$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
948 reviews
Great vacation

It was a perfect place for vacation. It was our second time in Barcelo and this time I liked it... See full review

  • Joanna 70
  • Aug 12, 2013
Fantastic gateway from buzy life

Hotel.was really nice, excellent food, and good show's every night, recommend to everybody See full review

  • Andruha
  • Jun 20, 2013
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (948)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
948 out of 948
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sebastiano Lapi
Houston, TX. USA
Jan 7, 2011

Ripped off!!!!

Good:- Swimming pools for kids and adults- Beach: any hotel will have it- Service: People was very nice. But the lack of management to maintain the facilities dulled it.Bad:- First day we got at 11:00 p.m. and all the restaurants were closed nowhere to eat.- Second day "[...]" canceled our reservations we have to wait for 3 hours to get the issue solved with infants waiting to be fed and changed.- The room that they show in the web page has nothing to do whit the one assigned to us.- Room very old: mattress, pillows, sheets, etc- No hot water sometimes. Spent everyday 5-10 minutes everyday trying to get a comfortable water temperature to showers faucets very old.- At 3:00 p.m. the room was not done yet and if it was ready no towels until late in the evening.- The room door was tilt dragging with the floor very difficult to open and close. Fixed after a couple of days. - The food generally speaking was awful, old and reheated food, green flies around the food in the buffet. We got upset stomach.- Service to attend problems very slow, every time I called the answer was "I will report the issue in the system" after 3rd or 4th call issue was solved when solved.- Last day we had a early checkout 6:00 p.m. all the lights in the corridors were off, we had to walk in the dark until the lobby.I will not go back to this hotel and I do not recommend this to anybody. I did not receive the service that I paid for. Many people that we talked to had the same issue.They have a couple of remodeled rooms that are much better but very few. The ones showed in the internet but you cannot tell the difference when you book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melanie and Ozzy
NJ
Jul 31, 2011

WORST VACATION EVER!!!!

This was the worst vacation my family and I have ever taken! First, when we first got there, we were suppose to check in at 3PM and our room wasn't ready till 7PM. After we got our room, the room was a total mess. The sheets were stained, the air conditioner wasn't working, there was a leakage and we had water coming in so the floor was very very slippery. We were very upset being that we paid almost $4000 for our family trip. We complained and the front desk guy was very nasty and had a terrible attitude. Finally, I was able to speak to a manager and he promised us a better room for the following day. We didn't get our room for another 2 days!! My husband and I, as well as my children had to squeeze in my mother in laws room and sleep on the floor. The following day there was a black out. We had no electricity for the entire night. We depended on candles that whole time, my children were uncomfortable and cranky. It was hot and humid because there was no air conditioning. Horrible! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly Squared
New York City
Dec 4, 2010

Would NOT recommend

By far the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in!! Slow service, staff barely spoke English and all pool activities were in Spanish so you can't participate even if you wanted to, no pool towels for 3 out of 5 days, buffet food was not replenished, difficult to get restaurant reservations, rooms are outdated, the rooms "mini bar" only consisted of 2 cans of beer, absolutely NO room service after 10:30pm. It was a very cheap trip, and we definitely got what we paid for!!! The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Horrible...Disgusting...Dirty...

There are may issues to bring up, but I am going to mention some of them: Barcelo offers snorkel for free as part of all inclusive, however when you request this service you have to pay 15$ per person -In main restaurant there are some waitress with a rude attention to clients -For sailing service: it is included in the all inclusive as part of package however if you request how to sail they request a payment of 50 for lesson - In the pool bar, if you don't give a tip to the guys you never get the attention from them. -Close to the rooms in the outside areas sometimes there was a smell to sewer. - Some of restaurants listed as available in the Barcelo offer were closed and never opened during our 7days of stay -Beds are old and uncomfortable, in fact my bed had to switch room due to bed bugs - pool tiles are broken - toilets don't flush - check in took 3hours and very rude personel - at breakfast was told by the omelett attended that i must not want anything because i had my back towards her while i was listened to my child speaking to me... instead of the word excuse me, what would u like...but i guess she assume i didnt know spanish.. they serve liquour to minors and allow them to mingle in the disco and bars - saw many feud amoung kids and even a bar brawl resulting in injuries occurred...not the best hotel if u just want to relax and enjoy yourself...rather than be worrying about the next fight...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new jersey
Sep 10, 2009

the stay was not good my mom got sick

my mom got sick because of the food I think they should clean better their salads in order for people not to get sick and get ridiculous doctors bill. people go on vacation not to get additional bills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
DEMOPOLIS,AL
Jul 19, 2009

WORST FOOD EVER, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

MOST OF THE ALA CARTE RESTAURANT ARE CLOSE, AND THE ONLY ONES OPEN NEVER HAVE RESARVATION OPEN. BUFFET FOOD IS ONLY FOR ANIMALS. WE END UP EATING OUT SIDE OF THE RESORT. HOUSKEEPER WILL NOT CHANGE BED LINEN EVEN AFTER WE REQUESTED AFTER THIRD DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kim Super Disgusted
Middletown, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

TERRIBLE SERVICE- NEVER AGAIN!

