway from buzy life

Hotel.was really nice, excellent food, and good show's every night, recommend to everybody See full review

  • Andruha
  • Jun 20, 2013
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (949)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
949 out of 949
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
central jersey
Nov 8, 2009

I wanted to cry and run away

Terrible and disappointing. when we first arrived, it looked like every single family from the island was there. overcrowded. I hated the fact that locals get very low fare to stay at this place. over 1,000 locals were at the buffet, making noise and very rude. I was hungry and tier and couldn't even find a plate to eat, when i finally found a plate I was turned off, the food was a mess. I just wanted to run away and leave the place. but minutes later i was informed that it was only crowded over the weekends. I had to way to get my room. then, i was send to a regular room when i paid for ocean view. to make long story short, I would never stay here again. My sheets were never change. i saw bugs in the bathroom. Positive- the beach was super clean and beautiful, The pools were very clean and the staff was friendly, but management was not efficient. the Dominican restaurant was good. dont waste your money at this place. It is a shame because the hotel is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: In Hotel

prices were reasonable, the shops had cute things....

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jun 2, 2010

Won't ever go back.

Food is not very good, staff isn't very helpful and restaurant reservation situation is a joke. Girl working guest services desk is very helpful so make sure you talk to her. WATCH WHAT YOU EAT AND WHEN YOU EAT IT, if you eat at the buffets eat in the first hour its open. I ended up getting a tropical bacteria and spending the night in a medical clinic where almost no one spoke English, ruined our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slimsassy
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2009

Barcelo, Punta Cana Premium

When we arrived at the hotel, we had to wait about two hours just to get to our room. We were told about every half hour to wait just a few minutes more. When we finally got to our room, the tub was dirty and there was a hole in the middle of the wall, filled up with tissue. Also, we had to beg the staff to give us wash cloths and towels. My friends' room had a leak coming from the ceiling and they also had no towels or wash cloths. At night, huge mice could be seen running around the pool. The only thing great about Barcelo was the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Ma
Jul 19, 2010

Really Awful

very unfriendly staff had to stand in line to request dinner reservations, very disorganized check in process, not one person at the hotel asked if we had a nice time. would never recomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deborah Sad birthday girl!
Long Island, N.Y.
Dec 5, 2010

Horrible experience!!!!!!

We arrived after check in time(3:00pm) and the room was not ready. Waited an additional hour before we could get into our room. Tried to get reservation for dinner in one of the five resturants *all booked*. Can not get reservation until the following morning for that evening and the line was over an hour wait when finally your turn to make reservation and the 5 dining areas are full. ***Was buffet every night and not good foods. Food was not good! First night cockroach in bed, notified front desk nothing was done. Do not disturb sign on door housekeeping disregarded the notice on door and entered with out knocking, we were naked and intimate at that moment. Notified front desk. Nothing done. Day two killed another cockroach in the bathroom. No clean towels as housekeeping never cleaned the room. Notified front desk was told someone would take care of the roach situtation and the towels. At 10 pm with do not disturb notice on door housekeeping walks in NOT knocking, we are naked again and intitmate she says towels and puts them into the bathroom. Day three elevators not working and there are workmen welding the wrought iron that holds the stain glass windows and they are on third floor I do not know until I am on the steps when hot sparks are sparkling on me as I walk up the stairs (elevator two of them out of order). The area where they are working is not closed off to the guests. I am showering and housekeeping walks in bathroom I screamed and they left towels on the bed. Baby roaches in bathroom, Front desk notified!!! Three hours later same stair way all equipment left unattented. Finally someone came to our room to spray for roaches and the odor was unbearable we were told to open the sliding glass door. Day four we booked excursion that was mis represented and we can not get refund. Day five we go to casino to try our luck. Steve hits on blazing 7 three on the same pay line the winning should be $989.67 when he shows attendant the attendant said you didn't win anything because you didn't have the right coin amount in machine. That machine and other machines were broken and we were told can't play that machine but no signs on machines that were out of order. When we asked attendant why dont you put signs he said it is the way it is. This vacation was suppose to be a celebration of my 50th birthday. I can say I will never forget how awful it was. I can not believe this hotel to be a five star top rating location. The grounds are pretty the beach is nice, the pool area was clean but the people who work in this hotel are rude, obnoxious and not friendly. Would never recommend this hotel. Took pictures because no one would believe it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
central jersey
Nov 8, 2009

