$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
660 out of 660
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 2, 2010

Terrible Resort

This was the worst resort i have stayed at. The staff is unfriendly. The entire stay you serve your self. Even while you are at the beach you have to walk back to the resort for a drink. There is never any staff member available or asking you for a drink. The food sucks and it's the same food every single day. In order to make reservation for a restaurant you have to wait on a line everyday at 9am and by the time you arrive to the front all resturants are full by 9:45am. During my stay the lights went off 3xtime. The bathrooms were always extremely dirty with no toilet tissue. We waited over 2hours for dinner at the restaurants and the food was disgusting. The pool was always dirty including the chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The entertainment was the only service that made our vacation.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melanie and Ozzy
Business
NJ
Jul 31, 2011

WORST VACATION EVER!!!!

This was the worst vacation my family and I have ever taken! First, when we first got there, we were suppose to check in at 3PM and our room wasn't ready till 7PM. After we got our room, the room was a total mess. The sheets were stained, the air conditioner wasn't working, there was a leakage and we had water coming in so the floor was very very slippery. We were very upset being that we paid almost $4000 for our family trip. We complained and the front desk guy was very nasty and had a terrible attitude. Finally, I was able to speak to a manager and he promised us a better room for the following day. We didn't get our room for another 2 days!! My husband and I, as well as my children had to squeeze in my mother in laws room and sleep on the floor. The following day there was a black out. We had no electricity for the entire night. We depended on candles that whole time, my children were uncomfortable and cranky. It was hot and humid because there was no air conditioning. Horrible! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 28, 2011

Very Bad All Inclusive

This was the worst resorts we've been in. We have stayed in Dominican Republic in Melia Tropicale and Riu Palace. In Mexico we've stayed in Barcelo palace. This is an OLD property probably bought from another owner but they're just rebranding and repainting it and making superficial repairs. 1. Cracks everywhere on the fascade 2. rooms (had 2) smell like mildew. Furniture inside appears to be something you find at Goodwill or thrift store. Beds Horrible. Bathrooms with rusted old fixtures. Basically a motel room. 3. Our balcony would not close properly, son was bitten all over body by mosquitos. They tried to repair balcony 2 times after many calls to manager. No repairs really helped. 4. Only 1 Buffet. Food not good for money paid. Although desserts excellent. 5. Let locals in on the weekend (masses of people since they get great discounts). 6. Gym equipment all rusted, archaic (they claim the hotel to be 7 ears old!!!) After 2nd day we had enough. I could not bear to be there for another week. It was my 40th birthday and I was on vacation with my wife, 2 kids, and mother in law. We complained to the manager who was nice enough to transfer us to Barcelo Palace which was an excellent property, incomparable to this. We had a great vacation staying at the palace. As we were leaving my mother in law checked her purse which she did not lock up in the safe, the housekeeper managed to sneak out a $100 bill from the envelope inside. We filed a report, of course we did not except anything to come out of it. Dont be deceived by the beautiful photos, this is a horrible resort. Please do not stay here unless you get some super deal. And lock up your stuff in the safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond Heights
Dec 5, 2008

family

Beach and location of resort wery god. Service in main restaoran need inprovment. Servants wery slow,tables not redy and not clean.Service at bars not god.Vaiting 7 to 10 minutes.80% peaple do not speak english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach wery nice and clean.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crux
Business
New York
Jun 29, 2010

The good, bad and the ugly.

I don't ask for too much, but we have to move from the first room because a water leak coming from the bathroom ceiling right on top of your head when sitting on the toilet. When we moved to the next room, that one also had a water leak in the bathroom coming from the upper bathroom bathtub to mine. It was a horrible experience. The food at the buffet also terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kingozzy
Business
nj usa
Aug 3, 2011

dont recommend this hotel to anyone

the worst vacation a ever had. power went out for 5 hour one night and i got my room by the 3rd day.this hotel is a 4 star hotel, but they forgot to put the - on front of the star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MR. METRO
Business
LAS VEGAS, NV
Nov 27, 2010

Barcelo Punta Cana UUGGGHHHHH!

TERRIBLE - DIRTY ROOM/SHEETS. AIR COND DID NOT WORK CORRECTLY(WOULD NOT ADJUST/SHUT DOWN, ALWAYS COLD) NIGHT MANAGER RUDE AND INSULTING. I DID NOT STAY ONE NIGHT AT THIS HORRIBLE PLACE, I MOVED TO ANOTHER RESORT (THE HARD ROCK) NIGHT AND DAY DIFFERENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLORIDA
Jul 6, 2009

THE WORST DAYS OF MY LIVE

I AM ON MY WAY TO MY DR WITH SEVERE CASE OF LIQUID DIARRHEAS FOR THREE DAYS. VERY POOR QUALITY FOOD. NO AIR CONDITIONING IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Horrible...Disgusting...Dirty...

There are may issues to bring up, but I am going to mention some of them: Barcelo offers snorkel for free as part of all inclusive, however when you request this service you have to pay 15$ per person -In main restaurant there are some waitress with a rude attention to clients -For sailing service: it is included in the all inclusive as part of package however if you request how to sail they request a payment of 50 for lesson - In the pool bar, if you don't give a tip to the guys you never get the attention from them. -Close to the rooms in the outside areas sometimes there was a smell to sewer. - Some of restaurants listed as available in the Barcelo offer were closed and never opened during our 7days of stay -Beds are old and uncomfortable, in fact my bed had to switch room due to bed bugs - pool tiles are broken - toilets don't flush - check in took 3hours and very rude personel - at breakfast was told by the omelett attended that i must not want anything because i had my back towards her while i was listened to my child speaking to me... instead of the word excuse me, what would u like...but i guess she assume i didnt know spanish.. they serve liquour to minors and allow them to mingle in the disco and bars - saw many feud amoung kids and even a bar brawl resulting in injuries occurred...not the best hotel if u just want to relax and enjoy yourself...rather than be worrying about the next fight...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DEMOPOLIS,AL
Jul 19, 2009

WORST FOOD EVER, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

MOST OF THE ALA CARTE RESTAURANT ARE CLOSE, AND THE ONLY ONES OPEN NEVER HAVE RESARVATION OPEN. BUFFET FOOD IS ONLY FOR ANIMALS. WE END UP EATING OUT SIDE OF THE RESORT. HOUSKEEPER WILL NOT CHANGE BED LINEN EVEN AFTER WE REQUESTED AFTER THIRD DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top