Ok, well to start we arrived on a Friday where the pools were filled with locals wearing full clothing in the pools, when I say filled I mean FILLED! They (the locals) had no respect for the other tourest at the hotel and were very disrespectful towards Americans. I just read that they offer discount prices to locals so they can fill the hotel and they bus them in from all over. If you do not speak spanish dont bother,you will be ignored and there will be no attempt to communicate with you at all. The staff were very rude, once again, if you were American you were put off and ignored and those who spoke spanish were treated with priority. Good luck trying to find a staff member who does speak English. The food was poor but you can get by. The grounds of the hotel, the hotel itself and the beach were very nice. Everyone except for myself got sick, this includes many other toursest staying at the resort and everyone on the plane was talking about how sick they got at their resorts. FYI...based on overhearing other conversations on the plane this seemed to be a common thing at all the reports including the rudness towards Americans. I would never ever stay at Barcelo again here or the Barcelo in Mexico as we had a bad experience there as well. Live and Learn as we always like to give a second change. Customer Service NOT!!!! NEVER AGAIN!!! As my husband was saying under his breath to others checking in SAVE YOUSELF!!! Beware of the local vendors who come to the resort every other day to sell goods, they will stalk you!!! I dont ask for much and I was not expecting 5 star but some respect, aknowledgement and smile from the staff would of been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of single dollar bills...LOTS!!! They will not give you change in American money, only pesos!!!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Jun 23, 2010

BARCELO PREMIUM HOTEL-PUNTA CANA

OH MY GOD EVEN IF SOMEONE OFFERS YOU A FREE TRIP TO THIS PLACE DO NOT GO! THE CHECK IN IS SLOW IT TAKES 4 HOURS FOR THEM TO PREPARE YOUR ROOM AND BRING YOUR BAGS UP. YOU HAVE TO STAND ON A LONG LINE EARLY IN THE MORNING TO GET RESTAURANT RESERVATIONS AND THAT'S IF THEY'RE AVAILABLE. BY THE TIME YOU GET RESERVATIONS AND YOU GO HALF THE RESTAURANT IS EMPTY. THEY HAVE NO ORGANIZATION. WE WERE A GROUP OF 19 AND 8 OF US GOT SERIOUSLY SICK, LET ME JUST SAY THEY SHOULD RE-NAME BARCELO HOTEL TO BARCEPUPU. IF YOU ENJOY BEING IN A SAUNA THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU SINCE THERE IS NO A/C IN THE LOBBY AND MOST OF THE RESTAURANTS AND IF YOU CAN STAND TO LOOSE 10 POUNDS THEN YOU'LL HAVE NO PROBLEM IN THIS PLACE SINCE YOU'LL BE GOING TO THE BATHROOM EVERY 30 MINUTES WITH THE RUNS. THE ONLY NICE THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS THE POOL AND THE BEACH OTHER THAN THAT I WILL NEVER GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Jul 2, 2010

Terrible Resort

This was the worst resort i have stayed at. The staff is unfriendly. The entire stay you serve your self. Even while you are at the beach you have to walk back to the resort for a drink. There is never any staff member available or asking you for a drink. The food sucks and it's the same food every single day. In order to make reservation for a restaurant you have to wait on a line everyday at 9am and by the time you arrive to the front all resturants are full by 9:45am. During my stay the lights went off 3xtime. The bathrooms were always extremely dirty with no toilet tissue. We waited over 2hours for dinner at the restaurants and the food was disgusting. The pool was always dirty including the chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The entertainment was the only service that made our vacation.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2011

Worst vacation experience in my life

[...] the bathroom had water leaking on the floor from a broken toilet tank. 2. CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! what Service? the service was HORRIBLE - ZERO! ZERO! The buffet food was not good, the best meal was at the Japanese restaurant for the first night - we try again the second night and it was a mess (different chef or should I say waiter/floor sweepter/chef) I understand the workers had many duties which is beyond their control but if Management want to visitors to return to Barcelo Punta Cana - they need to have major work done to the hotel bathrooms - It was scarry to use thinking you may end up with more germs by just getting your hands washed. Yes, the beach was lovely but after doing early morning walks with other English speaking vacationers from Boston, Maryland, South Carolina, Philly this hotel is not acceptable for people who travel on vacation on a regular basis nad knows what customer service is like - yes I know the weather is hot and there is cultureal differences in the way we do things but this kind of service is unaccpetable. In addition some of the guest from other Spanish speaking countries were so rude we Americans felt like we were invading their territory. I have gone to Mexico and Spain, France and other countries whose language is not enlgish and was never treated in such a rude manner before. This horrible experience was shared by many Americans who stayed at this hotel - we all had a big joke of the crazy, sickness and other stuff we experience while standing in line at the airport to board our respective flights - each person had a bad experience at their respective hotel. Yes, there were French Canadian, Germans, people from Cuba, Venuzula and other spanish speaking countries and if they are ok with this kind of service we are not and Barcelo Punta Cana is not ready to accomodate us. A group of us is planning to create a website of our horrible experiences - Yes the beach is great but that's all we had going - normally you go to an all inclusive hotel and you have activities for the children here it wa sjust the music on it's own an that was it. Would I ever recommend anyone to this hotel ot location NEVER - ther are too many other beautiful hotels in the Caribbean to waste our money. One lady ordered wash rags and she did not get them until 3 days after and the next day the room attendant took them and did not replace them. THE WORST VACATION EVER - only light was the beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top