I wanted to cry and run away

Terrible and disappointing. when we first arrived, it looked like every single family from the island was there. overcrowded. I hated the fact that locals get very low fare to stay at this place. over 1,000 locals were at the buffet, making noise and very rude. I was hungry and tier and couldn't even find a plate to eat, when i finally found a plate I was turned off, the food was a mess. I just wanted to run away and leave the place. but minutes later i was informed that it was only crowded over the weekends. I had to way to get my room. then, i was send to a regular room when i paid for ocean view. to make long story short, I would never stay here again. My sheets were never change. i saw bugs in the bathroom. Positive- the beach was super clean and beautiful, The pools were very clean and the staff was friendly, but management was not efficient. the Dominican restaurant was good. dont waste your money at this place. It is a shame because the hotel is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: In Hotel

prices were reasonable, the shops had cute things....

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Sep 6, 2010

Great location......horrible service

Compared to previous trips to Dominican Republic, this was the worst. It's sad to say because the facility itself (the rooms,the view, pool, beach) was gorgeous, but the service was horrible. The staff doesnt inform you of the facility amenities or entertainment. You need to walk around or ask to find anything. The food wasnt good either (wasnt very typical). The liquor is also not top shelf and you can truly tell the difference. If you purchase transportation to and from the hotel, be careful as well. They will try to sell you excursions that are not worth what they try to charge. Also they will not contact you for pickup....we ended up paying for a cab to the airport, even though we had already paid for transportation. We waited for bell service and they never showed, so we had to take our own luggage down. When we arrived they said van service had left, yet no one called us or informed them that we were waiting. I guess it didnt matter since it was already paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You have to walk around and find things on your own, they dont tell you where anything is unless you ask.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 9, 2010

WORST VACATION EVER!

This was my 3rd time vacationing in DR and it was the most horrific experience I had encountered. First when we got there, our room wasn't ready so we waited an hour and at 4 pm we were taken to our room. When we got there, we noticed that the beds weren't made; the pillow cases and the duvet weren't put on yet. My friend was going to make herself a coffee but she noticed that the glass cup they had in the room was dirty so she passed on that. The shower handle holder literally came off the wall and the pillows smelled like wet rag. The 3rd night we were there the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking and I don't mean dripping water, it was literally coming down like a waterfall. It took them a while to come and fix it. The staff was very unfriendly (not all but most of them) and most of them don't speak English. They were really slow in getting you things such as water when you asked for it. They have the locals come and pay half price during the weekend so it gets really loud. They serve Spanish people first when you go to their dining areas or to the bar. The food at the resort was not that great and they serve the same thing everyday. If you want to make a reservation for one of the restaurants for dinner, you have to get to the lobby at 9 AM and there is a huge line. It took us 30 min every morning to make a reservation. On the first night we asked if we could make the reservation for dinner for all the nights we were going to stay there but they said no and that we had to come in the morning everyday to make the reservations. At the Italian restaurant, I ordered a Tiramisu and they had a sauce below the cake and when I ate it, it was GRAVY! My friend ordered the same thing and she insisted it wasn't gravy so I had her try mine and she was like "yup, they put gravy on yours" Hers had a sweet caramel sauce and since they are the same color, they had mistaken the gravy for caramel.The manager there was really rude when we told him about our room situation and not once did he apologize to us. They were going to move us to a room with a smaller bathroom and I complained and told him we wanted the same size bathroom. He said they were all the same size when clearly it wasn't. We planned on moving to the room with the smaller bathroom but our other friends said they fixed the ceiling so we decided to just stay. The next day the ceiling leaked again and we called the front desk and they said they would send someone up to fix it. An hour passed and no one came so we called again and once again they said they would send someone but no one came. At this point the ceiling stopped leaking and it was our last night there so we just packed up our stuff and couldn't wait to go back to NY. We met a woman who was from America and she had complained about the service and told us how her bathroom was clogged and she and her daughters and to keep going downstairs to use the public bathroom since no one came to fix it in their room for the whole day. We met a couple from New Jersey and they were really unhappy with the service there and they were annoyed with the fact that nobody who worked at the resort spoke English. We were glad to know we weren't the only ones who noticed what a terrible place this resort was. The beach was nice but that was about it. Most people take bad reviews with a grain of salt but if you want to have a good vacation DO NOT GO TO BARCELO PUNTA CANA!!! This was the first time ever that I had wanted to go home from vacation. If you are the type of person that look for good service, good food, friendly staff, and clean facilities for your vacation you DO NOT want to come here. I read the reviews from [...] the week before we went on the trip and I regretted booking the trip here but it was too late and it was booked so I just hoped that people's reviews were wrong. I wish I had seen the reviews in advance then I would NOT have booked my vacation at this resort. We had paid for the transportation to get to the airport...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jul 7, 2010

Horrible Experience!

The resort itself has a beautiful facility with great pools and spectacular beachfront. However, the unhelpful staff (including front desk, managers,waiters,& room attendants) make it an unpleasurable experience. We were unable to participate in watersports because there are limited supplies and times available. The gym has very old equipment and is very dirty. Housekeeping takes very long, and your room may not be done until after 3PM. I had to request towels at the front desk in person three times because there weren't sufficient in the room, and I never received them. Pools and bars should open later. Disco needs to be renovated and placed in another area that doesn't make it smell like sewer. Theater performances in English were poor; only enjoyed the performance with typical dances of DR. 7 out of 9 travelers had food poisoning by Day 4 of our trip. I've traveled quite a bit and have never experienced this. At the end of the day, the staff's attitude makes all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We had fun on two excursions out of the hotel: mudding on dune buggies and riding speed boats to snorkel.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad mommy
Northen, New Jersey
Jul 7, 2010

Worst resort I ever stayed at

This was by far the worst resort I have ever stayed in. It is all a facade. Looks beautiful on the outside very ugly on the inside. It was filthy. the cleaning person didn't spend more than 10 mins in the room, as it appeared. The shower and tube were surrounded in mold. The shower leaked onto the floor every time a shower was taken, 4 towels were needed to soak up the water. The shower above us leaked everyday which was fixed when we put a towel up in the ceiling tile. After several calls to the front desk, who don't even attempt to care, it was never resolved. Also, our refrigerator was sitting in 2 inches of water. when was brought to the repair man's attention he said he would take care of it. After we returned to our room we found his solution to the problem, he put a towel in front of the refrigerator. That was never resolved. After a visit to "Customer relations" to notify them that there was a broken door stop that was sheared off with a jagged rusty edge and I was fearful of my 8 yr old cutting his foot on it. I was told it would be taken care of, it was never resolved. They were very generous with towels, because apparently towels solve all problems! In the dining room I witnessed a waitress clear a table take a dirty napkin swipe the table a couple of times and then reset the table on the same table cloth. Several times we were seated at a table with dirty table clothes, my 8 yr old was even disgusted. The food was an absolute disgrace. I believe I've had better food in a hospital cafe! The 10% of us that were tourist all agreed the food was horrible. The lobster, I'm not sure I can really call it that was a white pastie mess. No real lobster meat to be found. Some days we'd get glass of water(don't dare ask for a refill, it will never come) other days a bottle of water. There was a dress code for the tourists and none for the local Dominican's. On some occasions Local teenagers arrived via school bus and took over the pools with their partying and drinking. Which by the way when finished with their drinks would leave their cups all over the pool and in the water. For the quiet pool, there was no such thing when the teenagers were around.Now that I mentioned that the locals were aloud in on a daily basis. It seems That the Barcelo only wants to cater to The locals. On the days that they weren't there the was no trapeze instructor or rock all instructor, all was in full service when the school buses pulled up. Barcelo was Noisy with Partying until 4am everyday and nothing was ever done about. This so called family Resort was all teenagers and alcohol.Throughout out our stay we ran into a lot of vacationers whom all feel that this resort was the absolute most horrible resort that they have ever stayed in. On a daily basis there were lines of people waiting to complain about the hazards, filth and disgust of Barcelo. Barcelo should be ashamed of themselves. I would never stay in a Barcelo resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do yourself a favor and Never stay at a Barcelo Resort.

Back to menu Return to top